We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Fonda on the Plaza

Save
Share
100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501-2110
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
16 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$369
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
$438
View deal
Trip.com
$438
$313
View deal
SAVE $125
Expedia.com$369
eDreams$369
Hotels.com$369
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (534)
360
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (396)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 10/13/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 10/13/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 65 hotels in Santa Fe
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and high thread-count linens. Amenities include no resort fee, complimentary Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, 24 hour valet parking and spa services. Upgrades such as spacious sitting areas, cozy fireplaces, separate living and sleeping areas, and balconies are available throughout the hotel. The Terrace private concierge level offers 15 exclusive, luxury-level rooms and suites built around a rooftop terrace with stunning views of Santa Fe. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Skiing
Evening entertainment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Vending machine
Rooftop bar
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Steam room
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun terrace
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1193Reviews41Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 916
  • 197
  • 45
  • 19
  • 18
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Clifford O wrote a review Yesterday
Dallas, United States6 contributions
My wife and I vacationed in Santa Fe last month and had a great time. The hotel itself is very beautiful and there are plenty of great restaurants around, including at the hotel. But as a consultant who travels every week (before the pandemic of course), I gotta be honest. The from desk needs work. When you call yourself a 5-star resort, the front desk, including the on-duty manager, need to be elite. They need to be welcoming, and accommodating. They were neither. I do not, and will not, think that the request I made was unreasonable...at all. I requested the on-duty manager to call me since I was checking-out. Something he never did, and we are in the middle of May as of this review. Bottom line? Don't hesitate to have dinner at the hotel or enjoy the bar. But if you are staying the night (or multiple nights) I'd try another hotel. Sorry for the negative review...but if you are a 5-star resort and your front desk can't even beat out a roadside Holiday Inn in terms of hospitality....then there is a problem.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Helpful
Share
I8055BVlisas wrote a review Yesterday
33 contributions12 helpful votes
When the head chef has this as his Facebook cover pic, you might wanna eat somewhere else. I just came home from a visit to Santa Fe & ate in several resfurants with outdoor seating that followed masking up & social distancing very well. I was pleased at how safe everyone was, especially since the Native American population has been very hard hit by COVID. The only people not abiding, were tourists that didn't care. And then I see this pic of the head chef of La Fonda & it infuriates me, even more because he isn't even a native New Mexican!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
241cco wrote a review May 8
1 contribution
Communication issues about parking and a broken shower. And now it appears one has to write 200 characters to do a review. Ok, the phone in the room also did not work. We were not able to get a seat at the roof top bar and getting a drink to take back to our room appeared to be an original request? When two other couples also thought a drink to go was a good idea. I got the see what you started look.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Rik Blyth, General Manager at La Fonda on the Plaza
Responded 2 days ago
Dear 241cco, Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you had while staying with us. I'm not sure what the issues were regarding parking, we just began offering valet parking again last week after not being allowed for the past year. Hopefully it was straightened out to your satisfaction. In regards to the rooftop bar, there should have been no problem getting a "to go" drink, since you were staying with us. Obviously, non-hotel guests are not allowed to take drinks with them. With our seating still limited to 50% capacity due to NM Health Department restrictions, we are not able to seat everyone who wishes to join us. I will follow up with the manager of that area to determine why the drink request was not handled properly. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Regards, Rik Blyth General Manager
Read more
bberberi wrote a review May 7
Eureka, Missouri9 contributions
We stayed at La Fonda on the Plaza 5/1/21-5/4/21. It was a post covid birthday celebration trip with friends. This was our first visit to Santa Fe and we absolutely loved everything about Santa Fe. We were so glad that we chose La Fonda for our stay. They went above and beyond on service and made our trip special. The employees were extremely nice and helpful. Very service oriented! We had dinner in the restaurant and we all agreed that the meal was the best we had during our stay, which was hard to beat as we ate at some really good restaurants. We will definitely return and will stay at La Fonda!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Rik Blyth, General Manager at La Fonda on the Plaza
Responded 6 days ago
Dear bberberi, Thank you! We are seeing more and more guests venturing out to enjoy long delayed birthday and anniversary celebrations. I'm so happy you decided to hold yours at La Fonda! I am fortunate to have a truly fantastic team who got us through a rough year; your comments about our service and the great dinner you had will be posted for all staff members to see! Thank you again, Rik Blyth General Manager
Read more
julesbirsch wrote a review Apr 2021
Boulder, Colorado5 contributions1 helpful vote
I have been visiting Santa fe for over 25 years and have always wanted to stay at the La Fonda. I figured a 60th birthday was a good occasion to celebrate at the storied hotel and it did not disappoint. Check in was a breeze and when we arrived in our room we had a complimentary bottle of chilled champagne waiting. The rooms were really clean and there is beautiful original art everywhere, including our room. The next morning we ate breakfast as the hotel restaurant and everything was excellent. I had blue corn pancakes and would order them again in a heartbeat. I was only sad that we were staying one night and the next time I will definitely return for a longer stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Rik Blyth, General Manager at La Fonda on the Plaza
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear julesbirsch, Happy Belated Birthday! I'm so pleased you decided to celebrate at La Fonda and to hear you also enjoyed your brief visit! I hope you don't wait another 25 years to come back and stay with us again... How about your 61st birthday?! All my best, Rik Blyth General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$120 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
la fonda on the plaza hotel santa fe, la fonda hotel santa fe
LOCATION
United StatesNew MexicoSanta FeDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
180
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about La Fonda on the Plaza
Which popular attractions are close to La Fonda on the Plaza?
Nearby attractions include Keshi (0.1 miles), The Cathedral Basilica of St. Francis of Assisi (0.09 miles), and New Mexico History Museum (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at La Fonda on the Plaza?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at La Fonda on the Plaza?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at La Fonda on the Plaza?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at La Fonda on the Plaza?
Yes, a parking garage, paid public parking nearby, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to La Fonda on the Plaza?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sazón, Sassella, and Cafe Pasqual's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at La Fonda on the Plaza?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is La Fonda on the Plaza located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.07 miles away from the center of Santa Fe.
Are any cleaning services offered at La Fonda on the Plaza?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at La Fonda on the Plaza?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does La Fonda on the Plaza offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.