We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo

Save
Share
601 Main St, Buffalo, NY 14203-1488
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$113
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/18/21
Priceline
$113
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/18/21
Destinia.com
$128
$106
View deal
SAVE $22
Free cancellation until 10/16/21
Hotels.com$113
Expedia.com$113
Trip.com$128
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (102)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (11)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#8 of 28 hotels in Buffalo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
All suite property located in the heart of the Theater and Business District. Free hot breakfast buffet, free wifi, TGI Friday's in the hotel, business center and fitness center. All rooms have micro/fridge unit, Keurig Maker and two tv's. Parking offsite 1.5 blocks away at additional charge. Hotel has a small lot for check in/check out purposes.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Free shuttle or taxi services
Business Center with Internet Access
Baggage storage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Iron
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
794Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 394
  • 252
  • 87
  • 35
  • 26
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Laurarobin wrote a review Apr 2021
Rochester, New York516 contributions72 helpful votes
I wanted to like this hotel, especially the location. But not so much. Upon arrival things went downhill fast. Normal checkin in takes less than 5 minutes usually- photo id and cc, get your keys/WiFi code and off you go. Except the the hotel did not have a working computer system. So photocopy of license and credit card.... which made me a bit uneasy as I don’t like handing my credit card to anyone. And with no internet, front desk does not know which rooms are clean. The kind and hospitable FD staff had to literally leave the desk, go up the elevators to find HK to find out which rooms were clean. (HK kind of lied... more to come on that). He returns, I get my keys and we are off. You know the sofa bed? To let you know, the clean linens are in the closet near the kitchenette- blankets, sheets, pillows. The clean sheets are not kept balled up in the sleeper sofa. Yes... HK left dirty sheets in the bed. We realized this after we made the bed with the sheets (thinking they were clean.. after child said they didn’t smell clean...then we found the clean stuff in the closet). I was pissed! So downstairs I go. Incredible FD Deon is upset for me. And I get to meet someone new... the GM. He takes care of me. I had checked to make sure other parts of the room had been cleaned and vacuumed- they appeared to have been. But I did clean every surface with Lysol wipes I had in the car. After that horrible first night... it went ok( we stayed for 3 nights). Other FD staff seemed to be not the helpful and/or kind of bothered when you asked for help. Each day, my key would either not work in the elevator access or it would not allow me in my room, so I was at the desk at least twice a day. In one of the 2 elevators sat a caution wet floor sign for 2 days folded up... never did see the wet floor. The fridge in the room was super cold. Great for soda, not great for cut up fruit. FYI- garbage truck comes at 4am on Friday mornings. If you see the picture looking down at the run in/ run out parking lot under our room, the garbage receptacle is to the left of it. So the good parts- Deon and the comfy beds
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Spencer, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Responded Apr 29, 2021
Laurarobin, Thank you for detailed review. I am glad that we were able to speak about your issues in person too. I am very sorry that you experienced these problems. I have addressed all of your concerns with our team. It is also unfortunate that you were here on the 1 rare day that we had computer issues. It was resolved that evening but not a good first impression of our hotel. I do hope you will give us another try.
Read more
joe b wrote a review Feb 2021
North Greece, New York36 contributions4 helpful votes
Nice hotel downtown Buffalo, Hotel and rooms were very clean. Given COVID that is a big plus. Staff was cheerful and helpful. We had a two room suite that was very nice. Hotel is close to many restaurants and activities. Canalside and the casino are a short drive. We had a pretzel and beer at the newly opened Hofbrauhouse which is a huge beerhall, dinner at Big Ditch Brewery. Both did a great job of social distancing diners. This will be my go to hotel in Buffalo in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Spencer, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Responded Apr 29, 2021
Thank you for the kind words. We take pride in providing a safe and clean environment for our employees. We are indeed in a great location with over 50 restaurants within 3 blocks and near so many attractions.
Read more
Teresa C wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
The check in experience was AMAZING!!! The gentleman at the reception desk was over the top fantastic. His name was Don!!!!!!! He was so accommodating!!!! Thanks Don for making this business trip feel like home!!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Spencer, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Responded Oct 30, 2020
Thank you! Don is a great asset to the hotel. We have recognized him for his exemplary service!
Read more
Karen M wrote a review Jul 2020
New Orleans, Louisiana2 contributions
Loved the location of this hotel. It was clean and professionally decorated. Everyone was wearing their masks and being careful around other guests as this is COVID19 time. I advised my cousins that we need to come back here and experience the city once it fully opens back up for business.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Spencer, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Responded Aug 7, 2020
Thank you! We have some amazing employees and Don is definitely one of them.
Read more
Maria F wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
I was very concerned staying in a hotel through the pandemic. But I did’t have any other option due to remodelation in my apartment. Well let me tell you the experience was great from the beggining to the end. The bedroom was super clean and sterilized, the staff was very concern in every following the rules of using the mask. At the there’re many hand sanitizer and wipes to clean any area or the carts to bring up your luggages to the room. Also there is a bunch of close restaurants where you can walk to pick up your food. Overall ill like to recomend the Holiday Inn Express in Downtown if you come to Buffalo NY. Thanks to all the staff for the good service!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Responded Jul 4, 2020
Thank you so much for the very kind review. We are doing all we can to make our hotel a safe and comfortable place for our employees and guests. We have a great team here. We are also in a great location with over 75 restaurants within 3 blocks. Hope to see you again!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$108 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
comfort suites downtown buffalo hotel buffalo, comfort suites buffalo, buffalo comfort suites
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkBuffaloAllen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
146
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo?
Nearby attractions include Shea's Performing Arts Center (0.1 miles), Irish Classical Theatre Company (0.06 miles), and Tralf Music Hall (0.08 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bacchus Wine Bar & Restaurant, Big Ditch Brewing Company, and Dinosaur Bar-B-Que.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo located near the city center?
Yes, it is 1.0 miles away from the center of Buffalo.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Frank Lloyd Wright's Martin House (3.4 miles), Theodore Roosevelt Inaugural National Historic Site (0.8 miles), and Old Fort Erie (2.6 miles).
Is Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.