We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
555 S Alamo St, San Antonio, TX 78205-3203
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (338)
Room & Suite (42)
Pool & Beach (14)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 08/31/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Marriott Plaza San Antonio
Updated 08/31/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#38 of 398 in San Antonio
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.3
Value
4.1
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Sitting on 6 acres of natural, lush Texas landscape right in downtown San Antonio, The Marriott Plaza San Antonio is located just 2 blocks from the famous River Walk. Take a dip in our outdoor heated pool. Enjoy well-appointed guest rooms with free WiFi located walking distance to the The Alamo, La Villita Historic Art Village, Hemisfair Park and Tower of Americas, or get some shopping in at the Rivercenter Mall. Keep up on your fitness routine in our state-of-the-art fitness center or get down to business in our 17,000 square feet of event space within a close proximity to the Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center. Plan your visit to our downtown San Antonio oasis.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Tennis court
Kids stay free
Business Center with Internet Access
Paid private parking on-site
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Safe
Telephone
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1088Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 521
  • 323
  • 126
  • 79
  • 39
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Alltherowboats wrote a review Nov 2021
McAllen, Texas, United States47 contributions38 helpful votes
Very nice hotel, centrally located a couple of blocks from the Riverwalk. Bed and bedding were so comfortable and everything was clean. Yes, it's an older hotel, but staff were attentive and responsive. It will be getting a remodel soon. I ate in the restaurant and had the breakfast buffet. Pool and jacuzzi were clean and the fire pit area was a nice place for people to gather and sit in the evening. I would definitely recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Gigitx wrote a review Nov 2021
Aubrey, Texas1 contribution
The architect in this building is beautiful but it is very outdated! Our room was dirty when we got there. We are going on night 4 and they still have not come to clean it. We have put a request in with 4 different people multiple times! I would not recommend to anyone
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Slyter, General Manager at Marriott Plaza San Antonio
Responded Nov 13, 2021
Good Afternoon Ronda B, We recognize your time is valuable and appreciate the feedback you have taken the time to provide. Maintaining a clean atmosphere within our guest rooms and common areas is important and I apologize that we did not fulfill that expectation during your visit. Lack of requested cleaning service and substandard cleanliness at checkin has been shared with our housekeeping leaders to ensure this is an isolated incident. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us
Read more
Denver2880 wrote a review Nov 2021
Denver, Colorado13 contributions6 helpful votes
I am a Frequent Business traveler and Titanium Elite Bonvoy member. This hotel is run down- in poor condition and depressing. Can’t think of one reason I would come back. When I checked in the hotel internet was down. They were unable to make keys- so I filled out a paper form- and they had to manually let me into my room. Curtains don’t close all the way- Sunny early wake up as a result. Free Breakfast was gross- and folks who worked there seemed miserable. If you are traveling for business- I urge you to look elsewhere- a courtyard would have been better.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Slyter, General Manager at Marriott Plaza San Antonio
Responded Nov 13, 2021
Hello Joseph F, I recognize your time is valuable and appreciate the feedback you have provided. As a Titanium Elite Member your expectations are understandably high. Receiving warm and friendly service from our staff sets the tone for a great stay. This was not your experience, and I sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations. I have shared your feedback with the associates, and as a teachable moment, we have discussed our service standards and reviewed improvement opportunities in the service they provide. I am confident that these necessary steps will ensure your experience of depressing rooms, horrible customer service and substandard food is an isolated incident.
Read more
Jenny097 wrote a review Nov 2021
Cedarburg, Wisconsin93 contributions16 helpful votes
There were so many things wrong with this hotel. In addition to badly needing an update (which I heard is coming soon), I don't think they ever vacuum the hallways. We were wondering why no one was in the pool or hot tub, and unfortunately found out. The pool was full of leaves, cold and unheated despite what it says on their website. The hot tub was full of hair and bugs and leaves. I understand the leaves, because their property is surrounded by trees, but the hair was gross. It also wasn't very warm. The don't offer free coffee downstairs; you have to make it in your room or pay $3 a cup. In our room, our TV did not work at first (to their credit, when I asked if someone could fix it, they did come several hours later).
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Slyter, General Manager at Marriott Plaza San Antonio
Responded Nov 4, 2021
Dear Jenny097, I recognize your time is valuable and appreciate the feedback you have taken the time to provide. Maintaining a clean atmosphere within our guest rooms and common areas is important and I apologize that we did not fulfill that expectation during your visit. Untended hallways and dirty pools has been shared with our housekeeping leaders to ensure this is an isolated incident. My hope is the next time you are in the area, you will give us another chance to provide the guest experience we strive to deliver. We will be undergoing complete hotel renovations all of 2022!!! Sincerely, Kristina Holland Front Office Manager Marriott Plaza kristina.holland@whitelodging.com 2102291000
Read more
Natashia M wrote a review Oct 2021
2 contributions
The Marriott Plaza property is very nice. But the Front Desk team lead by Bianca A. is a SUPER STAR. She’s beautiful, fast, efficient, and puts the customer first. I had a long drive in from Houston and she made me feel sooooo welcomed. Gold Star for Bianca. A.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Jeremiah V wrote a review Aug 2021
Orlando, Florida2 contributions
Clara in the concierge lounge was amazing. The staff at the front desk and in the restaurant made this business trip feel like a vacation. Brian at check in was professional and courteous. Marisha was always helpful during the day. Will definitely book again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Slyter, General Manager at Marriott Plaza San Antonio
Responded Aug 18, 2021
Dear jjvanwagner2016, The team will be thrilled to hear that they were all part of your wonderful stay! We can't wait to see you back next time!
