We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo

#10 of 23 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
601 Main Street, Buffalo, NY 14203
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

608 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 581: English reviews
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was a bit hesitant to stay at this hotel based on the reviews I read, but I am glad I stayed here. The hotel has obviously been updated, the rooms were large and spacious and clean, and it is in a great location. The breakfast was extensive and the lobby/eating area was large and clean as well. You have... More 

Helpful?
Thank grelhay
Matthew S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful comments. I will be very happy to share with both Mario's who work at the front desk! Glad you also enjoyed our amenities. More 

Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo has the best location in the city if you are looking to have a fun night in downtown Buffalo. The hotel is located right on Main Street and is right across the street from the famous Shea Theater, it is also just a two minute walk from the Chippewa Street Entertainment District... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dylan D
Matthew S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review

Wow, I could not have done a better job explaining our hotel, location and some of our amenities. Thank you! More 

Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First and for most, Mario checked us in, went above and beyond with his personality and hospitality. Made sure all was well. As previous reviews indicate, the rooms are in need of repair. Otherwise, the lobby is nicely renovated and breakfast is always good. Easy access to the tram on Main St to Canalside.

Helpful?
Thank kimden
Matthew S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review

Thank you. I will pass on the nice words about Mario. I do apologize that our rooms were not renovated this year like the lobby, fitness room, breakfast area and sitting areas. However, they were done 8 years ago and we have been doing the needed touch ups and will continue to. However, 4 months ago we did put in... More 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This stay didn't start off well when we found out there is no on site parking. We had to pay $14 per day to park in a parking lot three blocks away!! It didn't get any better when we got to our room. It was very dated and was well overdue to be remodeled. The furniture was dinged and scratched... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christine83578
Matthew S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review

I am very sorry that your stay was not exemplary. Your room was not up to our high standards and we missed that and the items have been addressed and corrected. I am also sorry about our parking situation. As a downtown hotel we are at the mercy of using a parking garage 1.5 blocks away. However, we do provide... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
538 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked the Holiday Inn Express thinking it was a brand new hotel. It's really a Comfort Suites that's been changed into a Holiday Inn. The bottom floor is awesome! Great area and great breakfast buffet. Upstairs is a little different. The hallways are fine. Even the room was okay, it was just really worn. I appreciated that we were... More 

Helpful?
Thank VEE1225
Matthew S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review

Thank you for the details. You are correct that we renovated all public spaces are converted from a Comfort Suites to a Holiday Inn Express & Suites 4 months ago. We are in the process of doing touch ups in the guestrooms and the item you mentioned was a Comfort Suites sign that we removed. When we paint the bathroom... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel changed over from a Comfort Suites to a Holiday Inn Express & Suites. The lobby has been completely redone making it clean and open with ample seating and a good variety of options at breakfast. The staff are quite nice and capable. It's a very simple thing but offering bottled water, and many of them, does make for... More 

Helpful?
Thank A R M
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review

Dear A R M, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Buffalo Downtown. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment about our staff, lobby and breakfast. However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the room being dated. We will... More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016 via mobile

The staff here are super nice and the rooms are nice and clean but when we went to sleep we discovered that something was making a terrible noise. We called the office and they did offer to move us. We didn't because we were already all in our pjs and my parents are on canes. My Dad asked them to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Anna H
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review

Dear Anna H, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are pleased to know that you found our staff to be very nice and our rooms to be clean. However, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the noise level during your visit. Your feedback is troubling and... More 

Belle Harbor, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016

well, we had a problem the first night. It seems that there was a problem with the water pipe in the ceiling in room 328? not exactly sure what it was, but all night long, on our first night, the sprinkler system or a pipe connected to it clicked...ALL NIGHT LONG... I didnt sleep a wink...It was late when we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stacey N
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016

Stayed here 22-24May on 5th Floor in a Jr Suite. Nice room, furnishings was clean, lines in great shape. Bed was very comfortable, and a good selection of pillows. Nothing negative to say about this property. Nick at the front desk is super helpful.

Helpful?
1 Thank YouveGotAirMale
Matthew S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review. I will be sure to tell Nick. He is a great guy. Glad you enjoyed the suite. All rooms in hotel are identical to that! More 

HALFMOON, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016

This Holiday Inn recently changed names, but they DID NOT bother notifying us of the name change. We received a confirmation email two days before a stay with COMFORT INN as the reference. When asked after much confusion at the desk why this was done, no one appeared to have an answer! Also, unless you are handicapped there is NO... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank NANCY T
Matthew S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review

I am very glad you enjoyed the hotel. However, I am sorry about the confusion with the name change. We did renovations in Jan and Feb and became a Holiday Inn Express & Suites on March 15. We made the change because it gave us the ability to join a very popular and loyal customer brand. It also allowed us... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.7 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#9 of 23 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 stars 1,540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo

Address: 601 Main Street, Buffalo, NY 14203
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Price Range: $123 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo Hotel Buffalo
Comfort Suites Buffalo
Buffalo Comfort Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Buffalo
#6 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay