We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Save
Share
23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78261-2018
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Trip.com
$289
$269
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/28/21
Booking.com$289
Priceline
FindHotel$289
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1548)
Room & Suite (464)
Pool & Beach (191)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 08/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Updated 08/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#80 of 385 hotels in San Antonio
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa has firmly established itself as the city's premier luxury destination and the renowned resort in Texas' Hill Country. Rated 4-Diamonds by AAA, and just 12 miles from San Antonio International Airport (SAT), our luxury resort in San Antonio features the 36-hole TPC San Antonio golf course, home to the Valero Texas Open, Lantana Spa, a six acre water park and seven restaurants. Our rooms offer cozy beds, scenic views, soft robes & large bathrooms. Guests will also enjoy the open lobby with free Wi-Fi. Whether you're seeking a peaceful respite, productive conference or fun-filled family vacation, our luxurious Hill Country resort will not only exceed your expectations but redefine them altogether.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Game room
Kids club
Kids pool
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Lazy river
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Shops
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
3160Reviews132Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,899
  • 737
  • 276
  • 144
  • 104
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Dallaschica wrote a review Jul 24
Dallas
Walking back to our room the first night, the hallways were lined with trash, dirty linens, and room service plates from that AM. Second night, slightly better. Not what you expect at this price point.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Responded 2 days ago
Hello Dallaschica, Thank you for posting a review of your stay. We want to apologize for the housekeeping oversight that you experienced within our hallways. This will be addressed appropriately, and we appreciate your valuable feedback. We are continually striving to improve our guest experience, and we hope you will return soon so we can show you our commitment to exceptional hospitality. Reed Randolph Resort Manager
Read more
Craftbeerchasin wrote a review Jul 21
Aldie, Virginia
We had a fantastic family vacation! It seems like many of the issues described from the spring are being corrected. We stayed 4 nights and there were plenty of valets available, but we opted for self parking and always found a spot. The golf cart shuttle was running most of the time, but we also figured out you can enter the conference center at the bottom of the hill and take the escalators up to the lobby which was quick and easy. We were able to check in and get a room around 2pm with no issue on a Friday afternoon. Daily housekeeping was still unavailable but we saw housekeeper training while there so it looks like they are working to rectify that. We did have to ask for extra toilet paper but it came within 10 minutes. All common areas were clean and they had landscaping crews hard at work on the gardens. River Bluff was popular but not overcrowded and seemed to be appropriately staffed to include cocktail servers. My daughter loved the daily activities and nightly s’mores with many other kids. I golfed both courses at the TPC and was pleased with the service and hospitality. I do agree with others that $250 a round is a little steep for the experience. The only food option we used was Starbucks which was fine. I did notice waits for the other restaurants pretty much all hours they were open. There were plenty of great local restaurants within a 15 minute drive that we enjoyed. We’ll definitely return at some point for another getaway.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Use the conference center to get to the lower rows of self parking
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Responded 5 days ago
Dear newtonrm, Thank you for the generous review. We are pleased that we exceeded your expectations and that we could be a part of crafting an enriching experience for your visit to San Antonio. Our main is goal is guest satisfaction, so it is wonderful to learn about the wonderful experience your family had with us. We can't wait to share your kind words with our team. It was our pleasure accommodating you at JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa, and we hope to see you again soon. Reed Randolph Resort Manager
Read more
AsiaIndoTraveler wrote a review Jul 19
Ashburn, Virginia
Stayed four nights and were very disappointed. We've been to other JW Marriott locations and understand tradeoffs due to the current pandemic (no stay over service, for instance). But this hotel seemed to be at full capacity with a fraction of the usual staff trying to keep up - and not succeeding. This became painfully clear as things started going downhill quickly. As we walked into the hotel, my wife immediately commented that the place did not seem very clean. The large mat at the entry doorway was very soiled, as was the floor further inside - not good signs. While checking in, I asked about the possibility of a room upgrade, having been a Platinum member and current lifetime Gold member. The front desk representative promptly informed us that no upgrades remained since most folks who stay at the hotel are Platinum or higher and I was just at Gold status. I'm ok with no upgrade availability, but thanks for making my family and I feel undervalued with that comment... On to the room itself. The carpet was noticeably dusty and the room was very stuffy and seemed as if it had been turned over quickly. There were no tissues in the tissue box, which we found tossed under sink. Some toiletry items were missing and there was no sign of the small complimentary pack of cleaning wipes we've been accustumed to during this pandemic. There were a couple of hairs here and there and a few obvious stains on the bathroom door frame - again, strikingly below standards we've seen at other lower tier Marriott hotels, let alone at other JW Marriotts. We had asked for a roll away bed for our daughter - which we found left out in the hallway, and without any sheets. To housekeepings' credit, they were prompt in bringing sheets up once we called to ask for them. During our four night stay, we asked for towels only once. This turned out to be an unpleasant experience a couple days in. We noticed that room service staff was cleaning a nearby room. My wife went and asked if she could have five towels. The room service person promptly proceeded to roll her eyes, sigh loudly, and exclaim "5 towels!?!?!!! " - to which my wife felt obligated to say that four would do if that was ok. If anything, this certainly seemed indicative of an understaffed, overworked, and overwhelmed group of folks. In addition to hoping for a very comfortable stay, the main attractions for us coming into this hotel were the lazy river pool, overall facility amenities, and the grounds. The lazy river could definitely have been cleaner but all things considered (lack of sufficient staff and overcrowded), it was passable. The grounds were, understandably, not in the best of shape, having been damaged by the storm this past winter. We never ate at the restaurants given the limited food selection and disproportionately high pricing – in other words, adding up to an exceedingly poor value…. as was the entire facility experience overall, and our stay. We will not be back to this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Hello AsiaIndoTraveler, Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay with us. It was disappointing to read that we did not meet your expectations, and we are truly sorry your stay was anything other than perfect. We are taking appropriate steps to ensure future guests do not encounter the same issues. We hope you will accept our apologies and consider staying with us again; we would welcome the opportunity to restore your confidence in our hotel. Reed Randolph Resort Manager
Read more
RAHTrip wrote a review Jul 18
Dallas, Texas
We have stayed at the JW Marriott in San Antonio four or five times now. We recently had our worst experience, and unfortunately, we can no longer recommend the property. I suggest you get an Airbnb and go to Schlitterbahn or maybe try out the Hill Country Hyatt. As a Titanium Elite member and soon-to-be Lifetime Platinum Elite member is pains me to say this. The hotel is charging pre-pandemic prices for subpar mediocre service. The hotel needs to reduce its occupancy rate, set expectations with guests and charge lower rates. We didn't experience any "Unparalleled luxury," as their website claims. I've stayed at Courtyard Marriotts with better service. If you do stay at the property, be prepared for: - Long check-in times, we waited 30 minutes to check-in and 3 hours for our room. - No housekeeping service; it is DIY cleaning. The website says there is a "commitment to cleanliness," just not in your room. - Delays in getting fresh towels; we had to call back hours after our original request. - Slow valet service. We canceled, got a refund, and switched to the self-park after taking me 35 minutes to get my vehicle the first time we used it. - Long waits for food/beverage service at the pool; some staff suggested we order food ourselves at the RiverTop Grill for faster service. - A fitness center without fresh towels - Bars and restaurants not operating in in pre-pandemic hours - Frustrated staff (it isn't their fault management is overselling the property) - Watch out for the golf carts; on two different occasions, staff members almost ran into my children or me. If you are going to attend, I recommend the following: - Use the Bonvoy app to communicate with the hotel staff; this will make things so much easier. Thoughts and prayers if you have an issue that requires you to go to the front desk for assistance at a busy time. - Bring your kitchen-sized trash bags; the tiny trash cans in the rooms will fill up quickly. - Bring your own shampoo/conditioner/body wash - Bring a cooler with your food and eat from it as much as possible; this will significantly reduce how much you spend. - Bring snacks to the pool; this will also save money. The staff at the entrance to the pool said small amounts of food were acceptable. - Use UberEats (or preferred app) to have food delivered to the property and meet the drivers upfront before the valet area. Lots of families were getting pizzas and eating in the reception area. - If you do valet, don't try and pick up or drop off your car at a busy time (e.g., check-in/checkout). If you don't valet, be prepared for a long walk, but still faster than valet. - If you have a ton of luggage, get your luggage cart the night before, you won't be able to get one in the morning near checkout times. We did have positive experiences at the 18 Oaks restaurant, the Kids Club, the water park in general, and with the nightly s'mores. Bottom line, stay away, this property isn't worth the current $ rates or the category 6 points rate.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Hello RAHTrip, Thank you for being a valued Marriott Bonvoy Titanium Elite member and being a repeat guest at our property. We are truly sorry for any inconvenience you were caused as our guest and if we failed to leave you with a favorable impression of our hospitality. We take our guest’s feedback seriously and your comments have been shared with our team. We assure you we are working hard to improve, and we hope you will consider giving us another chance to show you the outstanding service that we typically provide. Reed Randolph Resort Manager
Read more
Beth R wrote a review Jul 12
My husband had a conference so we spent three nights here and were aware of bad reviews before we arrived. Waited maybe 15 minutes for check in - they did try to direct us to a Queen room until we pointed out that was not what we reserved - and bell hop was present. We declined valet and parked close by. The room was clean and noted that housekeeping spent at least 45 minutes for each turnover room. Those that arrived expecting daily service did not do their homework. And you should put your empty cans and bottles in the recycling cans by the elevators. Cold breakfast buffet was included for platinum elite as the executive lounge was closed and it was good with fruit, sweeets, boiled eggs and smoked salmon. The spa was closed the days I was there. Most of the employees were working their butts off - but management supervision was lacking. Our balcony overlooked the front entrance and the valets were constantly running to cars in 90 degree heat and with masks on. The pool staff was friendly and prompt. I saved my seat at the adult pool with a towel by 9am. The Mexican martinis were good and the lazy river could use an afternoon cleaning. Some of the landscape, as in much of the area, was affected by the February freeze. So the real issue: Breakfasts were good but there was a 30 minute wait with many empty tables - probably because with the system in place it took 20 minutes to bus a table - never seen anything like it. Apparently the trays cannot come into the kitchen until they are completely full. I watched (and took pictures) as an outside table was cleared by pushing over glasses and tossing all napkins in a pile on a chair to clear space for the huge tray. Then ten minutes spent trying to get everything stacked on the tray. Then the big shoulder lift and things go tumbling. Broken glass lies on the ground for another ten minutes until everything is cleared, cleaned and ready for next customers. So where are the managers at breakfast, at the fancy steak house (the steak was good), in the halls where used glasses lingered for days or at the lobby?? I don’t think that I ever saw one and that is the crux of the problem here. Perhaps they don’t want to abide by the rules that all employees wear masks. No guests wore masks and I suppose that the managers did not want to have to wear theirs either. Perhaps Marriott should take note of all the negative reviews and look into why management is a no show here. We are platinum elite and have stayed at about a dozen Marriott properties since pandemic started.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello BethRodgers, First and foremost, we appreciate your loyalty to our brand as a Marriott Bonvoy Platinum Elite member, and want to thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. We are truly sorry for any inconvenience you were caused as our guest and if we failed to leave you with a favorable impression of our services. We genuinely care about ensuring a relaxing and carefree experience for our travelers, so we regret the challenges you faced while you were here. Please be assured that we will review your comments with our management team to avoid such problems going forward. It would be our pleasure to welcome you in the future and restore your confidence in our hospitality. Reed Randolph Resort Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$382 - $1,137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
jw marriott san antonio hill country hotel san antonio, jw marriott san antonio hill country resort and spa
LOCATION
United StatesTexasSan Antonio
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1002
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Natural Bridge Caverns (3.9 miles), Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch (4.5 miles), and Bracken Bat Flight (5.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include 18 Oaks, Cibolo Moon, and High Velocity.
Are there opportunities to exercise at JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.