We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,175: English reviews
Sylacauga, Alabama
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I was booked here for a business trip by the host of the trip. I had no idea what to expect. Upon arrival, the exterior of the hotel appeared to be dated, but once I entered the lobby, I was pleasantly surprised to find it very clean and somewhat modern. My room was very comfortable. The staff was very accommodating...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lvbeach85
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Caveat: I didn't book this hotel myself, my company booked it for me. I don't recommend anyone to staythere. Although the staff were friendly, I was disappointed in the overall cleanliness of the hotel. It is located in a desert waste of a place in San Antonio. Access to the riverwalk is across the street and a nice long walk...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pf22014
Tim R, General Manager at El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

I apologize that you were not satisfied with your stay but thank you for acknowledging our wonderful staff. In regards to the care of our animals we take great care of them. Speedy, the tortoise, is 14 years old and lives on a steady diet of romaine lettuce twice daily as well as a few strawberries per week and vet...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Let’s end with the roaches. Parking was $21 per day. Location is in the hood of downtown. Breakfast is not complimentary. It is across the street from the RiverWalk, not next to it, as given the impression. On the inside, it looks like it is nice, with the trees, birds and layout. However, the room appears to be more so...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Aliya H
Tim R, General Manager at El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I apologize for the problems you encountered. We have a comprehensive pest control program for the hotel and unfortunately during the week of your stay the city was experiencing a wave of Texas Black Beetles which is what is in your photo. A google of San Antonio beetle invasion will show our local news...

Makati, Philippines
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Only stayed here for a night for a business trip. Hotel is far from restaurants and bars so had to walk quite far to get to dinner. The room was ok and clean, bed was comfy. Best to ask the reception people the best way to get to your room - looks like they extended their rooms so that it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank manilamoongoddess
Houston, Texas
Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at El Tropicano on the Riverwalk during our recent visit to San Antonio. The atmosphere was great and the staff was great. Although the hotel is located on the riverwalk it is a little distance from the restaurant district but it's a nice relaxing walk or you can take the boat taxi...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sheneil1999
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Great retro hotel right on the Riverwalk. On a quieter stretch but only 5 minutes from the main action. The hotel is old and dated but it's part of the appeal. You can imagine the Rat Pack hanging out there in the mid sixties, The staff are helpful and friendly. The pool is nice and the hotel had an overall...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TonyfromEtobicoke
Rome, New York
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I booked a "standard room with 1 king bed" and when we arrived we were told there were none available and were given a queen. This trip was booked on April 19th for May 23rd, so the reservation should have had precedence. We decided it wouldn't be a big deal until we got up to our room. There was only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh R
Tim R, General Manager at El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the comments regarding your poor experience with our valet attendant upon your return to the hotel. I have spoken to the GM of the valet company in regards to your treatment and he has assured me that the individual will no longer be assigned our property. Please let me know if you were charged for parking as...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We showed up and our room wasn't ready. They told us that there were three other people waiting for rooms!!! I booked it a month in advance, so how could a room not be ready?? The inside was not impressive and I overheard a guest say, "There's a dead bird over there..." Parking isn't free and charged daily. Not my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tejastravel
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Great customer service! Staff was very friendly and willing to help. Had no problem tracking down a lost item that I left in my room. Room stayed very cool, which is a must in the Texas heat! The bar area was also great!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SarahDTX86
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The staff upgraded our room to king size by the river walk which was great. Parking was a bit expensive, a bit far from attractions but the walk was great. clean and nice room, & restroom but the toilet did take a bit to flush but no biggie

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Gabriella R
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

336 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (293)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (71)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (132)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk
#92 of 354 in San Antonio
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
#22 of 354 in San Antonio
1,033 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 354 in San Antonio
1,050 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Premier hotel on the San Antonio Riverwalk boasts premium amenities. Indulge yourself at the Holiday Inn El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel in downtown San Antonio. Our tropical hotel is conveniently located near many downtown entertainment and business destinations. As your family arrives at this downtown San Antonio hotel, you will be welcomed by a gleaming mosaic of over 300,000 gorgeous glass tiles, as well as beautiful Mexican art. Situated at the start of the Museum Reach of the San Antonio Riverwalk, our hotel is convenient to local attractions including the Alamo, Tower of the Americas, Market Square, San Antonio Zoo and the Alamodome. You can catch the trolley from our hotel to your destination. Corporate travelers can appreciate the convenience of our San Antonio Riverwalk accommodations with easy access to the San Antonio International Airport, Henry B. Gonzales Center and companies such as Bank of America, AT & T, American Payroll, USAA, Valero Energy and Kinetic Concepts. We also provide business services including faxing, copying, printing and free high-speed Internet access. While lodging at our hotel in downtown San Antonio, see toucans in our aviary, visit our on-call massage therapist, exercise in the 3,000 square foot STRIVE Fitness Studio, swim in the out door heated pool or dine at our full-service restaurant and bar, where kids eat for free. ... more   less 

Additional Information about El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Address: 110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Price Range: $94 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 306
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel staff and other travelers.
30 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“3 times to ask for sink and shower issues is way too many.”
 of 5 bubbles F9152EKjohnk, 3 days ago | Read review
“We usually opt for the rooms with the riverview and king bed, this time we had a suite and it was a very nice layout, especially if you have more than 2 people. Very roomy, living area, table area.”
 of 5 bubbles 736vickieh, 1 week ago | Read review
“very nice room with a great view...”
 of 5 bubbles 339deniced, 1 week ago | Read review
“Make sure to tip the cleaning staff!”
 of 5 bubbles JEmeryPDX, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“The higher the better, you can hear everything above you.”
 of 5 bubbles Lanetrowell, 2 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question