We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel

5 Avenue of the Arts, Providence, RI 02903-1103
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Renaissance Hotels
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (568)
Room & Suite (200)
Dining (30)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 10/01/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Updated 10/01/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#3 of 15 hotels in Providence
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Get a feel for this iconic city at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel. Our hotel's building, dating back to the 1920s, once served as a Masonic Temple and has been renovated to offer a unique blend of historic architecture and contemporary amenities. Enjoy easy access to prominent Providence destinations, such as Brown University, the Providence Performing Arts Center and the Rhode Island School of Design from our hotel's convenient downtown location. Order a meal straight to your door with our convenient room service or head over to our signature restaurant for delicious American cuisine, paired with refreshing cocktails. Consider one of our nine venues for your upcoming event, which feature planners, AV equipment and on-site catering. Retire to one of our hotel's luxurious rooms and suites, adorned with sleek décor, complimentary Wi-Fi, mini-refrigerators and marble bathrooms. Whatever the reason for your travels, find a welcome reprieve from the every day at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bowling offsite
Tennis court offsite
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Paid private parking nearby
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Vending machine
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
1,525Reviews18Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 892
  • 457
  • 104
  • 45
  • 27
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Anthony wrote a review Nov 2020
North Attleboro, Massachusetts3 contributions
The hotel was very nice, clean and the service was great. There were 3 things I didn't like. First, when we arrived in the room, the thermostat was set to 65 degrees. It was very cold, especially for my wife. Second, although I expect that occupancy in the hotel was low, they gave me a room facing the highway instead of facing the statehouse or downtown. Besides missing the view, the room was very noisy because the highway road noise never stops. Lastly, I think this hotel should have free valet parking. If you are paying attention, the valet simply parks your car in the parking lot very close to the entrance. I could easily have self parked the car to achieve the same impact. It almost seems funny that they have a hotel car valet charge on the bill. If you remove these 3 things, we had a very pleasant stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: I'd try specifying a room that is not on the highway side of the building.
See more room tips
Response from Hotel Management, Other at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Responded Nov 18, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay at the Renaissance Providence Downtown. We are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed the service and cleanliness of the hotel during your stay. We are sorry to hear that you had a few experiences that are not up to our standards and can assure you that this is not the norm. Unfortunately, due to occupancies we are not always able to accommodate state house requests. During future visits we do have rates available online that will guarantee you this view when reserved at the time of booking. We look forward to hosting you again on future trips to the Providence area.
Read more
Rene Becerra wrote a review Oct 2020
Warren, Pennsylvania222 contributions60 helpful votes
Folk's my son and I decided to take a road trip to Rhode Island for the first time and decided to stay here. Our stay was excellent! this hotel is located across the capital and it is about a block and a half away walking distance from the mall. The mall it self is open and it is safe and clean to shop there just make sure you wear your mask. The other thing is that this hotel is walking distance to many bar and pubs near by, so my son and I walkaround and bar hopped around just to check out the scene and must say we were surprised as to how the streets were nice and quiet and clean and there were plenty of folk's out there having a good and safe time, so swing by this hotel, stay there, go shopping and happy drinking and eating!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
1 Helpful vote
Response from Hotel Management, Other at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Responded Oct 28, 2020
Rene B, Thank you for taking the time to provide our team with feedback from your recent visit to the Renaissance Providence Downtown. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your first trip to Rhode Island and stay with us. We are so pleased to have many wonderful bars and restaurants in the nearby area for our guests to enjoy. We also have our amazing in house restaurant Public that is now open Tuesday thru Saturday for dinner and for breakfast service on the weekends. Give us a try the next time your in town. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to serving you again on future trips to the Rhode Island area.
Read more
spin4lyf wrote a review Sep 2020
Boca Raton, Florida196 contributions74 helpful votes
We visited Providence to drop my son off at school in Woonsocket. We upgraded to a suite with a view of the capital. AMAZING view, beautiful room. The only issue was it was a handicapped room and we were not told. We love the location, the bar downstairs, and the room was clean which is super important to me, especially now. We will stay here from now on when we visit our son. If I had to complain about one thing, the front desk staff could be a little friendlier, especially since we plan to revisit.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Sleep Quality
Response from Hotel Management, Other at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Responded Oct 28, 2020
spin4lyf, Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to provide our team with feedback from your recent stay. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed the upgrade our front office team was able to accommodate you with and that the view from the room was amazing. We have shared your comments about service with our management team but can assure you that this is not the norm. We look forward to serving you again on future trips to Providence, RI.
Read more
KellyGrambau wrote a review Mar 2020
Forest, Virginia270 contributions53 helpful votes
I was there visiting a friend in a neighboring town, and really liked the location. It was about 20 mins from the airport and right beside the big mall. Walking distance to a lot. Hotel was clean and people were nice.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Trip120392 wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
Management and service were so poor at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel that we left without even checking in. We chose this hotel in part because of the convenience of breakfast, beverages, and snacks in the club lounge. An email confirmation from the hotel specifically promised “Guaranteed: Club Lounge Access”. However, we were told upon Saturday check-in that the club lounge is closed on weekends. Routinely, not just this particular weekend. The loyalty points or small credit towards the on-site restaurant offered as compensation did not ease our feeling of being deliberately deceived by management. If the club room is routinely closed on weekends, that should be noted when a weekend reservation is made. The last straw was when, at 4 pm check-in time, we were informed that our room was still occupied by the prior guest. We were offered a nearby, not-as-nice room to wait in until the room we had booked was vacated and cleaned. Eager to be settled after a long day of touring, and with no certainty of when our room would actually be available, we cancelled the entire reservation and went home. This poor experience will make me wary of booking any Marriott hotel in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Response from KimberlyGreene, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Responded Mar 9, 2020
Dear Trip120392, Thank you for your recent reservation at the Renaissance Providence Hotel. Let me begin by apologizing for the misinformation provided to you regarding hours of operation for the Club Lounge. Following our brand standards, our Club Lounge is open from Sunday evening to Friday morning. As you mentioned, for the weekend mornings, we do provide vouchers for breakfast in our restaurant. Because the Club Lounge is not open on the weekends, we have removed our Club Level rooms from inventory to avoid disappointing any guests who are expecting the services of the Club Lounge. I see that you reserved a King Suite for your stay last weekend. Upon looking into your reservation in more detail, it appears that you identified a flaw in how our suites are listed online. I don’t want to burden you with all of the details, but suffice it to say, we have one suite (Room 626) that has Club Lounge access featured in the description, simply based on the location on the 6th Floor. We are looking into a resolution for this matter and appreciate you bringing it to our attention. I can assure you that we had no intention to deceive our guests. Marriott Elite Platinum and above members are guaranteed a 4PM late check-out as membership benefit. Because we only have four King Suites, occasionally there can be a slight delay while we turnover the guest room. Thank you again for bringing this matter to our attention. Please let me know if there is anything further I may assist with. Regards, Kim
Read more
$182 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
renaissance providence, providence renaissance
United StatesRhode IslandProvidenceDowntown Providence
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Rhode Island State House (0.09 miles), Providence Place Mall (0.2 miles), and Providence Train Station (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Capital Grille, The Cheesecake Factory, and Jacky's Waterplace and Sushi Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Providence.
Does Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Stephen Hopkins House (0.6 miles), Providence Athenæum (0.6 miles), and Slater Mill Museum (3.7 miles).