Hotel Havana

Hotel Havana

Traveler (306)
Room & Suite (153)
Hotel Havana
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Get rewarded with One Key
Only 1 left at
$161
$161
$155
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#83 of 358 hotels in San Antonio
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.4
Value
4.1
Situated on a quiet stretch of the North Riverwalk known as the Museum Reach, directly adjacent from the Tobin Center for the Performing Arts, Hotel Havana offers elegant accommodations in the heart of San Antonio. From the studios to the Penthouse Suite, each of the 27 rooms and suites is uniquely appointed and designed for comfort. All feature original Bastrop pine floors and are decorated with antique furniture, Turkish rugs and vintage Cuban artwork with an emphasis on creating elegant but uncluttered space for a restful stay. Our luxurious bed linens are custom made and bathrooms are stocked with Red Flower body care products. Each room comes equipped with our signature mini bar featuring local and international snacks, drinks and souvenirs.Hotel Havana is also home to Ocho, a restaurant and lounge space serving drinks and food downstairs in the intimate hotel basement and upstairs on the riverfront. The property was reopened in 2010 by hotelier Liz Lambert and Bunkhouse Group and is listed in the National Register of Historic Places.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Evening entertainment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

1015 Navarro Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-1321
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 89 out of 100
89
San Antonio Intl Airport
430Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 240
  • 107
  • 37
  • 26
  • 20
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jim T wrote a review May 2022
Winnipeg, Canada141 contributions84 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
An incredible gem in San Antonio! Located next to (not on) the Riverwalk, which trust me, is a HUGE plus, and on the edge of what I construed as downtown, but within quick walking distance of all the major attractions. The Hotel Havana transports you back to another time and place, with its architecture, amenities, and ambiance. If you have even the smallest desire to try something new, and not lodge at the same old, same old hotel, then try out the Havana. And the staff…second to none!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amaris Brinks, Other at Hotel Havana
Responded Aug 16, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at Hotel Havana, even though it's been a year since your stay. We truly appreciate your kind words and the effort you've put into leaving this review. It's heartening to hear that you found our hotel to be a gem in San Antonio. Your kind comments about our staff are greatly appreciated. We believe that the service we provide is a vital part of our guests' experience, and we're thrilled to know that our team made a positive impression on you. We're grateful for your recommendation to others who may be seeking a new and distinct experience in lodging. Your support means a lot to us, and we hope to welcome you back to another memorable stay!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SAbe Froman wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
With busy work schedules and pandemic-era restrictions, my girlfriend and I often look for exciting and affordable ways to feel fresh and new, and when Havana re-opened this month, we wasted no time in getting a reservation. Everyone is super nice and helpful, the snacks and merch are very hip and high quality, and some of our favorite restaurants are a walkable distance from our room. We felt safe and clean and comfortable the whole time. We will be back very soon for sure!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joey Boatright, General Manager at Hotel Havana
Responded Oct 20, 2020
Thank you for joining us! We truly appreciate your support and we look forward to having you return soon! Stay safe and take care!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David R wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is an older hotel with lots of antiques located throughout. From the moment you step inside you are taken back to the 1920's or so. I'm guessing. Anyway, there is a warm feeling when you walk in. The gentleman behind the desk checked us in and handed us our key from a wooden stack of boxes like you see in the old movies. Very cool! Our room is on the second floor. We could have used the elevator but chose to take the stairs. The stairs creaked like old stairs do. I loved it! Our room had a large bed, very comfortable with antique furniture. A small bathroom is connected to the room with old style faucets handles. We slept very well and it was very quiet at night.
We ate dinner at their connecting restaurant, OCHO's. The wait staff are kind and very helpful in suggesting items from the menu or describing what some of the items are if you are not familiar with some of the names. The poblano with guava was excellent! We stayed the night as a date night. That evening we walked across the street to the Tobin for a performance of Shen Yun. If you are going to attend a performance at the Tobin, this is an excellent place to stay. It's a very short walk to the front of the Tobin from the hotel.
We also ate OCHO's in the morning. Excellent. I recommend the Cuban Hash.
Overall, if you want a comfortable stay with a feeling like you are stepping back into the past with a Cuban flair, Havana is the place to stay. Well worth the money.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amaris Brinks, Other at Hotel Havana
Responded Jan 29, 2024
David, thank you so much for your delightful review! Choosing our location, especially for Tobin Center performances, was an excellent decision. I'm delighted to hear that your date night was a success due to the convenient proximity, great service and delicious meals! Our team takes great joy in welcoming guests and ensuring their comfort, so learning that you had such a positive experience warms our hearts. Thank you for choosing Havana, recognizing the beauty of our historic gem, and sharing your kind words. We genuinely cannot wait to welcome you back for many more visits, each one enhancing your memories here!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RonK wrote a review Oct 2020
Los Angeles55 contributions95 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I checked into my room around noon and immediately had to run out for my day. When I returned, I unpacked. Nature called, and when I entered the bathroom I noticed that the bathroom smelled strongly of urine. I had to make a few phone calls and emails, but as soon as I was done I went downstairs to report my problem. The young woman asked me if I would consider changing rooms, and despite having just unpacked, I said I would.
The next day, the woman at the front desk (who was actually the one who checked me in, but not the one who arranged the room switch), said she heard I had switched the room and was wondering why. I thought it was a weird question and it certainly wasn't asked in a concerned way. I told her why, and she came back at me that she had been in the room and she didn't smell any urine.

She then asked me why I had waited so long to report the problem? Really???

WTF? Was she challenging my sense of smell? Was she suggesting perhaps I created the smell myself? I am not sure, but her response was completely unacceptable for a hospitality professional and I told her so. She flashed anger but then said sarcastically "Yessir."

I did not ask for or expect a make-good and I had to repack, so what did she think I had to benefit from asking for a room that didn't smell like urine. The new room was not an upgrade, it was just a different room. Someone who had the right genes to work in a customer-facing job in the hotel business would have said "I am so sorry your room didn't work out. Is your new room OK?"

The interaction was like a skit on Saturday Night Live or Little Brittain, except it wasn't funny. They're a ton of nice hotels in San Antonio, don't waste your money by staying at the Havana Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jdm wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was a real treat to stay at this hotel! Very quaint and authentic!!! The room was spacious and there were ample places throughout to visit over a bottle of wine. The river walk views were amazing and getting around downtown San Antonio was a breeze. The staff was very friendly and gave us plenty of suggestions for dining and other nightlife activities. The restaurant hotel- Ocho served some absolutely delicious brunch to us as we enjoyed our views over the Riverwalk. My wife and I highly recommend this hotel to all travelers and for local "stay-cations". A true gem!!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Abruzzo71 wrote a review Oct 2020
San Antonio, Texas10 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Every single time we stay at Havana, the treatment from the manager all the way down is nothing short of fantastic. We always feel pampered, and this staycation was no different.

The uniqueness of this hotel is off the hook. Taking what is already a historic 100 year old hotel, and updating it is something the ownership is great at. Each room is different and quirky, however that only adds to the experience.

Think old world glamour meets modern day chic. You’ll feel comfortably fancy when you’re here.

Before you leave, make sure to have at least one meal at their restaurant Ocho. You will not be disappointed. My favorite at brunch has been the Cuban Hash, and the plantain pancakes.

Drop by downstairs too, for a few cocktails at Havana Bar, and be treated by a mover full Caribbean-style speakeasy atmosphere!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joey Boatright, General Manager at Hotel Havana
Responded Oct 20, 2020
It was so great to see yall back at the Havana! We appreciate the kind words and hope to see yall back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carin1388 wrote a review Mar 2024
Houston3 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I decided to write this review because I feel like people should know what they are spending their money on. We recently spent a weekend here and booked directly. We paid around $500 a night in total. I am shocked at how much it was for how poor the hotel is. We could have gone so many other much nicer places for the money. This hotel feels like its more of a motel quality. Its designed to be cute, but it looks more like a fast flip. Floors were chipped, light fixtures had cobwebs on them, the pillows seemed really lumpy and old, everything seemed dirty, there is no coffee maker or kettle in the room, not even a box of tissues. They do leave you two individual tissues on top of the toilet though. Our room was on the second floor and the noise was not too bad but the creaking from someone walking around at 5 am was loud enough to wake me up. My cousin's room was on the first floor and oddly looked into the restaurant which was awkward. She said it was very loud. My husband went to get water to fill up our bottles from the bar and was told it was for bar customers only. I will never stay here again and actively tell people to avoid it. I forgot to take photos of our room but grabbed some from my cousins.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amaris Brinks, Other at Hotel Havana
Responded Mar 25, 2024
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are disappointed to hear that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your time with us. We wanted to clarify that we do have tissues in the rooms and typically provide a good amount in each room, so it seems there may have been an oversight in adding extras to your room, for which we apologize. We also provide complimentary water in the library room on the first floor for our guests' convenience 24 hours. Regarding the situation with the bar where water was mentioned as being exclusively for bar customers, we will promptly address this with our team to ensure that all guests receive the highest level of service. We strive to maintain a high standard of cleanliness and comfort for all our guests, and we regret that we fell short of this during your stay. Please know that your comments have been shared with our housekeeping team for immediate attention. Also, regarding your comment about a coffee maker or kettle in the room, we do not currently provide these amenities in our rooms. However, we do believe in guest engagement and offer complimentary coffee in the lobby from 6:30 am to 11:00 am, which we hope you were able to enjoy during your stay. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to improve our services and amenities for future guests. We hope you'll reconsider and give us another chance to provide you with a more satisfying experience in the future. If you have any further concerns or would like to discuss your stay in more detail, please feel free to contact us directly.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ATx Traveler wrote a review Jan 2020
AUSTIN121 contributions86 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Only stayed for one night in a king bed room and would say that the architecture is the strongest and weakest feature of the hotel. The building is charming but is old, creeks, has low shower head, and no bathroom countertop to name a few. Compared to other boutique hotels, the interior design is slightly basic with the exception of the fully loaded SMEG fridge. The amenities were simple and there could have been opportunity to show more attention to details however the service was a solid standard. The restaurant and basement bar are definitely the star of the property. Overall, was still pleasant for a one night stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JoeyB1657, General Manager at Hotel Havana
Responded Feb 1, 2020
Hello! Thank you for the review and for acknowledging some highlights of your stay. We would love to hear you out on some more of the other areas of opportunity so I was hoping you could email me at joey.boatright@havanasanantonio.com. Thanks!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patty P wrote a review Mar 2022
Camano Island, Washington1 contribution3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this hotel for a long weekend. Our reservation was supposed to be for a King room with separate seating area. Our room did not even have a chair. Upon arrival, hotel staff did not explain anything about the building or where to find anything. The restaurant Ocho, which was one of the reasons we booked this property, had limited hours and no breakfast so we did not eat there. It is quite eclectic which can be fun, however, this place needs some help. Our room door locked, but you could see out into the hallway between the door and the wall. Hardly any outlets and the overhead fan didn't work. The website should not falsely advertise what you are receiving and what the room/restaurant is going to be. The outdoor seating area on our floor was outside the window of another room, the outdoor furniture was dirty and uncomfortable. We did not complain as there was nothing staff could do to make it better. When we checked out, we were not even asked how our stay was. Would not stay again and would not recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amaris Brinks, Other at Hotel Havana
Responded Aug 16, 2023
Hi Patty, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel over a year ago. We deeply apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your visit and any misunderstandings that may have occurred. We're truly sorry that the room you received did not meet the expectations set by your reservation. It's disappointing to hear that the room lacked a seating area and other expected amenities. This is certainly not indicative of the experience we aim to provide, and we sincerely apologize for the confusion. We can always add a lounge chair in any room that needs one, upon request. As we always want to ensure our guests are comfortable through-out their stay. We're also sorry to learn that our staff didn't provide you with proper orientation upon your arrival. Clear communication and guidance are essential, and we regret any frustration this oversight may have caused. Regarding the restaurant Ocho, we're sorry for any disappointment caused by limited hours and the absence of breakfast service. Times have changed where we are not open for breakfast every day, weekdays, 8 am - 11 am, Saturday & Sunday 8 am - 2 pm and opens daily for dinner from 5 pm - 10 pm. We also apologize that you were not asked how your stay was at check-out and did not provide exceptional service as we should. Again, I am so sorry for the experience you had with over a year ago. Your feedback is valued, and we regret any lapses in our service. We understand all your concerns, and we're committed to continually improving. We hope you might consider giving us another chance and look forward to making your next stay more enjoyable.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Front D wrote a review Sep 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Havana is truly a GEM!!! Offers complimentary coffee in the morning, complimentary water in the red room, and room service from the most amazing restaurant, Ocho! Staff is always friendly and helpful!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amaris Brinks, Other at Hotel Havana
Responded Sep 18, 2023
Thank you so much for your kind words and for recognizing Hotel Havana as a gem! We're thrilled to be part of your experience. Nothing beats a cozy morning with complimentary coffee and that touch of care for a nice glass of refreshing water waiting for you. Ocho's delights served right to your room—definitely a treat! Our team is here to spread smiles and assist you in any way we can. Looking forward to your next visit for more shared moments of joy and warmth.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Sandra P
San Antonio, Texas
Each room has its own unit with a thermostat
dpor asked a question Mar 2017
Patchogue, New York5 contributions5 helpful votes
do you have a pool?
Answer from Paul P
Centerville, Iowa25 contributions4 helpful votes
no pool. they have a bar, off the street parking, and a restaurant.
Answer from Sandra P
San Antonio, Texas
Thank you for thinking of the OCHO Lounge for your dining experience. There is a parking garage directly across the street from the hotel on Hagner Arc. They have a sign out by the street before you turn in that says Tobin parking. Once you have parked we are directly across the street. As you enter the front gate of the hotel follow the brick pathway on your left and it will take you to the OCHO lounge. Please remember it is open seat and we recommend you arrive 2 hours before the show to secure a table. Please let me know if you require any further assistance. Vincent Galindo
Vicki C asked a question Jan 2017
Orlando, Florida2 contributions2 helpful votes
What are my best options for transportation from the airport to the hotel.
Answer from Hippie-Chick0419
Arlington, Texas37 contributions3 helpful votes
Of course, you could always just take a regular cab, but we used Uber. Actually a much nicer car and cheaper.
monag14 asked a question Sep 2016
New York City, New York220 contributions
Hi. Do you offer access to a fitness center or gym?
Answer from Sandra P
San Antonio, Texas
We do have day passes at our front desk to a Gold Gym that is located a couple of blocks away on Travis Street. Please let me know if we may be of further assistance.
Georgina S wrote a tip Apr 2024
39 contributions31 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Maybe ask for a room at the back of the property away from the road noise? Chat to the front desk staff, they are super lovely"
Read full review
Matthew S wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The location was perfect for my work travels. It was located on the Riverwalk but not in the crazy touristy part. "
Read full review
Albania V wrote a tip Nov 2023
Pflugerville, Texas1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Big Fridge in Room, bring snacks. If you like old world charm this place is for you. "
Read full review
Elaine H wrote a tip Sep 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy the quiet and history"
Read full review
Compass643886 wrote a tip Oct 2022
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go to a proper hotel"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the San Antonio area.
PRICE RANGE
$158 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesTexasSan AntonioDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL HAVANA $192 ($̶3̶2̶2̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Havana
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Havana?
Nearby attractions include Hopscotch (0.2 miles), Nightly Spirits (0.3 miles), and Tobin Center for the Performing Arts (0.08 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Havana?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Havana?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Havana?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Havana?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Panaderia, Bohanan's Prime Steak and Seafood, and La Boulangerie.
Is Hotel Havana located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of San Antonio.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Havana?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Havana?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Havana?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Alamo (0.4 miles), Mission San Jose (4.5 miles), and King William Historic District (1.2 miles).
Does Hotel Havana have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
Is Hotel Havana accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All San Antonio HotelsSan Antonio Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in San AntonioHotels near Hotel Havana
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars