We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina

Save
Share
1 Goat Island, Newport, RI 02840-1570
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Tripadvisor$299
Hotels.com
Priceline
travelup.com
Snaptravel$310
FindHotel
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (372)
Room & Suite (138)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
Updated 05/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Updated 05/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#11 of 24 hotels in Newport
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Situated on Goat Island and surrounded by picturesque Newport Harbor and Narragansett Bay, Gurney’s Newport Resort & Marina offers the seclusion of a private island while being a short walk from the heart and history of the charming waterfront cobblestone streets of Newport. Our waterfront hotel is centrally located to the area’s abundant attractions and activities, which include great restaurants, landmark mansions, museums, vineyards, golf courses, beaches, state parks, scenic walks, musical and theatrical performances, cruises and more. Delighting locals and visitors alike, Newport’s annual events include nationally acclaimed jazz and folk festivals, regattas, numerous shows and restaurant weeks in spring and fall. Dine at Scarpetta, a waterfront Italian restaurant by LDV Hospitality. Open every night, the restaurant delivers signature classics, seasonal dishes, locally sourced fresh seafood selections and a world-class wine list. Enjoy lunch by the waterfront, take advantage of cabana service at The Pineapple Club or sip cocktails at sunset at The Regent Lounge. Guests can relax and rejuvenate at the Seawater Spa or take the water shuttle to Newport from the marina. Expansive grounds offering 360-degree water views provide an ideal setting for our various dining options, entertainment, wellness, waterfront spa treatments, family fun, and secluded shoreline cocktails featuring the best sunsets in Newport. Because we offer 257 guestrooms and more event space than any other property in Newport, Gurney’s Newport Resort & Marina is a popular destination for all sorts of stylish business and social gatherings, as well as truly memorable weddings Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, staying for a weekend or a week, we think you will love our gorgeous location, in the “City by the Sea.” Reservations: •Cancellation made at least 22 days prior to arrival will receive a full refund of the deposit. •If a reservation is cancelled 15-21 days out from the arrival date, 50% of the deposit is forfeited as remained is refunded. •If the reservation is cancelled inside 14 days of the arrival, the deposit paid will be forfeited. •First Night’s Deposit required at time of booking. Parking •Overnight self-parking is available for $20 per night with unlimited entry. •Valet parking is available for $35 per night
Read more
Room & Suite (138)138
Full view
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Free shuttle or taxi services
Business Center with Internet Access
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Marina View
601Reviews18Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 333
  • 92
  • 65
  • 62
  • 49
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
caitlin s wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
I never write reviews, but i felt this was warranted. Our stay at gurneys was just ok. The staff was great, no complaints there, but the price they are charging does not in any way match the hotel. It’s pretty rundown looking, not upgraded rooms, and our room which we upgraded to a balcony water view room overlooked a weird back alley that looked like a delivery/service area loading dock. The balcony looked like it was falling apart and the railing was loose which made it seem unsafe to sit outside. The tile in the shower looked like it hasn’t been replaced in about 15 years with a white film covering it. The outside of the building looked like it was falling apart as well. Again, staff was very nice, food at the restaurants was amazing, but they are charging way too much for the room and the hotel given the shape it is in. Don’t stay here, just come for the food/drinks.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from David Smiley, General Manager at Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Responded yesterday
Dear 465caitlins, I do apologies that we did not meet your expectations during you stay with us. We are currently reviewing all of our rooms and addressing the the challenges mentioned in your review. I am glad to read how much you enjoyed our service from the team and your dinning experiences with us. My best, David Smiley General Manager
Read more
Kathy H wrote a review Sep 2020
New York City, New York53 contributions30 helpful votes
Checked in today for a 4 day stay. My mom called and had to get out after 8 months of quarantine! We got tested and headed here. So far so good! I was told of enhanced cleaning although we bleached surfaces to be safe. Bought our own pillows and are staying away from people and are masked. Everyone understands and has gone out of their way to accommodate. The grounds are big enough to find a way to isolate. Get a balcony room for fresh air since windows don't open. Supposedly each room has its own air. Let's see how this all works out!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from David Smiley, General Manager at Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Responded yesterday
Dear KathyhB1405ke, Thank you for your review and so please you enjoyed your stay and more importantly felt safe during your stay. We do hope to have you as our guests again in the future when your plan have you returning to Newport. Be well, David Smiley General Manager
Read more
Maeve wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
Very misleading based on the pictures on the website. The rooms are VERY outdated and pretty much falling apart. Upon check in they put us it a room that was already occupied. Yes, we used the key we were given we walked into the room to find a couple who was just as confused as we were. After we were given another room it continued to get worse. We found a dirty sock next to the outlet behind the desk. And the walls were DIRTY. The bathroom wall was Covered in tooth paste. It also looked like someone exploded a Coca Cola.. there was a brown dried substance dripping from a few of the walls. I honestly hope the room was even cleaned. They then moved us to a bi level suite which again was super outdated and boarder line falling apart. There were also old drinks still out on the balcony from the people before us And the bath tub was clogged. I took a shower and the water was above my ankles by the time i was done. I will say the staff was very nice and quick to respond. Overall definitely not the experience we were hoping for and would not recommend staying here. I would however recommend going to for drinks go to sit at the outside area. The drinks and views are great.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from David Smiley, General Manager at Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Gilhooml, Please accept my personal apologies for your experience. I would be be more than happy to talk more about your experience and the condition of your rooms. We wish to create positive memories for all our guests and do hope we have the chance to talk more as my contact information is below. Warmest regards, David Smiley General Manager david.smiley@gurneysresorts.com
Read more
Lee V wrote a review Sep 2020
West Haven, Connecticut12 contributions2 helpful votes
This resort is amazing very beautiful. The staff is amazing great job everyone. The room was very clean and nice great view from my room alot of room inside. The resort was very big on the water. Great place to stay!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from David Smiley, General Manager at Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Responded 6 days ago
Dear LisaVa1102, Thank you very much for your review and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward having you return soon. My best, David Smiley General Manager
Read more
Kim wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
We intended to stay two nights at Gurneys but we switched after one night bc it was so awful. I’ve never switched hotels before mid stay. Nor have I ever left a negative review on here prior to this. The suite we stayed in was in terrible shape and desperately needed an upgrade. For the amount they charged, it was incredibly overpriced. The decor was ugly, dated, and depressing. We needed another blanket in our room and we attempted to call housekeeping and the front desk to get one and nobody picked up for twenty minutes. We eventually found someone in room service to bring one. The service in the hotel lobby where we ordered drinks in the evening was terribly slow. We had to get up twice to find a waitress to get us what we needed. That evening, we waited 1 hour for our table to become available at Scarpetta. The hallways through the entire hotel are filthy; carpet is old and stained and decor is so drab. Please do not make the mistake we did and waste your $ here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from David Smiley, General Manager at Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Kim4321Sky, Please accept my apologies for the experiencing the situation you did as I would request we have a chance to schedule a call so we can talk more about this and your stay. I would be happy to review the entire situation with you and final end result that took place that evening. I look forward to speaking with you soon. Regards, David Smiley General Manager david.smiley@gurneysresorts.com
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$216 - $729 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hyatt regency newport hotel newport, newport hyatt regency, hyatt newport
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hyatt Regency Newport
LOCATION
United StatesRhode IslandNewport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
257
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Which popular attractions are close to Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina?
Nearby attractions include Bannister's Wharf (0.7 miles), Bowen's Wharf (0.7 miles), and Museum of Newport History (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mission, Brick Alley Pub, and Kilwin's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Newport.
Are any cleaning services offered at Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Elms (1.4 miles), Touro Synagogue (0.8 miles), and Rough Point Museum (2.8 miles).