We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sequoia Campground & Lodge

Save
Share
40457 Sierra Dr PO Box 1092, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9791
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (31)
View from Room (2)
Bathroom (1)

About

#9 of 10 Specialty lodging in Three Rivers
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Property amenities
Pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
68Reviews1Q+A3Room tips

Reviews

Write a review and earn more badges
Traveler rating
  • 11
  • 14
  • 12
  • 11
  • 20
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Erin M wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
If I could give it zero stars I would. Went for a little getaway and thought camping would be a great way to socially distance and be outdoors. Worst idea ever. Ended up spending about an hour and a half to eat some lunch before packing up and coming home. Luckily we live not too far so that was an option. Campground was stuffed to the brim full of people. Not one single person wore a face mask. In fact people made rude comments at us for wearing ours. Staff didn't wear face masks either. This is discouraging because after doing a little research I see cases are rising in the are since reopening the parks in early July. Camping lots were full of people. Most had over six, which I believe the website advertises six as being the limit per space. The spots are very close together and my site (#16) happened to be the only one without a tree so it was ridiculously hot. Too hot to even go inside the tent and change our clothes. My spot also didn't have a fire pit like I was told it would, I had emailed prior to arriving asking if it did and they said yes. Didn't bother looking at the bathrooms because I didn't want to get that close to anyone. They say they've closed the pool and other areas to aid in social distancing. This doesn't mean anything when you allow people to gather in large groups in the river. This totally defeats the purpose of closing anything else in the campground. IMO they should set out spots that can be reserved by the water so that people have an area they could be in. Also they should consider renting out every other tent space. The tent spaces are so small that it's hard to socially distance. Either your in the middle of the space with everyone else or near the road where people are walking by. Not to mention the amount of people that simply cut through our area without any regard. I didn't see one staff member going around "cleaning high touch surfaces" as they state and not once was I informed I had the option of doing a self check in like their pamphlet (that was handed to me upon check in stated). This last part goes more to the people in the camp and not the workers, but it didn't occur to me that this area would be one I would feel so uncomfortable with. I'm a member of the LGBTQ community and brought my partner and child along with me. Had people gawking, making snide comments, and snickering at us. We didn't hold hands, didn't kiss, or do anything PDA but I do have short hair and wear tomboy clothes and my daughter refers to us as moms. Anyways if you've made it this far into my review, long story short, I wouldn't return if it was not covid and you paid me. Oh and for anyone who might be curious a great alternative to staying here would be setting up a tent in your yard. That's what we ended up doing when we got home (just before dark) and it was 10000xs more fun.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Moms wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
Rented a cabin. If you like the rustic in the dirt camping feel then this place is for you. Literally black dirt on the hard surfaces, spiders, a roach (but hey- the sheets were clean). No air conditioning! No reduction in price due to lack of A/C. (It was finally replaced). Nobody (including staff) wearing masks and now I think I could have Covid-19! (Haven’t gone anywhere else)... the 4th of July was a middle aged party in the river!-ridiculous the lack of regard these people have for other lives as all had no masks on taking up the entire river front. Good luck. Management-If you respond- please notify us on this platform if any of your employees tested positive for Covid. One staff member came into the cabin for the AC without a mask on without any regard for us... and now I’m sick.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Camper Support, Marketing at Sequoia Campground & Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi there, thanks for reaching out to us with your concerns. We're sorry that your A/C wasn't working when you arrived, but we were happy to fix it within a couple of hours. Our staff works hard to keep our cabins clean and well-maintained but unfortunately, bugs do occur in the woods. In our extremely dry environment, water bugs, which are often mistaken for roaches, do seek out sinks and other areas with water. We have not had any positive cases of COVID-19 locally at all. Please know that the health and safety of our guests and employees is always our number one priority. Thanks, and take care.
Read more
Robin B wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
We booked two nights of a riverside tent site during the long weekend of July 4th. The rates were pricey, close to 150/night, probably due to the fact that all the campsites inside the national park were closed due to COVID-19. Cannot complain about this, since it is indeed difficult during this special pandemic period. My family just wanted to spend some relatively safe days outdoor without too much risky exposure to the virus. However, this place completely failed on taking any steps to prevent virus spread. Except us, I did not see a single person wearing mask in the campground, which is fully compacted during holidays. People were happy, getting together, swimming in the river, looking as if there was no pandemic at all. There are no fences or any separation between different campsites, so you are literally just socially distancing from other unmasked people without any other protection. The bathroom had hot water for shower, but is very narrow and not clean at all, since too many people were swimming and then taking showers (just imagine a shower room on the beach). During our first night stay, within a few hours, there were more than 5 people just crossing straightforward through our campsite, pretending like it was a public area, without wearing any face cover, again! There were just no privacy. The staffs were friendly, but I do not think they made any efforts to stop them doing any of these risky things during this pandemic. This was fine to me if it was normal time, but definitely not fine and even illegal during this COVID-19 period. After all of these, I immediately decided we should leave early the next morning and give up our second night's reservation. So, if you care about COVID-19, and want to find a safe place for outdoor event, you should definitely avoid this place.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Camper Support, Marketing at Sequoia Campground & Lodge
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Robin, thanks for reaching out to us with your feedback. We're sorry that your experience at our campground was not what you had hoped. Our rates are a reflection of the excellent accommodation and amenities that we offer to our guests. We have implemented several safety measures to protect the health of our guests and employees, but unfortunately, we cannot control the actions of every person that visits our campground. Your feedback is important to us and we will do our best to make improvements in the areas where it's needed. We hope that you give us another chance to impress but until then, take care.
Read more
Mike H wrote a review Jul 2020
Plano, Texas72 contributions46 helpful votes
We were unfortunate enough to stay at this campsite for 2 nights because the National Park campgrounds were closed due the COVID 19 pandemic. First of all the cost of $150 per night for a tent site was extortionate. They are obviously taking advantage and price gouging due to the situation. Second, someone showed us where to pitch our tents on arrival, and even watched us put the tents up. The following day, when we returned from a day out, our tents had been taken down without our permission and moved to a different site. The tents were not pegged down at the new site and we were missing stakes and ground sheets. They told us we had camped in the wrong place and had to be be moved. Why could they not have told us the night before? Finally the bathrooms are filthy and no one seemed to be cleaning them on a regular basis. I feel cleaner not showering for 2 days than to risk catching something in those festering holes. Absolutely disgusting.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from CamperSupport, Owner at Sequoia Campground & Lodge
Responded Jul 6, 2020
Hello Mike, thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experience with us was not as expected. We feel that our rates are in line with the amenities and experiences we have to offer at our park. Our staff takes great care to ensure all of our guests are properly accommodated, and we are sorry we missed the mark. We hope you have a great day.
Read more
Jaye Sweets wrote a review Jun 2020
3 contributions
What an awesome experience! Right on the River!! The staff was very nice and bathrooms were kept clean. Had an issue with another camper and her lighted flag pole that lit up our entire camp site but since it was Memorial Day weekend I thought having a flag up was awesome except you couldn’t even see it. All you could see was the lights wrapped around the pole. I’ve seen other people using a spotlight pointing at the flag from the ground which I think is a better option and more considerate to the people you share a campground with. But overall the staff was very kind and considerate. They had people driving around the campground so it gave me that extra bit of security. Also they have hot showers!! Thankyou again! I will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Sequoia Campground & Lodge
Responded Jun 10, 2020
Thank you for the excellent and detailed review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and our friendly team. We appreciate your feedback regarding you experience with the flag and we hope you will visit us again soon!
Read more
Previous
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Kaweah Park Resort
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaThree Rivers
NUMBER OF ROOMS
51
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sequoia Campground & Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Sequoia Campground & Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Tokopah Falls (2.6 miles), Slick Rock Recreation Area (1.1 miles), and Kaweah Marina (4.6 miles).
What are some restaurants close to Sequoia Campground & Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sierra Subs and Salads, Reimer's Candies and Gifts, and Ol Buckaroo.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sequoia Campground & Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Sequoia Campground & Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Sequoia Campground & Lodge?
Many travelers enjoy visiting McKinley Tree (6.3 miles), Chief Sequoyah (6.3 miles), and Buttress tree (7.1 miles).