We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
139 Mathewson St Westminster Street, Providence, RI 02903-1806
5 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$168
View deal
Expedia.com$168
Hotels.com$168
Travelocity$168
Priceline$168
Traveluro$173
Hurb$209
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (235)
Room & Suite (157)
Dining (21)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 03/25/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Providence
Updated 03/25/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 16 hotels in Providence
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.1
Hotel Providence is located in downtown Providence’s arts and theater district. This 4-diamond boutique hotel boasts an artistic atmosphere, an onsite restaurant, and the city’s best location – within walking distance to shops, restaurants, art galleries, and theaters. We all have a passion…discover yours at Hotel Providence.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Vending machine
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Bathrobes
Seating area
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Portuguese
1553Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 906
  • 394
  • 132
  • 68
  • 53
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
cheryl n wrote a review Jun 27
1 contribution
My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hotel Providence Sunday night. The Hotel is lovely but, the staff was fantastic Jim Beller, the Valet Joe and the adorable front desk girl Lavia who made us laugh were great. Jim gave us many recommendations for dinner we ate at an Italian restaurant and the food was fabulous. He’s just a wealth of information thank you again for a wonderful stay the room was cozy and very clean I especially loved the shower 🚿 Cheryl & Bob
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Narendra D wrote a review Jun 16
1 contribution
I came to Providence for work. I told the front desk that I am a light sleeper. They put me in a room by the elevator where the noise woke me up 4-6x every night. There were some noisy events going on outside, and when I asked for a room on a higher floor, they said "Sorry, this is the highest floor available for your room type." Don't stay here if you are a light sleeper! (also the Wifi is miserably slow - as in dialup internet slow).
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Thomas Anderson, General Manager at Hotel Providence
Responded 6 days ago
Hello, We are saddened to hear you were unable to get a good night's sleep well staying at the hotel. During your stay, Providence was hosting PVD fest, an art and music festival held throughout the city with various stages and a large influx of people. Your stay took place on a sold-out weekend and in our small boutique hotel, Our suites are only on certain floors which only allowed us to put you on the third floor. We hope if you come to Providence again you will give Hotel Providence another chance, in a quieter room this time. Sincerely Thomas Anderson General Manager
Read more
Damon W wrote a review Jun 14
1 contribution
I’m not typically a guy to do review but never in my 9 years of traveling have i ever had such great service very knowledgeable referencing the area. I would literally only stay here if I’m in town don’t waste your time or money anywhere else
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Thomas Anderson, General Manager at Hotel Providence
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for your recent review of Hotel Providence. Michael is a new addition to our team and is already making a huge impact. We hope you enjoyed your time well you were in Rhode Islands capital. We look forward to seeing you during your next stay and getting the chance to meet more of our other stellar employees! Sincerely, Thomas Anderson
Read more
MarVal218 wrote a review May 2022
Friendswood, Texas54 contributions10 helpful votes
When arriving to the hotel the gentleman checking me in was amazing. Probably the best part of the stay in the hotel. Nice hotel papers thin walls. Didn’t get any sleep the first night because guests above me kept walking around until 4:30 am. I had to wake up at 5 AM in order to make it into the job site. Management did contact me later on during the day and gave me a white noise machine and asked me if I wanted air plugs. I cannot sleep with air plugs. The machine did help somewhat but it was not the perfect solution. Getting my car was a challenge as well. After returning back to the hotel, from work, I requested my car and found it strange that both valet attendants where driving in it? How many people does it take to get a car? Why it took both of them in my car, no clue? One of them sitting in the passenger seat where I had my safety vest. That was on the floor board after they both got out. This morning I called the front desk to get my car. Started calling at 5:30 in the morning I had to call for over 20 minutes before Jason the front desk attendant answered. I let him know that I was not happy about having to call for 20 minutes, there was no, I’m sorry, the only thing I got was, well I’m here by myself. Because of not getting my car in a timely manner, after letting them know the night before, I have to leave early, I was unable to get any breakfast and barely made it to work. Now that I’m at work I find it strange that my pocket notepad for my safety vest is missing. It was there yesterday when I took it off and put it on the passenger side seat. Great location, check in was nice, the rest of it subpar. Not worth the money.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Thomas Anderson, General Manager at Hotel Providence
Responded May 10, 2022
We are happy to hear you enjoyed our location as well as the staff member who checked you in but saddened to hear about the rest of your stay. We try our best to help with noise complaints and are happy we were able to give you one of our new white noise machines. As we let you know, the guest who spent the first night above you checked out which we hoped was the root of the issue but its unfortunate to hear the second guest you had the same issue with. After contacting our third-party valet company we learned that on Friday night they were training a new employee. This is why there were two valets that exited your car upon arrival to the valet lane. We mentioned to them your comments on the movement of your safety vest. The hotel has invested in Valet software as well as a texting platform to allow our guests to communicate with us via Text. Looking into this a little more it looks like you had requested the car via valet portal which prompted our employee to retrieve your car. Unfortunately, this left the desk unattended for your phone. We apologize for the inconvenience. We hope if you visit the beautiful Ocean State you will consider giving Hotel Providence another chance Sincerely, Thomas Anderson General Manager
Read more
veronika wrote a review May 2022
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
We had a wonderful experience in the Hotel Providence. The lovely suit and very nice staff made our stay exceptional. The beautiful city of Providence with amazing art projects was an unexpected highlight of our vacation which we enjoyed a lot.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Thomas Anderson, General Manager at Hotel Providence
Responded May 10, 2022
Providence is home to some of New England's most unique art projects. The hotel's location is close to many of the painted murals in the city, some of which you can see from our rooms. Our spacious suites allow for a relaxing stay. We are glad our staff was helpful during your stay! Sincerely, Thomas Anderson General Manager
Read more
chrissydmedeiros wrote a review May 2022
Pawtucket, Rhode Island1 contribution
Staying at hotel providence for my wedding at the Grace Church was the star choice I could have ever made. The views and the decor were amazing and completely fit our aesthetic. Everyone who works there is amazing and extremely accommodating! Thank you! I did hear from some guests that the mattresses could be better, and I agree they could be. But overall a beautiful stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Thomas Anderson, General Manager at Hotel Providence
Responded May 10, 2022
We are delighted to hear we could be a part of your special day! The hotel's location to Grace Church can not be beat . The hotel's staff goes above and beyond for our guests and happy to hear this was your experience! The hotel's timeless decor makes for the perfect wedding hotel! Congratulations on your marriage! Sincerely, Thomas Anderson General Manager
Read more
Lindsey B wrote a review Apr 2022
Austin, Texas67 contributions39 helpful votes
We stayed in a one bedroom suite at Hotel Providence. It was such a great space and location. I tend to sleep late so my husband was able to get up and enjoy a book and cup of coffee on the couch in the living room while I slept. The staff was so friendly and it was a great home base for getting around Providence and not too far if you want to take a day trip to Newport.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Thomas Anderson, General Manager at Hotel Providence
Responded May 10, 2022
We are happy to hear Hotel Providence was the perfect location for your recent visit to Rhode Island's Capital. Our suite's living rooms are the perfect space for relaxing with a book. The hotel's location makes it easy to walk to all of Providence's main attractions and is just a short drive away from Rhode Islands' famous coastline. Sincerely, Thomas Anderson General Manager
Read more
Skarate72 wrote a review Apr 2022
Lake Orion, Michigan44 contributions52 helpful votes
We stayed one night when my daughter was visiting Brown. Our corner room had two queen beds and the bathroom was large with a marble floor. We were a little leery when they had us leave our car parked in front of the hotel all night but everything was ok. The restaurant was closed on a Monday morning but there is a Dunkin Donuts just around the corner. The staff was nice and the hotel was pet friendly. The closest grassy area to take your dog is up the street about a half a block. It worked out just fine. We would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Thomas Anderson, General Manager at Hotel Providence
Responded Apr 19, 2022
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our stay at hotel providence while visiting your daughter! Being located in the heart of the city makes for an easy walk to Brown University as well as some of Providence's finest restaurants. There are many cafes just outside the hotel. We hope you found our doggy map of all the greenery and pet-friendly restaurants to be helpful. We look forward to seeing you during your next stay - and be sure to bring your furry friend so you can purchase a brand new Hotel Providence bandana! Sincerely, Thomas Anderson
Read more
riveredge42 wrote a review Mar 2022
A very Welcoming and Friendly staff, beginning with James the doormanThey are happy to help you with anything. Our room was lovely and beyond clean. The location was perfect. We will definitely stay there again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Thomas Anderson, General Manager at Hotel Providence
Responded Apr 6, 2022
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us at Hotel Providence. Jim our Bellman is one of many amazing employees at the hotel and I am happy to hear he made an impression on you. Our location paired with our uniquely decorated and squeaky clean rooms makes Hotel Providence an excellent choice when visiting Providence. Jim and the rest of the staff look forward to hosting you during your next trip! Sincerely, Thomas Anderson
Read more
Katie wrote a review Mar 2022
3 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed for 3 nights and everything was excellent. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff - especially Paul - were friendly, attentive, and helpful. We couldn’t have asked for a better introduction to Providence and plan to return in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Thomas Anderson, General Manager at Hotel Providence
Responded Apr 12, 2022
We are pleased to hear your first stay with us in Providence was a memorable one. Providence has so much to do and all in walking distance from our hotel! Our housekeeping manager does a fantastic job making sure every room is in order for our guests. Paul along with the rest of the front desk go above and beyond for our guests to make sure every stay is perfect. We look forward to seeing you in the near future! Sincerely, Thomas Anderson
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$217 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel providence
LOCATION
United StatesRhode IslandProvidenceDowntown Providence
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Providence
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Providence?
Nearby attractions include The Great Escape Room (0.2 miles), Providence Performing Arts Center (0.1 miles), and Dunkin' Donuts Center (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Providence?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Providence?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Providence?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Providence?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Providence?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gracie's, The Capital Grille, and Circe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Providence?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Hotel Providence located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.10 miles away from the center of Providence.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Providence?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Providence offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Providence?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Portuguese.