We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pelham Court Hotel

Save
Share
14 Pelham St, Newport, RI 02840-3019
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$228
Hotels.com$228
Tripadvisor$228
Snaptravel
Travelocity$228
CheapTickets$228
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (99)
Room & Suite (68)
Dining (5)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#20 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
We will beat any online price* in our Luxurious All-Suite Accommodations in the Heart of Downtown Newport, RI. All suites feature new luxury plush/hybrid bedding and towels,large screen high definition digital cable TVs, fully equipped stainless steel kitchens with granite counter tops, living rooms with gas fireplaces and sleeper sofas. Newly Added we are now offering our Luxurious Two-Bedroom private condos located on Bellevue Avenue, directly across from the Tennis Hall of Fame. Listed only through our direct website or TripAdvisor. Pelham Court Hotel is proud to offer per diem rates for all qualified Military Orders. We offer long term accommodations on a monthly basis. Call us directly for pricing information. *Price must be without restriction, view-able and able to be reserved by everyone equally. Price must be for equal accommodations, people and amenities. Offers can not be combined with additional specials.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Beach
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Clothes dryer
Wifi
First aid kit
Laundry service
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Dining area
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Portuguese
215Reviews6Q+A37Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 159
  • 37
  • 12
  • 4
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Will wrote a review Sep 2
Forest Hills, New York7 contributions4 helpful votes
What a wonderful establishment in the heart of Newport - just steps away from Bowen’s wharf. We stayed in a 1 BR suite and it was plenty of room for our family of 4 (and our pooch too!) the room was very clean, well stocked and the entire staff was extremely helpful and accommodating, communicating constantly with us via text during these Covid times, and helping with anything we needed. Will definitely stay here again when we go back to Newport!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
KBNewHampshire wrote a review Apr 2021
New Hampshire4 contributions3 helpful votes
This was our first time visiting Newport and our first getaway in almost a year. The Pelham Court Hotel was the perfect place to stay! The contactless service was impeccable, from the texting communication to housekeeping accommodating any requests that we had, with drop off outside of our door.The room was spotlessly clean, and it was obvious that great care was taken with many Covid precautions in place. the unit was tastefully decorated and comfortable as well, kitchen was well equipped and we had everything that we needed during our two night stay. It was within walking distance of many fine restaurants and shops and a quick walk to a nearby park with our dog. Yes, they are pet friendly, and we appreciated being able to bring our dog along. Free parking was just one more reason I would highly recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1, ground floor, very convenient.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Meyerzone wrote a review Apr 2021
Shelton, Connecticut52 contributions34 helpful votes
We stayed in a one bedroom unit and found it spacious and comfortable. Very clean and modern. Contactless during covid but staff was very attentive texting us 2x a day to check if we needed anything. Off street parking huge plus. Walking distance to Thames St and Wharfs. It was our anniversary and they left us 2 little bottles of Prosecco which was highly appreciated. Will stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Jude B wrote a review Feb 2021
Greenwich, Connecticut25 contributions9 helpful votes
We frequent Newport RI and have twice stayed at Pelham Court Hotel. The first time was about eight years ago and it was magical; the second time horrible. We had booked a two-bedroom until and were upgraded to a three-bedroom townhouse. A lovely way to start our need-a-change-of-environment-COVID getaway. First the pros: the location is perfect, in the heart of downtown Newport on a quaint street just off Thames St. Most amenities are in walking distance. The place is spacious and quiet in spite of being close to the main drag, and it is fully self contained. Disappointingly, the place has significantly lost its luster. I'll start with our entry. The glass table coffee table was streaky and greasy...but this could be overlooked where it not for the rest of what we discovered in the first hour of our arrival: 1) No forks. No wine glasses. Again, we dismissed this as an inconvenience, and the staff were quick to bring us four forks and four wineglasses. 2) We turned on the fireplace in the main living space and the room quickly filled with the smell of gas. The staff returned and tried to fix it but were unable to. The owner contacted me and said that the fireplace had been checked and it was safe. Perhaps this was true but I didn't want my family exposed to gas fumes. So no fireplace for us - this was less an inconvenience and when coupled with the other "inconveniences," an annoyance. 3) The glasses in the cupboard were streaky and dirty - perhaps the same cloth that wiped the coffee table was used for the glasses. Some of the plates were sticky and tacky. All the dishes, glasses and cutlery were put into the dishwasher. 4) The kitchen counter was sticky. 5) The kitchen floor was sticky and dirty. 6) The backdoor entry had orange juice caps and small pieces of rubbish on the floor. 7) Every step on the staircase leading up to the second floor had sticky splashes with a large splatter on the landing. Like someone ran up the stairs with a cup of coffee spilling as they went. 8) The master ensuite had another sticky stain as did the stair going to the third floor. 9) When I stepped out of the shower in the second ensuite I stepped on a chunk of broken glass. Fortunately, it was under the bathmat. Under normal circumstances, I would have expected to arrive at a pristine environment, but particularly during COVID, I would have expected pristine plus to ensure guests health and safety. The owner did comp us the first night for the inconveniences, which honestly I would have expected, but we did appreciated the gesture. We were assured the unit would be thoroughly cleaned again the next day. We cleaned as much as we needed that night. The cleaner did come the next day. I pointed out the most of offending stains and spots, and we left. When we returned ONLY the places I specifically mentioned were cleaned; we did not get the thorough clean we were promised and in fact, we needed to wash the ensuite bathroom floor to remove the sticky stain. My bad, I didn't find that one and point it out. The place is also significantly showing it's age and wear with paint chips, damaged cupboards and obvious wear and tear. The once-beautiful courtyard had broken pots and Christmas lights half of which were out. Sadly, this gem of a home-away-from-home is no more and in it's place a tired, dirty, poorly tended overprice "motel". Submitted with a heavy heart.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Jay Huhn, Owner at Pelham Court Hotel
Responded Feb 14, 2021
Dear Jude thank you for your review, but sadly this was not the experience we had with you. To start, for a minor inconvenience of no forks, which you mentioned we fixed, provided a free night stay. The wine glasses were there, but were not larger enough to your liking, we apologize for that, but they are for a standard pour. The floor was mopped not once, but twice, and both head housekeepers found nothing wrong either time and our guest services manager inspected the room and found nothing wrong as well. After you left, we did need extra time for a deep clean however. You were upgraded to a 3 bedroom, we are still awaiting a thank you for that, We inspected the room 3 times and found nothing wrong. We provided you with an early check in, which we are unable to do during Covid but found a way to assist you. Then on the day of check out, you mentioned you were in a car accident two days prior and needed a late check out. We mentioned due to Covid regulations we are unable to accommodate and you immediately you tried to guilt the staff explaining the owner Jay, which is me, already felt badly for the conditions upon arrival, and they should do anything to assist you. We are delighted to assist our guests, and always give the benefit of the doubt to our valued guests as evidence by providing a complimentary upgrade a free night and extensive extra cleaning putting my staff at risk while we always had to remind you to wear a mask in front of them, we due have to eventually draw a line and treat all guests the same. As for a Flower pot that is broken, yes indeed it is, it happens in a deep freeze and ice removal, It will happily be replaced in the spring time. Thank you for your review, glad I could provide some more information to assist guests with their future stays. We hope you stay well and safe and thank you for your stay. Always happy and grateful, My kind regards, Jay Huhn And the Amazing Team at Pelham Court Hotel Priscilla, Elsa, Francesca, Kayla and Rachel!!!
Read more
DavidHLemmond wrote a review Oct 2020
Brooklyn, New York9 contributions
Pelham Court was a terrific spot to stay for our visit to Newport. The accommodations are incredibly spacious and comfortable. The location is terrific, close to many dining and shopping options. Easy parking and pet friendly. Due to COVID, breakfast is only the coffee station, but with a full kitchen in the room, it is not hard to fend for yourself too. Really a comfortable and relaxing stay!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$127 - $680 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesRhode IslandNewport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pelham Court Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Pelham Court Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Touro Synagogue (0.3 miles), St. Mary's Catholic Church (0.2 miles), and Bowen's Wharf (0.07 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Pelham Court Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Pelham Court Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Pelham Court Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Pelham Court Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pelham Court Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jo's American Bistro, Brick Alley Pub, and Kilwin's.
Is Pelham Court Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Newport.
Are any cleaning services offered at Pelham Court Hotel?
Yes, laundry service and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Pelham Court Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Pelham Court Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Pelham Court Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Elms (0.7 miles), Touro Synagogue (0.3 miles), and Rough Point Museum (2.2 miles).