We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
100 E. San Francisco Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$309
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/16/22
FindHotel
$223
View deal
Booking.com$309
Travelocity$309
Agoda.com$309
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (595)
360
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (484)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 05/13/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from La Fonda On the Plaza
Updated 05/13/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 64 hotels in Santa Fe
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.7
Value
4.5
Travelers' Choice
Timeless elegance and an enticing air of authenticity create an alluring atmosphere at La Fonda on the Plaza. The luxury hotel has artfully maintained beautiful historic elements, allowing them to playfully mingle with modern amenities. Poised within the famed Santa Fe Plaza, La Fonda offers guests lavish guest rooms and one-of-a-kind suites overlooking the town. Guests enjoy two divine dining options, the indulgent La Plazuela restaurant and a robust New Mexican buffet at La Fiesta Lounge. After dinner, be sure to check out the Bell Tower Bar, an open air lounge that overlooks the Plaza.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Skiing
Evening entertainment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Vending machine
Rooftop bar
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun terrace
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1347Reviews44Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,033
  • 214
  • 55
  • 25
  • 21
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Pete S wrote a review Yesterday
Burnsville, Minnesota101 contributions24 helpful votes
If every you have the opportunity to stay in Santa Fe, La Fonda is the place to stay. Centrally located just off the plaza, La Fonda provides a very unique and authentic New Mexico experience. The food, the atmosphere, and the employees are so authentic and welcoming.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Alex G wrote a review Jul 3
1 contribution
Great experience, awesome place to stay. The only downside to this visit was that we couldn’t stay longer. Walking distance to many places of interest. Visited the Loretto Chapel and St. Francis Cathedral and many, many shops. Restaurant is outstanding!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Rik Blyth, General Manager at La Fonda On the Plaza
Responded yesterday
Dear Alex G, Thanks! I enjoyed reading your review and am very pleased to see you enjoyed everything about La Fonda and Santa Fe! Come back for another visit soon... Best regards, Rik Blyth General Manager
Read more
redhead1953 wrote a review Jul 1
Pueblo, Colorado3 contributions
We chose the Bed & Breakfast package on the 1 King Bed room and were upgraded to a suite with a separate living room/bedroom overlooking the pool on the 4th floor. Parked the car in enclosed parking on Sunday and didn't even have to look at it again until Thursday! (when we left) Had an included breakfast in the beautiful La Plazuela restaurant Sunday-Wednesday and an included room service breakfast on Thursday. Every staff member we encountered (bellhops, front desk staff, restaurant staff and concierge) were friendly and knowledgeable. This was our first visit to the La Fonda, and it certainly won't be our last!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Rik Blyth, General Manager at La Fonda On the Plaza
Responded yesterday
Dear redhead, I greatly appreciate you taking the time to share such a positive and detailed review! The Bed & Breakfast package is one of our most popular offerings, I'm happy to hear you enjoyed it and plan to return. Thank you also for mentioning our staff, we truly have a great team and I will share your comments with them. We look forward to seeing you again! All my best, Rik Blyth General Manager
Read more
OnTheRoadAgain8180 wrote a review Jun 2022
Gardiner, Maine382 contributions218 helpful votes
We absolutely loved everything about La Fonda, from the lobby area to restaurant to service to the room itself. We had a 1-BR king suite with balcony facing Loretta Chapel. Make sure to catch a sunset at the Belltower Rooftop Bar, but you may want to get there a little early as it fills up fast. The restaurant, La Plazuela is a beautiful setting (indoors but you almost feel like you're outside). The pool and hot tubs are also very nice, with minimal crowds. Last but not least, you're right on the Plaza, I believe the only hotel that can make that claim, and next to both Loretta and St. Francis Cathedral. If/when we come back to Santa Fe, we will 100 % be staying at La Fonda.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: King suite with balcony (room 508 looks directly at Loretta Chapel across the street)
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Rik Blyth, General Manager at La Fonda On the Plaza
Responded 1 week ago
Dear OnTheRoadAgain8180, Thank you! Reading your review was a great way to end my day, I am grateful you took the time to write. It seems you enjoyed everything at La Fonda, as well as around the enchanting City of Santa Fe! The view you mentioned from your suite is one of my favorite as well, the Loretto Chapel is a rare gem. Thank you again for sharing your experience, I hope you return soon, there is more to discover! Best Regards, Rik Blyth General Manager
Read more
JenChicago wrote a review Jun 2022
Chicago, Illinois4 contributions2 helpful votes
Although the La Fonda hotel is in a great location, it sure did disappoint. The rooms are incredibly small and the price is way too much. The staff are not that friendly either. The facility restaurants/bars closed by 9 pm on the weekend. Ridiculous. The place is also not ADA compliant and they expect you to lift luggage up and down flights of stairs. There are better places to stay in Santa Fe.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Don't stay here - find another place in Santa Fe. Rooms are small and just bad.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Rik Blyth, General Manager at La Fonda On the Plaza
Responded 1 week ago
Dear JenChicago, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. I'm sorry we did not measure up to your expectations. However, as I have mentioned several times in my responses on this site, as a 100 year old historic hotel, we have a large variety of room sizes and locations. It is unfortunate your reservation was made for one of the smaller rooms, there are actually very few in that category. In regards to your comment about being ADA compliant, I must correct you. Every room in the hotel is accessible via elevator as well as stairs. In fact, several years ago, even though we are grandfathered and exempt from ADA, we installed 5 "lifts" next to areas that had a short set of 6 steps to another level of the hotel. These lifts fit 2 people and several pieces of luggage, I'm not sure why you didn't use them. In addition, we have Bellmen available at all times to assist our guests with their luggage. Although our bar is allowed to stay open until 11PM, Santa Fe is not a late night town. If bar attendance is meager, we will do last call around 9:30. There are only a couple bars in downtown Santa Fe open past 10PM for this reason. Best Regards, Rik Blyth General Manager
Read more
pala0r0 wrote a review Jun 2022
Denver, Colorado1 contribution
Rooms showing wear,Not clean around the edges common areas were similar in house restaurant was only ok less quantity than usual not as well prepared,but prices up wait staff very friendly as well as hotel staff though obviously understaffed But as always location and history is A plus
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Rik Blyth, General Manager at La Fonda On the Plaza
Responded 1 week ago
Dear pala0r0, I appreciate you took the time to let us know about our shortcomings during your recent visit. I have passed on your comments to Housekeeping and our Chef. Like most hospitality businesses, we are affected by the lack of staff, in spite of the sharply increased wages we offer. However, that can never be an excuse and we will work hard to correct the areas you mentioned. All my best, Rik Blyth General Manager
Read more
dpost6 wrote a review Jun 2022
Denver, Colorado1 contribution
Stayed five nights in a comfortable, large room for an art retreat. Slept well. Ate well. Attentive staff and lovely, convenient location. I will definitely be back! Highly recommend this classic hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Rik Blyth, General Manager at La Fonda On the Plaza
Responded 1 week ago
Dear dpost6, I really enjoyed reading your review, you seemed to have loved your recent stay with us! Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope you travel south again real soon...! All my best, Rik Blyth General Manager
Read more
f1w86cmhaspq0ccr2022 wrote a review Jun 2022
Houston, Texas1 contribution1 helpful vote
Beautiful hotel and perfect location but my room was certainly not something I’d expect from a four star hotel. I was disappointed with the room. Also, the noise from outside disturbed my stay. I did request a room on a higher floor but was told there were none available.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rik Blyth, General Manager at La Fonda On the Plaza
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear f1w86c... etc..., Thank you for sharing your experience while staying with us. As these reviews are anonymous, I have no way of knowing what room type you reserved prior to your arrival at La Fonda. As I've mentioned in past responses on this site, as a 100 year old historic hotel we have over 60 different room sizes, as well as varied locations of our rooms. I regret the room you reserved was not to your liking, however, we are extremely busy in the summer and a different room type was evidently not available. In regards to your comment about outside noise, it is a fact La Fonda is located in the exact center of a vibrant, historic city. In spite of our rooms having double-pane windows, there will be occasional fiestas, celebrations, and happy people enjoying all Santa Fe has to offer. These events could cause some hoots and hollers at times! I hope you give us another chance and choose to reserve a quieter room type on your next visit. Best Regards, Rik Blyth General Manager
Read more
Tamra W wrote a review Jun 2022
Waco, Texas1 contribution
I hosted the planning retreat for our association. I was responsible for 25-30 people. The service at La Fonda was great - from the group meeting planner, to the valet parking, and most especially to the team of professionals who worked at the Concierge desk. And the location is perfect - right in the heart of the downtown Santa Fe Plaza. Not to mention the elegance and beauty of this historical landmark. La Fonda will always hold a special place in my heart; but more importantly, now my guests share those special warm memories.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Rik Blyth, General Manager at La Fonda On the Plaza
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Tamra W, Thank you so much for trusting La Fonda to host your recent Association meeting! I greatly appreciate your confidence in bringing so many people to experience the history, artwork and dedicated staff here at La Fonda. I have taken the liberty of passing on your review to the team, along with my personal thanks for a job well done! We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future... All my best, Rik Blyth General Manager
Read more
wbfrench2018 wrote a review Jun 2022
Weatherford, Oklahoma2 contributions2 helpful votes
The La Fonda is easily the flagship hotel of Santa. Excellent on all levels, it attains a mastery of service that others aspire to but never attain. The La Fonda has a rich history, but it has never rested on its laurels.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Rik Blyth, General Manager at La Fonda On the Plaza
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear wbfrench2018, Thank you so much for your review... this is high praise indeed! I have taken the liberty of sharing your comments with all our staff as a very good reminder of why we NEVER "rest on our laurels." I hope you return again soon! All my best, Rik Blyth General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$300 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
la fonda on the plaza hotel santa fe, la fonda hotel santa fe
LOCATION
United StatesNew MexicoSanta FeDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
180
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about La Fonda On the Plaza
Which popular attractions are close to La Fonda On the Plaza?
Nearby attractions include Keshi (0.1 miles), The Cathedral Basilica of St. Francis of Assisi (0.10 miles), and New Mexico History Museum (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at La Fonda On the Plaza?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at La Fonda On the Plaza?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at La Fonda On the Plaza?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at La Fonda On the Plaza?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to La Fonda On the Plaza?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sazón, Sassella, and El Callejon Taqueria and Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at La Fonda On the Plaza?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is La Fonda On the Plaza located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.07 miles away from the center of Santa Fe.
Are any cleaning services offered at La Fonda On the Plaza?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at La Fonda On the Plaza?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does La Fonda On the Plaza offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.