We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Providence

Save
Share
139 Mathewson St Westminster Street, Providence, RI 02903-1806
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$111
View Deal
Travelocity
Hotels.com
$111
View Deal
Expedia.com$111
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (217)
Room & Suite (146)
Dining (20)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 07/28/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Providence
Updated 07/28/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 15 hotels in Providence
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Hotel Providence is located in downtown Providence’s arts and theater district. This 4-diamond boutique hotel boasts an artistic atmosphere, an onsite restaurant, and the city’s best location – within walking distance to shops, restaurants, art galleries, and theaters. We all have a passion…discover yours at Hotel Providence.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Vending machine
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Bathrobes
Seating area
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Portuguese
1,518Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 883
  • 392
  • 129
  • 65
  • 50
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Barack Obama wrote a review Yesterday
Newark, New Jersey25 contributions10 helpful votes
I had a gift in my room when I arrived, a disgusting and large hairball in the shower. The A/C was on in the winter with the thermostat set at 54 degrees. Coffee maker, but no coffee cups. Parking the car and filling out the online form/payment is a process, as is the “COVID” form upon check in (ironic since Rhode Island has had the highest per capita COViD cases this winter...who are they kidding?). With all the COVID hysteria and social justice over-reaction Providence is an empty and depressing city, unfortunately Hotel Providence isn’t making the experience any better. If this is the best hotel Providence has to offer, I’d hate to think what the other hotels are like.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Donna L wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
Very long story - but we changed our daughter's wedding venue to HP in August. Wedding was held on11.28.20, and the change was a blessing! The staff, food, and accommodations were FANTASTIC! 10 stars!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Stay in a suite, it's well worth it! We loved the literature themed rooms!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Thomas Anderson, General Manager at Hotel Providence
Responded 1 week ago
We are glad to hear we were able to "crush" your daughters recent wedding! Kate and her team do an excellent job always going above and beyond for our guests. The whole Hotel Providence team thanks you for holding the wedding here and trusting us with such an important day. Working with the bride and groom during these times to make sure they still have a special and memorable day is so important to us! We look forward to seeing you soon! Sincerely, Thomas Anderson
Read more
Helen6105 wrote a review Dec 2020
Westerly, Rhode Island25 contributions3 helpful votes
We attended a wedding at Hotel Providence and stayed two nights. The hotel couldn’t have been a better place to gather with family and friends to celebrate the happy occasion. The staff was super accommodating and the rooms were very comfortable. The lobby is gorgeous and not at all cookie cutter. The wedding was perfect and it all was magical. I can’t WAIT to return for a long weekend to take advantage of all the great places around the hotel - Providence Performing Arts Center, Trinity Rep, Federal Hill and so many amazing restaurants - all within walking distance!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Thomas Anderson, General Manager at Hotel Providence
Responded Dec 9, 2020
As stated in your title, We here at Hotel Providence try to make every stay a " memorable stay" . The hotel goes above and beyond to make sure each guest does not only have a pleasant stay but a true experience, one they will remember every time they think of Providence. Our beautiful hotel and stellar service make us the #1 hotel in Providence and we are proud to hold this title. Although the hotel would not be what it is if not for its amazing surroundings. We are just around the corner from PPAC and Trinity Rep as well as walking distance to the famous Federal Hill ( Italian food sounds amazing on this cold winter day ) We look forward to seeing you soon, the city awaits you! Sincerely, Thomas Anderson
Read more
James wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
I stayed here this year for a wedding and what an absolutely amazing place. The hospitality they provided was amazing. I was in the wedding party and arrived before check-in because we had things to do and they made accommodations. The wedding was also at Hotel Providence and it was the highlight of my year! Amazing venue and food! I love this place!!! Will def be staying here every time I’m in providence!!! Spectacular hotel, spectacular service.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Thomas Anderson, General Manager at Hotel Providence
Responded Dec 9, 2020
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience with us here at Hotel Providence. The hotel is a beautiful place to host a wedding paired with our stellar service. We try to meet every guest's request and are happy to hear we were able to check you in early to enjoy our wonderful city and all it has to offer. We hope to see you soon Sincerely, Thomas Anderson
Read more
ZIK wrote a review Oct 2020
Tel Aviv, Israel97 contributions36 helpful votes
What could otherwise be an intriguing scene from a CSI TV show, made me feel very uncomfortable getting into bed and trying to get some sleep. Did they really neglect to change the beddings?? I wonder. The paper thin walls, and management's decision to assign guests to adjacent rooms (even though the hotel was probably 1/4 full) - also did not contribute to my pleasant sleep. I might add that the computers and printers in the business center didn't work, which created quite a hassle for me. The hotel is beautiful, and would particularly appeal to travelers seeking old school charm. Yet, the shortcoming are too many. For an equivalent price, I would much rather stay at the Hilton Homewood Suites.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Thomas Anderson, General Manager at Hotel Providence
Responded Dec 9, 2020
We are disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have shared these comments with both our engineering and housekeeping department so we can improve on the items mentioned above Sincerely, Thomas Anderson
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$211 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel providence
LOCATION
United StatesRhode IslandProvidenceDowntown Providence
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Providence
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Providence?
Nearby attractions include The Great Escape Room (0.2 miles), Providence Performing Arts Center (0.1 miles), and Dunkin' Donuts Center (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Providence?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Providence?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Providence?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Providence?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Providence?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gracie's, Ellie's, and The Capital Grille.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Providence?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Hotel Providence located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.10 miles away from the center of Providence.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Providence?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Providence?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Providence offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.