We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Stepping Stone Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Stepping Stone Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 208: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Stepping Stone Inn a while back and had the most amazing time. The room (San Francisco) was comfortable and gorgeous, and the whole place reflects the personalities of the owners, making for a way more interesting stay than our motels of the past. The owners, a lovely couple, were able to direct us to so many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shannon R
SteppingStoneInn, Owner at Stepping Stone Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your wonderful review, Shannon. Kelly, Bobby, Youkie The Cat, Petey The Cat and I are so happy you had such a great time in Salem, staying at The Stepping Stone Inn. It was our pleasure hosting you. Sincerely, Matt

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Stepping Stone recently and had a great time during our stay in Salem. We chose it for it's charm and proximity to just about every awesome thing there is to do in Salem. We especially enjoyed the variety of restaurants within walking distance (Gulu Gulu cafe had marvelous crepes and Red's Sandwich shop is inexpensive but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
SteppingStoneInn, Owner at Stepping Stone Inn, responded to this review

Hi Stephanie, WOW! Thanks so much for you fantastic review of Salem and The Stepping Stone Inn. Kelly, Bobby, Youkie, Petey and I really enjoyed hosting you and showing you all that Salem and the surrounding area have to offer. Next time you make it out this way, there's still parts of Cape Ann and more of Salem to explore....

NY
Reviewed November 19, 2016 via mobile

My daughter and I decided to have a weekend getaway to Salem. It was a bit last minutes but the Stepping Stone had one available room. So we took it. The Big Sur room was large and had a great view of the park across the street. The bathroom for this room is down a short hallway. It's your own...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hippimama715
SteppingStoneInn, Owner at Stepping Stone Inn, responded to this review

Hi Karen, Thanks so much for the wonderful review. It was a pleasure to meet and host you and Emily last weekend. Kelly, Youkie, Petey, Bobby and I so enjoyed having you two. I know you try to get to Salem often, so I hope you stay with us the next time you're in town. Maybe next time you can...

North Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed November 17, 2016

The two owners are the help, and their cat is a cutie. The room was charming, the breakfast was great, we truly enjoyed our time here. Everything was walking distance, and parking is in a garage near the hotel, which was included with the room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dgg083
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed November 16, 2016 via mobile

This year was the second time my mom and I stayed at the Stepping Stone Inn for Halloween. Not only is the location perfect and within walking distance to everything, the service at the Inn is great too. Matt and Kelly are so knowledgable about the history of Salem and have the most entertaining stories to share. Additionally, the Inn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank haileecasey
SteppingStoneInn, Owner at Stepping Stone Inn, responded to this review

Hi Hailee, Thanks so much for your fantastic review. It's been a pleasure to host you and Wendy twice now and Kelly and I are so excited that you've already made plans to return for a 3rd time! We're so proud to be a part of your yearly tradition; Halloween Weekend in Salem. Every year, there are many new things...

Dublin, Georgia
Reviewed November 11, 2016 via mobile

We loved the location of this B&B. We stayed in the Salem room which is in the attack. Small but loved the ambiance of the room. Not a full breakfast but plenty to get you started. The location is right across from a beautiful park and walking distance to everything in Salem.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Al P
SteppingStoneInn, Owner at Stepping Stone Inn, responded to this review

Hi Al, Thanks for the fantabulous review. Kelly and I are so glad you liked Salem and being able to walk everywhere from The Stepping Stone Inn. The Salem Room is our most popular room and we're happy you enjoyed it. Please come back and see us again for your next Salem Adventure! Sincerely, Matt

Waltham, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewed November 9, 2016

Cheryl and I visited Salem MA in October 2015, the Stepping Stone Inn was the best place to stay, its a B and B right next to the Salem Witch building. The owners are very proud of the inn, they have a great breakfast and great service-Jim Dempsey

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James D
SteppingStoneInn, Owner at Stepping Stone Inn, responded to this review

Hi Jim and Cheryl, Thanks so much for the review. I'm glad that even after a year, your memory of your stay with us at the Stepping Stone Inn was still enthusiastic. We are proud of the inn and our location, walkable to everything there is to see and enjoy in Salem. We hope you'll return and see us again...

PA
Reviewed November 2, 2016

This Inn was in a fantastic location - so easy to walk to pretty much all the restaurants and sites we wanted to see. The innkeeper Matt was very helpful and friendly and the resident cats were very cute. We definitely took advantage of the free Witch Museum tickets. Unfortunately, since this place is an "inn" and not a "B&B"...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SueMPA
SteppingStoneInn, Owner at Stepping Stone Inn, responded to this review

Hi Sue, Thanks for your review. We're so glad you found our location superb. You really can walk to all that Salem has to offer from our front door. I'm glad your mentioned breakfast, because we go out of our way to let our guests know in advance what our full continental breakfast consists of. I'm sorry you missed a...

St. Albert, Canada
Reviewed October 27, 2016

We enjoyed our stay at this Inn. It is wonderfully located. Easy walking distance to everything. Matt was very hospitable. My daughter and I booked this place because of the cats living here, then my husband decided to tag along. He's severely allergic to cats. Matt promptly answered my e-mails and assured me that they haven't had any problems with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kfreejohns
SteppingStoneInn, Owner at Stepping Stone Inn, responded to this review

Hi Karen, Thanks so much for the great review and for booking with us during your whirlwind trip around the Northeast. We're so glad your husband didn't have an allergic reaction to the cats. We do our best to keep the inn as free of cat hair as we can. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and...

Nottinghamshire
Reviewed October 23, 2016

My partner booked us in at the Stepping Stone Inn as part of a surprise road trip for my 30th birthday and I have to say I couldn't have chosen better myself. From the moment we arrived we felt very welcome and excited to be in Salem as Matt took the time to give us a quick guide to things...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kayleigh B
SteppingStoneInn, Owner at Stepping Stone Inn, responded to this review

Kayleigh, Thanks so much for the wonderful review. That's quite a compliment saying that your 2 nights in Salem with us was one of the highlights of your 3 week vacation. WOW! Thanks so much! We're so happy we could help make your time in Salem special and memorable. Next time you're in the States, please stop by and see...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Salem
1,876 reviews
3.4 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Wylie Inn and Conference Center at Endicott College
5.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
0.3 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Having the very best location in Salem, the Stepping Stone Inn boasts six beautiful and newly-renovated guest rooms, each with private bath, iPhone charging alarm clocks, free wifi, free parking, fresh flowers and tasteful decor. We are right next door to the Salem Witch Museum and across the street from the Salem Common and the Hawthorne Hotel. Ditch the car and walk absolutely everywhere! Under brand new ownership, the Stepping Stone Inn warmly invites you to enjoy the spacious parlor and the cozy dining room with free 24-hour gourmet coffee, tea and hot chocolate service, which is the perfect ending to your lovely evening out in charming, historic Salem. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stepping Stone Inn

Address: 19 Washington Square North, Salem, MA 01970
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Price Range: $183 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stepping Stone Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Stepping Stone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Stepping Stone Inn staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Stepping Stone Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I really loved the DC and San Francisco rooms for their decor and comfort.”
  • The DC room looking out into the lovely bright hall
  • view toward the DC and San Francisco room from the staircase
 of 5 bubbles stephanierJ3696NN, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Don't stay in Big Sur unless having to walk down the hall to your bathroom in front of strangers is ok with you.”
 of 5 bubbles SueMPA, Nov 2, 2016 | Read review
“The Salem room has a private bathroom and balcony, we loved it!”
  • The Salem Room
 of 5 bubbles KayleighB350, Oct 23, 2016 | Read review
“attic room lovely, but lots of steep steps to get to it.”
 of 5 bubbles 840TinaB, Oct 17, 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms have park views, back rooms are a little quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles woodscnt, Aug 14, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay