We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coach House Inn

284 Lafayette Street, Salem, MA 01970
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Coach House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 161: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

When we arrived in Salem we had nothing booked for accommodation. The Visitor Centre gave us a list and we were able to book a room here. The room was large with an attached sitting area, air conditioning, fridge and its own bathroom. Our hostess, Pat, was wonderful! We enjoyed just spending time visiting with her and she was extremely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shelley W
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We called Pat for a last minute reservation. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised at how quiet the neighborhood was. The house was old and clean. Beautiful architecture. She gave us several maps of things to do in the area and was very attentive. The best part of our stay was the picnic basket breakfast! The basket was outside... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey C
coachhouseinn1, Owner at Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Having been in the hospitality business for quite some time, it’s always nice to hear that guests appreciate the peace and serenity of a historic home. They don’t build them now like they use to, and I’m happy to maintain and share the architecture of a by-gone era. I am also glad to hear that our breakfast was a highlight... More 

Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Innkeeper Pat was lovely and shared lots of information with us upon arrival. Nice, quiet rooms. There is no dining room, and she told us that a continental breakfast would be delivered to our rooms the next morning. A lovely basket was waiting for us the next morning. Warm scones and muffins, fruit, yogurt. Each room has a small table... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank StaciMcFlo
coachhouseinn1, Owner at Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent post on Trip Advisor. I was so glad to hear that you appreciated breakfast being delivered to enjoy in the comfort of your room. As an 11 room B&B it would be difficult to accommodate 22 plus people at one time in a dining room, and after decades of serving our breakfast this way, most... More 

Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room was very clean & decorated in a style complimenting the age of the house. However, it seems only the guest areas were kept nice, as other areas needed a lot of tidying & cleaning up. The front entrance to the hotel was dirty making us wonder what the hotel would be like inside. First impressions count, otherwise it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Avanka
coachhouseinn1, Owner at Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent post on Trip Advisor. I agree that first impressions are important and we apparently missed this opportunity the day of your arrival. Without making excuses, we apologize if the front entrance seemed unkempt. It’s a place where we offer a collection of visitor brochures and information and apparently a nook we will have to keep... More 

Clarksboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here on a last minute thing while going home from Maine with sister and our hubbies....the owner pat was very nice and friendly. We were on the 3rd floor so if you can't do stairs these isn't the place for you. Rooms are clean and comfy with A/C on a quite street. A bit of a walk to town... More 

Helpful?
Thank chicsim
coachhouseinn1, Owner at Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on Trip Advisor about your stay at our B&B. It’s always nice to hear positive and helpful feedback about a guest’s experience after a visit. Certainly, providing clean accommodations and comfort amenities are the benchmark of the hospitality industry and we are glad to hear you found everything clean and comfortable in your room. For sure,... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We tried to book the suite at this Inn. Initially told it was available and that I should check with the rest of my party to confirm. I said I would and call her right back. I did that - within one minute. That was at 2pm. I was never able to get the Inn back on the phone. I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Wheelerg
coachhouseinn1, Owner at Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Dear Wheelerg, I must say I was a little taken aback by the hostility of your comments. You phoned to gather information concerning a two-room suite, our location in Salem, and our cancellation policy. Seeming to be unsure, I suggested you discuss the accommodation with the other people in your party. Since I didn't hear back from you I assumed... More 

Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2016

My husband and I went here for our anniversary, and it looked so quaint and nice... we were so excited. And then we got our room...I know most people like that floral pattern that makes it look like you're at Grandma's house, but everywhere?! And the absolute worst part is that we had ants in our room and in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank chexcentaur
coachhouseinn1, Owner at Coach House Inn, responded to this review

I would like to express my apologies for your disappointing stay with us. Every guest is important to us and we strive to have our guests leave satisfied with their stay at the Coach House Inn. Each year, in May, the building foundation is professionally treated for insects. Before registering, our policy is to show our guests their room to... More 

Kennedale, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2016

We had spent the entire day in Salem but had not made any arrangements to stay overnight. All the hotels and inns in the area were completely booked. This inn was not our first choice but we kind of stumbled onto it by process of elimination and a couple of suggestions. We were glad we did. The Coach House Inn... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lusitex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2016

Went as a girls trip to Salem! The owner was very helpful and made sure we knew where all the happening places were. The Inn was very beautiful if you like the Victorian style. Breakfast was also delicious-homemade muffins and other goodies!

Helpful?
1 Thank Michele H
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in September as part of a girls' road trip to Salem. We could not have been happier with our stay. The owner was so pleasant and helpful and the Inn itself is absolutely beautiful. It is not a central location within Salem but is within walking distance to the downtown area and a taxi is... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank IrishJo18
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.8 mi away
The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Salem
4.5 of 5 stars 1,763 reviews
3.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
1.0 mi away
Stepping Stone Inn
Stepping Stone Inn
#4 of 9 in Salem
4.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
0.9 mi away
Salem Inn
Salem Inn
#6 of 9 in Salem
3.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Coach House Inn

Address: 284 Lafayette Street, Salem, MA 01970
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Price Range: $205 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coach House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach House Hotel Salem
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay