We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840-3627
E-mail hotel
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (603)
Room & Suite (166)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#11 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
4.9
Value
4.7
Travelers' Choice
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
1352Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,289
  • 41
  • 11
  • 6
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Adrienne N wrote a review Yesterday
This is the second time we have stayed at the Cliffside Inn and we just love this place. The staff is friendly and accommodating. We stayed both times in The Lark Suite and LOVE this room. Very clean and every detail is perfect. The breakfast spread is great and the entire inn is beautifully decorated. We can’t say enough good things about it!! You will not be disappointed!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
WeRroadtripping wrote a review Sep 2022
United States25 contributions16 helpful votes
Property's Favorite Review
We wanted a boutique hotel that was close to but not in the middle of the main part of Newport. The Cliffside Inn exceeded our expectations. First- the location was perfect - located steps from the cliff walk in a gorgeous neighborhood and a 10 minute stroll to the busy/tourist havens on Bellevue or Thames. Our room in the cottage was in a newer part of the Inn and across the lawn from the main house. Our room was very large and had 3 fireplaces! Loved the decor - a fusion of traditional and contemporary beach/nautical theme. The spacious bathroom was very private - good for couples who don’t want to be woken up in the middle of the night when the bathroom light goes on or a toilet flushes. 😁. The king bed was super comfortable as were the sofa and chairs. No desk in the room but we were on vacation! Wi-fi signal was very good. Room was well stocked with 2 AC units, 2 TVs, iron, ironing board, fridge, corkscrew and water bottles. Super quiet even with the window open. In terms of the property- the gardens are nice and there are several seating areas for guests to enjoy. Loved the common rooms of the main building- board games and reading material in the library and comfortable seating in the lounge/diner area. We enjoyed the buffet style “continental plus” breakfast. The options were different each day and included: hard boiled eggs, fresh baked muffins, frittata, coffee cake, smoked salmon, overnight oats and yogurt. The complimentary wine hour in the evening was an opportunity to sit on the porch with a little bite (cheese and crackers for us) and a decent glass of wine. Free onsite Parking is extremely convenient, secure and plentiful. The staff is great. Specifically-Frank and Christopher were responsive and helpful. We were well looked after.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: My only words of advice to other travelers is that they should be aware the main building has a...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Cliffside Inn
Responded Sep 11, 2022
Hi WeRroadtripping, Frank, Christopher, and the rest of the people that make our inn as special as it is were overjoyed to impress you while you explored Newport. We can’t thank you enough for taking the time to detail your love of your room, our location, breakfast, convenient parking and so much more. Sharing our home by the cliffs with you was a treat that we hope to enjoy again and again as you continue to pass through our community in the months and years ahead. Know that all of the wonderful peace and comfort you enjoyed recently will be here waiting for that return to manifest. All the best!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Islandtime11 wrote a review Jan 2023
Brooklyn, New York157 contributions108 helpful votes
We stayed only 1 night on our way to Cape-Cod for the NYE weekend, but have already considered staying longer next year! What a beautiful house! Great staff, lovely breakfast spread, wine hour was a treat, and our room, The Swan Room, was cozy & comfortable with a skylight in the shower! Tea and water were available around the clock. Homemade cookies greeted us as we checked in. The inn is only a half a block from the famous Cliff Walk and you can see the ocean from the front porch. The fire pit was welcoming and the location was close to The Mansions. We were really happy with our short stay and hope to return for a longer stay in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: The Swan Room was on the top floor. If steps are a problem, I wouldn't consider this room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Cliffside Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello Islandtime11, To read that you loved your stay so much that you’re looking forward to a future, longer visit is high praise! From our well-appointed rooms to our proximity to gorgeous Cliff Walk, we’re glad you found a ton to love about your Cliffside experience. Expect more delicious bites, convenience, and warm welcomes the next time you choose to settle in. Take care until then!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ken T wrote a review Dec 2022
We booked the Victorian room and thoroughly enjoyed our stay . The room was spacious and clean. The queen-size bed was very comfortable. The gas fireplace was a great touch. We found the bathroom to be large, clean and recently updated with modern fixtures. The room doesn't have a great view as it is on the first floor. (Other rooms on the upper level must have spectacular views.) But we knew that when booking the room and it is priced accordingly. The room is located right near the inn's main entrance, but that did not contribute any noise to our stay as the inn is fairly small and did not have a great number of guests traipsing through the corridors. Breakfast is included in the cost of the room. Our breakfast was excellent with a large number of items to choose from. All of the items were made in-house and the menu appears to change each day. The chefs are quite creative in both the choice of menu items and their presentation. Also, during our stay the inn was nicely decorated for Christmas, which added to the warm ambiance of the inn. The hosts and staff were quite attentive and helpful. They even mailed us by UPS a belonging we had left behind. We had a great stay and found the inn to be charming. We look forward to visiting again during a warmer season.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Cliffside Inn
Responded Dec 21, 2022
Hello Ken, We would love to see you back as the weather starts to warm up again here in lovely Newport! To your most recent stay, thank you for lauding our décor, comfortable rooms, breakfast offerings, and all of the other features our team works hard to master. Know that we are forever standing by to help you plan another local adventure. Until that next foray into our community comes to pass… Happy travels!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Samantha A wrote a review Nov 2022
Portland3 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed in the Hydrangea Suite Halloween weekend 2022. Also, to be clear, we did reach out to hotel management and never heard back in regards to our complaints, which is the main reason for the review. I would like to clearly say that the staff was wonderful to work with and my review should not reflect poorly on them. We booked suite after falling in love with the look of Cliffside online after looking at a TON of places to stay in Newport. The house looked amazing and the rooms looked swanky and luxe. We paid a total of $1,993.00 for a TWO NIGHT STAY in the Hydrangea Suite, touted on their website as a lower lever suite in their Cottage Suites building. Allow me to translate what they mean. The Hydrangea Suite is a basement room in the split-level ranch that is adjacent to the Sweatt Mansion (the actual house), it is not a cottage house nor is it a part of the original house. The room, on the website, looks lovely. The room, in reality, is in a daylight basement, which really is all that is needed to describe it. You walk in, from a “private patio” that faces the public way, directly into the bedroom. This entry from the patio is also the only means for sunlight in the entire room, and because it abuts the public way, well, I think anyone can understand the lack of sunlight that privacy in one’s bedroom brings given that the shades needed to be shut most of the time. Not to mention it made me uneasy to think that someone could essentially smash the door and get in before we would even be able to react. There was no safety lock on the door just the single deadbolt and the ground level windows in the “living room” did not lock - this may be something required by the local Fire Department, but it was off putting that someone could get into my room if they wanted to. The only ice is in the main house, which is a solid half football field away from the Cottage Suite building. There is an in room wine fridge, but there’s nothing to keep ice cold in the event you wanted to have a drink in your $1000 per night hotel room. There is also no coffee maker in the room, so coffee in the morning required us to get up, dressed and a take a jaunt to the main house to grab some lukewarm coffee in the carafe (it is not changed throughout the day) or make your own French press. Truly inconvenient when you just want to hang in your room in your robe with a cup of coffee on your vacation. All and all it was truly a disappointment. There were other issues that we had that were just a bummer after spending so much money on such a short trip that I need not get into here. I thought it was important that everyone offered the Hydrangea Suite knew what they were getting into. Stay at the Chanler if you’re going to spend that kind of money.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Maybe staying in the main house is better than the Cottage Suites building, but I would just stay...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Cliffside Inn
Responded Dec 1, 2022
Hello Samantha, Thank you for choosing our inn. We hope that the kindness of our team and the beauty of our location had a positive impact on your overall time in Newport. In reading your feedback, it’s clear that the suite you chose didn’t resonate with you the way you had hoped. This is rare as most of our guests adore our accommodations, Hydrangea Suite included, though, we do appreciate that tastes vary. We would have loved for you to have explored some separate rooms on-site that you may have more fully enjoyed. We apologize if a conversation around switching spaces did not take place or if it wasn’t a possibility due to capacity issues. All in all, the last thing we want is for guests to feel like their time with us was anything less than value-packed. Your notes on how, perhaps, better level-setting with guests online can help us achieve that end is feedback we’ll discuss internally. We’d love to welcome you again. If ever that return comes to fruition, do be in touch if you have any questions regarding our inventory. Our team is always happy to shed additional light on our offerings. Wishing you the very best!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Camille C wrote a review Nov 2022
2 contributions
The Inn is nestled down a quiet side street just steps from the Cliff Walk. There's a beautiful courtyard with a fire pit and seating area. The Inn is immaculate and offers a lovely breakfast and delicious French press coffee and wine and snacks every evening. Very quiet but close enough to everything Newport has to offer. The staff were all amazing! We can't recommend the Cliffside enough!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Cliffside Inn
Responded Nov 10, 2022
Hello CamilleC1465, Thank you for recommending us to the world! It is a joy to know that our peaceful atmosphere, food offerings, service, and so much more enriched your time in Newport. There’s always something wonderful to explore in the area so do settle back in with us as soon as you can! Wishing you well until your return!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Armonk wrote a review Nov 2022
Westchester County New York233 contributions147 helpful votes
We spent 2 nights here on a fabulous fall weekend. It exceeded our expectations. The room was fresh and spacious. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was also spacious, plus modern and clean. In the common areas, there was interesting art and artifacts, and again, everything was fresh, which is often not the case in B&Bs. The location is perfect for the Cliffwalk, which can be accessed only 50 yards or so from the parking lot. Speaking of which, the off-road parking is ample. The highlight of highlights was breakfast, which had many different, interesting small plates. The presentation was thoughtful too. Free coffee and bottled water throughout the day, and jars / baskets of trail mix and powerbars to fuel for / refuel after the cliff walk. Also hors d’oeuvres and wines by the glass were on offer in early evening. We will definitely return!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Cliffside Inn
Responded Nov 8, 2022
Hello Armonk, To know that our breakfast offering stood out among the many memorable qualities Cliffside features that you’ve so kindly mentioned is a treat! We’ll be sure to relay that feedback to the people responsible and the rest of your kind words to everyone else that makes our home here in Newport special. Expect the same accommodation excellence, charm, and convenience when you do us the pleasure of settling back in. Take care until then!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dawnpoole58 wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Charming Inn in residential neighborhood very quiet and peaceful. Beautifully kept and with original pieces with some modern flair decor. They have a complimentary refreshment hour with light snacks and nice choices of wine and a free variety of plated breakfast assortments. My husband and I stayed in the Tower Suite which is 2 stories absolutely loved it very unique and romantic and our room in addition to the rest of the inn was extremely clean my husband I were impressed and exceeded our expectations (just going on pictures on the website) being there in person grounds were also beautiful and well groomed! The Inn is just steps away from the Cliff Walk which was spectacular- we cannot say anything negative regarding our stay -I can tell you we will definitely book there again!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Cliffside Inn
Responded Nov 8, 2022
Hi Dawn, It would be a treat to welcome you and your husband back to our home here by the cliffs. Thank you for lauding our beverage arrangements, food offerings, the quality of our rooms and so much more. We put a tremendous amount of thought into all of those features, so, your validation is meaningful. Should you ever need assistance planning your next Newport getaway, know that we’d be glad to assist. Best of luck in your travels until your return!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Otto5455 wrote a review Oct 2022
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica17 contributions
We would definitely give the Cliffside Inn a 10! But since 5 is the highest we will go with that! From the minute we checked in, the character of the Inn won us over! The decor is tasteful, elegant and keeping within the history of the home, with a little twist of Chic! The staff is most friendly and helpful, the room was the best, and the breakfast was the most creative we’ve ever seen! We will definitely return for another stay!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Cliffside Inn
Responded Oct 25, 2022
Hi Otto5455, We can’t wait to have you back and are honored to have earned such high marks from you. We work hard to ensure our ambiance is reflective of our mansion’s inherent character and that our hospitality is second to none. Thank you for acknowledging our efforts and know that we’re a call away if ever you need assistance planning your return. Take care!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Osmee D wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
I took my husband there for his birthday. It is very uniquely beautiful. My Husband loved it. The staff were amazing. I would recommend this Cory historic place to my friend and family. The french style breakfast was amazing. I stayed in the tower, loved it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$209 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cliffside hotel newport
LOCATION
United StatesRhode IslandNewport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE CLIFFSIDE INN - Updated 2023 Prices & B&B Reviews (Newport, RI)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Cliffside Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Cliffside Inn?
Nearby attractions include The Elms (0.6 miles), Cliff Walk (0.2 miles), and St. Mary's Catholic Church (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Cliffside Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Cliffside Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at The Cliffside Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Cliffside Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Cliffside Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cru Cafe, Jo's American Bistro, and Easton's Beach Snack Bar.
Is The Cliffside Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Newport.
Are there any historical sites close to The Cliffside Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Touro Synagogue (0.8 miles), Rough Point Museum (1.9 miles), and Fort Adams State Park (1.9 miles).
Does The Cliffside Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is The Cliffside Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.