We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Mimslyn Inn

Show Prices
#1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Mimslyn Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

928 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Mimslyn Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 924: English reviews
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I spent Thanksgiving at the Mimslyn Inn. What a treat. The staff was exceptional, from Paul the doorman to the musicians in the Speakeasy. The holiday dinner was delicious. We could not have asked for anything more. Would defiantly recommend this inn and all it's old world charm.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
Macon, North Carolina
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This a very nice old inn with a beautiful setting on top of a hillside near downtown. Its lobby accentuates its ties to the past with grand furniture, a piano,and a curving staircase up to the second floor. The staff was very professional , and the service was friendly. WE arrived early and couldn't check in,but the lady at the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kingfather
Bridgeton, New Jersey
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at the Mimslyn Inn last June while attending a antique sports car gathering. We found a lovely Inn that has been beautifully refurbished with a staff that is very friendly and helpful. While there, check out the interesting history of the building. One of the best things to do while staying there is to sit out on their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 57ConnieC
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We came for a weekend getaway to celebrate our 15 year anniversary...the hotel was amazing! Well appointed rooms, great views, attentive staff...the bed was THE MOST COMFORTABLE HOTEL BED we have ever had! Like sleeping on a cloud! The only bad spot to the weekend was the bathtub - jets were not properly cleaned/maintained...when I turned them on for a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank N W
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review

Happy Anniversary! Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay this weekend at The Mimslyn. We are so happy to read your overall comments that the hotel was amazing and that you enjoyed the comfortable bed and the great view and appreciated our attentive staff. We would like to apologize again for the trouble that you experienced with the whirlpool...

West Palm Beach, Fl.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We found the staff to be very accomdating, friendly, etc. The room was fine, also at the end of the hall which I like and was a suite so it was nice and large. And then the food. I just don't know how they could have missed so badly on the basic quality of ingredients. Cooking styles aside you are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dortch61
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are so happy to hear that you found the staff at the inn to be accommodating and friendly and the suite to be nice and large. We will also pass on your nice compliments to both Paul and Rich. We would like to apologize that you did not enjoy your...

WEIRTON
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have stayed at the sister property of the Mimsly Inn numerous times and were excited to stay here. It was disappointing, to say the least. We booked our room through a third party Internet site at a discounted rate. Due to this, we expected a downgraded room and being in the historic part of inn, expected a smaller than...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KatiedooWV
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review

We would like to sincerely apologize that you were disappointed with your recent stay at The Mimslyn Inn. We offer three different size rooms at the inn - Historic Rooms, Blue Ridge Suites and Skyline Suites. The Historic Room, which you booked, is the most modest sized room type in the inn. We are pleased to read that you found...

Columbia, Maryland
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed overnight at the Mimslyn Inn for a wedding. The hotel was beautiful and quaint. The wedding was beauitiful and well organized. The food was really good. We reserved a King suite and the room was really nice and comfortable. It exceeded my expectations. The staff were super friendly at the hotel. Upon arrival my husband had to go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lori095
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to share details of your stay at The Mimslyn on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to hear all of your positive comments about the wedding at our inn. We always love to hear that we have exceeded our guest's expectations! Thanks for your nice compliments about Paul, he does a fantastic job of welcoming...

New York City, New York
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The very first sighting of the Mimslyn Inn was simply awesome. We had just finished a ride through the George Washington National Forest, and there we are, at the end of the winding roads, back to civilization, staring at this elegant edifice on top of a green hill, peacefully overlooking the small town below. Being mid-September, I was wearing T-shirts...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank beifangde1
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review

We truly love your description of your first sighting of The Mimslyn! This is the reaction that many of our guests have the first time that they see the inn - it really is awe-inspiring. We are so happy to hear that you received such a warm welcome upon your arrival. Our staff loves welcoming our guests as if they...

PITMAN
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great time at the Mimslyn Inn....two day trip from NJ to see the Luray Caverns...a real WoW... hotel offers a discount now through the off season Sunday thru Thursday ..great rates with wine.and continental breakfast...nice people gregarious bellman PAUL.....ate at the Speakeasy (in hotel) real good and Artisan Grille in town also a splendid experience... Drove the Skyland Drive route...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Douglas S
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review

We loving hearing that you had such a great time exploring Luray and the surrounding area. Yes, fall and winter are great seasons to come visit us! There are great things in the area to do year-round. Luray Caverns is open all year, Skyline Drive offers magnificent views all year and the inn offers fantastic get-away experiences (with seasonal wine...

Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My daughter and I went to Mimslyn Inn for an overnight as a getaway. We truly enjoyed our meal at the Speakeasy restaurant and had wonderful service from the staff. The leaves were changing and we sat out on the front porch and enjoyed the weather and the trees. Check-in went well and the staff was pleasant and efficient. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shell2424
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review

We are so happy that you and your daughter had such a nice getaway at The Mimslyn! You visited us during a spectacular time of year. Sitting in a rocking chair on the front porch, enjoying the fall breeze and looking out at the mountains with the leaves changing colors - there is nothing better! We love that you found...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

370 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (293)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (109)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (97)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Intown Luray
1.4 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
6.8 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This refined Georgian Revival inn is only 3 minutes to the Luray Caverns, gardens and museum, and 10.6 miles from the Thornton Gap Entrance of Shenandoah National Park. Each of the 45 rooms has been individually decorated with relaxing color schemes, beautiful fabrics, rich patterns, classic furnishings and modern amenities. Pillow-top bedding provides exceptional comfort. Large windows with natural light illuminate most rooms, allowing the vivid landscape of the outdoors to be seen. In addition to a fine-dining restaurant, Circa '31 and meeting facilities, the inn has a fitness center, a spa and an art deco-inspired cocktail bar known as The Speakeasy. There are also gardens, a gift shop and an art gallery. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Mimslyn Inn

Address: 401 W Main St, Luray, VA 22835-1024
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Price Range: $137 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mimslyn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Mimslyn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Mimslyn Inn staff and other travelers.
15 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
Bon Air
Rockville, Maryland
9 months ago
Monroe, New Jersey
2 months ago

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from The Mimslyn Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Did not stay for overnight lodging, only meals...public area rooms are classically furnished.”
 of 5 bubbles lanceb565, Feb 15, 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the South are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles srbphoto, Jan 23, 2017 | Read review
“visit website to see room samples”
 of 5 bubbles 859seand, Jan 14, 2017 | Read review
“The Roosevelt suite is worth the little increase in cost!”
 of 5 bubbles 732dannab, Jan 2, 2017 | Read review
“splurge and go for a suite”
 of 5 bubbles davidsW3792AR, Dec 9, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question