We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo

Show Prices
#11 of 23 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

625 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 597: English reviews
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2016

Nice hotel well located for easy access to Chippewa street where all the best bars and restaurants are. Typical self service buffet style breakfast so often found at this kind of budget hotel in the US. Clean, tidy and very friendly staff. I had a really good bedroom, separate lounge area massive, pity I was only there one night! This... More 

Helpful?
Thank Graham I
Matthew S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review

Dear Graham I, Thank you very much for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our downtown location as well as our two bedroom king suite! More 

Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016

The hotel is older but it appears they are trying to modernize it. You can certainly see some wear in the rooms (especially bathrooms) but it is kept clean. We stay at this hotel a couple of times per year when visiting Buffalo from the Toronto area because it is a good value and centrally located. The hotel is walking... More 

Helpful?
Thank K G
Matthew S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review

Dear K G, Thank you for your valued feedback! Glad to hear that you enjoyed our downtown location, which is most certainly surrounded by many restaurants. We recently have renovated our common areas which include the lobby, fitness center, breakfast area and our guest laundry room. Also in just a few years we will be renovating our guest rooms. More 

The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile

Very very bad Hotel! Floor in room was wet, sleeping couch squeaks all the time, mattress is bad, feels like you sleep on a hill: kids had worst night ever. Toilet when flushed makes very hard sound, air conditioning is very loud.. Will definitely never come back to this Holiday Inn Express!

Helpful?
Thank eef31
Matthew S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review

Dear eef31, I am so sorry to hear about your unhappy stay with us. We do offer egg crate foams for any guests that feel they need more cushion. Unfortunately our toilets are a little loud due to us having a fast flush system so we don't have any overflowing. We don't come across often with our floors being wet... More 

Manchester, England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2016 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location and there is a cheap parking garage nearby. Breakfast good and plenty of seating However, the rooms are very much in need of renovation- cracked plaster, scuffed furnishings although the bed was comfortable We stayed 2 nights and they did not make up our room at all and when I rang for clean... More 

Helpful?
Thank yvonnefov
Matthew S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. I am very sorry about your room. We completed renovated all public spaces (lobby, breakfast, fitness center, guest laundry) and in a few years will renovate our guestrooms. However, we are going room to room and doing touchups. We did put in all new linen, bediding, shower curtains and keurig makers. More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2016

We were very impressed with quality of the hotel. The staff, all of them we encountered, were terrific: helpful, friendly, seemed really concerned that we had everything we needed and were comfortable. The rooms were excellent, choice of pillows, very comfortable and quiet sleep. Breakfast was as expected, standard fare these days, but enough variety to suite everyones needs. I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 939MichaelB939
Matthew S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay. Sounds like you got to visit some great places. We are indeed near some awesome venues, attractions and restaurants. More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2016

Stayed here to take the NY bar exam and it was perfect. Right in the heart of downtown; easy to walk to restaurants and the convention center. All the rooms are suites with a microwave and small fridge. Bed was comfortable, room was a good size and, even though my door was right next to the floor's ice machine, I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jc1302
Matthew S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review

Thank you for the very nice comments and details about our hotel. We do believe we are in a great location and have great amenities and nice clean rooms. You summed it up very well! More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

I was a bit hesitant to stay at this hotel based on the reviews I read, but I am glad I stayed here. The hotel has obviously been updated, the rooms were large and spacious and clean, and it is in a great location. The breakfast was extensive and the lobby/eating area was large and clean as well. You have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank grelhay
Matthew S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful comments. I will be very happy to share with both Mario's who work at the front desk! Glad you also enjoyed our amenities. More 

Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo has the best location in the city if you are looking to have a fun night in downtown Buffalo. The hotel is located right on Main Street and is right across the street from the famous Shea Theater, it is also just a two minute walk from the Chippewa Street Entertainment District... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dylan D
Matthew S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review

Wow, I could not have done a better job explaining our hotel, location and some of our amenities. Thank you! More 

Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016

First and for most, Mario checked us in, went above and beyond with his personality and hospitality. Made sure all was well. As previous reviews indicate, the rooms are in need of repair. Otherwise, the lobby is nicely renovated and breakfast is always good. Easy access to the tram on Main St to Canalside.

Helpful?
1 Thank kimden
Matthew S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review

Thank you. I will pass on the nice words about Mario. I do apologize that our rooms were not renovated this year like the lobby, fitness room, breakfast area and sitting areas. However, they were done 8 years ago and we have been doing the needed touch ups and will continue to. However, 4 months ago we did put in... More 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2016

This stay didn't start off well when we found out there is no on site parking. We had to pay $14 per day to park in a parking lot three blocks away!! It didn't get any better when we got to our room. It was very dated and was well overdue to be remodeled. The furniture was dinged and scratched... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Christine83578
Matthew S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review

I am very sorry that your stay was not exemplary. Your room was not up to our high standards and we missed that and the items have been addressed and corrected. I am also sorry about our parking situation. As a downtown hotel we are at the mercy of using a parking garage 1.5 blocks away. However, we do provide... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.7 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 23 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 stars 1,631 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo

Address: 601 Main St, Buffalo, NY 14203-1488
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Price Range: $129 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo Hotel Buffalo
Comfort Suites Buffalo
Buffalo Comfort Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Buffalo
#6 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay