We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina

Save
Share
1 Goat Island, Newport, RI 02840-1570
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
6 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$349
Hotels.com$349
Priceline$272
Travelocity$349
Agoda.com$272
Trip.com$318
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (477)
Room & Suite (175)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Updated 05/12/20

About

#11 of 24 hotels in Newport
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Situated on Goat Island and surrounded by picturesque Newport Harbor and Narragansett Bay, Gurney’s Newport Resort & Marina offers the seclusion of a private island while being a short walk from the heart and history of the charming waterfront cobblestone streets of Newport. Our waterfront hotel is centrally located to the area’s abundant attractions and activities, which include great restaurants, landmark mansions, museums, vineyards, golf courses, beaches, state parks, scenic walks, musical and theatrical performances, cruises and more. Delighting locals and visitors alike, Newport’s annual events include nationally acclaimed jazz and folk festivals, regattas, numerous shows and restaurant weeks in spring and fall. Dine at Scarpetta, a waterfront Italian restaurant by LDV Hospitality. Open every night, the restaurant delivers signature classics, seasonal dishes, locally sourced fresh seafood selections and a world-class wine list. Enjoy lunch by the waterfront, take advantage of cabana service at The Pineapple Club or sip cocktails at sunset at The Regent Lounge. Guests can relax and rejuvenate at the Seawater Spa or take the water shuttle to Newport from the marina. Expansive grounds offering 360-degree water views provide an ideal setting for our various dining options, entertainment, wellness, waterfront spa treatments, family fun, and secluded shoreline cocktails featuring the best sunsets in Newport. Because we offer 257 guestrooms and more event space than any other property in Newport, Gurney’s Newport Resort & Marina is a popular destination for all sorts of stylish business and social gatherings, as well as truly memorable weddings Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, staying for a weekend or a week, we think you will love our gorgeous location, in the “City by the Sea.” Reservations: •Cancellation made at least 22 days prior to arrival will receive a full refund of the deposit. •If a reservation is cancelled 15-21 days out from the arrival date, 50% of the deposit is forfeited as remained is refunded. •If the reservation is cancelled inside 14 days of the arrival, the deposit paid will be forfeited. •First Night’s Deposit required at time of booking. Parking •Overnight self-parking is available for $20 per night with unlimited entry. •Valet parking is available for $35 per night
Read more
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Free shuttle or taxi services
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Marina View
Languages Spoken
Spanish
714Reviews24Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 380
  • 107
  • 77
  • 79
  • 71
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Richard L wrote a review Jan 10
New York City, New York6 contributions6 helpful votes
Our daughter got married last week in Newport and we arranged for our guests to stay at Gurney’s-Newport. What a horrendous mistake!!! The list of catastrophes and shortcomings is too long and painful to repeat here, but some highlights (or lowlights) include uncleaned rooms (uniformly and repeatedly), lost luggage, no bar service, no dining service and surly service when “service” was available. Two exceptions were the front desk and bell staff, who – while severely undermanned – did try to provide “service.” Particularly galling was the repeated lies we were fed by Food Manager Jonathan Pelletier who promised us twice that he would provide normal-hours food service for our guests – food that never arrived. And all of that is not to mention the outdated and tired décor and small (cramped) and dark guestrooms. This facility is leagues below other Gurney’s facilities we have visited AND SHOULD BE AVOIDED AT ALL COSTS!!!! [Footnote: While the hotel management is too uncaring and inept to respond, I hope they will avoid the gratuitous/obligatory “apology” that our stay was “unsatisfactory as that would miss the mark. It was HORRIBLE – not “unsatisfactory.” AVOID!!]
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from David Smiley, General Manager at Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Responded 1 week ago
Dear richardiC8220GE, I do look forward to scheduling a call this week and appreciate the chance to talk more about your weekend with us. My best, David Smiley General Manager
Read more
Patricia M wrote a review Jan 8
1 contribution
We recently celebrated our daughter’s wedding in Newport, RI, on New Year’s Eve. The celebration was phenomenal. Our stay @ Gurney’s of Newport RI was anything but. Our group booked over 30 rooms, including 4 suites. The “reduced block rate” for our rooms was roughly $289.00, totaling over $350.00 per room, per night, inclusive of fees, with a 2-night minimum. The suites were considerably more expensive. Our stay was marked by disappointment after disappointment, starting with our arrival. While Gurney’s home page touts it as “The Most Beautiful Hotel in Rhode Island,” a designation granted it purportedly by Architectural Digest, it is not. The rooms and common areas are dated and in desperate need of renovation. That is where the flattery stops. We and our guests encountered myriad plumbing and drainage problems in our rooms; my son’s luggage, tuxedo and rehearsal dinner suit were sent to the wrong room following his arrival, causing us to be late to the rehearsal dinner; and, adding insult to injury, on New Year’s morning, we and our guests waited nearly two hours for our meals before being asked “why we were still sitting there,” as our food order had been cancelled. The Food & Beverage Director, along with another manager, were directly involved with and aware of this fiasco. Too many details to enumerate here. The two female waitstaff we encountered were rude and surly, and that is me being polite. Do yourself a favor. Don’t stay at Gurney’s. Have a drink at the pineapple bar in the Summer to enjoy the grounds and stay somewhere else. Patricia Mulligan
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from David Smiley, General Manager at Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Responded 1 week ago
Dear PMDM6066, I do look forward to scheduling a call this week and appreciate the chance to talk more about your weekend with us. My best, David Smiley General Manager
Read more
lucaciummo wrote a review Jan 7
Cranston, Rhode Island1 contribution
Very clean and organized, no stress vacation. They make everything easy from check-in to checkout. It was a great time for family time. Everything was wonderful. Valet, room service, restaurant and ice skating rink. We had a great time. And Newport has so many things to do. And Gurney’s is also dog friendly.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from David Smiley, General Manager at Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Lucaciummo, Thank you very much for your review and so happy to read how much you enjoyed Gurney's. We do hope to see you back and will have extra dog treats at the ready. Warmest regards, David Smiley General Manager
Read more
Chris wrote a review Jan 2
1 contribution1 helpful vote
+1
Bathroom in our room was gross. The molding on the bathroom door was falling off. Rudest experience with one of the restaurant managers (one of the restaurant managers was great, this gentleman just happened to be terrible), and two of the bartenders after a great dinner. Hotel manager attempted to apologize with a form letter with a bunch of typos, clearly doesn’t care enough to proof read his apologies. Syrdan and Paul were standout hard workers. Both working breakfast, lunch, and dinner during our entire stay. They were great and everyone else was phenomenal as well, outside of one very unpleasant situation after dinner.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from David Smiley, General Manager at Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Responded 3 weeks ago
Good day Chris, Thank you for your review and it was a pleasure meeting you and your wife this past weekend. As promised, I did review the situation with our Director of Food & Beverage so we may avoid history repeating. Again, my apologies for the expereince and I am glad to read how much you thought of Syrdan and Paul. We continue to focus on our guest room projects as we are making progress everyday. Please let me know if I can be of further assistance. David Smiley General Manager david.smiley@gurneysresorts.com
Read more
jyoungemini wrote a review Dec 2021
Jefferson, Georgia9 contributions
Stayed at Gurney’s for the Christmas holiday and it was fantastic. The kids loved the ice skating rink and the service was phenomenal. Although the hotel is a little dated, it is worth a stay. The restaurant and outdoor igloos are a must too!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from David Smiley, General Manager at Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Jyoungemini, Thank you so much for your kind words and even happier to read how much everyone enjoyed their stay. The skating and igloo expereince is such fun for the whole family. we look forward having you return when your plans have you returning to Newport. Happy New Year, David Smiley General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$216 - $729 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hyatt regency newport hotel newport, newport hyatt regency, hyatt newport
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hyatt Regency Newport
LOCATION
United StatesRhode IslandNewport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
257
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Which popular attractions are close to Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina?
Nearby attractions include Bannister's Wharf (0.7 miles), Bowen's Wharf (0.7 miles), and Museum of Newport History (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mission, Brick Alley Pub, and Kilwin's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Newport.
Are any cleaning services offered at Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Elms (1.4 miles), Touro Synagogue (0.8 miles), and Rough Point Museum (2.8 miles).