Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel

Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel

Decor in a Junior Suite
Traveler (170)
Panorama at the Hotel @ The Lafayette
360
Panoramas (12)
Room & Suite (192)

View prices for your travel dates

$149
Get rewarded with One Key
Only 3 left at
$149
$145
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#2 of 2 boutique hotels in Buffalo
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.1
Value
4.0
The Hotel @ The Lafayette is a historical landmark built by America’s first professional female architect, Louise Blanchard Bethune in 1904, and has been painstakingly restored to its original beauty in 2012. It boasts thirty-four boutique guest rooms, three mouthwatering restaurants, and five breathtaking ballrooms.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Classic
Languages Spoken
English

Location

391 Washington St, Buffalo, NY 14203-2108
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 93 out of 100
93
Buffalo Niagara Intl Airport
Niagara Falls Intl Airport
15.4 mi
See all flights
Buffalo-Exchange Street Station
10 min
552Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 270
  • 143
  • 63
  • 33
  • 43
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
elizabetsyl wrote a review May 2021
Rochester, New York11 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel and room were beautiful. Clean and great style. The staff wasn’t overly helpful but served their purpose. Room had no fridge which was disappointing as on site food options were limited and our car was down the street in a garage. Garage cost about $15/night. Bed was comically soft. I couldn’t sleep too close to my husband without rolling into him or too close to the edge without almost falling off. The bathroom is the reason we won’t be back. The shower has a full length window facing the bed. The roller shade on it was operated from the outside and sheer. Believe it or not, some people like a little privacy while showering. At the very least, a warning in the room description would have been appreciated. The proximity to the train was the highlight. We took it to decent restaurants and the waterfront. Breakfast from the cafe inside the hotel was terrible and the menu for the restaurant was so limited we didn’t bother. Overall, beautiful hotel but the parking, limited food options and the window in the shower made the stay too inconvenient for the price.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tazzzz13 wrote a review Aug 2021
United States101 contributions35 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Junior suite very nice with an electronic fireplace for added ambiance. Fine selection of cable channels. Nice knickknacks as well gives it a unique touch. No vending-can get sodas from the front desk and charge to room as they do not take cash. The parking garage is just a block away.

They do not have mini fridges in the rooms ($20 a day which IMO is steep considering most places have them) but made do with ice in the sink.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mizlori wrote a review Sep 2023
New Brunswick, New Jersey254 contributions189 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were here for a wedding (which was very nice!) When we walked into the lobby, I thought we were in a 1950s Cary Grant movie. All I could picture was asking if there were any messages, and the clerk would pull one from the room slot board against back wall! We then entered the very antique elevator.

This is a boutique hotel with about 35 rooms all on the second floor. Above that are residences.

We had what they call a junior suite. Upon walking into our living room, it was nicely appointed with a couch, tv, coffee maker, desk, and fake fireplace (didn't seem to work), and mini-fridge. Up a couple steps was the king sized bed and a bathroom with both a soaker tub and shower and separate toilet closet. Light bulbs needed replacing which happened relatively quickly. There are sanitizing wipes in the room. Soap, shampoo, conditioner and lotion are Bath & Body Works. The bathroom fan does not really get the moisture out so it was good there was a stand-alone full length mirror in the room. There is a large closet with a safe, ironing board and iron.

I liked the windows even though they faced a courtyard. The room was very quiet except for a barking dog somewhere, but it was morning already.

The standard rooms looked spacious too.

We called ahead to ask about parking and we were told we could drop stuff off in front of the hotel and then go park in the Adam Ramp deck, which was very close walk from the hotel.

While there is a valet service, beware! It is not the hotel's service. Someone in our group used this service and they were not able to get their car keys in the morning (Sunday)! They called the phone # on the valet ticket and the person could not reach a local employee to be able to retrieve their car. So the $9/day Adam Ramp self-parking deck is the best way to go.

There is a bar, restaurant, and coffee shop in the building.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thomas S wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The entrance was filthy the lobby smelled, I was warned by the desk person to watch where I walked as there was feces on the floor (there was). The elevator looked like something off of CSI. The room was dirty, the refrigerator smelled, the counters were filthy and the toilet was ...not clean. Furthermore the room looked out on a makeshift terrace in an interior airway. When I opened the curtain I was looking at the feet of a large family eating, and they looked at me like i was disturbing them.
I went down to the desk asked to be moved for the aforesaid reasons and they told me they had no clean rooms, I asked for the manager and was told that there was none on duty. I complained to expedia twice electronically with no response and to Wyndham Hotels who told me that they would investigate and get back to me. Lest you disbelieve, I have pictures, luckily the stench was not captured.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: A room at another hotel would be best
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GikoKadampa wrote a review Aug 2021
New Jersey91 contributions40 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Noisy room with no view and no amenities facing a rooftop outdoor area for wedding guests to smoke and talk all night while we were trying to sleep. Despite having booked two months in advance and requested a quiet room far from noisy elevators, ice machines and other guests, our room was on the noisiest hallway leading to the wedding hall. We heard drunk guests for three nights in a row running up and down the hall. We asked if there was a room away from all that and were told it was all they had. The event guests checked out each morning and yet they couldn’t switch us for three nights in a row.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
terreking wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was a great place to stay right in downtown Buffalo. Even with not much happening it’s near restaurants that you can get food and take it back to the room, the beautiful and spacious room. I’d stay here again without question. The stay was extremely nice and helpful.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mlc_now wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at this property at the onset of a Erie Canal Trail bicycling tour arriving via Amtrak and cycling west towards Albany. The Lafayette is a nice turn-of-the-century motel undergoing renovation. It's location is great for those wanting a central Buffalo stay since it's convenient to the Exchange Street Amtrak station and, for cyclists, close to the Erie Canal Trailhead.

They are cycling friendly and I was able to keep my bicycle in my room (elevators!). My room was recently renovated and had all of the amenities expected in a modern hotel. I don't know what the occupancy rate was the day I checked in, but the place was nicely quiet.

The only issue I had was that the independently owned coffee shop within the complex did not open until 8 AM. Luckily, there's a Tim Horton's jus a block away.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
avafowler0 wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We checked in after making reservations in advance only to be given a room that smelt so strongly of mold and mildew that we couldn’t stay the night. They advised that they had no other rooms available and offered us a refund that would arrive in 10 business days and let us go. No calls to other hotels or making some sort of effort to help us were made. Awful smell or even unclean rooms happen but handling of it was also awful.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tj A wrote a review Jan 2020
Wasaga Beach, Canada28 contributions21 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Took in a Sabre game with my son and stayed here. Rooms are nice decorated and clean, however way too small and no furniture to sit on. There was a really uncomfortable plastic IKEA style desk chair and a stool. So when we were just lounging in the room no where to sit. Bathroom was huge though, and has a seperate tub and shower. Again the Lobby is nice but not much to do. So ok if you just need a night but I'll stay somewhere else next time. We go every year and there are much better options for us at that price. The worst part is that there is no entrance or drop off area so we had to find a parking garage and lug all of our bags down the street and to the hotel. Also the construction across the road shook the building, may want to wait until that is complete.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the construction zone.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ErinHanel, Manager at Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel
Responded Jan 20, 2020
Tj A, I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. When arriving at the hotel, guests who do not wish to use our valet services are more than welcome to unload their bags before finding other parking. We have many different room types, including rooms with couches and chairs in a spacious living area. Should you chose to stay with us again, please contact the front desk prior to your arrival to provide them with your specific preferences so that we can find a room better suited to your liking.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
et-toronto wrote a review Sep 2023
Toronto, Canada125 contributions45 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The check-in was easy and very friendly; the staff went out of their way to insure our comfort. Our room was 219 and nicely appointed with enough seating for 4-6 in the sitting room. The room was clean and relatively recently refreshed/updated (no major stains and signs of wear). Unfortunately, the bathroom was disappointing, as tiles were missing from the shower floor but it was clean.

Just a few notes:
• The A/C struggled to remove the humidity, but it was cold (we were in Buffalo when temps were high 20°C feeling like low 30°C with 80% humidity).

• The room was very quiet with the exception of the A/C white noise; we heard no noise from the outside or the hallways.

• For a brand like Wyndham, I was disappointed to see only single use plastic cups and coffee cups, this brand should have ceramics and glass.

All in all, it was a good stay.

• I was impressed to find disinfectant wipes beside every clicker (TV & fireplace).
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: As far as we know, the suites have separate showers from the bathtubs. Rooms are nice and quiet.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jameytendstowander asked a question Feb 2021
Barnegat, New Jersey82 contributions21 helpful votes
Is there parking on site? If not what is the daily rate?
Answer from BizTravel33
Baltimore, Maryland76 contributions27 helpful votes
I don’t recall room service. I don’t think they offer it. It’s run by Wyndham, so don’t expect much as far as services. Rooms are great and big. But brewery is disappointing and it’s where they offer breakfast buffet and that is completely a mess. Trust me, search for restaurants down close to Canalside or near Hyatt hotel. Good restaurants nearby there
Samantha Netzband asked a question Jul 2018
Sherrill, New York219 contributions43 helpful votes
Is there early checkin available?
Answer from Doug W
Mississauga, Canada2,822 contributions907 helpful votes
No idea...sorry. Call the hotel and I am sure they will attempt to accommodate you.
Answer from EB
Ballston Lake, New York153 contributions21 helpful votes
Valet is $20. It was understaffed during the week. Adam Ramp on Washington St. is very close. Up to $8/day during the week, typically free on weekends. WARNING: don’t leave anything of value in your car. This area is known for car break-ins. Three valet parked cars were broken into the weekend we stayed there. My family down the street also has experienced break-ins even when their car was in their apartment’s locked garage.
karl k wrote a tip Nov 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The restaurant on site is open for breakfast and lunch. Other restaurants are easily within walking distance. Parking ramp is close by. "
Read full review
et-toronto wrote a tip Sep 2023
Toronto, Canada125 contributions45 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"As far as we know, the suites have separate showers from the bathtubs. Rooms are nice and quiet."
Read full review
mnmhoehn wrote a tip Sep 2022
Saskatchewan, Canada38 contributions53 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room that faces outside, not inside"
Read full review
Thomas S wrote a tip Aug 2022
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"A room at another hotel would be best"
Read full review
Rob M wrote a tip Aug 2021
Bethany Beach, Delaware29 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The coffee shop in the lobby is awesome! Bagels were phenomenal!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Buffalo area.
PRICE RANGE
$169 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkErie CountyBuffaloDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
57
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL AT THE LAFAYETTE A TRADEMARK COLLECTION HOTEL - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Buffalo Pedal Tours (0.3 miles), Guaranty Building (0.2 miles), and Ellicott Square Building (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Big Ditch Brewing Company, Tappo Restaurant, and Osteria 166.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Buffalo.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Frank Lloyd Wright's Martin House (3.8 miles), Theodore Roosevelt Inaugural National Historic Site (1.2 miles), and Buffalo and Erie County Naval & Military Park (0.6 miles).
Is Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Buffalo HotelsBuffalo Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BuffaloHotels near Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars