We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Elizabeth Inn

204 S Scott Ave Downtown Tucson, Tucson, AZ 85701-1908
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (94)
Dining (30)
Room & Suite (26)


#9 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
1870s-era adobe Victorian 7 bedroom, 7 bathroom mansion, meticulously renovated. Quiet street in historic downtown Tucson 2 blocks from the new modern streetcar. Spacious suites with private bathrooms; period antiques; AC; free high-speed wireless, internet phone, satellite television with most channels and some business services; Outstanding gourmet breakfast menu offered to our guests at our partner restaurant, 5-Points, just a short few blocks away. Colorful gardens, pool, spa. Leisure or business. Free off-street parking. Walk to dining, shopping, museums, performing arts. One mile from University of Arizona.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Fax / photocopying
Baggage storage
Private check-in / check-out
Street parking
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Italian
422Reviews1Q+A88Room tips


Write a review and earn more badges
Traveler rating
  • 398
  • 13
  • 8
  • 3
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Big_Foof wrote a review Apr 2020
New York City, New York444 contributions87 helpful votes
This is a unique and lovely property and a perfect place to stay to explore downtown Tucson. It could be so much better if the owners/management put things right. As another review noted, they do not serve breakfast, so it is not a B&B. Putting aside that inconvenience, the vouchers provided may work okay at the AC Hilton, but are not quite sufficient for breakfast at 5 Points and I do not mean just for the gratuity. The room we stayed in was amply sized and the en suite bath was fine. However, I do question the housekeeping, and the bizarre policy of changing bedding only once per week or between guests is wholly unacceptable as well as unhygienic. I will also note that the sheets were badly pilled and worn, and should never have been used for paying guests. The bedding policy is also not disclosed on their website, and I only saw it on a small typewritten note in the bathroom. Oddly, the on-site attendant denied that was the policy, but why then is there a note to that effect in the bathroom. Another very bad policy is turning off nearly all of the lights at 10 pm. Returning from dinner one finds an unwelcoming dark building, which also requires negotiating three locks to enter. While I would prefer not to record these criticisms, I do so because the owners as well as future guests should be aware there are things that need attention and fixing.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Room Tip: There are good reasons to stay here, so if you choose to do so, make your preferences for changes...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
rwaldorf wrote a review Jan 2020
Tucson, Arizona20 contributions16 helpful votes
The Royal Elizabeth Inn, also known as Blenman House Inn, was once a favorite in downtown Tucson. Having stayed at the B&B in the past, it was always a pleasant experience. The recent stay was dreadful. It was a cold night, in the 30’s, and our drafty room was frigid. The thermostat was inoperable. The manager advised the entire inn heating and a/c was now controlled remotely by the owner so he was in no position to improve the heat. The inn now no longer serves breakfast (an oddity for a bed and BREAKFAST); we were provided with breakfast vouchers at an AC Marriott, a nearly ten minute walk away. The erosion of service was disappointing. At a minimum, the inn should change it’s website to reflect no onsite breakfast and other amenities commonly offered at most inns of this nature. We will never stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
rjhaardvark wrote a review Oct 2019
Long Beach, CA117 contributions38 helpful votes
Royal Elizabeth B&B is now known as Blenman Inn. We stayed here for the third time. Our Host was Alex, and he was wonderful. He offered help for many things. They no longer offer breakfast, but instead give you two vouchers for nearby restaurants. Each suggested Restaurant was excellent. The Inn is located in the downtown region. We stayed in the Patrick Ryan room
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
aquacow wrote a review Apr 2019
19 contributions5 helpful votes
Quiet, historic, relaxing inn, with a very nice pool and friendly staff. Great, convenient location, walking distance from restaurants and other sites. Nice tea selection; well-stocked bar. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Antipodeans_Abroad wrote a review Mar 2019
Kettering, United Kingdom239 contributions73 helpful votes
Posted as an update to my original review from 20 December 2018. I appreciate that no one wants to hear that their baby is not unanimously agreed to be beautiful, but the Royal Elizabeth, in responding to my original review, has achieved the dubious distinction of simultaneously appearing business-like - but not in a good way - and unprofessional: they comes off as both cold and formal, and uncaring and unempathetic. There's more than a hint of "buyer beware" and "not-my-fault". More importantly, from my perspective, the response infers ignorance or oversight on my part. Yes, it's something alright, but not what I'd expect nor something that I value when researching accommodation and determining viable options based on how an owner/operator responds to actual guest concerns and feedback. Firstly, the facts. I researched my Tucson options at the end of November 2017, and at this point, there was no indication either on the Royal Elizabeth's website or in the TripAdvisor reviews then posted that the breakfast arrangements had changed from the traditional B&B experience to that of being out-sourced and partly subsidized. I booked, directly with the Royal Elizabeth, on December 6 and followed-up on December 7 with - as requested - our expected arrival details and dietary requirement; these were acknowledged by the Royal Elizabeth on December 21. At no point were we proactively advised of the changed breakfast arrangements, and this is, by their own admission, in the immediate aftermath of the changes having been implemented. Indeed, it would have been fresh in their mind at this time and they should have made it a priority to promptly reach out to all future bookings, to update them, and provide the options of continuing with their arrangements or cancelling. I see now that they were responding, at the end of December, to a brace of negative reviews. Ultimately it was not until I made direct contact with the Royal Elizabeth - in May 2018, a few weeks before our arrival - that we were informed of the change. The lack of communication was acknowledged by one of the co-owners in an email response dated May 17. Although disappointed with the change of circumstances, and also by the lack of communication, it was by this time too late to make suitable alternative arrangements. I communicated these facts, and my thoughts, to the owners early in March, but I had no response. Again, not a great indication of customer service. I see that the Royal Elizabeth has now acknowledged that it's no longer accurately setting expectations to brand the establishment as a "Bed and Breakfast Inn"; now it's simply marketed as an "Inn". Although, even now, they are rather coy about breakfast arrangements, and I can find just two very cursory references to the fact that breakfast is out-sourced: "Delicious gourmet breakfast (at 5 Points Restaurant)" and "...gourmet breakfast at our partner Restaurant, 5 Points". To the uninitiated, this could easily be assumed to be an on-site or adjacent establishment, not a separate commercial entity located 10-minutes away. And as I pointed out in my original review: "...$20, when paying diner prices, doesn't get you the same sort of breakfast that you'd normally get at an up-market B&B: a couple ordering juice, coffee, fruit or cereal, toast or pastries, a hot dish, etc, plus a tip will very soon bust the $20 (per room) threshold." Indeed, a quick check of the 5 Point's menu/prices shows that a typical gourmet B&B breakfast spread will cost in the region of $60 (per couple), excluding tip. Considering that the Royal Elizabeth charged me $250/night, and I need to add yet more money to get a proper breakfast, this represents relatively poor value-for-money; there's plenty of well-rated inn-style accommodation available in Tucson in the range of $100-$150. Therefore, on the basis of the absence of a genuine B&B breakfast experience and a very disingenuous response from the owner, I'm downgrading my rating to Average, and my "acid test" - that is, would I return - changes to "no, I would not return".
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Response from royaliz, Owner at Royal Elizabeth Inn
Responded Mar 23, 2019
And we will happily wish you the best of luck at a different Inn on your next visit - THANKS!
Read more
$212 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
United StatesArizonaTucson
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Elizabeth Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Royal Elizabeth Inn?
Nearby attractions include Fox Theater (0.2 miles), Arizona Theater Company (0.10 miles), and Carnival of Illusion (0.04 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Elizabeth Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Royal Elizabeth Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Elizabeth Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Royal Elizabeth Inn?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Elizabeth Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include HUB Restaurant & Ice Creamery, Downtown Kitchen & Cocktails, and REILLY Craft Pizza & Drink.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royal Elizabeth Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Royal Elizabeth Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Tucson.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Royal Elizabeth Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Royal Elizabeth Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting A Mountain (Sentinel Peak) (1.4 miles), Barrio Historico (0.1 miles), and Postal History Foundation (1.2 miles).