We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites

Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Traveler (91)
Panoramas (15)
Videos (5)


#133 of 364 hotels in San Antonio
Centrally located in the heart of historic downtown San Antonio, lodged on the south banks of the famous, beautiful San Antonio River Walk, conveniently across the street from the Historic Bexar County Courthouse the Riverwalk Plaza Hotel is just a short stroll or delightful trolley ride away from the amazing Alamo, the shops of Market Square, the grounds of Hemisfair Park and Tower of the Americas, Majestic Theater, Aztec on the River, the arts and crafts community of La Villita, the marvelous Institute of Texas Cultures, the splendid King William Historic District, the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center and the Alamodome. To enjoy our city rich in history and full of fun, make your San Antonio hotel destination the Riverwalk Plaza Hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room service
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
River View
Centrally Located
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
49Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 142
  • 141
  • 108
  • 41
  • 46
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We Paid CASH for parking for 2 nights then a week later they charged my debit card for it. SOMEONE obviously pocketed the cash. No microwave in room. Parking garage is tiny and very limited parking. Rooms were clean and well maintained. Located on the construction end of riverwalk. Not a handicap friendly city.
Read more
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our property. While we are glad to know that our clean accommodations stood out to you, we sincerely apologize that other issues detracted from your stay. In regards to the charge on your card, please reach out to us directly so we can discuss this with you further. Our team is also sorry to hear that our location was not exactly what you were looking for. We value your feedback and wish you safe travels.
Read more
This hotel has updated rooms and a cool lobby, but my experience was unbelievable. While showering in the morning, a brown substance that looked like feces was leaking into the shower. I thought it was coming from the room above. I called my daughter in to video what was happening so I could show the manager. When I went to the front desk, the supervisor informed me that they couldn’t refund the full cost of my stay since I only paid for parking at the hotel. I had booked the hotel on Expedia and she said there was nothing they could do about that. Then the general manager was shown the video. She said that they were willing to refund $20 of the room cost. What?! The supervisor just told me it wasn’t possible to refund any amount. I wanted the full cost of the room refunded, but that didn’t happen. I guess the customer isn’t always right. The maintenance manager told me that they were blowing the pipes that morning and the brown substance was algae. I asked him why they would blow pipes in the morning when there guests are showering. I’m really not sure what was leaking into the shower. All I know is that it was disgusting. I tried to post the video, but Trip Advisir only allows photos to be posted. I would not stay at this hotel again. Also, the pool is super small. It goes from 3 ft to 4 ft deep.
Read more
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Kris, Thank you for taking the time to notify us about your recent experience at our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the incident that you encountered with the shower, and that our staff's offer of a partial refund was not acceptable. We recommend you contact the third-party booking service you utilized to make your reservation so they can best assist you with further concerns regarding your visit. In the meantime, we will keep your comments close to heart as we aim toward excellence in our accommodations. Again, thanks for your comments, and we wish you safe and happy travels ahead.
Read more
my family and i needed 3 rooms during our stay overnight in san antonio. the 3 families consisted of my parents (75+), brother, sister in law and their 2 yr old and my husband and myself, so this hotel catered well to all of the above age groups! we needed a hotel that was on the riverwalk, easily accessible to everything and can accommodate all types/all ages for an overnight stay and the riverwalk plaza did just that and more. rooms (2 kings w balcony and 1 junior suite): we loved the decoration and overall cleanliness/comfort of the rooms. everything in the rooms looked upgraded and high quality (we love the leather chairs, nice addition!). this is something that we look for in every hotel, comfort and cleanliness. the brand named toiletries were greatly appreciated too, as some of us forgot to pack these necessities. location: since we had a baby and 2 seniors, we needed a hotel that would have easy access to everything, which this one did! it is literally just steps away! it was just walking out the front of the hotel doors, crossing across the street and you are on the riverwalk path! it was so convenient, especially since we wanted to walk towards the restaurants and boat tour! also, we were in san antonio for seaworld, which made it convenient to stay here since it was only less than 20 mins of a drive to get there too! hotel bar: need a nightcap? perfect bar to have that! my husband and i needed something after an entire day at seaworld, so we checked out the bar downstairs. jeff's very own smoking gun/torch was a nice touch to make the old fashion drink really yummy! lobby: it was fully remodeled and upgraded with fun games and nice decor! made us want to stay in and play board games. nice touch with the giant chess board, monopoly, scrabble! overall, great hotel and would reco to everyone, all ages, all types! wouldn't stay anywhere else in san antonio!
Read more
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites
Responded 2 weeks ago
At the Riverwalk Plaza Hotel, our goal is to impress all guests so we're thrilled to see we succeeded with you! It's wonderful to hear that our location was ideal for all the different activities you had planned and that our clean, comfortable rooms were perfect for everyone in your group. Thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed the wonderful lobby and excellent onsite bar. If you're in the area again, we welcome you back to stay with us.
Read more
Stayed here for our family vacation. The room was clean and stayed cool during the hot summer. Watched one of the NBA Finals in the bar and had great service. Dee was a great bartender and cared about his customers as I frequented the bar. The hotel is about a 15-20 minute walk from the Rivercenter Mall and other downtown activities. Didn't use the pool but it is in a convenient location for guests. Would definitely stay again.
Read more
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear John, Deciding on a location for your family vacation can be stressful, and we're delighted you trusted us here at the Riverwalk Plaza Hotel with your comfort. Our staff will be honored by your compliments, and Dee will be so happy to know you mentioned him by name! While it's a shame you couldn't take a dip in the pool, we see it as one more thing to look forward to when you revisit. Come back soon!
Read more
A great place. Offered all we needed for a comfortable stay. Staff are very pleasant and helpful. Great location close to sites and highway access. Would recommend. We enjoyed it and found the price reasonable.
Read more
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Riverwalk Plaza Hotel & Suites
Responded 5 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Riverwalk Plaza Hotel during your recent travels! Our goal is to ensure each guest enjoys a comfortable and relaxing visit, and we're happy to hear that our location was ideal for your time in the area. We're so glad our team provided friendly, helpful service throughout your time with us as well. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you again soon!
Read more
$112 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
riverwalk plaza hotel san antonio, riverwalk plaza hotel and suites, riverwalk plaza san antonio, hotel riverwalk plaza
United StatesTexasSan AntonioEast Side
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing