We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
25 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
7 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$199
Marriott Hotels$199
Hotels.com$199
Expedia.com$199
FindHotel$199
Travelocity$199
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (360)
Room & Suite (146)
Dining (30)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 01/15/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Newport Marriott
Updated 01/15/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#9 of 24 hotels in Newport
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Placed amid the historic downtown district, Newport Marriott offers scenic luxury along the shimmering Rhode Island waterfront. Discover Newport’s most celebrated attractions including Regatta Place, Fort Adams, Naval Station Newport, Belle Mer, Cliff Walk and Thames Street. Find your inspiration in more than 20,000 square feet of versatile event space, enhanced by expert planning and custom catering. After a satisfying day of business, sightseeing or fun at the beach in Newport, RI, treat yourself to a massage, beauty treatment or wellness therapy at our full-service hotel spa. Ignite your senses with flavorful American fare, draft beers, fine wines and innovative cocktails at our restaurants and bars, enhanced by breathtaking views. Our expansive, nautical-themed hotel accommodations are generously appointed with luxurious amenities and spa-like bathrooms with walk-in waterfall showers. Unlock a world-class experience at Newport Marriott and discover a luxury haven along the downtown waterfront.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Bicycle rental
Game room
Car hire
Paid public parking on-site
Parking garage
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Vending machine
Tennis court offsite
Board games / puzzles
Video game console
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Facial treatments
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
1017Reviews43Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 515
  • 329
  • 96
  • 45
  • 32
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Karissa W wrote a review Jun 6
Wareham, Massachusetts3 contributions1 helpful vote
The Full Sail restaurant is classist and not family friendly. Avoid it. For different reasons, the hotel is just okay. My brand loyalty is with Hyatt and this trip reminded me why. As a Massachusetts local, it’s always a treat to take a mini getaway to our neighboring Newport. I’m a new mom and since the pandemic, opportunities to travel have been limited, so this weekend was a blessing. I’m a Gold member with Marriott. When we arrived, the bellhop was friendly and helpful. Honestly, he might be the highlight of the trip’s service. Check-in and check out was easy. Both staff members were kind and respectful. The room itself was okay. I was unimpressed with their recent updates and thought the room did not justify the $550/night price tag or Class 7 category. I’ve stayed at cleaner and nicer hotels on the water for less. I had mentioned that we were celebrating a work promotion and the hotel graciously provided a complimentary cheese board and bottle of Prosecco. Nice touch and very appreciated. We did dinners out on the town, but did breakfast at The Full Sail. When we arrived, 2 tables were occupied in a room where I counted thirteen. The disdain on the hostess’ face was palpable when she asked if we had reservations. We did not and the wait was around 10 minutes, which was totally fine. I came with my 12 month old baby and my Polynesian husband. We looked different than many of the other guests and the hostess generally looked uncomfortable by our presence. Their tone and demeanor changed significantly with other waiting guests. We took a seat in the hotel lobby while we waited, and my little one enjoyed babbling and walking around. The lobby has several decorative nautical ropes that dangle and are anchored from the ceiling. Easy to google the lobby to see a photo. This is throughout the entire hotel. My son was running through one such area, causing zero harm to himself, the ropes, or others, and yet the Hostess thought it was appropriate to loudly chastise us, stating “It’s going to fall on him!” This was incredibly embarrassing and other guests turned their head to look. There was zero possibility anything was going to fall. We weren’t being negligent, he wasn’t “hanging” off of it, and I seriously doubt the designers of the hotel lobby would place such fixtures if a newly walking 12 month old could harm it simply by touching it. It was if she was annoyed by the existence of a child in her space and it was inappropriate. When it was time for us to sit, they approached us without a greeting. I guess it was implied we should follow. We were asked to leave our stroller outside of the restaurant so it wasn’t in the way. There were only a couple tables occupied at 10:15. I had to ask twice for a highchair and a kids menu. The food was typical hotel-grade breakfast. It was very obvious our presence made them uncomfortable. Our treatment at the in-hotel restaurant will make me rethink future stays and really makes me wish a Hyatt would open in the nearby area. I’m genuinely uncomfortable with our experience. We’ve stayed all over the world, so it was a shock to feel so foreign so close to home. Be prepared for judgement if you don’t fit the stereotypical mold of Newport or have children, you could be considered an inconvenience to some, specifically at the Full Sail.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Amy Svatik, Guest Services / Front Office at Newport Marriott
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Karissa W. Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. I apologize that your stay was less than memorable and that you left disappointed. I will share your concerns with my Director of Restaurants so we can enhance our guests experience in the future.
Read more
Idaho Native wrote a review Jun 2
Idaho162 contributions70 helpful votes
Like everywhere they are under staffed but are doing well with what they have. Beds are very comfortable rooms are a bit noisy but overall it's a very nice place. The breakfast in the morning has very large portions and is very tasty. Parking is definitely more pricey than it should be. Great access to shops and downtown al within walking distance. 🚶‍♂️
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Cynthia p wrote a review May 2021
4 contributions1 helpful vote
My family and I are all top tier loyalty customers of Marriott and make an effort to stay loyal when we can. Coming to Newport, I was excited that the location of this property was right downtown and had views of the water. Unfortunately, that's all I can say for it. As someone who stays in hotels between 75-100 nights a year (and a wide range of prices and property amenities), this hotel just did not stand up to any other Marriott property, which should be one of the brand's top tier hotels. The lobby was beautiful and the staff quite friendly. Beyond that, how this hotel can justify its price point (particularly with no M Club Lounge) is quite shocking to me. There is no nice way to say it, but the rooms are dingy and disappointing. It' been a long time since I stayed at a Marriott that had Motel 6 standards for its bathrooms, but the tremendously old white tub (no walk in shower which is almost standard these days), hair in/around the tub, peeling wood chips off the door, and plastic glass ware at the sink, I was already upset that I hadn't opted to stay at a local B&B or other hotel. What made this standard even more glaring was the adjoining room HAD a remodeled bathroom with walk in shower. Why would you put a group of four in such disparate rooms? Finally, I think I've had bigger rooms in NY. The room (with two queen beds) was so small I couldn't open my suitcase anywhere. I had to unpack everything I needed and stand the suitcase up in a corner. As a titanium and platinum member group, I was even more disappointed that there appeared to be no effort to upgrade our rooms or make up for the fact that the M Club Lounge was closed (though every bar in Newport was open, full capacity, and teeming with non-mask wearing tourists). Although the hotel offered a credit of $25 for food/wine, unlike other properties I've been to that permit using this credit anywhere on site during your stay, Newport Marriott only allows you to use the credit towards breakfast! Obviously, the M clubs lounge provide more than an opportunity for breakfast, but an opportunity to refresh during the day and perhaps even a glass of wine! It’s seems a little less like a benefit when the restrictions for use are so limited. Honestly, continuing to use COVID as an excuse for not providing maid service (which we had to speak to mgmt to even get), open clubs, or otherwise provide loyalty benefits to customers who have helped them stay open during this difficult year is no longer acceptable when entire towns are open and bursting at the seem with activity. All that said, I will say the mgmt team welcomed us with some lovely cheese and wine! It was especially appreciated given the long drive from NY and how late we ended up getting in. Unfortunately, after writing the operations manager with my initial impressions on the dingy state of our room, I received no response. Probably par for the course given how little they seem to care for their rooms. It's Newport, rooms are limited and even more so on the water. They'll continue the prices, the hotel will continue to deteriorate, but I for one would rather Uber downtown than pay those prices for that standard - Marriott has tested my loyalty in Newport.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Water view best but priciest!
See more room tips
1 Save
Helpful
Share
Response from Amy Svatik, Guest Services / Front Office at Newport Marriott
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Cynthia P, Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. I apologize that our property did not meet your expectations and that you left disappointed. While we are doing the absolute best we can to provide the wonderful guest experience that our customers are accustomed to, there are changes in place that are currently implemented for safety and security that have altered the way we are able to host our guests at this time. I apologize for your inconvenience.
Read more
Joanne from NJ wrote a review May 2021
6 contributions1 helpful vote
Totally a great experience at hotel . It was beautiful and clean. At check in they upgraded us to a water view room. Breakfast at Main Sail was delicious. We were able to sit outside at the Skiff Bar . It was so beautiful. Will definitely go back. The staff was so pleasant and accommodating. Great Job to the hotel and staff.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Hey Joe wrote a review May 2021
Solomons, Maryland7103 contributions188 helpful votes
+1
I have been to many Marriott properties all over the world but this one is the best I’ve ever encountered bar none. The recent remodeling has put it in the class of the J.W. Marriott with amazing detail throughout the property on top of gorgeous setting on the Newport Waterfront. I want to thank the concierge (Meredith) who recommended an outstanding restaurant to our party and called to arrange our reservation at nearby Clarke Cooke House. Upon arrival, the manager had arranged the best table in house for us and personally greeted us and stayed to converse with us making for a spectacular evening. We also enjoyed Meredith’s rapport and savior faire as we learned from her on our first visit to Newport. She is the epitome of what a concierge should be. Our room overlooking the wharf area was nothing short of full of delightful surprises from the wall treatment with subtle lighting to generous modern shower. The bed was amazing with plenty of plump pillows making for a restful night. We were very pleased to find the restaurant (Mainsail) in full operational mode. The dining room is gorgeous and offers a view of the waterfront. Our server was Holy who was personable and attentive without being obtrusive. Holy won us over as friends from the start surpassing the high standard set Marriott. Aside from outstanding service from Holy, the breakfast itself was outstanding as well. We had the 3 egg omelet customized to our order which was perfect as was the crisp bacon and home fries. Our heartfelt thanks to the chef for that!! I want to also mention the staff at the front desk who were all prompt, professional and perfectly poised in every interaction. Again, I found yet another instance of this property exceeding Marriott’s extremely high standard. That does not happen naturally so I know there is strong managerial leadership and training present. Overall, so many pleasant memories of our stay. We will certainly be back!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$208 - $628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
newport marriott hotel newport, marriott newport
LOCATION
United StatesRhode IslandNewport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
320
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Newport Marriott
Which popular attractions are close to Newport Marriott?
Nearby attractions include Bowen's Wharf (0.3 miles), Bannister's Wharf (0.3 miles), and Museum of Newport History (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Newport Marriott?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at Newport Marriott?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Newport Marriott?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Newport Marriott?
Yes, a parking garage and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Newport Marriott?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mission, Brick Alley Pub, and Fluke Newport.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Newport Marriott?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is Newport Marriott located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Newport.
Are any cleaning services offered at Newport Marriott?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Newport Marriott offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Newport Marriott?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Elms (1.0 miles), Touro Synagogue (0.3 miles), and Rough Point Museum (2.5 miles).