We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
210 Don Gaspar Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2122
5 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$539
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/20/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$533
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/20/22
FindHotel
$524
View deal
Travelocity$533
Hotels.com$533
travelup.com$637
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (427)
360
Panoramas (8)
Room & Suite (173)

About

#27 of 63 hotels in Santa Fe
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.2
Value
3.9
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes."
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Restaurant
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1413Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 639
  • 400
  • 202
  • 103
  • 69
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
JohnInTexas wrote a review Aug 7
Texas34 contributions29 helpful votes
We spent 4 days with another couple here first week of August 2022. I like to do these reviews in order of things I want to know from others who have been there; Check in: a breeze. Literally took us 5 mins. Very polite nice reception. Valet is great cause there’s no parking otherwise. Valet guys were awesome. 5 stars Hotel Ambiance: It’s an old historic hotel which we love that’s been pretty nicely renovated without losing its old world charm. It’s in the heart of downtown activity. Great people watching from front patio. 4 stars Room: ok. The rooms are really small as are the bathrooms. We knew this going in as it’s a old historical place. The bed was a 5. Overall a 3.5 stars due to a lack of space. Bar area: Secreto bar is nice with open air seating on patio in hotel front along with an inside area too. Staff was ok but got a bit of attitude from bartender and waitress. Be prepared to wait for service if busy. Could be staffing problems like so many other places. 4 stars. Would of been higher with a friendlier staff. Place gets real busy around 6 pm. Also it’s like every other hotel bar in downtown…closes at 10 pm. Weekends too. Strange…you would have a big crowd only to send everyone home at 10. Dumb. Tasting room adjacent: Didn’t try it but if you fancy yourself a wine affectionado/snob you should be right at home. No Rating. Restaurant: market steer is their steak place. Only open for dinner. Did not eat there but the food looked great and it has a really cool courtyard. No Rating Overall we really like this place. Good value for the money. Close to everything (we ate dinner somewhere different each night at great places and never had to go more than .9 miles). Great walking area. 4 Stars Our dinner choices: Pink adobe: food was excellent New Mexican fare. Wait staff was competent and super friendly. Good value. Be sure and eat in their beautiful patio area. 4 tenths of a mile from St.Francis. 4 stars Luminaria (located at the Inn of Loretta): maybe the worse dinner experience I’ve ever had. Terrible food, took hours to get served. Expensive for nothing. Literally sent food back. Their patio was great but couldn’t save the day. Avoid this place. 0 stars The Compound: 9tenths of mile from St. Francis: I have traveled our country and lived around the world for 40 + years. This was the best meal I’ve ever had. It’s been rated as a top 20 restaurant in the US and Is every bit of it. The tenderloin and braised short rib could be easily cut with my butter knife. The mushrooms and onion rings (yes onion rings) were insanely good. Staff was totally professional and friars you would expect. Get reservations way in advance. I woke up in the middle of the night wanting more! 6 Stars There you have it. Hope this helps! Safe travels!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
r1cv3qemh8 wrote a review May 2022
Addison, Texas1 contribution
A lovely boutique hotel with an amazing, responsive staff. Communication by text was answered immediately. Very clean, friendly housekeeping staff. The Gruen wine tasting was yummy. The Secreto bar was fun and stayed open later than 8 pm. The “front porch” was a fine place to read a book, enjoy a beverage. Centrally located in the Plaza area. Lovely that we could open the windows at night. We had a great time!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Harney, Other at Hotel St. Francis
Responded May 25, 2022
We are elated to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us! Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel and staff. We truly cherish your support and we would love to care for you again!
Read more
Lisa L wrote a review Apr 2022
Austin, Texas4 contributions2 helpful votes
This hotel is lovely! The rooms are well appointed, and the decor in the open areas on each floor are attractive and interesting. Many black and white photos of "old Santa Fe" are beautifully displayed and enjoyable to view. This is an old, quaint historical structure so the rooms are various sizes, not generic or identical. It's actually what makes the hotel desirable and pleasant. We did have an issue with our room. There was a rather large step into the bathroom, and our particular bathroom was on the small side. The door was almost plumb with the edge the step. In walking out of the bathroom my husband slipped on the wet floor, and fell right out of the bathroom. Thankfully, he did not sustain a major injury, but he was very sore for the next few days. We let the young man at the desk know that we'd like to change to another room, but he was at a loss as to how to handle things since the hotel was completely full. He did give us the contact info of the Regional Director of Guest Experience, Jarrod Carrillo. I emailed him that evening to let him know of our issue. He, very promptly, answered me indicating that he would like to rectify our situation asap. Aside from apologizing and offering us a new room, he completely refunded our 2 night stay. He was quite attentive and genuinely wanted to make sure we were taken care of as valuable hotel guests for this visit and future visits as well. The Hotel St. Frances will be one that we hope to return to in the future. We will also recommend it to our friends as well.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: If you have any accessibility issues at all, please let them know. Many rooms have a rather...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Harney, Other at Hotel St. Francis
Responded Apr 30, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. We are very sorry to hear about the issue with the bathroom in your room. We are so glad that you brought it to our attention so it could be addressed. We are delighted that you enjoyed the other aspects of your stay and we truly cherish your support and recommendation. We look forward to caring for you again in the future.
Read more
MBtravel2222 wrote a review Apr 2022
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania1 contribution
Hotel experience was fantastic and the staff was gracious and attentive from the moment I arrived to the moment I departed. The room was clean and cozy. Overall, I really liked the aesthetics and decor of the hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Harney, Other at Hotel St. Francis
Responded Apr 29, 2022
We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us! Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel and staff. We truly cherish your support!
Read more
BCox wrote a review Mar 2022
Austin, Texas2 contributions
Prepurchased two rooms for two nights - One single king and one double. Received one room with a full bed after waiting for clerk to materialize and a line had formed at checkin and then asked to return when I was texted because the key maker wasn’t working. I was never texted. Upon return, I was given another single room and I went back down to the clerk - was Informed that no doubles were available because they were sold completely out. Sorry, but nothing she could do. This was my problem that might could be fixed tomorrow. I was asked to come back the next day to to see if I could switch. Later caught by another employee that overheard the conversation, quizzed if I booked on the hotel website or Expedia (I booked directly with the hotel) and informed that the manager was called and I would be refunded for the mistake. As if this review, this hasn’t happened for either downgrades. No parking or valet service and was told to find street parking added to the lack of a quality experience. Clearly, this hotel neither cared nor had any intention to honor their contracts or reservations. Would never do business with this hotel or the chain in the future and could not recommend even if a refund or compensation was manifest as promised. Positives - The linens were lovely, the tiny bed comfortable. Disgusting negative - It was likewise distracting that the lobby reeked of pitchuoli oil.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Harney, Other at Hotel St. Francis
Responded Mar 21, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback about your experience. We want to apologize that during your reservation our property was overbooked which did not allow for the room you had desired. As mentioned we have compensated you for this inconvenience and you should receive the funds for your first night of booking returned to your account very soon. The processing time for returned charges can take several days at times but rest assured that those funds are on their way. We wish this wouldn't have been the case and we are very sorry that we were unable to provide the reservation that you had desired and that our team missed the mark in the care they have provided as well. Our team gave apologies during the time of the incident but we understand that this is still a very frustrating experience and we will continue to train our team and work for more proactive solutions moving forward. We hope you can forgive us and will allow us another opportunity to impress you in the future.
Read more
Marie400nl wrote a review Feb 2022
The Netherlands145 contributions25 helpful votes
I spent five weeks away from home and asked a friend who spends a lot of time in Santa Fe for a recommendation for somewhere special for a rare night on my own during this trip. I was looking for something right in town and unique. From the website I thought this would be the place, but it was very disappointing. My room had great simple furnishings, high ceilings and very tall windows looking out onto a roof and other windows. The curtains were falling off of the rings from so many people struggling to get them closed on a not very functional curtain rod, making them impossible to close. The hallways echoed with noise day and night. The front desk never had more than one staff person and the wait times were long to get her attention or assistance. She needed a lesson in mask-wearing. The parking situation was awful. My package included it, but spots were very hard to come by. I had a wonderful trip to Santa Fe, but the Hotel St. Francis was merely a place to sleep. I expected better than that.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Harney, Other at Hotel St. Francis
Responded Feb 21, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very sorry to hear that we missed the mark on many aspects of your stay. We truly appreciate your honest feedback and we will share your concerns with our staff as we are committed to improving.
Read more
sheri n wrote a review Feb 2022
8 contributions3 helpful votes
Was such a pleasant surprise! Hospitality was awesome!!! We went to get married and the manager took upon himself to surprise us with a bottle of champagne for our ceremony. Everything you need is within walking distance. Burro alley has los muegays? Great food as well as cafe Pasqual. We would strongly suggest NOT going to coyote cafe. Over priced and menu is misleading. Who puts peas in a bacon Mac and cheese?
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Double check times for the rail station. Limited times. You can get around either by foot or a...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Harney, Other at Hotel St. Francis
Responded Feb 13, 2022
We are ecstatic that your experience with us was five-star! Thank you so much for your kind review and details about your stay. We appreciate your support and we look forward to caring for you again in the future.
Read more
bdudley77 wrote a review Jan 2022
Raleigh, North Carolina34 contributions5 helpful votes
First time to SF. The hotel is conveniently located to food, fun, spirits. The rooms are simple but comfortable. The staff was available and responsive. My room had a mini fridge which was nice. And the Lather toiletries smelled yummy. The view from my third floor corner room was beautiful in the morning.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Harney, Other at Hotel St. Francis
Responded Jan 30, 2022
Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel and staff! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us and we look forward to caring for you again in the future.
Read more
Emily V wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
Still in shock about this horrible experience. Book Hotel St. Francis if you want to be embarrassed and stranded! I booked two rooms for a family vacation months in advance directly through the hotel's website and received email booking confirmations immediately. The morning of our check in we received welcome text messages from the hotel connecting us with the front desk team. We showed up to check in, confirmation numbers in hand, only to be told that the hotel could not find our booking confirmation for either room and therefore they were cancelling our stay. I showed them our confirmation and the text messages that I had received THAT morning and they said there must have been a system error and the hotel is full so there is nothing they can do. They offered us a discount on an Uber as an apology... what a joke. They told us that a hotel down the street (not an affiliated property) has rooms available (at 3x the price) and that we could walk there or take our discounted Uber and try to book them. Not only was the hotel showing availability on their website but this hotel company owns several properties in Santa Fe which also had availability. I asked - why could they not offer us a room at one of their hotels? It wasn't until after several conversations with the manager that this was finally offered. At this point we had already driven to Albuquerque where we were flying out of and booked a room. See attached photos of my booking confirmation and text message for one of our reservations.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Harney, Other at Hotel St. Francis
Responded Jan 26, 2022
We are deeply sorry that your experience was not a positive one We understand your frustration and we apologize that the room you desired was unavailable upon your arrival. We would have loved to care for you and your family and we, again, are very sorry that we could not service your reservation. Although things did not work out this time, we would still love to have you as our guest in the future! We hope you will give us a second chance and an opportunity to make it up to you.
Read more
Tirebiter8 wrote a review Jan 2022
Denver, Colorado1043 contributions169 helpful votes
I had been to the spectacular bar here four years ago when staying at a B&B. I spent 4 days here around Christmas. Bar is still wonderful, as are the hotel staff. Parking spaces are tight and rare due to activities such as daily wine tasting here. The city lot across the street with an automated (and confusing) payment system usually has spaces. Reimbursement is possible at the main desk, with some effort. Room 208 contains old features (I had to ask for a screwdriver for one window latch that lacked three of four screws) and furniture (one with a sharp metal latch that I covered with a wash cloth). Room 208 faces south with huge openable windows. I loved the warmth and fresh air. Room heater assures that the room stays cool at night. Hotel lobby is great with a large burning fire. Internet connection is good.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are sunny
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Harney, Other at Hotel St. Francis
Responded Jan 3, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our bar, staff, large windows, and lobby! We appreciate your feedback on ways that we can improve and we will share your concerns with our team. We would love another shot to impress you in the future.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$246 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel st francis, st francis hotel
LOCATION
United StatesNew MexicoSanta FeDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
79
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel St. Francis
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel St. Francis?
Nearby attractions include Keshi (0.04 miles), New Mexico History Museum (0.2 miles), and The Cathedral Basilica of St. Francis of Assisi (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel St. Francis?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel St. Francis?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel St. Francis?
Yes, paid public parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel St. Francis?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sazón, Sassella, and El Callejon Taqueria and Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel St. Francis?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Hotel St. Francis located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Santa Fe.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel St. Francis?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel St. Francis?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel St. Francis offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel St. Francis?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.