We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House

Save
Share
2 Sunnyside Pl, Newport, RI 02840-3321
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (79)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (12)

About

#32 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travelers visiting Newport, Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its romantic environment and proximity to great restaurants and attractions, Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House makes it easy to enjoy the best of Newport.

Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House is a romantic bed and breakfast offering air conditioning in the rooms, and it is easy to stay connected during your stay as free wifi is offered to guests.

For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting Newport, Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House is located a short distance from Bellevue Avenue (0.1 mi) and International Tennis Hall of Fame (0.2 mi).

Travelers looking to enjoy some lobster can head to The Mooring, Brick Alley Pub, or The White Horse Tavern. Otherwise, you may want to check out a pub such as Brick Alley Pub, Benjamin's Restaurant and Raw Bar, or La Forge Casino Restaurant.

Should time allow, Cliff Walk is a popular attraction that is within walking distance.

Architects Inn - George Champlin Mason House Hotel is sure to make your visit to Newport one worth remembering.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bicycle rental
Car hire
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Residential Neighborhood
208Reviews0Q+A39Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 160
  • 15
  • 17
  • 9
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Lisa M wrote a review Oct 2018
Mansfield, Massachusetts86 contributions33 helpful votes
My daughter rented this house for her wedding party. From Friday to Sunday we were able to have memorable events. Brunch for the bridesmaids on Friday morning was great. We laughed around the large dining room table. Plenty or room for all. Beautiful room. The rehearsal dinner was at the Newport Art Museum around the corner. It was a short walk home for the bridal party. Saturday we had hair and makeup done all day. Visitors came and enjoyed the weather while chatting on the front porch. Pictures of the bridesmaids and bride getting ready were perfect in the antique like bedrooms. My daughter and husband were picked up in an beautiful old car by Ken from Newport Classic Car Tours. The house was a perfect back drop for the pictures. The host was very nice and accommodating. I do recommend this rental.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Helpful
Share
mamacatnip wrote a review Aug 2018
Scituate, Massachusetts6 contributions1 helpful vote
My daughter and I stayed in “Greystone Chamber”. UNIQUE is the first term that springs to mind when describing the experience of sleeping in the converted servants’ area of this historic home. (It was also comfortable and quiet). The hosts were welcoming and helpful but unobtrusive. This house is conveniently located for walking to all the nearby mansions, museums, restaurants, and beaches. We parked our car when we arrived and we didn’t drive again until our reluctant departure. I enthusiastically recommend this rental!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
50yearOldGirlScout wrote a review Aug 2018
Statesville, North Carolina174 contributions56 helpful votes
Through a mix-up in reservations elsewhere, we ended up at the Architect's Inn. Couldn't have been any happier! For starters, this house is immaculate. We stayed in the room with blue tones (in the picture on their webpage). Spacious. The bed was very comfortable. We liked that the house was on a quite street. Close enough to walk to everything. Far away enough from the hub-bub. The hosts were quick to respond to any of our questions. The chocolate chip cookies are AMAZING. Would stay her again in a heartbeat.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Jessie P wrote a review Jul 2017
Port Saint Lucie, Florida, United States2 contributions6 helpful votes
We booked online. Tried to contact property and was reverted to Brian's cell phone. He refused to confirm our reservation and when questioned about his previous shady reviews he legitimately told us to cancel our reservation. We were uneasy based on the fact that we booked under "Tykha" which DOESN'T EXIST in Newport. It's aka the Architects Inn or Woodbine Cottage or some murder mystery nonsense corporation. Fine. But when we asked Brian to send us confirmation of our room and the dates requested he refused. We have since cancelled our reservation and our credit card. Horrible people. And please feel free Nick and Brian to write a scathing response. You messed up. Not us.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Architects G, Manager at Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House
Responded Jul 31, 2017
This guy is looney bins. He booked his room on booking.com and called us to get a confirmation for his room. We said we can't do that because booking.com already sent him a confirmation. If you book through a travel agency such as booking.com or hotels.com then they take your payment and legally they send you your confirmation email. It doesn't come from us unless you book directly through us. It isn't rocket science. We tried to explain this him but he flipped out and called us and harassed us for a week leaving horrible voicemail messages. This review is not for this property either so it has no business on this website at all. He needs to read his confirmation and which of our properties he booked. If he only read the information that was in his email box, he wouldn't be so confused and start saying we are running a shadowy business. We have been open for 21 years. We are an established group of vacation rental properties in Newport area. Who is he to doubt our credibility?
Read more
leftbeaconhill wrote a review Feb 2017
New York City, New York1 contribution5 helpful votes
The owners of this bed and breakfast are terrible! They are angry individuals!! Do not waste your time and money with this place!! False representation's to the extreme!! They have basement rooms that they do not show you on there website....It is a scam....Nick is rude and aggressive.....
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
ALSO KNOWN AS
architects inn - george champlin mason house hotel newport
LOCATION
United StatesRhode IslandNewport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House
Which popular attractions are close to Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House?
Nearby attractions include Bellevue Avenue (0.1 miles), International Tennis Hall of Fame (0.2 miles), and Audrain Automobile Museum (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a concierge.
Is parking available at Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jo's American Bistro, Cru Cafe, and Annies.
Is Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Newport.
Are there any historical sites close to Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Elms (0.5 miles), Rough Point Museum (2.1 miles), and Touro Synagogue (0.5 miles).