We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Yankee Peddler Inn

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Yankee Peddler Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 164: English reviews
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Room had bugs in it and smelled musky. Very small. Bed was extremely firm and small. At least this was the smallest "queen" bed I have ever seen. When I checked in the older lady was rude and very condescending. The younger lady that worked the desk was so nice and welcoming. I wish I could have dealt with there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bellasorrisi
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

B&B is clean and quiet. It's in a great location to walk to all the local bars and restaurants. Rooms/bathrooms are small but clean. Breakfast is basic and more continental style. If your looking for a clean safe place to sleep and not worry about parking/driving it's great.

Helpful?
Thank Tara M
Marlboro, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I wanted to visit Newport for our anniversary and found this perfectly located bed and breakfast. Nestled in the heart of Newport; it gives you the local taste of Newport and it's best walking distance visit. I highly recommend The Yankee Peddler for a stay in Newport. Breakfast was quaint, clean not crowded and fresh.

Helpful?
Thank STEVE H
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Yankee Peddler Inn is your usual New England B&B: It provides you a neat, clean room; great hospitality; and a traditional continental breakfast. There's lots of value. The room we stayed in, on the second floor of the Carriage House, is small and adequate. The air-condition unit, which you can control at will, proved a lifesaver in providing us a... More 

Helpful?
Thank yorellana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rooms neat and clean, but small. We got help with freezing our cold blocks from the nice staff. Expensive for the size of room, but it is located within walking distance to all reastaurants, bars and the harbor.

Helpful?
Thank Rickard W
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is our 3rd year back and each time it has been a perfect visit. Each room we have stayed in is very clean. Inn is within walking distance to the main area. This year more than ever I was blown away by the hospitality. Each year customer service has been amazing. This year we were so touched by the... More 

Helpful?
Thank plotskera1
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this review

Dear plotskera1 -- Thank you for joining us and for your kind words. We were happy to play a small part in your celebration! It brings us such pleasure when guests return year after year -- that is the best testament of all that you were comfortable and enjoyed your experience. We look forward to next year. Cheers! With all... More 

Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I know the term economic has been used when describing the coach house rooms. Sorry but economic to me is Motel 6 at under $100, NOT a very small room with only one light, poor mattress, and at cost of over $250/night. The customer service was great-very nice guy at desk. There was wine and cheese at 5P with an... More 

Helpful?
Thank TexasFiona
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this review

Dear TexasFiona -- I am glad to hear you enjoyed our wonderful staff, continental breakfast and complimentary wine & cheese but sorry you didn't consider the Yankee Peddler Inn to be the sort of "value" you were seeking. You are correct that inns and hotels located in central historic Newport are priced quite differently from Motel 6 which is located... More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

We booked this thru the local visitor centre, which were very helpful On check in the women (sorry I don’t Remember her name) was very helpfully, with things to do and see in the area, also places to eat. They also offers us a choose of 2 rooms, we chose the large room in the coach house, which was on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Still49
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this review

Dear Still49 -- Thank you for very much staying with us. We are always grateful when guests take time to share their experiences -- and, in your case, photos as well! I am glad you enjoyed Room 19 in the Carriage House -- I happen to know that was your room, as it is the only Carriage House room with... More 

Ashland, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

We had a OK stay at this inn. Didn't realize when we made reservation that we would be on third floor. Room was OK, but needed electrical system updated, as the TV only worked if you really shoved the plug into the outlet. They used extension cords, which was kind of scary, so we decided not to watch TV. Location... More 

Helpful?
Thank ktmccaf
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this review

Dear ktmccaf -- Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Newport. I am glad you enjoyed our central location in the historic district, continental breakfast, etc., but sorry if being on the third floor was not your ideal. Our "Standard" rooms are indeed located on the second and third floors. Many guests actually request the third floor... More 

Valley Stream, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

the customer service was wonderful, they advised me on what to see and do. also where to park and maximize my stay. we were so happy with there advise. The also upgraded me which was so nice. it was in a great location

Helpful?
Thank maggie13042
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, maggie13042. It was our pleasure to host you and to offer all the advice we could to make your time in historic Newport enjoyable. So glad you enjoyed your room upgrade! When we have the availability to do so, it makes us happy to give guests that extra value and special treatment. We hope you'll come see us... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

597 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (533)
Viewed
Carriage House Room #17 (46)
Viewed
Carriage House Room #19 (53)
Viewed
Deluxe Room #14 (48)
Viewed
Deluxe Room #6 (51)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
Superior Room #1 (52)
Viewed
Superior Room #2 (51)
Viewed
Superior Room #7 (56)
Viewed
Superior Suite #3 (76)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Jailhouse Inn
Jailhouse Inn
#16 of 102 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#12 of 102 in Newport
3.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pilgrim House Inn
Pilgrim House Inn
#35 of 102 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bouchard Inn
Bouchard Inn
#21 of 102 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
0.8 mi away
Artful Lodger Inn
Artful Lodger Inn
#25 of 102 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
0.2 mi away
America's Cup Inn
America's Cup Inn
#30 of 102 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A cozy, casual, authentic inn offering 20 guestrooms in the heart of Newport's "Historic Hill" neighborhood. Excellent location three blocks from the waterfront, wharves and Bellevue Avenue. Easy walk to restaurants, shops and downtown historic attractions. Parking, continental breakfast and wifi included -- and guests love the rooftop deck! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Yankee Peddler Inn

Address: 113 Touro St., Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: $161 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yankee Peddler Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Yankee Peddler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Peddler Hotel Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay