We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Sarah Kendall House

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Sarah Kendall House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 216: English reviews
Glocester, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As seasoned travelers we often find ourselves at hotels, resorts or on large cruise ships. We love them all. However, this was different. Peaceful, yet plentiful. Brian, Fran and Mary are the best hosts/hostesses you can ask for. From casual friendly conversation to the history of the house and area, to dinner recommendations, they simply do it all. Thank you... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank billyh32
sarahkendallhouse, Owner at Sarah Kendall House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your wonderful review. We are very happy you enjoyed your anniversary weekend with The Sarah Kendall House. We look forward to your next visit. Fran More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If we could give this place 10 stars it wouldn't be enough. The owners, Bryan and Fran were the most accommodating people, getting a room over the phone at the last minute due to a switch in our family's plan. We felt like they were friends we knew for a long time. The place is gorgeous, we'll maintained and in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heidi A
sarahkendallhouse, Owner at Sarah Kendall House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review. It was a pleasure having you here at the Sarah Kendall House. We were happy to help out during your problem with the boys. I think it all worked out for the best. I was happy to see you enjoying the porch. We look forward to your next visit. Fran More 

Convent Station NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well, I can't say enough about The Sarah Kendall House, this was a surprise for my sisters 50th birthday. We never seem to be able to spend time together and I could not have picked a more perfect place. Fran and Brian as well as their grandchildren made us feel like we had known them a lot longer than just... More 

Helpful?
Thank Caltamuro
sarahkendallhouse, Owner at Sarah Kendall House, responded to this review

What a kind review!! We throughly enjoyed your company sitting on the front porch for a quick chat as you two were always moving. It was so nice to see two sisters spending time together. We are happy you enjoyed the bed and breakfast and your "special breakfasts." We look forward to your next visit. Stay well, Fran More 

Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room was comfortable and nicely decorated with a Victorian feel. Four poster queen bed, private bathroom with an attached balcony with a sitting area. Flat screen tv mounted above the quaint fireplace so we could keep up with the Olympic games in Rio. Parking was available on the street using a permit provided by the B&B. The front porch... More 

Helpful?
Thank _pamelabowman1
sarahkendallhouse, Owner at Sarah Kendall House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your glowing review. Our front porch has brought pleasure and peace to many of our guests. We are happy you too enjoyed the views and gardens. Our room are cared for with enthusiasm. Thank you for noticing. We look forward to your next visit to the Sarah Kendall House. Fran More 

Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room was beautiful and spacious (we stayed in the Isaac Kendall Room) with a very comfortable bed and huge bathroom. The ocean view from the room was gorgeous, too. The owners are lovely and knowledgeable and had excellent suggestions to make re: local restaurants. The breakfast each day was a real highlight. I definitely plan to return!

Helpful?
Thank STK1124
sarahkendallhouse, Owner at Sarah Kendall House, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We are happy you enjoyed the Isaac Kendall room and it's great views. Glad we could be of help with your vacation plans. Fran More 

Minnesota, US
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great location in historical neighborhood with harbor view. The home is beautiful, the grounds are filled with flowering shrubs and perennials, and the breakfast is huge and delicious. The tower view suite was large and very comfortable.

Helpful?
Thank smfitz
sarahkendallhouse, Owner at Sarah Kendall House, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We are happy you enjoyed your room and our breakfast. We try our best to make sure our guests are happy!! Fran More 

New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The owners are sooo extremely sweet. Beautiful breakfast in a stunning dinning room, on elegant china and shiny crystal. We ate breakfast there one morning and it was very good. Our room was pretty, and the gardens were perfect. Cookie and brownies at night with coffee, refreshments at 3:00pm. A beach bag with beach towels and sunscreen in your room... More 

Helpful?
Thank tnks
sarahkendallhouse, Owner at Sarah Kendall House, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. It was lovely meeting you both and your boys. It was our pleasure to help you celebrate your birthday. Fran More 

Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been to many BnBs and this one ranks right up there. Nice room, great location, wonderful food, and our hosts were congenial and very knowledgeable about the history of Newport. They went out of their way to make us welcome and comfortable. The porch was our go to for the sunset, cookies, brandy, and camaraderie with the other... More 

Helpful?
Thank damcguig
sarahkendallhouse, Owner at Sarah Kendall House, responded to this review

Thank you for our glowing review. We love when our guests enjoy the bed and breakfast and our wonderful porch. We try our best to make everyone comfortable. We look forward to your next visit. Fran More 

Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed here in July of 2016. The staff was very friendly and there was SO much food on the breakfast table, which was to die for. The biggest plus to this inn is the location. It is in walking distance to the Newport shops and right across from the bay. You can see the bay from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
sarahkendallhouse, Owner at Sarah Kendall House, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We pride ourselves on our delicious and bountiful breakfasts. It is a great convince being walking distance to downtown and still be located in a quiet neighborhood. We are happy you enjoyed the Sarah Kendall House. Fran More 

Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location and wonderful hospitality! Fran and Bryan make everything so comfortable and are a wealth of information for what to do in the area. We only spent two nights this time but I would definitely come back and stay longer!

Helpful?
Thank Corina A
sarahkendallhouse, Owner at Sarah Kendall House, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We enjoy talking to our guests and sharing some of Newport's history and tips. We hope to see you on your next visit. Bryan More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

104 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (86)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#11 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 1,324 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.5 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A beautiful bed and breakfast in historical neighborhood. Homes are colonial and Victorian some dating back to 1700. Very quiet area but a short walk to the center of town. On the harbor( see the Newport bridge beautifully lite at night) beautiful front porch with antique wicker furniture to enjoy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sarah Kendall House

Address: 47 Washington St, Newport, RI 02840-8526
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: $281 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sarah Kendall House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Sarah Kendall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarah Kendall House Hotel Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay