We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$254
View deal
FindHotel
$221
View deal
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com$231
eDreams
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (840)
360
Panoramas (19)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 04/03/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Viking
Updated 04/03/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#16 of 25 hotels in Newport
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.3
Value
3.9
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Hotel Viking opened to an awestruck public in May 1926. As a member of the prestigious Historic Hotels of America, our hotel in Newport holds a special place in history. From the Front Desk depicting ancient Nordic Runes to the original 1926 brass letter box in the Lobby, the hotel offers a wonderful combination of style, comfort and modern amenities. Brimming with stories of famous dignitaries and celebrities, the Hotel Viking has offered gracious hospitality for over 90 years. All 208 guest rooms and suites were renovated in 2018.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Patio
Children's television networks
Paid private parking on-site
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Video game console
Highchairs available
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
ATM on site
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Safe
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Classic
Languages Spoken
English
3058Reviews30Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,391
  • 792
  • 400
  • 277
  • 198
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Austin F wrote a review Sep 20
Buenos Aires, Argentina16 contributions32 helpful votes
I truly wish I could give Hotel Viking a good review as it looked picturesque on its website. The rooms are very dated and the bathrooms are an actual joke. The tub/shower/toilet are on one side and then the sink with mirror are across the entryway. My wife went to grab a shower towel to only see a large brown stain on one of the towels. The story gets better as we didn’t have house keeping our entire stay. Our bed wasn’t changed or even made along with having to reuse wet towels. I’m all for going green and minimizing our footprint, but this is such a joke. I kindly brought both of these issues up to hotel staff to a young lady who basically shrugged and said sorry, not much we can do and that house keeping comes every other day. I’ve stayed in motels that have better service than this place and I’m very sad to have to give this hotel such a poor stay. I strongly recommend staying elsewhere in Newport. Might get better service at a Motel 6. Such a shame.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel Viking
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Austin, Though we are grateful you chose us to host your stay, we regret that you didn't have the visit you expected and deserved. What you have described does not convey the high-quality standards we strive to uphold, and we are sincerely sorry about the inconveniences you encountered with our accommodations. Cleanliness is one of our top priorities and will be addressed by our dedicated team as we make the appropriate changes. Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention, and we hope you consider staying with us again in the future for a better visit; we're confident we can impress you. Sincerely, Meaghan Walsh General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Saida R wrote a review Aug 2022
5 contributions
Hotel's Favorite
The employees of the beautiful Hotel Viking went out of their way to provide exceptional service during our 4-night stay at the hotel. In this post (but not completely post) Covid era, there seems to be a new normal in terms of hotel staffing ... no concierge; less frequent housekeeping visits; more outsourced services; and so on..... However, the wonderful staff at the Hotel Viking met these challenges with smiles, enthusiasm and energetic can-do attitudes. They worked as a team, helping one another as needed to deliver first rate service to each of their guests. As an example, I was most appreciative of the time and care provided to me by a young member of the front desk staff, Emily R., who helped me in printing several tickets that I had purchased online. Emily very kindly guided me through the process of e-mailing, saving, attaching, screen shotting ... quite an exercise but with excellent results I am happy to say. Thank you to all at the Hotel Viking. We look forward to seeing you again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel Viking
Responded Aug 12, 2022
Dear Saida, Thank you for choosing Hotel Viking for your recent experience. It's delightful to read that our outstanding staff could play a pivotal role in taking your stay beyond your expectations, and we would love nothing more than to welcome you back for another fantastic visit in the future. Sincerely, Meaghan Walsh General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marilyn V wrote a review Sep 20
Falmouth, Massachusetts92 contributions12 helpful votes
I had done research on Newport Hotels & their website made it sound inviting, luxurious & First Class. This couldn’t be any further from the truth. Although they had spent millions recently on refurbishment it was on the hotels public spaces , NOT the guest rooms which are dated & tired! No amenities & we were in a “Suite”. We ha to eave early & we’re actually not sad. There are many first class hotels in Newport & this is not one of them!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel Viking
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Marilyn, Thank you for reaching out and sharing your experience, though It is genuinely upsetting to hear this, as we work hard to impress. That said, we appreciate you for letting us know what was not to your satisfaction during your stay, as this will allow our team to reflect and improve in the areas that matter most to you. We wish you well and hope you'll consider giving us another try someday. Sincerely, Meaghan Walsh General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cassandra B wrote a review Sep 20
Malden, Massachusetts1 contribution
I have traveled 9 countries and stayed in countless hotels over my lifetime and this is most definitely the WORST one. Do not be confused to think that just because they charge way more than they should that this is actually a luxury hotel. Even though I was charged for a "resort fee" daily, a resort it was NOT. The inside looks like a haunted hotel, cobwebs and all. When is the last time the windows or plumbing were updated in this place? Speaking of, our bathroom sink sounded like someone was playing a LOUD steel drum at all hours of the day and night. If you are a light sleeper you will have issues sleeping here. We spent hundreds of dollars in the spa which was basic at best. The service itself was fine but the relaxation room was nothing more than a couple uncomfortable chairs. The pool? Nothing special, I have been in better pools at the Springhill Suites, also the whole place is heated to over 100 degrees so when you leave you are freezing. Walking 10 plus minutes each way to anything worthwhile. To boot they kept accusing us of smoking, WHICH WE WERE NOT! The Room Manager even busted in one day while we were napping. I was topless in the bed, not for a second did I expect someone to run into the room. Be aware they take no responsibility for their violating behavior. I've actually lost sleep over this. If you're looking up reviews, you were once like me hoping to find a great place to stay in Newport but please DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: There are no good rooms here.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Theproperbostonian wrote a review Sep 11
Boston, Massachusetts6 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed at the Hotel Viking for a 3 night weekend. We stayed in the Marble Room one of their luxury suites. Given the price we expected luxury service but alas it is not to be. The suite had no bathrobes, no extra blankets or pillows, a lovely claw foot tub but no ability to use any soap anywhere near the tub, no bath amenities whatsoever. (Everything is on a wall across the room). We were informed that the rooms are only serviced every other day. While we understand this we have stayed in suites before where they bring new coffee pods, and fresh towels even if they don’t “clean your room”. Not here. No coffee, no towels and on the second day they serviced the room around 5PM and most likely because we complained. Having said that the room was scrupulously clean and the staff was very pleasant. I would not pay for a suite here as you will not get the amenities you expect for the price.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel Viking
Responded 1 week ago
While it's great to see that you enjoyed our friendly staff and cleanliness, we are disappointed that you were not completely satisfied during your time with us. In the future, never hesitate to let us know what you need, as we are always willing to help in any way we can. That said, we will use your review as a guide to help us make improvements where necessary. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope you'll revisit us down the road. Sincerely, Meaghan Walsh General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AdamRichman wrote a review Aug 2022
Austin, TX33 contributions43 helpful votes
This hotel wants to be a luxury experience, but it’s not. Additionally, staff really doesn’t understand what service is. At check in, we arrive and are exhausted after a long day of travel and are informed that the kitchen may or may not be closing in 5 mins. Clerk didn’t offer to call the kitchen and ask them to wait for us. Not at all what I have experienced at other hotels. Then, one night the a/c went out for half the hotel. The staff just talked about how hard it was on them- never inquired how they could help the guests (like find fans for rooms- it was 82 in our room that night). When I called to request assistance on the a/c, I asked the front desk to have housekeeping to bring some regular coffee pods (after a very restless night of no a/c sleep, I discovered that housekeeping left only decaf pods the previous day) in my room- very poor timing. Never happened. I believe I spoke to the manager at check out, he exhibited the same attitude as the staff, as if nothing was in his control. It’s a beautiful property. Hope they can address the approach to service.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel Viking
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Adam, Thank you for your valuable feedback. We appreciate your lovely comments on our beautiful property in Newport. However, we apologize for the unpleasant night without A/C, as this is never the experience we want for our visitors. Rest assured, we'll work diligently to provide the level of service you expected at our hotel. Our team will strive to do better, using your comments as a guide, and we hope to have another chance to change your perceptions. Sincerely, Meaghan Walsh General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tom G wrote a review Aug 2022
7 contributions3 helpful votes
We chose the Viking based on good reviews as a first-class hotel. This was not our experience. From the start, there was no staff at the curb to assist with our luggage. Then no bellman so we had to lug our bags down endless hallways, elevators, steps and landings to our smallish room. The bathroom was split on either side of the front door, tub and toilet on one side, tiny sink and closet on the other. The carpeting in the room and in the hallways was stained. The wallpaper is dingy throughout. The A/C return in our room rumbled all night. One small desk chair-no comfy chair. View of the parking lot. A very, very overrated, overpriced property relying on its reputation.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Don't stay there! Most of the rooms are far, far away from the front.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel Viking
Responded 4 weeks ago
All comments are helpful, and we value your input. We strive to provide our guests with friendly service, clean and well-maintained accommodations, and comfortable amenities, and we are sorry to hear that you experienced otherwise. We will certainly review these matters with our team as we work to uphold our standards. Thank you, and we wish you happier travels ahead. Sincerely, Meaghan Walsh General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PWinCT wrote a review Aug 2022
West Hartford, Connecticut73 contributions63 helpful votes
Having opened nearly a century ago, the Hotel Viking offers an atmosphere of historic elegance along with updated amenities. To be honest, as spacious as our double Queen room was, I found the bathroom and decor a little dated, though. What sold us on the place, along with the location — within walking distance of the many eateries and shops on Bowen’s Wharf — was the Viking’s indoor pool. The day we arrived it was raining, but we got to swim inside anyway. Even after a day at the beach, it was refreshing to take a dip in the hot tub and an actual swim afterwards. One small complaint: The hotel only offers valet parking for an extra $40 a night. But we soon discovered free parking on the street half a block up. I would rather save my money for a lobster dinner at The Landing, followed by an ice cream cone at Sprinkles. Divine!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel Viking
Responded Aug 11, 2022
From the entire team at Hotel Viking, thank you for choosing us! It's great that you appreciated our charming ambiance and modern amenities, and we hope you had plenty of time to take advantage of our prime location. Your thoughts on your bathroom and decor have been noted, and we will determine the next best step to take. Allow us to serve you again someday when you return to Newport! Sincerely, Meaghan Walsh General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kathyr102256 wrote a review Aug 2022
Charlotte, North Carolina61 contributions20 helpful votes
I had such high hopes for this hotel. We have a corner room. It’s TERRIBLE! You probably can’t tell by the pic but this is a HALF sink. You bend your head over when brushing your teeth and you hit your head on the mirror and spit all over it! You can’t even turn the hot water on because it hits the mirror and the knob won’t go up to turn on. If you hang your hand towel you cover up the toilet paper. NO storage space. Those two tiny drawers are all you get. Someone in our group has a family situation develop and needed to check out early…the manager would not refund their money for the nights they needed to cancel…and they were given over a 24 hour notice. House restaurant food is not that good. Although the staff is nice as can be! The hotel is in a great location. Even at that…I wouldn’t stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel Viking
Responded Aug 10, 2022
Dear Kathy, In reading your room, it is clear that we failed to meet your needs, and for that, we are very sorry. Thank you for letting us know where we fell short, as this will allow our team to reflect and improve in the areas that matter most to you. It is our hope to welcome you back someday for the five-star experience we know we're capable of. Thank you for your feedback. Sincerely, Meaghan Walsh General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chr_8 wrote a review Aug 2022
lb,il193 contributions140 helpful votes
The hotel is conveniently located within easy walking distance of the "Viking " tower and other sights downtown. My room which faced the street was clean , lovely, and very quiet. The bed was comfortable. I had a great martini from the lobby bar. The only downside was as others have mentioned a very small bathroom which was small even for one person. Front desk personnel were efficient and helpful
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel Viking
Responded Aug 9, 2022
Clean, comfortable accommodations are the names of the game at Hotel Viking, so we're happy to hear that you appreciated that during your visit. Please consider coming back to visit us again soon. Sincerely, Meaghan Walsh General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$210 - $535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
viking hotel newport ri, hotel viking newport
LOCATION
United StatesRhode IslandNewport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
208
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Viking
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Viking?
Nearby attractions include Touro Synagogue (0.2 miles), St. Mary's Catholic Church (0.3 miles), and Bellevue Avenue (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Viking?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Viking?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Viking?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Viking?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, secured parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Viking?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jo's American Bistro, Kilwin's, and Pour Judgement.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Viking?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Hotel Viking located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Newport.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Viking?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Viking offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Viking?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Touro Synagogue (0.2 miles), Rough Point Museum (2.3 miles), and Fort Adams State Park (1.5 miles).