We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Wyndham Inn on the Harbor

Show Prices
#17 of 21 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Wyndham Inn on the Harbor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Inn on the Harbor
See the most recent reviews
Showing 119: English reviews
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015 via mobile

Stayed a couple of times at this hotel. Great location. Stayed 2 adults & 2 kids 7 & 10. Great set up as kids sleep in one section w/ TV and door to partition it off from bedroom which also has it's own TV. Within walking distance to everything around Thames St. The arcade, restaurants & shops. Full size frig... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy S
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Hello Nancy S, thank you for coming back and we are glad you enjoy the accomodations! We will see you again soon! More 

farminton new mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015 via mobile

If you value your sleep do not stay here! Paper thin walls and a restaurant below that plays music till after 11 pm. Tired decor and unit. It's one saving grace is location. The ladies at the front desk were helpful also.

Helpful?
2 Thank bowhunter56
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review bowhunter56! We are glad you liked our location and that the front desk staff was helpful. We do apologize for the problems you did encounter with your stay due to noise from adjacent rooms and the below restaurant. More 

Travelers are raving about these Newport hotels

nj
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

These are timeshare units with a kitchenette. This room had a beautiful view of Newport Harbor. The staff is quite helpful. Includes one parking spot. Restaurant downstairs gives discount to guests. Lots to do in this area. Mansion tours, Sunset Cruise was great! Red parrot restaurant is right across the street. Great Thai Cuisine restaurant down the street.

Helpful?
Thank kswny
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review! We are so glad you enjoyed your unit and our local eateries! More 

Street, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

Stayed here for a 3 night getaway, I wasn't expecting a very nice place after reading some previous reviews. I already knew not to expect daily maid service because this is a timeshare not a hotel. They did however give us nice starter pack of soaps, toilet paper, paper towels, dish soap, toiletries,etc. They provide towels and linens and laundry... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank gma0f4
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Hi gma0f4, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again soon! More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

I tried for a month to think of some nice things to say about my week at the Wyndham Inn on the Harbor. The location is excellent. I parked my car on arrival and didn't take it out for the whole week because you can walk everywhere! They double park at the Wyndham so it isn't easy to get your... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank 553kimberlya
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for your response 553kimberlya. While we are glad you enjoyed the area and some of our Inn feautures, we are sorry to hear about your dissapointments. Your comments have been noted and anything within our control will be taken care of. Once again, thank you for commenting on your stay. More 

Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

After one week in the hotel, it really began to feel like home. The staff was wonderful and really warm and inviting, although they did take a day or two to warm up. (When we checked in there was a boat show in town, which came with some very rude guests, they treated the staff horribly!). The room had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank LaurenR87
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Hi LaurenR87! Happy Holidays and thank you for taking the time to comment about Inn on the Harbor. Your comments will be shared with our staff. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon! More 

Los Angeles
Level Contributor
371 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We stayed here as part of a timeshare exchange. Had trouble finding it but it was right in front of our faces, we just turned one driveway too soon. The parking is underneath. I was worried about finding parking but we always did. In our first room, we had neighbors that were the worst neighbors that one could ever have... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank LAtoEverywhere
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I am so sorry you had to deal with the excessive noise! I am glad we were able to move you away to enjoy some piece and quiet for the remainder of your stay. More 

South Amboy, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I came here for a weekend getaway. The location was fantastic! It is walking distance to almost everything. However, the hotel itself needs a drastic update. Everything looks like it came out of 1992. I also found that the shower and sheets needed to either be cleaned better or replaced. Everything else was very clean/suitable!

Helpful?
2 Thank mediajackie
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Hi Mediajackie! Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your time and the location of our resort. Also, thank you for the concerns about a renovation and cleanliness. This helps us constantly better the Inn. See you again soon! More 

Latham, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a quick getaway from the the kids. The hotel was clean, front desk personnel very helpful and the location was perfect. Parking could be an issue when crowded but we didn't have any issues. Overall a great stay, booked through priceline and got a great deal.

Helpful?
3 Thank sgt1010
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

We are glad you had an enjoyable time! Come again! More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

There were three of us doing a three week holiday to New York and New England and we generally had two rooms. We stayed two nights at the Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, Newport in Superior 1 bedroom suites We managed to get two rooms on the top floor that had great views over the harbor, and there is a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank David R
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for this great feedback David! This will allow us to continue to enhance the vacation experience at our resort. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (50)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#11 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 1,378 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.0 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Wyndham Inn on the Harbor

Address: 359 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6643 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Inn on the Harbor)
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: $130 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Inn on the Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Inn on the Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Inn On The Harbor Hotel Newport
Wyndham On The Harbor
Wyndham Hotel Newport
Wyndham Newport
Newport Wyndham
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#6 Green Hotel in Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay