We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
117 Memorial Boulevard, Newport, RI 02840
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Tripadvisor$1,095
Hotels.com
Expedia.com$1,095
Booking.com$1,095
Priceline
FindHotel
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (482)
360
Panoramas (5)
Room & Suite (276)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 25 hotels in Newport
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.8
Value
4.4
Travelers' Choice
The Chanler is the only hotel located on Newport's famed Cliff Walk, and one of the most historic hotels in New England, surrounded by acres of manicured gardens and overlooking the sparkling waters of the Atlantic and pristine sands of Easton's Beach. Relax in sumptuous accommodations in Newport, Rhode Island's best luxury hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Free shuttle or taxi services
Massage
24-hour security
Valet parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
iPod docking station
Walk-in shower
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
1187Reviews12Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,006
  • 98
  • 36
  • 20
  • 27
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Smith Wolensky wrote a review Sep 2022
Michigan21 contributions
If you're not spending tens of thousands of dollars, don't bother going to this place. If you're not renting one of their fancier rooms, they'll look at you like you're bothering them. Does the staff know that most people who come to The Chanler have to save up for months to make it happen, even if staying at a room that costs "only" $1000 dollars a night? I feel I was treated differently when I stayed at The Renaissance room than in my most recent (and more affordable) stay. Also, the view of the Renaissance is just not in line with what one would expect at a property like this. Why can't they cover the highway view with trees? Why can't the Louis XVI be separated by a bigger tree from the room next to it? Apparently, if you're not staying for a week for your honeymoon and spending several thousands of dollars, you're not a customer worthy of their attention. A true shame, because when we came for our small honeymoon we were treated very nicely. Also: what's with the Cafe? Why don't they renovate it to make it cozier in all seasons, now that they have heating throughout the year? Just not a five-star experience.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Renaissance is nice but horrible views. Louis XVI has no private balcony. Does this hotel even...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anney Jasinski, Marketing at The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I'm truly sorry that you felt our team treated you differently from a previous stay, we pride ourselves on exceptional service and are disappointed to know that we did not live up to expectations. I would however like to thank you for sharing this with us so that we may include it in our weekly staff training. It is because of comments on the guest experience that we may continue to enhance and improve. I do hope that one day we may earn your business back and it was our pleasure to have you as a guest.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tompakov wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
The Chanler is a special place. Top to bottom. If your looking for something memorable for you and your significant other, The Chanler surely delivers. The rooms, the food, the staff, the views, all 5 star!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anney Jasinski, Marketing at The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your gracious feedback, our staff was delighted to hear about your positive experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rscarlin2022 wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
If you're going on an overnight or several day stay in Newport, The Chanler at Cliff Walk is the place to stay. They have every aspect of their game in top notch form. The accommodations, the view, the staff, their attention to detail, and their genuine concern for the guest experience was first and foremost on their minds. I would be remiss if I didn't mention the culinary experience as being top notch as well - alll of our five meals were consistently prepared and delivered to our table and were excellent. Several stops in the lounge produced excellently prepared cocktails.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anney Jasinski, Marketing at The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your gracious feedback, our staff was delighted to hear about your positive experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
paulmason2022 wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Great location, very friendly & helpful staff. Very nice room patio area. Nice room, but queen bed was a little small, would have preferred king. Very nice bathroom and shower. We stayed in the Colonial.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anney Jasinski, Marketing at The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your gracious feedback, our staff was delighted to hear about your positive experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
handsomenzo wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
The Chanler was highly recommended to us and we were not disappointed. I could not have booked a more perfect place for our 25th wedding anniversary. When we opened the door to our room it actually took my breath away and i had tears on my eyes.Stunning Perfection. Spectacular. Loved it,everything, everyone, every detail. Absolutely unforgettable. Can not wait to come back. So special.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anney Jasinski, Marketing at The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Responded 2 weeks ago
Happy belated anniversary and thank you for your gracious feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Larry M wrote a review Sep 2022
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania71 contributions40 helpful votes
The Chanler at Cliff Walk is a beautiful property in a nice location. It is about a mile from most of the shops and restaurants in town, so my wife and I walked into town daily. The hotel does offer free car service on a first-come basis, which we took advantage of several nights when going to dinner. The hotel grounds are beautiful and well-maintained. Being located adjacent to the Cliff Walk, the views of the water are stunning. All hotel staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. Our room was very comfortable with great air conditioning. The cleaning and turndown service was excellent and always seemed to be well-timed to when we were out of the room. On the downside, breakfast service in the cafe was slow and seemed understaffed. On two mornings, it took a full hour to receive our orders, and twice my wife received the wrong order. On the last day they were aware we were unhappy with the service and credited us $50. The most negative aspect of our stay was that our room, English Trellis, was next to what I think is the hotel kitchen. There was the constant sound of people walking, doors or cabinets being shut, and what appeared to be trash cans being dragged down the outside steps. This typically started around 7AM and was fairly constant until around 11 PM. This might also be an issue in the Briar Rose room, as it is located on the other side of the kitchen. After getting home, I noticed a large dinner charge on my bill from the hotel restaurant that was not mine. I called and a staff member investigated it and got back to me promptly. She found that the server had charged the meal to the wrong room. She immediately processed a refund.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The English Trellis room is located next to what I believe is the hotel kitchen with frequent...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anney Jasinski, Marketing at The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback on your experience with your stay. I would like to apologize for your experience with breakfast service and for the unauthorized charge to your room, but thank you for bringing it to our attention during your stay so we could take steps to resolve the matter. It is always our hope to provide rooms without noise from public areas of the hotel and I do apologize that your room was in the midst of a loud evening service, we have since taken steps to reduce the noise from our kitchen staff and we hope to gain you will one day join us again to see the improvements. Please reach out directly to anney@thechanler.com if you should have any additional concerns. Thank you again for being our guest.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
alan w. s wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions
Excellent as expected. We have stayed in almost every hotel and bed & breakfast in Newport over the last 23 years and nothing compares to the Chanler. There are some other nice places, but if you want first class all the way this is the place to stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anney Jasinski, Marketing at The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Responded Aug 30, 2022
Thank you for your gracious feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linda H wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions
One of the best locations in Rhode Island Magnificent views, beautiful gardens, and excellent staff. A morning stroll on the cliff walk is a delightful way to start the day. Especially when it's somewhat foggy. This mansion is truly romantic!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anney Jasinski, Marketing at The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Responded Aug 30, 2022
Thank you very much for your gracious feedback, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us for your getaway, and our staff was delighted to hear about your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
robinsonjd3 wrote a review Aug 2022
Hinsdale, Illinois3 contributions
What a truly special place! From the curb appeal, greetings by staff upon entry and first opening the door to our room, The Chanler exceeded our expectations for the stay. Eat at one of their two well regarded restaurants and then retire out to the lawn to take in the sights and sounds of the water and sky over a glass of wine. We will be back soon!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anney Jasinski, Marketing at The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Responded Aug 9, 2022
Thank you very much for your gracious feedback, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us for your getaway, and our staff was delighted to hear about your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vacation02199984726 wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
The property is set next to the shoreline and adjacent to a beach, it’s also the starting point of the Cliff Walk. There is a restaurant and a separate outdoor café overlooking the ocean. All of the staff, even college kids, are very helpful and professional. The hotel is very well maintained and the rooms are clean/ free of dust. Parking is free on property with a valet option.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anney Jasinski, Marketing at The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Responded Aug 7, 2022
Thank you very much for your gracious feedback, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us for your getaway. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$662 - $1,272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the chanler at cliff walk hotel newport, chanler at cliff walk newport
LOCATION
United StatesRhode IslandNewport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Which popular attractions are close to The Chanler at Cliff Walk?
Nearby attractions include The Elms (0.7 miles), Cliff Walk (0.01 miles), and Bellevue Avenue (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Chanler at Cliff Walk?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Chanler at Cliff Walk?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Chanler at Cliff Walk?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Chanler at Cliff Walk?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Chanler at Cliff Walk?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cru Cafe, Jo's American Bistro, and Easton's Beach Snack Bar.
Is The Chanler at Cliff Walk located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Newport.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Chanler at Cliff Walk?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Chanler at Cliff Walk?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Touro Synagogue (0.8 miles), Rough Point Museum (2.1 miles), and Fort Adams State Park (2.0 miles).
Does The Chanler at Cliff Walk have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is The Chanler at Cliff Walk accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.