We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton

320 Franklin Avenue, Scranton, PA 18503 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

50 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 49: English reviews
Westchester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016 via mobile

It is sad to say this is my 2nd time here from 2 years ago and it still has the same issues. I am happy it was only for 1 damn night. I would not recommend this place to anyone. They advertise no smoking and the room smelled like smoke. It is really sad. We were put in room 242... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cristina B
Ms_Maggee_May, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. We deeply regret that your stay with us was not a pleasant one. It is very difficult to keep people from smoking in nonsmoking rooms and damaging the rooms and furnishings with burns. As an economy property, we can not afford to fix every burn as it happens. We appreciate you letting... More 

Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015

The Red Carpet Inn and Suites in Scranton is certainly at the lower end of available accommodations, but it is priced accordingly. My first impression of the exterior was that it looked pretty shabby. And my first view of my room was similar (especially the bathroom). But look, this is a well-used older facility which the owners are trying to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ecsutton
Ms_Maggee_May, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and letting us know where we are doing well and where we need to improve. We are always looking for ways to upgrade our property and we truly appreciate your input. More 

Travelers are raving about these Scranton hotels

Level Contributor
101 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015 via mobile

Stopped for the night to get some rest on our trip thru PA it was $60 for a 2 bed room we got a smoking room the 2 beds where not the greatest and the room had a smell to it and shower needed to be cleaned better but for the price we knew what we where getting before hand... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony315
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2015

I stayed at this hotel two times and totally for 8 days. It was a great place to stay with almost clean and comfortable rooms compared to the price to be paid. Breakfast was okay. Staff are friendly Indians and it can be a good experience if you do not want to pay a lot for expensive hotels. The location... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter A
Ms_Maggee_May, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. We try hard to provide friendly and caring customer service and nice rooms for a reasonable price. We always appreciate knowing where we can do better. More 

Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015 via mobile

Decided to stop here on cross country trip. Pet friendly. Hotel was fairly clean. Parking was tight and continental breakfast was fair. There was a breakfast buffet next door at the Quality Inn. Easy checkout process. No major complaints.

Helpful?
Thank Jewel W
Ms_Maggee_May, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. We try hard to provide nice rooms for a reasonable price. We always appreciate knowing where we can do better. More 

Nottingham PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

We arrived at this hotel at 1:10 in the afternoon and hoped to check in since check in was at 2:00. We were told that we would have to pay an extra $10 to check in before 2:00 so we sat in our car. We had hoped to check in and get settled since we were going to a concert.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Reds24
PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015 via mobile

Room 147 was smelly, the tables were carved up, the wallpaper was falling off the wall, the shower soap holder was just sitting on the back of the toilet, there was grafitti on the bathroom door, the mirrors were dirty, towels had stains, cigarette burns on the side of the tub, cigarette burns in the bedspread and sheets, blood ?... More 

Helpful?
Thank suzyc63
Blairsville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

We stayed for one night in Scranton and the place was filthy. The floors were dirty,, the carpet around the wall was falling off, there was no hot water in the shower, only lukewarm with the cold shut off. We had a cat who went behind the mattress and headboard and when we pulled the mattress away there was so... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mamaart
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015 via mobile

Was this place perfect? No. Was it as horrible as some of the reviews made it seem? Not even close. You get what you pay for. This was perfectly up to standards considering the price. The room was generally clean. A good TV. Yes there was some road noise, but that's to be expected with this type of hotel. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alex H
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

The staff is very nice. Had a late check in & was very tired. Peter at the front desk was very cheerful and helpful! Room 101/roomy even w/ King Size bed/ smoking/very clean/ I was impressed! TV Good!

Helpful?
1 Thank Swashbuckler2015
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scranton
0.5 mi away
Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton
3.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 10 in Scranton
4.0 of 5 stars 340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Scranton & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Scranton
4.8 mi away
Days Inn Scranton PA
Days Inn Scranton PA
#8 of 10 in Scranton
3.0 of 5 stars 471 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Scranton
Fairfield Inn Scranton
#5 of 10 in Scranton
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton

Address: 320 Franklin Avenue, Scranton, PA 18503 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Scranton
Price Range: $67 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Inn And Suites Scranton
Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton Hotel Scranton
Red Carpet Inn Scranton
Scranton Red Carpet Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay