We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gateway Restaurant and Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Gateway Restaurant and Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gateway Restaurant and Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 81: English reviews
Ohio
Reviewed May 18, 2016

We went for lunch and the next day breakfast (we were reluctant to go the next morning but wanted to not venture far since we were going into the park for a full day, and our last day). Lunch wasn't great on our first day. Our waitress (Heidi) seemed rushed and bothered-impatient when I asked questions about the menu, which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank westielover123
MGR_Guest_Relations, Manager at Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, responded to this review

Hello again, westielover123. We’d like to apologize for your unsatisfactory experience. We’ve disciplined the waitress that was assigned to your table and continue to extend the invitation to contact us in an effort to remedy the situation.

Reviewed May 1, 2016 via mobile

The food is mediocre, pricey. We got a salmon burger and veggie burger which were both average. The service was extremely slow. The waitress came to us 15 mins after we were seated and our food took an additional 30-40 mins. All in all we wasted time just sitting around.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Faiqah
MGR_Guest_Relations, Manager at Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback Faiqah. We’re sorry that you did not completely enjoy your experience. Please, contact us directly to discuss your situation further.

Visalia, California
Reviewed April 27, 2016

We decided to go to Gateway for our anniversary after seeing all the advertisements for it. We arrived at check in 3:00 and was greeted by friendly staff. We were given the key for our room and a menu for later. We went to our room and it was rustic. Clean, large bed, electronic fireplace, satellite tv, coffee maker and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcvega
MGR_Guest_Relations, Manager at Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you mcvega for your kind words. We are happy to know that you were pleased with your anniversary celebration at our establishment.

Almere, The Netherlands
Reviewed April 25, 2016

A real 'hidden gem' right next to the entry point to Sequoia and Kings canyon national park and with a very nice view over a river. The owners are amazing people who will work hard and try everything to make your stay as comfortable and fun as possible. The rooms are basic but clean, spacious and have all the things...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D3NN1SNL
MGR_Guest_Relations, Manager at Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, responded to this review

HI D3NN1SNL, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We’re happy you enjoyed our food and our location on the river. Come back soon!

Vancouver, Washington
Reviewed April 9, 2016

We stayed a night at the gateway at the very end of March 2016. We arrived early afternoon to check-in and were greeted by a friendly and helpful hostess. We returned later for dinner and this review is for the restaurant only! We had seats next to a window with a fantastic view of the river. The restaurant is in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank D
MGR_Guest_Relations, Manager at Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, Frank. Thank you for your comments. We’re glad you enjoyed our restaurant and hope you return soon to try another delicious menu item.

LA, CA
Reviewed March 29, 2016

My husband and I tried the Gateway Restaurant recently for the first time in 15 years since we began visiting Sequoia Natl Park. The place is a bit rundown considering the view of the river and location just outside of the entrance to Sequoia Natl Park but it was right next door to our hotel. The food was just average...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Secoya9
MGR_Guest_Relations, Manager at Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Secoya9. We’re sorry that you did not completely enjoy your visit to our establishment during the very busy Easter Holiday. Please understand, we do not accept discounts while our Holiday Menu is in effect. We’ll be looking into your situation further. Please, feel free to contact us to discuss this further.

Alamo, California
Reviewed January 25, 2016

What an incredible place! Sunday brunch was wonderful - food, service and view! We sat at a table by the window that overlooked the river. Very special experience! The restaurant itself was built in the 1920's and is super quaint and quirky....in a GOOD way! It is a MUST stop when you are going to the Sequoias!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen and Paul P
Cameron C, Manager at Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Karen and Paul, thanks for commenting. Our main goal is to always give our customers top-notch cuisine and service. We always appreciate feedback from our customers and hope to see you soon on your next Sequoia stop!

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed November 30, 2015

We just stayed here. You can easily walk to the park from the Lodge. It's almost winter and it's cold in Sequoia Park. We stayed in room 1 which is next to the road into the park. It was quiet and warm both in temperature and ambience and had everything we could want. It's heated with an electronic heater that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
Cameron C, Owner at Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Peter! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found the quiet and warm ambiance you were looking for.

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed October 12, 2015

Food was extremely overpriced for Sysco frozen food. $15 for a cheeseburger? $10+ for frozen mozzarella sticks? I know the view is great but, it's not worth the inflated food price. Our waitress, Caitlin, was awful and inattentive and we were the only customers. The host did the waitresses job most of the time. I'm pretty sure they add boxed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynsey M
Reviewed September 25, 2015 via mobile

My sisters and I are enjoying sequoia national park and have been to the Gateway Restaurant 3 times already. Nice place, outstanding service and good variety of food options. Outdoor dining is fun. Location is convenient as it is very close to the park entrance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary N
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (55)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
10.2 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,196 reviews
15.0 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
590 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
19.4 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
446 reviews
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lodging renovation completed March 2014. The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge is located just 1/4 mile from the Main Entrance to Sequoia National Park on Highway 198. If offers a full service bar and restaurant along with a lodge containing 5 standard rooms, a cozy honeymoon cottage on the river with a dry sauna room and a two bedroom river house that sleeps up to 8 people. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gateway Restaurant and Lodge

Address: 45978 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9500
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Price Range: $117 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gateway Restaurant and Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Gateway Restaurant and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gateway Restaurant and Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Get off the mountain before the sun goes down so you can enjoy dinner on the deck”
 of 5 bubbles , Jun 10, 2016 | Read review
“We got a balcony on the 2nd floor.. nice view of the river. The hotel is nice, not the restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles westielover123, May 18, 2016 | Read review
“WIFI is intermittent-”
 of 5 bubbles Roxyita, Aug 18, 2015 | Read review
“River House is the best bet....”
 of 5 bubbles johnmV7434UL, Jul 31, 2015 | Read review
“River view suite”
  • You can climb down to these rocks.
  • The scenery was beautiful
 of 5 bubbles Sheila_in_NH_13, May 26, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question