The Daniels House Inn

Samantha visiting in the morning.
Traveler (269)
fresh flowers
Room & Suite (106)
Dining room where breakfast is served
Dining (30)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#4 of 4 B&Bs in Salem
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
4.4
Value
4.3
Built in 1667, the centrally-located Daniels House is the oldest Inn in Salem, MA. Stepping inside the property, one is immediately transported back in time; there are open hearth fireplaces and exposed beams, and cross-stitch samplers and oil-painted portraits adorn the wood-paneled walls. The home itself is a living museum; offering guests an authentic taste of Old New England and Salem town. Come and meet your hosts, new owners Adele and Patrick who restored the property in 2019, and enjoy our complimentary breakfast of pastries, fruit and cereals, charcuterie and a variety of hot beverages. Children and babies are welcome!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Children's television networks
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
First aid kit
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Dining area
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
206Reviews8Q+A45Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 150
  • 23
  • 12
  • 7
  • 14
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Chris G wrote a review Oct 2022
Los Angeles, California147 contributions26 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I’m traveling through the US for the next three months, experiencing anything from 2 star to 5 star lodges/Airbnb/hotels & trying to only stay in locally owned establishments.

I stayed at Daniels House in the Grande Room 💖 it, on Oct 19th, sadly only one night.
I definitely would recommend the experience of staying in, this beautiful well kept 1667 historical home by friendly caring owners & Vijay.

They have made it so, welcoming, homey plus put some beautiful antique furniture & knickknacks around for you to enjoy but to treasure. Which is why I stayed here, I am an antique lover. 😁
I would normally take a star down, due to a couple of little things that they could work on but from what Patrick told me, they’ve only had the establishment since 2019 & I’m sure it’s been challenging with all the Covid.

I would have personally liked or been informed that the beautiful grande fireplaces in my room & private bathroom are not allowed to be lite, or at least add some candles or something of an flickering ambience in them to add to the character of those gorgeous grande fireplaces.

Place a couple of glasses and mugs in the room, as I had a fridge and a microwave in there. Which Patrick straight away gave me, when I requested.

A hook or two to hang the towels on, to protect the furniture, maybe a robe & definitely decent amount, shampoo, conditioner, or a little bubbles ball for the bath. Which you can add to your tea, mugs retail list down stairs also.

Sadly, the front room is closed in the evening, so you can not visit, sit down to enjoy the lounge or get a cup of tea/coffee, plus the fireplace in the breakfast room is not lite 🥺 I’m not sure how the rest of the rooms work for the guest.

It’s well situated in a great area, easy to walk to everything, so you can leave your car parked at one of their included convenient parking spots, it was a pricey for me but it was Halloween month. Still glad that I splurged.

Again, I am not taking a star down as the service was excellent and the place is immaculately kept, plus they get back to you straight away.

The portal was a little confusing to me 😊at first but great idea. I still like the welcoming or at least the appearance of the host at some point it is a B&B, which Patrick did at nice warm breakfast 👍🏻Thank-you

I also did the great historical info/tour of the house with Vijay. He was extremely informative and helpful on where else for me to visit and so polite. A definite include in your visit or just do the tour if you can’t stay here. Thanks

I am a major world traveler for the last 25 years, and I feel it’s important for me to, experience staying in motels to castles to fancy resorts at least once in your life, if one can. The young owners are doing a fabulous job it’s still early days for them.

Thanks & if I travel in the area again, I will definitely revisit your beautiful well kept home.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Keianne13 wrote a review Aug 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom195 contributions102 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you want a truly different experience by staying in an Inn that’s packed with history then The Daniel’s House is for you. Our room was spacious and full of interesting artefacts as was the rest of the property which dates back to 1667.
Patrick and Adele made us feel welcome from the outset and did their best to ensure that we had an enjoyable stay.
Breakfast was varied consisting of cereals, fruit, bagels, pastries, cheese, meats as well as juices and tea and coffee.
Free parking was adjacent to the property which was just a few minutes walk from the town centre and the Boston ferry.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Diego C wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay at the Daniels house was stellar from top to bottom. Dejay our host/contact was incredibly accommodating and accessible.

Due to Covid we had to visit a local restaurant for our breakfast, Reds sandwich shop. It was amazing! Every single meal was very good, and surprisingly affordable. Coffee was still available in the great room downstairs on the mornings along with some incredible, seriously incredible! locally made muffins for our consumption before heading out.

All of the local shops, and every interaction with the locals were above par. A very welcoming destination.

We stayed in the great room, which was awesome and felt very historical and incredibly well preserved.

The big date night in our short stay was a local Italian restaurant Verona’s. It absolutely did not disappoint, all of the reviews are true it was a great meal, with a very sharp server.

Sadly we were only there for three days and nights, but Salem hit it out of the park with both its charm in history, and it’s great citizens and shops.

#GoSalem!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carey wrote a review Oct 2021
Ponca City, Oklahoma2 contributions
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The living museum is perfectly situated between the wharf, Salem Commons, pedestrian mall, seafood spots and pubs. The tour of the house is well worth the ticket price as guide Vijay shared more details about 17th Century life than the docent at House of 7 Gables.

The sweet family running the B&B appears to be overwhelmed and understaffed. Keep this in mind should one decide to stay. Note: Only one bedroom has a private bath. The remaining 3 share a bath. Breakfast is a voucher for a fantastic restaurant with great food and service. Coffee service at B&B is virtually non-existent and most often locked up.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Ask about “secret” sidewalk passage that shortens walk between wharf area and Daniels House. It’s...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CarnoldRN wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My mother and I were very disappointed with our stay there. We were both looking forward to a B&B experience since my mom has never been to one and I have been to several with great experiences. There was no one on the property for questions or to make us feel welcome. We knew that a cooked breakfast was not an option, but something, such as pre-wrapped muffins, would have been appreciated. Instead, we were given meal vouchers for a restaurant that was a little less than a mile walk from there. Other than the few hours in the morning, there was no access to anywhere in the house besides our room. We were unaware we would only have access to the ONE shared bathroom and that was unacceptable in case of a bathroom emergency. We were told that we could book a PAID tour of the property that we had already paid to stay in. Which, for the price we paid to stay there, should have been included. My mother and I will be leaving poor reviews and not recommending your establishment to others. This had lead us to leave 2 days early and check into a hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Patrick Bentivegna, Owner at The Daniels House Inn
Responded Jun 7, 2022
We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us at The Daniels House. We take great pride in our home and business and would like to make sure we understand why this was the case. We live on the property and our host and tour guide, Vijay, who is the one you had messaged for self check-in instructions, is on the property from 10am-5pm every day to answer questions and show guests around for no additional charge. We love to have our guests learn more about the history of Salem and also the home. It is true that we charge for our scheduled, formal tours, however when a guest stays in our home, they are always welcome to walk through the original kitchen and dining room which are in the 17th-century part of the home. Vijay sits in one of those two rooms each day and would have been delighted to tell you a little history of the home. The only times those doors are locked is when there is a tour in progress and then overnight for security. Also, I know Vijay sent you his direct phone number in the case that you have any questions. I wish you had contacted him or us directly to let us know you were unhappy. We always try to accommodate requests. In regards to breakfast, we do offer muffins or pastries, tea, coffee and hot chocolate in the dining room every morning in addition to a voucher for Red's Sandwich shop, which is only 0.4 miles from our property and has a fantastic breakfast menu. We did have a full house during your stay so all the other guest rooms were unavailable to view but each room does have access to one bathroom. Please feel free to call us to discuss this in further detail.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katie A wrote a review Oct 2020
New York City, New York40 contributions29 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited the Daniels House Bed and Breakfast in October, on our trip to visit historic Salem. Patrick was a wonderful host, making sure that we had everything we need to have a great stay.

The decor in our room felt historic, and we were fortunate enough to get a tour of the kitchen (with 17th century features!!)

Highly recommend to anyone looking for a lovely stay walking distance to everything Salem has to offer.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daydream31830874281 wrote a review Jun 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My friend and I did the "Inside the Daniels House" tour. Our tour guide, Vijay, was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. He was easily the best tour guide we had during our trip to Salem. He was a wonderful storyteller and you could tell he was interested in the information he was sharing, even after a full day of tours. Also loved how while this house was not technically a museum, it still was decorated with period typical items, including actual items from the house's our past. Also due to this, we were able to touch the decor and even sit at the table. They also provided period-typical teas and Vijay invited us to try each one if we wanted and carry our cup of tea around as we toured the house. At the end of the tour, Vijay even sat down with us and talked for even longer about Salem, it's history, local perspectives of the witch trials and the tourism it brings, and he even gave us recommendations of what to visit next. This tour was a perfect example of the fact that even if you have the perfect location, artifacts, and history, it's really the tour guide that makes the experience excellent!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WildthymeAZ wrote a review Jun 2022
Phoenix, Arizona412 contributions159 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We were on the 3rd story with a shared bathroom down the hall. There is NO continental breakfast, instead you get a voucher for the sandwich shop downtown... but no address for the shop! The bed springs squeaked at every turn, something "deluxe bedding" can't overcome. The dining room is for show only - in fact we were contacted numerous times to purchase a tour of the house before our arrival. Avoid this one!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Patrick Bentivegna, Owner at The Daniels House Inn
Responded Oct 17, 2023
Only two of our 7 guest rooms do share a bathroom and are quite often rented as a suite for families or small groups of friends.We suggest that anyone who is uncomfortable with sharing a bathroom look into any of our other rooms as all of the other rooms have private ensuite bathroom. We do advertise these details everywhere you can make a reservation, including our website and all 3rd party booking platforms. We were offering our guests vouchers to a wonderful local breakfast restaurant as a alternative due to COVID as we were unable to serve breakfast ourselves at that time. Under normal circumstances, we do have a continental breakfast in the wonderful 17th century dining room each day from 7:30am -10:00am. We rely on guests to communicate any issues and are sorry if the bed was squeaking. We would have been more than happy to tighten it up for you had we been notified. We do offer tours of the property daily and if guests would like to learn more about the house we extend a discount to all guests. If a guest would prefer, we are more than happy to spend some time with you to walk you through and explore a little of the house history and answer any of your questions for free. We have two tour guides/host that are available everyday and love to talk about the history of Salem, the house and the Daniels Family. The owners also live on site and are available most of the day. Otherwise, the dining room is not just for show. It is open daily from 7:30am to around 8pm. Sometimes, we do close the door if it is being cleaned or for certain events but ultimately, we love it when guests explore the property and learn the history. Though, we do lock it up at night for security reasons. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and wish you all the best.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ThePackedBag wrote a review Nov 2023
Sydney, Australia4,732 contributions1,357 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I love The Daniels House in Salem and was thrilled to see that they had extended their offering to include the Silsbee.

Beautifully refurbished but still feeling every minute of its history, this 'new' building is just gorgeous. I was very lucky to be able to get in for a one night stay and my only regret it is that it was just that.

I arrived quite late on a rainy evening but easily followed the instructions in the Guest App to know where to park and let myself into the building and my room, the Rajah.

Sitting under the old beams, the free standing tub in the bedroom was lovely to see but the bathroom won my heart! Stunning and pristine with a fantastic walk-in shower.

With everything you could want in a room: fridge, microwave, iron & board, hairdryer and TV; it was the four-poster king bed – with locally made mattress – and amazing pillows that made for a truly comfortable night.

To my delight, you go into the Inn for a well-provisioned continental breakfast. Everything you could want to start your day, including artisanal teas made especially for the Inn.

After breakfast it was a short stroll into downtown Salem to reacquaint myself with this lovely town.

Patrick and Adele are exceptional innkeepers and I can't wait to return!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Parking onsite is limited so book early and ask for a space.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lillyhammer1979 wrote a review Apr 2022
5 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from a long girls' weekend in Salem! This place is incredible! We stayed in the East India Room and it was so cozy and comfy after 10-12 miles of walking throughout Salem each day. The staff onsite were incredibly kind and courteous. I'll note we did have to share a bathroom with one other room on the 3rd floor, but never once was this an issue. I will most definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
grubin648 asked a question Oct 2023
Lake George, New York2 contributions5 helpful votes
Is the parking onsite or street
Answer from Andrew Broussard
Los Angeles, California6 contributions
A look on their site shows the room rates range between $179-$250 a night depending on the room type. This being Salem, where troves of people descend on the little New England town over Halloween weekend, it’s likely already sold out for this year. It’s like the Mardi Gras of October there, you usually need to book out well over a year in advance.
trishlynlovesireland asked a question Jun 2019
Pennsville, New Jersey18 contributions10 helpful votes
So you have anything available for October 17-19 2019? Thank you!! Patty D
Answer from Daniels House
Salem, Massachusetts
Hello Patty, I am the new owner of the Daniels House. We purchased the property last year and have been doing a full restoration which is now complete. We will be reopening for business in Jan 2020 under the new name "The Daniels House". Please feel free to contact me with any questions. Thank you Patrick
Michael J asked a question Oct 2018
Louisville, Kentucky44 contributions14 helpful votes
Are you pet friendly?
ThePackedBag wrote a tip Nov 2023
Sydney, Australia4,732 contributions1,357 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking onsite is limited so book early and ask for a space."
Read full review
Kathy W wrote a tip Apr 2023
Burlington, Kentucky15 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The "Inside the Daniel's House" tour takes place at the Daniel's House, which is also a B&B."
Read full review
Brogan S wrote a tip Jul 2022
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pack a smaller and lighter bag for your stay if you can, to save carrying something heavy upstairs."
Read full review
Christal Standen wrote a tip Jun 2022
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The great room had tons of space, and King size bed."
Read full review
Ashley G wrote a tip Mar 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The large bed room was amazing! Highly recommend splurging for this room."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Salem area.
PRICE RANGE
$199 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
stephen daniels house hotel salem
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsSalem
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE DANIELS HOUSE INN - Updated 2024 Prices & B&B Reviews (Salem, MA)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Daniels House Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Daniels House Inn?
Nearby attractions include Crow Haven Corner (0.2 miles), Pentagram (0.3 miles), and The House of the Seven Gables (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Daniels House Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Daniels House Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at The Daniels House Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Daniels House Inn?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Daniels House Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Finz Seafood & Grill- Salem, The Tavern, and Nathaniel's.
Is The Daniels House Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Salem.
Are there any historical sites close to The Daniels House Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The House of the Seven Gables (0.2 miles), Phillips House (0.9 miles), and Salem Maritime National Historic Site (0.08 miles).
All Salem HotelsSalem Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SalemHotels near The Daniels House Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars