We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,046 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,001: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

nothing fancy about this place, it was ok - I guess that's why it has 3 stars. one thing is is within walking distance to river walk, alamo and the mall so that was good. We had extremely hot and humid weather which made walking very difficult so it was good we were not to far from the sites, Smoke... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JMBmelbaus
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review

We sincerely appreciate your business!!!! More 

Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is only a short walk to the River Walk. The down side is the rooms need much attention, stained chairs, internet so bad that I was unable to log onto the Best Western homepage... Lighting, don't plan to read!, Breakfast we had cod eggs and cold sausage. Bathroom had broken and mismatched sanitary tiles.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank bronx616
bestwesternsunset, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. More 

Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

When we checked in, we were given (supposedly) a newly renovated room on the 1st floor. The room was disgusting. It smelled of must and mildew, and there was a lot of blood stains on the bedding and bed skirt. We went back to the front desk and she offered another room on the third floor(which she said was a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank joethehoe
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm sorry you received service which was unacceptable. After speaking with you and your travel agent, from my understanding all was well. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you again how great our... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Disappointing for a Best Western Plus, just got here not long ago and I already want to leave! The rooms are advertised as ‘All Suites’, not really – there just a bit bigger room. A suite generally has a separated seating area that is removed from the area where the bed is, not so here. The lighting is very poor,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank USAFoodsGuy
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review

On behalf of my entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to me and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is very pretty. It is conveniently located to the Alamo, Tower of Americas, and the Riverwalk. The hotel staff, Brittany, was especially helpful in suggesting points of interest and a local eatery. This facility is a great value for your money.

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen E
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate you choosing our hotel and hope you will come again. More 

Atlanta
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for two nights and had a sixth floor outside view room. It sounded like traffic and ambulances were driving through the room. At 6:30 every morning the trash truck would empty the dumpsters. Request a room overlooking the interior courtyard. The staff were great and the breakfast in the restaurant was very good. Wifi was poor.

Helpful?
1 Thank worldair
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review

We know that you have many choices when traveling, Unfortunately you did not stay with us. We only have four floors not six. Our hotel property and staff will exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you on your next visit to our Beautiful City. Best Western Plus Sunset Suites Riverwalk Hotel. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had a couple of nights at the hotel in September 2016. The location is okay - there are many hotels closer to the city centre, with this being a 5-10 minute walk to get to a lot of touristy places. I saw a couple of interesting characters by the freeway underpass en route to the riverwalk. The room was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Euler01
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review

Thank you for touching on all the important points for today's traveler; Comfort and Value... We look forward to seeing you back again real soon, Thank you. More 

Rochester, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recently stayed at the Best Western Sunset Suites for 2 nights while in town on vacation. Hotel was very easy to get to, as everyone says extremely close to the Riverwalk without having to pay Riverwalk prices. The rooms were very large and extremely clean. The bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept in.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Katie E
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review

Fantastic. We hope to have you back real soon. Thank you for the detailed feedback, it helps other travelers to make the right choice like the BEST WESTERN PLUS SUNSET SUITES RIVERWALK HOTEL, San Antonio, Texas More 

Elgin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Historical location within walking distance to Riverwalk. Have stayed at the Best Western Sunset Suites several times and always find the staff to be very helpful and friendly. Be warned, they recently started charging for parking, but still a fair value. Easy on and easy off Interstate 37.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Mike P
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. Along with my team, we certainly look forward to welcoming back. See you on your next visit. More 

Albuquerque, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We loved this hotel. The lobby and the decor in it are beautiful. It reminds me of some of the classy older hotels back east which are old, but kept up, which adds to their charm! The rooms were modern and attractive. Our hotel hostess (clerk) , Bianca, was very knowledgeable, friendly and solicitous of us as guests. We would... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney W
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review

We know that you have many choices when traveling and your business is very much appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and that our hotel property and staff exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you on your next visit to our Beautiful City. Osbry Millender, GM More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

321 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (121)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (55)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (176)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (23)
Viewed
King Room (26)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 359 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,000 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#21 of 359 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 stars 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio-Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay at the Best Western Sunset Suites Riverwalk in San Antonio, Texas. An all-suites boutique hotel offering comfortable, convenient downtown accommodations, free Internet access, on-site parking ($12.95+tax per day), vacation packages and easy access to San Antonio's best attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Address: 1103 E Commerce St, San Antonio, TX 78205-3305
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Price Range: $104 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunset Suites - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Best Western Riverwalk
Best Western San Antonio
San Antonio Best Western
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#28 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
#37 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay