We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,348 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,299: English reviews
Garland
Reviewed September 6, 2015 via mobile

Don't waste your money. This was the worst mini-vacation we have ever taken. The hotel was the worst. The sheets had blood stains. It appeared they were never changed because the comforter and cover sheets all had blood stains. The blow dryer was filthy dirty. The elevator was out of service on our second day there. For $150 a night...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank blitzgirl007
Corpus Christi, Texas
Reviewed September 6, 2015 via mobile

When checking in the staff was very nice Then we go check in our room The fridge was dirty and had food crumbs & hair in it. the room was very dusty. then I wake up in the middle of the night To use the bathroom then I found A BEDBUG crawling on my mom's blanket. I saved it took...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ELEESIB
Tim R, General Manager at El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the opportunity to speak with you earlier today, and that our resolution was acceptable. Although our Pest Control company was unable to find anything in the room we did fully exterminate to err on the side of caution immediately after your departure. Thank you again for your open and honest feedback. Regards, Tim

Austin, Texas
Reviewed August 31, 2015

I went here despite what I read and I'm glad I did. The staff were helpful when needed and our beds clean. The pool area is loud but my group were too so that worked in our favor. The reason I picked this hotel was how close it was to the location of my evening plans. I will be booking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greyluci
Reviewed August 29, 2015 via mobile

We were there Aug 22-23. For a 50 year old hotel, it's been kept up with. Seemed clean when we walked in. There's definitely a "Tropicano" feel to the place. Our room was small but being that we were only staying the night, for the price it was ok. In addition to the stay, you have to pay to park...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Liz R
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed August 29, 2015

I booked this hotel mostly based on the picture listed on its website. I was looking to avoid ubiquitous chain type hotels and stay at a place that would capture San Antonio's charm and character. This hotel fell short. The view of the hotel as it sits on the Riverwalk was nothing like the picture listed on its website. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tanya K
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed August 25, 2015

The organization I represent scheduled a business event at El Tropicano. Theresa and Yvette took care of every single detail, all we did was show up! I was impressed by the level of professionalism and communication among their staff. They all knew about our event and were very welcoming and helpful at directing to The Havanna Room. I decided to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Luis V
Reviewed August 25, 2015

the rooms were very welcoming, the staff super friendly. if you have more four staying in one room the dbl standard beds are waaaay tooo small especially if you are use to have a big bed. perfect for a family with 2 little ones, but with 2 teenage boys.. no way... other than that it was very comfortable, and would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sindy V
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Reviewed August 23, 2015 via mobile

Booked this hotel online and the website put us for 2 queen beds. When checking in the accommodated our request for a king bed instead at no fee. We were very early so the offered to hold our bags so we could go eat & called us when the room was ready. Very nice of them. The room was clean...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Aaron E
Reviewed August 22, 2015 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 nights on a family vacation. The hotel was nice and I thought looked clean. The staff was very nice and friendly. However, on our way back from a long river taxi ride I fell down in the lobby. There was a puddle of water that I didn't see and I bit the dust! There was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank neonursemg
Reviewed August 20, 2015

Stayed here on family vacation. The hotel is definately not new and hasn't been remodeled in the last few years...but it was clean, comfortable, the AC worked well, had a nice veiw, the pool was great and the staff was super nice. It isn't a $200 a night place but for what I paid it was fine.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tracy J
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

357 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (314)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (71)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (140)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#13 of 354 in San Antonio
1,077 reviews
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#19 of 354 in San Antonio
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 354 in San Antonio
1,771 reviews
East Side
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Premier hotel on the San Antonio Riverwalk boasts premium amenities. Indulge yourself at the Holiday Inn El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel in downtown San Antonio. Our tropical hotel is conveniently located near many downtown entertainment and business destinations. As your family arrives at this downtown San Antonio hotel, you will be welcomed by a gleaming mosaic of over 300,000 gorgeous glass tiles, as well as beautiful Mexican art. Situated at the start of the Museum Reach of the San Antonio Riverwalk, our hotel is convenient to local attractions including the Alamo, Tower of the Americas, Market Square, San Antonio Zoo and the Alamodome. You can catch the trolley from our hotel to your destination. Corporate travelers can appreciate the convenience of our San Antonio Riverwalk accommodations with easy access to the San Antonio International Airport, Henry B. Gonzales Center and companies such as Bank of America, AT & T, American Payroll, USAA, Valero Energy and Kinetic Concepts. We also provide business services including faxing, copying, printing and free high-speed Internet access. While lodging at our hotel in downtown San Antonio, see toucans in our aviary, visit our on-call massage therapist, exercise in the 3,000 square foot STRIVE Fitness Studio, swim in the out door heated pool or dine at our full-service restaurant and bar, where kids eat for free. ... more   less 

Additional Information about El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Address: 110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205-1313
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Price Range: $106 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 306
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel staff and other travelers.
35 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (35)

Questions? Get answers from El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for your room to be away from the elevators and not overlooking the pool area. Front desk was exceptionally accommodating with our requests.”
  • A quick wipe down of the bathroom floor after I noticed how sticky it way.
candyr788, 1 week ago | Read review
“As with most hotels, it is quieter away from the elevator.”
406GailS, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Air conditioner ”
kausu2017, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Update A/C vents”
gweng343, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms are clean but the rest is run down”
carolwinsall, 2 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question