We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hotel Providence

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Providence
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

901 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 877: English reviews
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

DO NOT CHOOSE THIS HOTEL. DO NOT CHOOSE THIS HOTEL. DO NOT CHOOSE THIS HOTEL. I repeat. 1. If you are traveling with infants, please skip this hotel because they do NOT accommodate kids. They told us they were going to provide us 2 cribs but they didn't. Their bed is super high, it's extremely unsafe to put an infant... More 

Helpful?
Thank acupofwarmmilk
klajoie, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

Dear acupofwarmmilk, I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We have discussed with the city about them moving the meals they serve from the church to another location and this is still in process. I'm very sorry that you were treated with an undesirable level of service from Hotel Providence and I have addressed these issues... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We stay at this hotel this weekend, what a mistake. I wish I would have read all the bad reviews before booking. As you can see management responds to them, but nothing has changed. The hotel is stationed near some type of building that draws tons of homeless people around the entry. They'll follow you asking for money when you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elliot J
klajoie, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

Dear Elliot J, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Regarding the homeless the city does provide meals for them on Friday nights and Sunday mornings at the church near our hotel. We have been working with the city continuously regarding this matter. I apologize if this made you feel uncomfortable and the hotel is receiving... More 

Bedford
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed one night to see a show. Our room was spacious and luxurious. Very clean. The hotel staff were exceptionally helpful. While we did not eat at the restaurant, I was tempted when we walked past the gorgeous courtyard and heard the live music. Lovely experience

Helpful?
Thank Kate D
Kelly L, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

Dear Kate D, Thank you for your great review on your recent stay at Hotel Providence. We take pride and we are delighted you had a lovely experience. We have jazz friday nights in the lounge or the courtyard depending on the weather. We hope should your travels bring you back to the area that Hotel Providence will again be... More 

Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

9/11/2016 I recently stayed at Hotel Providence and everything was great! From the valet service - Kevin was polite and very professional obtaining our vehicle. This young man is quick on his feet and seems to enjoy his job which shows in his attitude to making the exchange pleasant. The hotel staff was great and our check in and check... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank moodysoul34
klajoie, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

Dear moodysoul34, Thank your for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We love to hear back from our guests and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and that my team at Hotel Providence took such great care of you. I have shared your comments with them and we all hope you will be back to visit soon. Fall is... More 

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Four months in advance of our stay, I reserved a room for my family of 4 at Hotel Providence. It was recommended by a friend who told me what a great hotel it is. I canceled my reservation at the Biltmore on her advice. When we arrived to check in at 5:00 p.m., we were given a room, but quickly... More 

Helpful?
Thank MaryMom312
Matt C, Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

Hi MaryMom312, Thank you for submitting your review. I sincerely apologize that we were unable to honor your reservation. It appears that we were oversold on room types that day but that is no excuse. I am glad that we were able to secure you a room at one of our neighboring hotels in the city. I hope that next... More 

Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel wasn't bad...I liked the room it was small but nice. The one thing I really like was that you had to enter a little vestibule to get to your door I thought that was great so no one could bother you. The staff was nice...I've had nicer but nothing to complain about. The neighborhood has come a long... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrsRI
Kelly L, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

Dear MrsRI, Thank you for the review from your recent stay with us at Hotel Providence. So glad you enjoyed the new shops in the area since your last visit to the area. I don't know if you have ever been to any of the Waterfire events but if you have not you should come back again. It is a... More 

Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had stayed at this Hotel a few years ago. We were happy then, and we were happy with our recent stay as well. The staff at the front desk are extremely helpful. We explained that we had reservations for dinner, and they called ahead and had a cab waiting outside the hotel for us 1/2 hour in advance of... More 

Helpful?
Thank zick24
Kelly L, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

Dear zick24, What a great review !! Thank you so much for returning to our hotel and we are happy you once again enjoyed your stay at Hotel Providence. We will be doing some new upgrades in the late fall so we hope on your next visit you will be able to enjoy our upgraded amenities in the room and... More 

Chester, Maryland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great service by everyone ! Butt when I got to take a shower there was a clump of hair in the shower stall. :(( There was a smell in the elevator. I was not being told about the 28$ DOLLAR FEE to park. also once you walk out the door you are in another world.

Helpful?
Thank karennNEW
Kelly L, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

Dear KarennNew, Thank you for the great review regarding the great service by my staff at the hotel but I do apologize for cleanliness of your bathroom. That is unacceptable and it has been brought to the attention of the executive housekeeper and to the attendant who was assigned to the room. I have also reminded the front desk staff... More 

Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Only reason I didn't give five stars is because parking was a little pricey and the bed is firmer than I like... but that's a personal preference. Otherwise the room was perfect. Staff was very helpful and attentive. Really beautiful area of Providence with lots of historic buildings and tons of character. Would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Philip W
Kelly L, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

Dear Philip W, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am happy my team took great care of you and you enjoyed our historical city. If you have not been to a Waterfire event in the city that is a must see!! We look forward to your next visit!! Regards, Kelly Lajoie More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel was very nice and clean. Staff was great....just outside the door, everything changes. Although it looks quaint in the area, you are surrounded with beggars and pan handlers. There is a convenience store right outside and some very unappealing characters just hang around outside. The homeless not only are not only laying down outside, they will approach you for... More 

Helpful?
Thank garrahyd
klajoie, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

Dear garrahyd, We are so happy you enjoyed the hotel and the staff took great care of you. Thank you for feedback regarding outside of the hotel and we have addressed this with the city and we are working with the local authorities. We have never had any issues at the hotel nor do we want to so I think... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,019 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (141)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
0:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (825)
Viewed
Amenities (69)
Viewed
Nathaniel Hawthorne Suite (104)
Viewed
Dining (110)
Viewed
Roger Williams Suite (142)
Viewed
Standard King (110)
Viewed
Superior King (84)
Viewed
Superior Two Bed (93)
Viewed
The Hotel (113)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 stars 2,004 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#6 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 stars 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Providence is nestled in the heart of downtown Providence's Arts and Theatre district. Located mere blocks from boutique shopping, galleries and perfect little cafes/restaurants, Hotel Providence is itself a place where the arts are celebrated and where finding new passions (or reviving sleeping ones) are celebrated! We all have a passion...discover yours at Hotel Providence! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Providence

Address: 139 Mathewson St, Westminster Street, Providence, RI 02903-1806
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Price Range: $194 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Providence 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Providence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Providence
#2 Business Hotel in Providence
#4 Luxury Hotel in Providence
#7 Family Hotel in Providence
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay