We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
352 Spring St, Newport, RI 02840-6822
E-mail hotel
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
StayForLong
Travelocity
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (185)
Room & Suite (52)
Dining (32)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#8 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
4.9
Value
4.7
Travelers' Choice
An elegant 1803 Federal period inn located downtown in Newport's Yachting village, just a block from the harbor. A complimentary full gourmet breakfast and afternoon refreshments are served daily. Enjoy the ambiance of an historic building with modern amenities. All rooms are uniquely decorated and feature private bathroom, television, small fridge, robes, bluetooth alarm clock, iron, and ironing board. Complimentary parking and wifi are provided.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Residential Neighborhood
Languages Spoken
English
330Reviews2Q+A70Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 296
  • 32
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Pat wrote a review Nov 2022
3 contributions
It was our first time to Newport and definitely not our last and we will be sure to come back to the Samuel Durfee House. Heather and Michael are wonderful hosts providing a delicious breakfast, snacks and ideas to make sure we made the most of our vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jack H wrote a review Aug 2022
Mashpee, Massachusetts19 contributions26 helpful votes
Property's Favorite Review
Stayed three nights at SDH and we found it to be very enjoyable. The location on a long, busy street in the heart of Newport is ideal for a quick, short walk to wherever you may be headed. Off-street parking on the premises is helpful and makes it very convenient and easy to come and go should you need to take a drive or run an errand. The room aren't exactly large, buy are plenty spacious (this was our second stay this summer.) The bathrooms were clean as was the house overall. Heather (and Mike) are there to assist you with any concern or inquiry you may have, but respect your need for privacy and are in no overbearing or intrusive as some well-meaning innkeepers can be. Breakfast is consistently delicious and fresh with a different twist/options each morning. The choice to have your breakfast delivered to your room, out on a common patio/garden area, or in the downstairs dining room is an added bonus. We will return to Newport, and we are sure to try to stay at Sam Durfee again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Two or three of the rooms have a private balcony or sitting area.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather de Pinho, Owner at Samuel Durfee House
Responded Aug 18, 2022
It was wonderful welcoming you twice this summer and we are so glad that you enjoyed both of your visits. We look forward to welcoming you in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
8cats wrote a review Sep 2022
Coram, New York80 contributions34 helpful votes
This was our 3rd time staying here. Very clean room (Perry Room) with a cozy balcony. Delicious hot breakfast with the option of dining inside, outside or in room. In the afternoon, snacks are also offered. We especially like the location: shops, restaurants and waterfront all within walking distance. There is a refrigerator and Keurig coffee maker in the room, which is very convenient. The room is also very quiet for sleeping. Michael and Heather are excellent hosts; very attentive to their guests' needs. I would highly recommend this B&B.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
wheelpraisehim wrote a review Aug 2022
Palmyra, Pennsylvania11 contributions5 helpful votes
Michael and Heather welcomed us back for another stay with big smiles. We absolutely love spending time at their bed and breakfast. We select a different room every year and each one becomes our new favorite. They make sure we start each day with a breakfast that is as pretty to look at as delicious to eat. We truly can’t say enough about the house, amenities and phenomenal service we receive each stay. Until next year!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather de Pinho, Owner at Samuel Durfee House
Responded Aug 18, 2022
Thank you so very much! It was wonderful to welcome you back!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leah L wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
+1
We really enjoyed our stay for our babymoon. The inn is comfy and our room was spacious ( samuel durfee room). Heather and Michael were great hosts and we appreciated all the recommendations from them. The breakfasts every morning were absolutely delicious! We liked that there was a sweet and savory option every day. The quiche was amazing and I am still drooling over the stuffed French toast. The inn is in a perfect location, close to shops and restaurants and the on-site parking is helpful ( newport is very crowded in the summer). Newport is such a great town to visit and we hope to be back soon.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather de Pinho, Owner at Samuel Durfee House
Responded Aug 18, 2022
Thank you for choosing the Samuel Durfee House for your baby moon and for telling other travelers about your visit. We are so glad that you enjoyed our location and breakfasts! We hope to see you again and congratulations on your expanding family!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shaw Bridges wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
My wife Lea and I had an amazing stay in Newport for four nights, and the quality of our experience was due in no small part to our stay at the Samuel Durfee House. We stayed in the Doris Duke suite on the second floor in a very comfortable bedroom with attached living room and two bathrooms, more than enough space for us. Our only regret was that we had been able to spend more time chatting with the innkeepers in their handsomely furnished, federalist style living room downstairs before heading off to enjoy our dinners by the water. For those who enjoy being within walking distance of the waterfront or the ostentatious Gilded Age cottages on Bellevue Avenue, this is inn has the best location. It’s quite the boon to have a parking spot that isn’t along the narrow streets. It’s at most a ten minute walk (maybe faster if you don’t stop to window shop) from the wharves, so you won’t have any problem making that dinner reservation at the Moorings or 22 Bowen. The inn itself has a special charm. Built originally in 1803, Mike and Heather rescued this historic home and made it into the beautiful inn it is today. If you are like me and have a fascination with New England’s maritime history and present, you will want to talk with Mike about his family’s history living and working as fishermen along the New England coast. Mike and Heather have a deep appreciation for the unique and vibrant culture of Newport and the surrounding coastal communities, which they bring to their work. Even if this is your first time to Newport or to Rhode Island for that matter, after one morning talking to both of them over breakfast, you’ll feel very much at home. I personally recommend the sweet options such as the French toast made with Portuguese bread brought in from Fall River, but Lea will probably say she still craves the savory artichoke and cheese quiche. I cannot recommend the Inn enough. Our experience returning there after our many honeymoon excursions to Castle Hill for cocktails, Gurney’s for massages, Bellevue Avenue for Mansion tours, or to a cruise at sunset in a sloop, made the trip one to remember. If you’re heading to Newport, you couldn’t stay in a better place. Shaw & Lea Bridges
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather de Pinho, Owner at Samuel Durfee House
Responded Jul 19, 2022
We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your honeymoon vacation at the Samuel Durfee House. We too enjoyed chatting with you about our historic Federal Inn and the fishing community that is so important to New England’s history and present time. Thank you so very much for sharing your visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kpp61 wrote a review Jun 2022
Ft. Lauderdale, FL19 contributions4 helpful votes
Our stay at The Samuel Durfee House was part of my annual mother-daughter trip. We spent three nights in The Ida Lewis room and then traveled to Cape Cod. Yes, the Samuel Durfee House is a period home, but could use some TLC to showcase its true beauty. Our room was clean but felt worn, we did enjoy the outside balcony with sitting area. The common areas downstairs were dark and felt unwelcoming, we were traveling with another couple and felt like we were not able to find a meeting area in the home to talk about our plans for the day or to just relax. Breakfast was fine, I had packaged granola a couple of mornings with yogurt presented in its container. My daughter had eggs and pancakes which she did enjoy. We traveled with someone who is gluten free and they were able to accommodate her allergy without a problem. I believe when we were visiting in May that they were only taking visitors on the weekends. Definitely felt like Heather was not enjoying what she was doing and definitely picked up on her unprofessionalism during mealtime. Her responses to simple request left the four of us perplexed. Snacks consisted of bagged popcorn/chips left set up in dining room and a bag of water with a cookie per person left on door in afternoon. They seemed to be making everything as simple as possible for themselves, however for the rate they are charging I feel they need to make some changes. I could not and would not recommend a stay at The Samuel Durfee Inn. On a plus, location is excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather de Pinho, Owner at Samuel Durfee House
Responded Jul 19, 2022
We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your visit. Our goal is to provide our guests a relaxing and enjoyable stay. Yes, we were only open on weekends the first few weekends of May as I (Heather) was recovering from wrist surgery and easing back into work. The furnishings in the inn and guests rooms are, for the most part, antiques in keeping with the 1803 historic building. The Ida Lewis bedroom and bathroom were repainted in 2021 as was the carpeting in the room. Each morning we offer two cooked entrees to choose from served with sausage or bacon, fresh fruit, and home baked bread. We keep granola, oatmeal and Siggi’s yogurt on hand for guests that prefer a lighter breakfast. While you were here we were transitioning from bagged afternoon treat bags (which we were offering during covid and happen to have been a lot more time consuming) back to our communal afternoon refreshments served in the dining room. Guests are welcome to visit together in the guest sitting room, dining room or guest patio. In addition, your friend’s room had it’s own private living room where you could have also visited together. As for me, after 23 years as an inkeeper, I still absolutely love what I do which is obvious to almost all of our guests.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jaclyn T wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
My husband and I stayed at the Samuel Durfee House for 3 nights for a little babymoon getaway. From the second we walked in, Michael and Heather gave us a great experience. There was parking at the Inn which made is very easy to come and go as we wanted to. The house/room was extremely clean and had everything we could have wanted - we didn't even realize we picked a room with 2 bathrooms and a suite that had a little TV/sitting area- it was huge! Breakfast in the morning was excellent- different options each day and you can have it delivered to your room, eat downstairs or eat outside on an adorable patio. We really had such a nice experience and thank Michael and Heather for that!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather de Pinho, Owner at Samuel Durfee House
Responded Jun 3, 2022
Thank you so much for sharing your visit in the Doris Duke Suite with other travelers. We are thrilled you were so happy with your stay wish you the best with your growing family:-)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susan D wrote a review May 2022
Lafayette, Louisiana12 contributions5 helpful votes
We were vacationing in Newport and loved our stay at the house! Breakfast was a real treat and filling! The owners were very nice and helpful. The room was very comfortable and quiet. We would highly recommend this property for couples who are vacationing in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: We left our car on the property because sometimes we’re we were going was lacking parking. We...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather de Pinho, Owner at Samuel Durfee House
Responded Jun 3, 2022
So happy that you enjoyed your visit to the Samuel Durfee House! Thanks for sharing with other travelers!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sara S wrote a review Apr 2022
Charlotte, North Carolina2 contributions
+1
We came into Newport for a wedding and this was the perfect B&B for the weekend. The hosts were accommodating for our late check in and immediately warm and welcoming. As soon as you walk in the house you can tell how much energy and time have been put into curating the space. We stayed in the Harrison room on the first floor and it was absolute perfection. The breakfast each morning was delicious, everyday we had 3 options and every single thing we ate was incredible. The hosts were once again beyond accommodating to any food allergies or preferences. The location is incredible, we were able to walk almost everywhere and when we couldn’t, we felt lucky to have parking at the house since we learned that’s hard to come by in town. Each afternoon we came back to fresh baked cookies outside our room and a sweet personalized note about hoping we had a good time at the wedding or walking around Newport. I can’t wait to stay in each of the other rooms here. Would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather de Pinho, Owner at Samuel Durfee House
Responded Apr 28, 2022
We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed staying at the Samuel Durfee House for your visit to Newport! We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for sharing your visit with other travelers!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
LOCATION
United StatesRhode IslandNewport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SAMUEL DURFEE HOUSE - Updated 2022 Prices & B&B Reviews (Newport, RI)

Frequently Asked Questions about Samuel Durfee House
Which popular attractions are close to Samuel Durfee House?
Nearby attractions include The Elms (0.3 miles), St. Mary's Catholic Church (0.2 miles), and International Tennis Hall of Fame (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Samuel Durfee House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Samuel Durfee House?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Samuel Durfee House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Samuel Durfee House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Samuel Durfee House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Bouchard, Cru Cafe, and Jo's American Bistro.
Is Samuel Durfee House located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Newport.
Are there any historical sites close to Samuel Durfee House?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Touro Synagogue (0.6 miles), Rough Point Museum (1.8 miles), and Fort Adams State Park (1.2 miles).