We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2 S Court St, Luray, VA 22835-1001
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$358
View deal
Booking.com$358
Hotels.com$358
Tripadvisor$358
Travelocity
Priceline$358
Agoda.com$358
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (47)
Room & Suite (37)
Dining (1)

About

#3 of 9 hotels in Luray
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
4.6
Value
4.4
The Hotel Laurance is a newly renovated,12-room boutique hotel. Each room is uniquely organized with comfortable beds, quiet air-conditioning and heating, Smart TV, high-speed internet and within easy walking access to the downtown restaurants and attractions. Each room has a full kitchen, perfect for a short-term or extended stay. The hotel has 2 event rooms that showcase it's historical appeal and modern conveniences. The hotel's front Parlour comfortably accommodates 60 people for a seated dinner and up to 100 people for a cocktail hour. There is also a smaller Keeping Room that is perfect for a more intimate dinner, ceremony, meeting or party.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
106Reviews3Q+A15Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 68
  • 22
  • 10
  • 2
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
KiwiVA wrote a review Aug 7
10 contributions
+1
My family of 4 stayed in the Laura Suite for one night and a quick trip to visit Luray and the National Park. We chose Hotel Laurance for the location (very walkable) and so we could spread out in the space with different bedrooms. We weren’t there long but do have some tips to share if you are considering this property. 5 stars for communication - The hotel manager was great, she texted us information and a code the morning of our check-in and asked if we had any questions. Nice and easy contactless check-in. 5 stars for cleanliness and vibe - The hotel was very clean and decorated nicely with historical touches. Loved the artifacts and library with books/games. 3 stars for noise & light - Bring a white noise machine. We never heard other guests (we were also on the top floor), but with the property near the police and fire stations, and on a hill on the main street, we were woken up several times by sirens or engines gunning up the hill. Streetlights stay on all night and the blinds didn't block the light so the bedroom never got dark. Then the sun comes through by 6:30 am. Management could install curtains in the bedrooms that could help mute the noise and the sun. I've read a few reviews about noise so some blackout curtains might help here. 5 stars for mattress and pillows - Beds were very comfortable, plenty of pillows and extra blankets too. We just didn't sleep great thanks to noise and light. 5 stars for kitchen - Very clean and very well stocked. Had everything we needed. 3 stars for living room/sitting area - Cute and clean, but the furniture was really uncomfortable. We had family game night and 3 of us ended up sitting on the floor to avoid the tiny, uncomfortable chairs. The little 2-person loveseat was nice, but someone used a hot glue gun to adhere fabric, I guess to protect the armrest? That seemed weird. Overall a great stay and if we go back I’ll request a different room on the opposite side of the building so the sun doesn’t come in so early.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: In the summer choose a room on the side with the outdoor deck to avoid the early morning sun in...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
sean h wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Very Noisy Hotel ..you can hear everything from children crying to a person shutting there down and also people above you dont plan on being intimate unless you want the entire hotel to hear you and that is a understatement!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Anderson wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
We stayed there a few weeks ago, and absolutely loved the hotel. Our room was beautiful and comfortable. The town was lovely as well. Management was very helpful and personable. We will definitely recommend and will come back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sydney F wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Upon arrival of our stay (4/28-5/1) we were the first of a wedding party to arrive to Hotel Laurance. We quickly learned that there was no staff on site and we should had received a text with a code to get into the room we booked months prior. I could not get anyone on the phone or emergency line as we had never received a code from the Hotel so the bride contacted the manager and was told she was on her way to the hotel to help us out as they had "lost our reservation" (this included the record of our deposit we had previously paid). I spent an hour in the hotel lobby as I watched the manager struggle to figure out how to adjust the room rates as the prices of the hotel had gone up since we initially booked. She acknowledged she was aware something had happen to our reservation which was the first red flag, you would think she would of reached out to the bride in advance asking who had booked the room so we wouldn't had to wait around and deal with this the first day of the wedding weekend. I'm aware we're all human and accidents happen so I patiently sat quiet while she/ the manager could not figure out the system. She then charged me over $1,000 for our $600 stay with out my permission, only telling me after the fact that the only way she could take honor the old prices we had booked for months prior was to charge me the new amount and refund me the $400 + difference. This confused me so I asked for a print out of record with the refund and remained polite, because I didn't want to start the weekend off on a bad note. A few weeks go by and I log onto my account and notice that the $1,000 + charge is still on my credit card and there were no refunds ever issued back to the card. I reached out to Hotel Laurance via email and voicemail. After being made aware of the situation, The manager has yet to call me on phone (only responds to SOME of my emails). I asked her to call me multiply times as I feel I'm at least owed that respect, but she ahs yet to do so. She just claims that the refund was issued, but my Chase bank would disagree. Anyways, moral of the story is very unprofessional experience. I know another wedding guest has tried getting a hold of the manager leaving voicemails about how they had no hot water the entire time of their stay and has yet to hear back form them. We too had no hot water the entire time (room 7) but were not bothered by that. Cute hotel, great price but VERY UNPROFESSIONAL MANAGEMENT AND POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Laurance, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Laurance
Responded Jun 6, 2022
Sydney, we at Hotel Laurance are disappointed that you were not happy with your experience and chose to write a review with so many inaccurate statements and claims. The staff strives to make each guest's stay at Hotel Laurance a premium experience.
Read more
Julianne Wood wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
My husband and I stayed in the Jordan room which was lovely. Very spacious accommodations The kitchen was great to have for breakfast and coffee! . The room was decorated beautiful and was very clean. The staff was very helpful with all of our needs
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Laurance, Other at Hotel Laurance
Responded Nov 2, 2021
Hi Julianne, Thank you for taking the time and giving us such a positive feedback. The Jordan is our largest Suite in the Hotel with every accommodation and beautiful decor. We enjoyed having you and your husband as our guests and look forward to you visiting Beautiful Virginia again in the near future. Thank you again, Staff at Hotel Laurance
Read more
Bonnislaw wrote a review Oct 2021
Kenmore, Washington23 contributions4 helpful votes
Lovely hotel inside, but we basically stayed away from common areas. Nice helpful staff. Nice bed but uneven floor throughout since it’s an updated but older hotel. Uncomfortable sitting area furniture by tv. Not much in town but great location to see Luray Cavern. Did find great Indian Food and good burger and fresh salad at Ollie Cat Cafe.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lawrence B wrote a review Sep 2021
Pinehurst, North Carolina348 contributions114 helpful votes
We were in Luray to visit the caverns and cruise Skyline Drive which were both very nice. The city of Luray is a little bit past its prime....but that does not apply to the Hotel Laurance. It is an absolutely beautiful restoration of a building dating back to the civil war. Everything in the room was perfect. The staff was warm and welcoming. Just a beautiful small hotel. Only possible negative is that there is no food service but there is a small kitchen with a fridge which can be utilized by guests. A great place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
JayP wrote a review Aug 2021
5 contributions
We drove 4 & 1/2 hrs to meet friends, who drove 3-hrs, so we could spend 4-days together. Hotel Laurance was even Nicer than we imagined. The Staff was Very helpful with all our questions about recommendations. The accommodations were GREAT.. felt like we were staying in a 1-bd apartment instead of a hotel. Wish they operated Hotels in Every City we visit... Glad they saved the Charm of the hotel built in 1883 when they did the renovations.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: original Hard Wood Floors so we stayed on the second floor. Not sure if first floor guests hear...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Laurance, Other at Hotel Laurance
Responded Aug 10, 2021
What a nice review to share. It is such that make every day and every guest so important to us. We love knowing how much you enjoyed your rooms, the staff and the history of Hotel Laurance. Please come back to see us again. Thank you!
Read more
Dawn B wrote a review Jul 2021
San Diego, California10 contributions2 helpful votes
We loved everything about this hotel! The rooms are very beautifully appointed, immaculate and so spacious. The towels, linens and beds were extremely comfortable. The service is incredible and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We will definitely return!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Laurance, Other at Hotel Laurance
Responded Jul 16, 2021
Hi Dawn, thank you for your stunning review! We love making our guests happy with good service, great rooms and comfy beds and linens. A review like yours makes it all the more enjoyable. We are so glad that you will be back. Safe Travels!
Read more
James H wrote a review Jun 2021
Collegeville, Pennsylvania45 contributions9 helpful votes
Let me first say that we stayed in the Andrew suite and this rating only pertains to that unit and the property in general. The unit has a bedroom, a small sitting area with a TV, sink, stove and refrigerator/freezer, bathroom and a loft. Generally, the unit is small. The bedroom has a queen bed and 2 night tables. There is no TV or other furniture. I will say I had one of the best nights sleep in a hotel in that bed. There is a small love seat and single chair and a TV in the sitting area. There was 1 TV tray in the room if you plan on using the kitchen. The loft is not like climbing up a bunk bed, it is more like climbing onto you first floor roof, about 10 feet or so. My adult daughter used the loft and I was worried about her using that ladder in the middle of the night. There is also a step down out of the bedroom which I also worried about my wife navigating in the dark. The bathroom had no place to sit the multitude of things you take on vacation with you. All in all, the unit is not functional. That does not mean that the other 11 aren't either but if you pick this one, beware of the issues we found if that would also cause you a problem. The property is located in a good spot for Shenandoah National Park and Luray Cavern
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Laurance, Other at Hotel Laurance
Responded Jul 18, 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us some feedback on your stay. We are so happy that you enjoyed a great night sleep in the Andrew. We are disappointed that you were concerned about the loft for your daughter. We try very hard to represent each room clearly on our website so that you can see ahead of time, exactly what your accommodations will be like. It is always best to plan ahead and think about these things before booking or asking for advice from the hotel itself. We will always be more than happy to assist you in the perfect room for you. They all have their own unique personality and there is one perfect for you and we hope that you will take us up on that. Thanks again and safe travels.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$355 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaLuray
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Laurance
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Laurance?
Nearby attractions include Warehouse Art Gallery (0.3 miles), Shenandoah Moon (0.1 miles), and Hawksbill Trading Company (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Laurance?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Laurance?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Hotel Laurance?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Laurance?
Conveniently located restaurants include West Main Market, Circa '31 at the Mimslyn Inn, and Speakeasy Bar.
Does Hotel Laurance have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Laurance offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Laurance located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Luray.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Laurance?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Hotel Laurance accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.