We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hillside Motel

#2 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hillside Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 105: English reviews
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

What a great find. Very clean, spacious and super friendly folks. We had a great time and we'll be back. It's places like this that make it a super idea to get off the beaten path. Thanks so much. The Stone Family

Helpful?
Thank stonesv
New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked this motel for 1 night after visiting Shenandoah and Skyline Drive as we wanted to see Luray Caverns. We booked a room with a king size bed. The room was nice and clean and the bed comfortable. The bathroom is very roomy and also very clean. Price was reasonable. There was a fridge, coffee maker and microwave. No breakfast... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank happyhikersNewJersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just spent Friday and Saturday night at the Hillside Motel and was pleasantly surprised at how much I loved it! I've stayed at other hotels when visiting Luray but this is by far my favorite! The rooms were extremely clean and the staff was always available to help with more towels, etc. The pool is very clean and the views... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tina C
Kim H, Owner at Hillside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you and nothing makes us feel better than receiving such a complimentary review! Our staff works hard at maintaining the cleanliness of the rooms and the pool for our guest. We can't wait to have you return!! Alan Griffith More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a no-frills motel, but the room was clean, the staff were friendly and it had a mciro wave and fridge, but no breakfast. We slept well considering most of the other rooms were taken by (very friendly) bikers on a road trip. Perhaps a little overpriced for what is on offer.

Helpful?
1 Thank Keith O
Kim H, Owner at Hillside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hillside Motel in Luray, Virginia. Unfortunately we don't serve breakfast as we don't quite have the facilities to manage that yet (maybe one day). We reference a lot of our guest to the Brookside Restaurant which is about one mile from the motel for breakfast and dinner. We... More 

Canfield, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our family booked two rooms over Father's Day weekend. This is a quaint and well maintained motel. It is located close too everything and the staff goes out of its way to make you feel at home. We would recommend this as your place to stay if going to the Luray Caverns or planning on walking the trails in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank sabuns2
Kim H, Owner at Hillside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the excellent review and your recommendation to others to stay at the Hillside Motel in Luray, Virginia. We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful Fathers Day trip with us. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the area. Alan Griffith More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location, as the motel is very close to Shenandoah national park. The rooms were clean, spacious, and had homey feel. Beautiful sitting outside and enjoying the scenery and quiet. My only major complaint is we booked for 2 nights but they only had us down for 1 so we had to go to different motel for the second night.

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
Kim H, Owner at Hillside Motel, responded to this review

First I want to apologize for the mix up with the length of your stay and that we didn't have available the room type you wanted for the additional night. Thank you for the compliments of our motel and so glad to hear that you did enjoy the beautiful scenery during your stay. We hope if you are ever in... More 

Brewster, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have traveled a lot and this by far is one of the BEST places we have stayed...keep in mind that it is a Motel, not a Hotel... Staff was exceptional...Rooms very clean and well kept up for being an older motel. Pool area very nice and they are doing very pretty landscaping with a beautiful area to have a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leslie A
HSM1460, Owner at Hillside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much! Our staff is dedicated to maintaining the cleanliness of the rooms and making guest feel at home. I agree with you, the views are just beautiful, especially in the evenings with the sunset. We look forward to seeing you next year, along with your grandchildren! Alan G. More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016 via mobile

Obviously you've read the reviews...this is a GREAT motel for the price and location. What makes this stop extra special is that it's still family owned and operated since the 1940's! So they care! Everyone I encountered (all seemed to be family and/or friends) were genuinely helpful and concerned with my stay. I had an issue with my fridge leaking... More 

Helpful?
Thank laura t
HSM1460, Owner at Hillside Motel, responded to this review

We appreciate very much you providing us with a positive review. We do apologize for the refrigerator issue but glad we were able to fix it quickly. We look forward to seeing you in the fall. Alan More 

Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2016

Just spent the most wonderful 10-day stay at Hillside. This was a return visit for us, and we’d happily stay with Diane and her marvelous staff each and every time in the future when we return to hike beautiful Shenandoah National Park. The Hillside’s rates are incredibly reasonable. The lovely landscaped, family-owned motel is aptly perched on a hillside just... More 

Helpful?
Thank walkwoman
HSM1460, Manager at Hillside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the superb review! We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay at the Hillside Motel in Luray again! Our staff goes above and beyond to ensure all of our guests feel at home and have an enjoyable stay. We greatly appreciate it when guests share their positive experiences with us. We too are... More 

hawaii
Level Contributor
243 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2016

Very reasonable rate for the great stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bathroom was nicely maintained. Newer television. Also had a refrigerator and microwave.

Helpful?
Thank krg999
HillsideMotelLuray, Owner at Hillside Motel, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate and value your feedback of your stay at the Hillside Motel in Luray. The staff works hard at maintaining the cleanliness of the rooms and ensuring our guests have a great stay. Thanks again and we look forward to you staying with us in the future! Alan More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
3.4 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 stars 815 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
2.0 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
15.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
15.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a family ran (3rd generation) family friendly motel. We are nestled between the Blue Ridge and Massanutten Mountains. Only minutes from the Thornton Gap entrance of the Skyline Drive. We are conveniently located near all there is to do, see and enjoy in the Shenandoah Valley! Please contact us for all of your traveling needs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hillside Motel

Address: 1460 US 211 East, Luray, VA 22835
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Number of rooms: 19
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing