We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel @ The Lafayette

Show Prices
#14 of 24 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel @ The Lafayette
Hotel @ The Lafayette
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

279 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hotel @ The Lafayette
See the most recent reviews
Showing 276: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed July 24, 2016

Four of us were travelling to see the Blue Jays AAA team the Buffalo Bisons, and to investigate Buffalo. This hotel is a few blocks from the baseball field, which was our primary reason for the visit. Additionally we wanted to see some of the Buffalo early 20th century architecture, and much of it is within walking distance of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John A
Evan B, General Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review

Hello John A, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for sharing your experience. All feedback is taken seriously and helps us all grow stronger as a team. We hope you enjoyed the game and we are glad you stayed with us as it is just a few blocks from the ball diamond. It is great to hear...

Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewed July 20, 2016

I stayed at the Hotel @ The Lafayette for one night on my way through the area. This hotel is located in a recently renovated classic building in the downtown area. I thought the styling of the hotel common areas and my room were great. It makes a great first impression upon walking into the lobby. The person staffing the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jason S
Evan B, General Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review

Hello Jason S, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy you decided to stay with us while traveling through the area! It is great to hear that you found the styling of your room and common areas gave a great first impression. It is also great to...

New York City, New York
Reviewed July 13, 2016

The worst hotel gym ever. The desk clerk's explanation: "this is an old building." Imaginative restoration/renovation, but no one is paying attention to maintenance of the public spaces. Based on my experience with hotel operations, the appearance of the hotel is going downhill quickly. Valet parking doesn't begin until 4 PM, but there is no exterior sign saying anything about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
Evan B, General Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review

Robert S, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your comments. We are sorry that our gym was not what you were hoping/expecting, but yes this is an older building which was recently renovated in 2012. The gym is located in the basement of the hotel (yes it was an after thought) and we do not advertise...

Beachwood, Ohio
Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

Just had a romantic overnight with my husband and we are completely charmed by this hotel! It is an incredible value and our junior suite is possibly the nicest hotel room I have ever stayed in when you consider the combination of great design, ambiance and modern amenities. And the location is perfect! One thing to know is that it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Estra G
Evan B, General Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review

Hello Estra G, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for sharing your experience/feedback, as it is greatly appreciated. It is great to hear that you and your husband were able to enjoy an overnight stay with us. We are glad to hear you found the design and ambiance to be great and amenities modern as we certainly...

St. Louis, Mo
Reviewed July 4, 2016

We stayed here on the last night of a trip with another couple. We had a 2 bedroom suite that was quite large with big windows overlooking downtown Buffalo. Featuring a full size fridge and kitchen, living and dining "great" room. The room was clean and well stocked. It has been remodeled to modern standards with a couple of quirks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ramsfanjeff
Evan B, General Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review

Hi Ramsfanjeff, Thank you for staying with us while in the area and thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It is great to hear that you found your two bedroom suite to be large, clean, and well stocked. Our rooms certainly still have the historical feel, but yet a modernized feel as well, so it is great to...

Buffalo, NY
Reviewed June 30, 2016

I booked a block of 3 days/nights the Hotel @ The Lafayette for a group of 25+ during an recent company gathering. All of the guests were high-level management and it was important to impress, as this was their first visit to the Buffalo-Niagara region. The hotel, Jillian and her staff did not disappoint. From the very beginning, they returned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole H
Evan B, General Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review

Hi Nicole H, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for sharing such wonderful comments about your experience here. It was great having you and the entire group here with us, we are honored that we were able to be apart of such an important gathering/meeting. It is great to hear that Jillian and the rest of our...

Hamburg, New York
Reviewed June 30, 2016

What a Great place to stay overnight in the city. First the renovations that were done to the hotel are fabulous. We stayed in a Junior Suite which was beautiful. The staff was very friendly and made sure all our needs were met. The location is perfect to be able to walk almost anywhere, Canalside is only a 10 min...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bob B
Evan B, General Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review

Hi Bob B, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for such nice comments. It is always great to hear when someone appreciates the renovations done to our property as much as we do! It is also great to hear you found your junior suite to be beautiful, our staff friendly, and all your needs/wants were met while...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed June 28, 2016

We stayed 2 nights here. Let me first start by saying the look of the building is really nice. It's a historic building of the city and the inside and out are really pretty. The room we stayed in had a modern decor which I really liked. There was a full length mirror and a large armoire to hang our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Runnikki
Evan B, General Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review

Hello Runnikki, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking time to share your feedback with us. We realize there are several of lodging options for you to choose from in downtown Buffalo, so we are honored that you decided to stay with us, and happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our property certainly has the...

Buffalo, New York
Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel Lafayette for a bachelorette party and we all had a wonderful experience ! The two bedroom sweet was beautiful, a prefect space for a party of 6. We returned from dinner and we think the front desk sent a bottle of champagne to the room, what a thoughtful touch! Front desk agents Megan and Michael...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lollpop5692
Evan B, General Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review

Hi Lollpop5692, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for sharing your comments with us it is greatly appreciated. It is great to hear that this is your second time staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future! We are glad to hear you found your room to be beautiful and...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed June 15, 2016

So I returned to this hotel for a second stay and I will probably go back for a third. However, as many have said before, the service is generally bad, but that doesn't make it not worth the visit. If you like a hotel with interesting character, this is a good choice. Interesting lobby and comfortable quirky rooms. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Effen D
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

286 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (189)
Viewed
Amenities (36)
Viewed
Junior Suite (48)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (45)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.4 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 24 in Buffalo
1,746 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.7 mi away
The Mansion on Delaware Avenue
0.3 mi away
Lofts on Pearl
Lofts on Pearl
#11 of 24 in Buffalo
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel @ The Lafayette is a historical landmark built by America’s first professional female architect, Louise Blanchard Bethune in 1904, and has been painstakingly restored to its original beauty in 2012. It boasts thirty-four boutique guest rooms, three mouthwatering restaurants, and five breathtaking ballrooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel @ The Lafayette

Address: 391 Washington St, Buffalo, NY 14203-2108
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Price Range: $137 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel @ The Lafayette 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel @ The Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#8 Family Hotel in Buffalo
#8 Business Hotel in Buffalo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel @ The Lafayette staff and other travelers.
9 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Toronto
West Palm Beach, Florida

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel @ The Lafayette staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Suites are worth it”
TeamP2, 1 week ago | Read review
“Higher rooms would probably get a better view of their little terrace.”
Marthabuca, Mar 1, 2017 | Read review
“ask for a view of the city”
A8766EWwilliamb, Jan 29, 2017 | Read review
“We stayed on the second floor room 202.”
karenm249, Jan 15, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on a high floor to get further away traffic noise”
stevesI1920IU, Nov 15, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question