We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast

Save
Share
30 Northey St, Salem, MA 01970-3905
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
Booking.com
Vio.com
Agoda.com
View all 5 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (128)
360
Panoramas (4)
Room & Suite (106)

About

#4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.8
Value
4.7
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Best B&B: Winner of the 2011 & 2010 Best of the Northshore (readers choice)! Rated 5-stars on TripAdvisor.com. 1809 Federal, short walk to all attractions. Private baths, parking, AC, cable, WIFI. Smoke-free. Hearty breakfast. Open year round.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Special diet menus
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Charming
886Reviews20Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 786
  • 65
  • 13
  • 10
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kismettwo wrote a review Sep 2022
Atlanta, Georgia2 contributions3 helpful votes
We orginally were booked at Northey Street B&B, and wanted to add a guest, however we chose to book elsewhere with more room. When requesting a refund from them they were not accomodating and did not provide the refund. This was a $500 mistake, so buyers be ware that they do not give refunds!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Flora Tonthat, Owner at Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast
Responded Sep 12, 2022
You booked on Booking.com where we have a very clear cancellation policy. When you told us you wanted to add a 3rd guest, we offered a 2 room Suite (2 Queens & a twin with private bath) to you. In addition, we reiterating our non-refundable deposit policy. Too bad you made the decision to forgo your $437 deposit. It was entirely your choice. It's sad and unfair that you chose to not take the 2 spacious rooms and instead, forgo your deposit, then take it out on our small family business that have built a great reputation over 20 years. Here is our Cancellation Policy on Booking.com... Non-refundable The guest will be charged the cost of the first night if they cancel after reservation. If the guest doesn’t show up, they will be charged the total price of the reservation. The guest will be charged a prepayment of the cost of the first night after reservation. Shalom, Flora
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandy N wrote a review Sep 2022
Crossville, Tennessee8 contributions
A 3 day stop in Salem was enhanced by our stay at Northey Street House. Beautiful room, very comfortable, quiet and clean and within walking distance to everything. Historic home with updated amenities such as our bathroom and breakfast area yet all the charm of the era it was built. Breakfast was amazing and conversation with Flora was so enjoyable. If we are in the area again, I hope to stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: While we loved the 3rd floor room pack lightly as there are only stairs to reach your room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mila wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
+1
My Daughter and I had the pleasure of staying at the Northey Street House a few weeks ago. We put together this last minute girls trip and we were lucky enough to call Ms. Flora and book her last room! Upon arrival we were Greeted outside by Ms. Flora and given the lay of the land!! The house is beautiful and her gardens are amazing. We stayed in the loft room which has its own private entrance, a cute balcony and private seating on the top floor. The room was full of natural light, super clean and spacious! The bed was comfortable and the room has its own AC unit so you can control the temperature. The bathroom was huge and equipped with everything you need for your trip! The rest of the house was just as clean and comfy! Breakfast was provided every morning and it was delicious!! Ms Flora is a great cook and has multiple options for you in the morning! You can eat inside or you can eat outside on the beautiful balcony! The Kitchen is Stocked with snacks and drinks that you can help yourself to all day long. The location was perfect for us. Close enough to town that we were able to walk to and from, if you aren’t a walker the town has its very own Uber type car service (Salem Skipper) that can take you all around town for about $3. Ms Flora will assist you with tools to navigate the town! We did have one small issue, the first night, with the AC unit in our room. We reached out to Ms. Flora and she came right up to see what was going on and to provide a solution. The issue resolved itself over night, however Ms Flora checked in with us daily to make sure all stayed well with it! Overall this is a great home away from home and we would and will stay again!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
NYCSchnoodle wrote a review Aug 2022
nyc3 contributions1 helpful vote
The room was charming and clean and spacious--perfect for our family of 3! The bathroom was also huge and modern with a great shower. And the breakfasts were incredible--homemade buckwheat pancakes, fig and goat cheese scones, and eggs and sausage. Flora, the owner, was so helpful with her suggestions of what to see and do in Salem too! We LOVED the Yin Yu Tang house at the Peabody Essex Museum, and the House of Seven Gables tour, as well as a nighttime ghost tour of Salem. My daughter even got her aura read at a place on Essex St. Northey Street House is a perfect oasis in a busy active place to visit. You can walk everywhere from this location. We loved it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: 3rd floor was where we stayed.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jill M wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We stayed at the Northey House recently. Our room was impeccable. The hospitality given to us by Flora was amazing and generous. We loved our room, breakfast and the Northey House. We would highly recommend it to anyone. It is a short walk to Salem Square and Salem activities. We felt very comfortable and at home. Thank you for your hospitality. Jill and Emma
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms are equally great.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
cwells819 wrote a review Aug 2022
San Antonio, Texas69 contributions9 helpful votes
We enjoyed a peaceful stay at this Air BNB. The room was a perfect temperature and the bed was very comfortable on the first floor. Flora responded well with messaging. She made a breakfast to order. Breakfast bars, assortment of milk, fruit, coffee, and grab and go bars were available. Eggs, chicken sausage and homemade fresh breads were available. The location was between a 10-15 minute walk to most popular locations in Salem.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Flora Tonthat, Owner at Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast
Responded Aug 8, 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review for Northey House! We really appreciate it!! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found it comfortable temperature wise especially in the recent heat wave or heat dome that have settled upon Salem. The state of the arts air source heat pumps was an investment that is not only energy efficient, good for the planet, but as you experienced, extremely comfortable and quiet. They are in every room in the house. Thank you again and if you ever visit again or refer folks, please book direct to save. Shalom, Flora
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linda S wrote a review Aug 2022
6 contributions
I will first state that the Northey Street House B & B is in a good location for walking to downtown Salem. We chose this B & B based on the good reviews, but honestly we are left to wonder who wrote some of them! This was a very overpriced B & B. (Interestingly, I have checked periodically and have seen that the pricing has seemed to fluctuate a lot over the course of the summer, for some reason.) The online photographs, at least for our room, were very misleading. I realize this is an historic house, but the furnishings were not in very good condition and not the same as pictured. There were very limited common areas. You have to eat breakfast in the very small kitchen or outside. The breakfast itself was left wanting in choices and presentation. We did not have a very welcoming experience. There were an abundance of rules ~ post-it notes in our room, other signage (example: don’t wear shoes upstairs to kitchen), and hostess comments. My husband and I enjoy staying at B& B inns and historic homes. We appreciate that each has its own personality and interesting special touches. Unfortunately, the Northey Street House Inn was a disappointment.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Flora Tonthat, Owner at Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast
Responded Aug 6, 2022
I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We take pride in our accommodations, the cleanliness, decor, the amenities, etc... Bed and Breakfasts do vary quite a bit. If you came in on a high demand weekend, the rates will be higher as is the nature of the business. Folks who book direct, which we encourage on our website, will not pay the high commissions on the various booking sites. Our photos are accurate and up to date. We have a good size living room (~225sf) with 1 couch, 1 loveseat, 3 arm chairs & a flat screen TV. and large new kitchen from 2015 (~238sf) with seating for 6 and large deck with seating for 10, as common space in addition to the ground floor garden with many seating areas in addition to the front street view seating area for smokers or folks waiting on a ride. We advertise a self serve breakfast so there are many items in the kitchen island & mini-fridge such as: coffee lattes, chocolate milk, milk, half&half, juices, assorted yogurts, assorted fruits, butter, home-made jam, home made granola, assorted breakfast bars, instant oatmeal. an instant-hot & cold water tap. I'm there at fixed breakfast times to make eggs, sausages, toast (bread from our local artisan bakery) and occasionally buckwheat pancakes. Signage is necessary and as a traveler myself, I see it in accommodations that I have stayed at and ours are about the same as others. I wish you the best in your future travels.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Apryl G wrote a review Apr 2022
4 contributions
Northey House is wonderful. It’s located in a safe and homey area that is in walking distance to everything. Flora gave me all the info I needed to stay comfortable, and have a lovely time. Her breakfast was tasty, and I loved her stories about the area. I’m gluten sensitive, but that didn’t phase her. The bed was comfy- I stayed in the captain’s room, and it was fully equipped. 5 stars for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Flora Tonthat, Owner at Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast
Responded Apr 24, 2022
Thank you Apryl for taking the time to write a review for us! It was a pleasure to host you and get to know you a bit. Glad you enjoyed your stay and visit to Salem! Hope to see you again in the future. Flora
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sunset6339 wrote a review Aug 2021
3 contributions
We had a beautiful, spacious room!!! The history surrounding this B&B and the Historic District it is located in made our trip!!! We had breakfast delivered to our room daily!!! Flora gave us many choices for breakfast and she cooked it wonderfully!!! I'll be going back!!! Not sure if it will be summer, because I loved the beaches!!! Or Halloween because I've heard good things!!! ✌
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
martha wrote a review Aug 2021
Chicago, Illinois12 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Northey Street House is a lovely Bed & Breakfast with such a gracious host. In spite of Covid precautions and not being able to explore the rest of the house, the room my friend & I shared boasted antique furniture, beautiful bedding and all the comforts of home…not to mention the breakfast Flora prepared for us was delectable!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: There is driveway space for a car, but Salem is very walkable!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$376 - $611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
northey street house hotel salem, northey street house b&b
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsSalem
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NORTHEY STREET HOUSE BED AND BREAKFAST - Updated 2022 Prices & B&B Reviews (Salem, MA)

Frequently Asked Questions about Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Crow Haven Corner (0.4 miles), Hex: Old World Witchery (0.5 miles), and Pentagram (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Village Tavern, Red's Sandwich Shop, and Flying Saucer Pizza Company.
Is Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Salem.
Are there any historical sites close to Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The House of the Seven Gables (0.5 miles), Phillips House (0.8 miles), and Salem Maritime National Historic Site (0.5 miles).