We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Yankee Peddler Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Yankee Peddler Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 168: English reviews
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Super cute bed and breakfast, staff was unbelievably helpful! I would absolutely stay here again. Room was spacious with t.v. for news & weather, only thing is the shower was small for my mom. Continental breakfast was good for a quick bite in the morning.

Helpful?
Thank lpz2014
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this fabulous hotel for 4 nights over a holiday weekend. Our room was large and very comfy in the carriage house. Nice breakfast room with assorted continental style breakfast items. Access for self service tea and coffee throughout the day tea and evening. Fabulous roof top terrace, my absolute favourite hangout for a quiet drink or to catch... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda095
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed at the Yankee Peddler Inn for a long weekend in Newport. It was a great choice for our stay. The hotel is very centrally located, and is an easy walk to anywhere in town. They have on-site parking, always a plus in these older, narrow street New England towns. The staff is lovely; all members... More 

Helpful?
Thank Megan L
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great location, just a 3 block walk from the heart of downtown Newport. Our room was very clean and the staff was very friendly. But the showers were ice cold both days of our stay. When I brought this to the attention of the staff they politely explained that it's an old house and has limited hot water. The breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dorian B
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this review

Dear Dorian B -- I am glad you enjoyed our central, walkable location as well as the inn's cleanliness and friendliness. Those are three very important things!! As for hot water, I have to say I am puzzled, as the inn typically has no shortage of hot water whatsoever. What we DO have is circular shower fixtures in several rooms... More 

Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

Room had bugs in it and smelled musky. Very small. Bed was extremely firm and small. At least this was the smallest "queen" bed I have ever seen. When I checked in the older lady was rude and very condescending. The younger lady that worked the desk was so nice and welcoming. I wish I could have dealt with there... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bellasorrisi
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ballasorrisi -- Needless to say, we were very upset and saddened by your review, as it is our utmost goal for each and every guest to enjoy their stay at the Yankee Peddler Inn. If you have a moment, could I ask that you give me a call at 401-846-1323 to discuss various aspects of your experience? By hearing... More 

Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

B&B is clean and quiet. It's in a great location to walk to all the local bars and restaurants. Rooms/bathrooms are small but clean. Breakfast is basic and more continental style. If your looking for a clean safe place to sleep and not worry about parking/driving it's great.

Helpful?
Thank Tara M
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, Tara M. It truly makes a BIG difference when visiting Newport to stay in the central, historic area with so many restaurants and other attractions within walking distance. We have been welcoming guests for many years now -- location, free parking (one car per room) and casual continental breakfast are three of the reasons guests return again and... More 

Marlboro, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016

My wife and I wanted to visit Newport for our anniversary and found this perfectly located bed and breakfast. Nestled in the heart of Newport; it gives you the local taste of Newport and it's best walking distance visit. I highly recommend The Yankee Peddler for a stay in Newport. Breakfast was quaint, clean not crowded and fresh.

Helpful?
1 Thank STEVE H
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this review

Dear Steve H -- Happy Belated Anniversary! I was glad to read you enjoyed your stay "nestled in the heart of Newport." That's a great way to describe our location -- we feel so fortunate to be here and to be able to share it with our guests. I hope you had a chance to visit the rooftop deck in... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2016

Yankee Peddler Inn is your usual New England B&B: It provides you a neat, clean room; great hospitality; and a traditional continental breakfast. There's lots of value. The room we stayed in, on the second floor of the Carriage House, is small and adequate. The air-condition unit, which you can control at will, proved a lifesaver in providing us a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank yorellana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016

Rooms neat and clean, but small. We got help with freezing our cold blocks from the nice staff. Expensive for the size of room, but it is located within walking distance to all reastaurants, bars and the harbor.

Helpful?
Thank Rickard W
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this review

Dear Rickard W -- Thank you for staying with us and for sharing that lovely nighttime photo of our front porch. I am happy to hear you found your room neat and clean (of course!) and were pleased with the helpfulness of staff. We have a variety of guestrooms in different sizes and bedding configurations. Some rooms are small, some... More 

New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2016 via mobile

This is our 3rd year back and each time it has been a perfect visit. Each room we have stayed in is very clean. Inn is within walking distance to the main area. This year more than ever I was blown away by the hospitality. Each year customer service has been amazing. This year we were so touched by the... More 

Helpful?
Thank plotskera1
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this review

Dear plotskera1 -- Thank you for joining us and for your kind words. We were happy to play a small part in your celebration! It brings us such pleasure when guests return year after year -- that is the best testament of all that you were comfortable and enjoyed your experience. We look forward to next year. Cheers! With all... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

597 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (533)
Viewed
Carriage House Room #17 (46)
Viewed
Carriage House Room #19 (53)
Viewed
Deluxe Room #14 (48)
Viewed
Deluxe Room #6 (51)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
Superior Room #1 (52)
Viewed
Superior Room #2 (51)
Viewed
Superior Room #7 (56)
Viewed
Superior Suite #3 (76)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Jailhouse Inn
Jailhouse Inn
#16 of 102 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#12 of 102 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#18 of 102 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Historic Hill Inn
Historic Hill Inn
#34 of 102 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adele Turner Inn
Adele Turner Inn
#22 of 102 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
0.8 mi away
Artful Lodger Inn
Artful Lodger Inn
#25 of 102 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A cozy, casual, authentic inn offering 20 guestrooms in the heart of Newport's "Historic Hill" neighborhood. Excellent location three blocks from the waterfront, wharves and Bellevue Avenue. Easy walk to restaurants, shops and downtown historic attractions. Parking, continental breakfast and wifi included -- and guests love the rooftop deck! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Yankee Peddler Inn

Address: 113 Touro St, Newport, RI 02840-2968
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: $133 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yankee Peddler Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Yankee Peddler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Peddler Hotel Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay