We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

359 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 337: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area
 Click to rate
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Old Jail Hotel and was pleasantly surprised at the large bedroom and bathroom. Tiona at the front desk was great. She was pleasant and helpful when we asked questions. The breakfast was great and always had coffee available. We would recommend this hotel to anyone. The Hop on Hop off Bus stops a block away and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
JulianHIXRW, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, A. Julian M. General Manager

Midlothian, Texas
Reviewed January 19, 2017

the hotel was perfect and the services was really good, I left a suit on the room and they help me to send back to my house. we stay in 2 rooms and both were really good we arrived early and they give us a room prior to the check in time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JLRendon
JulianHIXRW, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, A. Julian M. General Manager

Carrollton, Missouri
Reviewed January 17, 2017 via mobile

Overrated! Rooms were very clean and very comfortable. Upon my return home, my credit card was charged with with extra charges. Even though they did refund money back to card, would never Go back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maxine M
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review

Dear Maxine M, Thanks for alerting us about your concern. I understand that you're upset because of the mix up with the extra charges in your credit card. Although I'm glad to know that this was settled with a refund, I'm confident that our hotel staff didn't intend to inconvenience you as that was not the way we typically take...

Reviewed January 17, 2017

The rooms were okay, but if it were my choice I would not have stayed here. This is probably a two star hotel. The best thing about this hotel is the staff is friendly and the breakfast was okay. This hotel used to be an old prison (this is why I said unless you like adventures), so it's a historic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GodsWmn
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review

Dear 121polly, Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Riverwalk, TX, for your lodging needs in the area and taking the time to post a review and rating your stay. It is great to know that your stay, over all, was satisfactory. We also appreciate your rating of 4 stars for service and sleep quality. On the...

Staunton, Virginia
Reviewed January 12, 2017

There seems to be a wide range of reviews of this hotel. Many address the 'musty smell'. We stayed here for a week and yes, there was the smell of limestone each time we opened the door to our room but after about 10 seconds it was gone. No problem. The rooms are small but filled with traditional size/style hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Purplepix9
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review

Hi Purplepix9, I welcome your thoughts about your visit at our property. I regret to know that your stay was not a complete success before we fell a little bit short of your expectations in terms of the room set up and the upkeep. But I am glad that our housekeeping was able to recover the service accordingly. And although...

Katy, Texas, United States
Reviewed January 9, 2017 via mobile

Was underwhelmed. We arrived later and rooms were not ready. Rooms looked decent. Beds extremely uncomfortable. Rooms have a mildewy smell. They charge 15 dollars for valet and they use a paid parking spot a block away for $6. They lost one of the guests keys when I was there and the wait was over an hour to get my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timothy L
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review

Dear Timothy L, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are deeply sorry for the inconvenience you have experienced during check-in and the valet service you had fell below your expectations. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, the...

Irving, Texas
Reviewed January 4, 2017

Historic building (bexar county jail) converted to HIE. Walkable distance to Mercado market and downtown / riverwalk. Neighborhood seems unsafe - so use common sense. No onsite parking - but valet parking available for $15

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NaveenNJ
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review

Dear NaveenNJ, Thank your for taking the time to share your experience with us and spending the night during your stopover. I'm grateful for your appreciation of our historic and convenient location. We work hard to make all our guests feel welcome and safe during their stay with us and I'm sorry if we fell short in terms of making...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed January 1, 2017

I hate starting off negatively but I need to do that in order to give you the best review. We stayed here due to the expedia deal we got with our flight. I have been to a lot of hotels and when we stepped into our room I could tell that this hotel was not up to the standards that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandra s
Krista N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, A. Julian M. General Manager

Reviewed December 29, 2016 via mobile

The good: The building is historic since it was originally a jail in the late 1800's. Our room had two queen beds, so it was a decent size, and it had a high ceiling. The bathroom was good sized, and everything was in fairly new shape. The breakfast was good, especially the cinnamon rolls. It's fairly quiet, so you can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 87CUBuff
Krista N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, A. Julian M. General Manager

Reviewed December 28, 2016 via mobile

Great location for downtown activities. Room was old but clean. Breakfast had good selection of food. My only complaint is that as food ran out at breakfast it wasn't being replenished and I saw the employee back in the preparation area texting instead of cleaning off tables or replenishing food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue I
Krista N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, A. Julian M. General Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
#22 of 354 in San Antonio
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
#131 of 354 in San Antonio
659 reviews
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
San Antonio Hotel Near a Variety of Attractions The historic atmosphere, excellent accommodations and friendly staff make the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Antonio, Texas near the Alamo, River Walk area, and Trolley perfect for both business and leisure travelers.Our hotel in San Antonio, TX is conveniently located within walking distance from the Alamo and the world-famous San Antonio River Walk. Visitors may enjoy shopping at La Villita Historic Arts Village, Rivercenter Mall and Market Square, the largest Mexican marketplace outside Mexico. Ride the local trolley to the many attractions within a mile of our hotel, such as the Tower of the America and IMAX theater.Business travelers benefit from the great location of this historic hotel in San Antonio, TX. We are situated near Valera Energy Corporation, Coca Cola and Pepsi bottling companies, Boeing and Fort Sam Houston. Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center and the Alamodome are a mile from our San Antonio, Texas hotel, which features free high-speed Internet access and a 24-hour business center.From the complimentary hot breakfast bar to the flow-regulated Kohler showerheads, our accommodations go beyond cheap hotels in San Antonio. Relax in the pool and whirlpool, work out in the fitness center and rest comfortably every night in a triple-sheeted bed with four pillows. You'll receive excellent service and amenities while lodging in our San Antonio, Texas hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area

Address: 120 Camaron Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Price Range: $115 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio North Hotel San Antonio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Madison Heights, Michigan
over a year ago
Concord, New Hampshire
6 months ago
Bakersfield, California
Pasadena, Texas
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We always choose a room in any hotel on the top floor. No one walking above you.”
 of 5 bubbles JanetH639, 1 week ago | Read review
“rear 2nd floor corner room this is near the elevators and away from the street noise. The corner rooms are the largest.”
 of 5 bubbles 599sandras, Jan 1, 2017 | Read review
“Ask to check room first. Mine had strong musty odor.”
 of 5 bubbles oklahomadave465, Oct 12, 2016 | Read review
“Get a room facing the parking lot across the street”
 of 5 bubbles stevemytech, Sep 19, 2016 | Read review
“Only one elevator, so if you can get the first floor, do it.”
 of 5 bubbles Kati_Rose, Jul 17, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question