Read more
Charles Chappelle wrote a review Aug 2021
Ankeny, Iowa2 contributions
Great place for a little getaway. Service is exceptional and the food is great. The pool area is closed in by trees and almost resort like. Buffet breakfast and they're doing a "soft open" lounge with drinks and small snacks.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Slyter, General Manager at Marriott Plaza San Antonio
Responded Aug 12, 2021
On behalf of the entire hotel team, we want to thank you for sharing your experiences with us during your recent stay at the Marriott Plaza San Antonio. It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you! By taking pride in putting people first, we are not only executing the mission of our founders, but exceeding the expectations of our valued guests. Please note your feedback has been shared with the hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to deliver great experiences. Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We also recognize these are unusual times and we thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Read more
REDeye J wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions
very relaxing atmosphere staff were wonderful I mentioned to a staff member that it was kinda dark in the lobby they informed me of the renovation plans and that this was temporary and for me to come back and see it when it was all done Jaden and Kyle were amazing very friendly and I just kept seeing the young man helping in different areas
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Slyter, General Manager at Marriott Plaza San Antonio
Responded Aug 12, 2021
On behalf of the entire hotel team, we want to thank you for sharing your experiences with us during your recent stay at the Marriott Plaza San Antonio. It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you! By taking pride in putting people first, we are not only executing the mission of our founders, but exceeding the expectations of our valued guests.
Read more
Beth F wrote a review Aug 2021
West Monroe21 contributions7 helpful votes
Enjoyed our stay! Booked via a site that chose hotel for me. I was disappointed that we would not be directly on Riverwalk but it was only a couple of blocks away. Once we were on the Riverwalk (directly 2 blocks away) we were in middle of the Riverwalk excitement essentially. Chose to self park for $34. Free to get car in and out as we needed. Lot was right by hotel and felt very safe with it there. Nice lobby. Our room overlooked Hemisphere Park and had a balcony s most do. Room was nice. Older hotel and at some point will need some updates maybe, but we were plenty happy. No musty odor. No maintenance issues. It did take a little while for the room to cool down, but it was a hot day in august. We left for dinner and came back to it much cooler. Would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Slyter, General Manager at Marriott Plaza San Antonio
Responded Aug 12, 2021
On behalf of the entire hotel team, we want to thank you for sharing your experiences with us during your recent stay at the Marriott Plaza San Antonio. It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you! By taking pride in putting people first, we are not only executing the mission of our founders, but exceeding the expectations of our valued guests. Please note your feedback has been shared with the hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to deliver great experiences. Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We also recognize these are unusual times and we thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Read more
Mark M wrote a review Jul 2021
Los Angeles, California52 contributions17 helpful votes
Given how poorly customers and staff have been treated in the service industry this past year, I was amazed at the level of service I received at this hotel for my weekend medical conference. Front desk worker Marisha went out of her way to assist with a needed late check-out, offered excellent tour and restaurant recommendations, and even provided me with a needed complimentary continental breakfast on my final day. She was consistently cheerful, warm, and engaging. All other employees greeted me and engaged in conversation, including Larry, the groundsman I met early in the morning by the pool. The hotel is well-kept, with a beautiful outdoor pool, gazebo, and walking area on-site. This is the best stay I've had since 2019.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Upper floor overlooking the gazebo is lovely
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Slyter, General Manager at Marriott Plaza San Antonio
Responded Jul 28, 2021
Dear markmE7425HE, Marisha, Larry and the team are thrilled to hear your kind words! Our goal is to ensure each guest has a memorable experience, and we hope to see you and your group again the next time your travels bring you to San Antonio!
Read more
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
marriott plaza san antonio hotel san antonio, marriott san antonio, san antonio marriott
LOCATION
United StatesTexasSan AntonioDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
251
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Marriott Plaza San Antonio
Which popular attractions are close to Marriott Plaza San Antonio?
Nearby attractions include Briscoe Western Art Museum (0.3 miles), Hemisfair Park (0.08 miles), and La Villita Historic Arts Village (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Marriott Plaza San Antonio?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at Marriott Plaza San Antonio?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a pool view.
What food & drink options are available at Marriott Plaza San Antonio?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Marriott Plaza San Antonio?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid public parking nearby, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Marriott Plaza San Antonio?
Conveniently located restaurants include Battalion, La Frite Belgian Bistro, and Little Rhein Steakhouse.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Marriott Plaza San Antonio?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is Marriott Plaza San Antonio located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of San Antonio.
Are any cleaning services offered at Marriott Plaza San Antonio?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Marriott Plaza San Antonio offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Marriott Plaza San Antonio?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.