We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Providence

Save
Share
139 Mathewson St Westminster Street, Providence, RI 02903-1806
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$214
$207
View Deal
SAVE $7
Expedia.com
Snaptravel
Hurb$207
Agoda.com$214
Hotels.com$207
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (216)
Room & Suite (138)
Dining (19)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 07/28/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Providence
Updated 07/28/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 15 hotels in Providence
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Hotel Providence is nestled in the heart of downtown Providence's Arts and Theatre district. Located mere blocks from boutique shopping, galleries and perfect little cafes/restaurants, Hotel Providence is itself a place where the arts are celebrated and where finding new passions (or reviving sleeping ones) are celebrated! We all have a passion...discover yours at Hotel Providence!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Vending machine
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Bathrobes
Seating area
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Portuguese
1,515Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 880
  • 392
  • 129
  • 65
  • 49
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
ZIK wrote a review Oct 2020
Tel Aviv, Israel97 contributions16 helpful votes
What could otherwise be an intriguing scene from a CSI TV show, made me feel very uncomfortable getting into bed and trying to get some sleep. Did they really neglect to change the beddings?? I wonder. The paper thin walls, and management's decision to assign guests to adjacent rooms (even though the hotel was probably 1/4 full) - also did not contribute to my pleasant sleep. I might add that the computers and printers in the business center didn't work, which created quite a hassle for me. The hotel is beautiful, and would particularly appeal to travelers seeking old school charm. Yet, the shortcoming are too many. For an equivalent price, I would much rather stay at the Hilton Homewood Suites.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Chris Foley wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution5 helpful votes
For our first visit to Providence, our family chose Hotel Providence over similarly priced hotels because of its location and thinking a small hotel would be better during the pandemic. We were really excited to visit a historic area. While the location was good, several staff members complained about not having enough cleaning people on staff and left the front desk several times. I have never witnessed such an immature and unwelcoming hotel greeter as the young woman "E". I first heard her on the phone and then got to experience her aggressive and angry manner in person. She clearly didn't like her job or the people who came to check-in. Everyone can have a bad day or say a thing or too not kind, but I left quite shaken for a while and definitely didn't feel comfortable asking if she knew of a place to eat (it was in the afternoon and we'd been in the car since early morning). My family also felt the same way, and we couldn't wait for our stay to be over at the Providence. On a positive note, the view from our window was nice, looking across the yard to an old historic church. The room was clean enough and there was plenty of hot water. There weren't any accessible outlets close to the bed but the desk lamp had phone charging outlets at the base. Also, we could not get the TV to work besides the weather station. It seemed that there should be a second remote to switch input, but we could not find it and did not want to try the front desk for an unpleasant experience. Based on my experience with the hotel greeter, E, I would not go back to the Providence Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: It looks like a corner room would be best in terms of light.
See more room tips
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
HillieHoliday wrote a review Mar 2020
New York City, New York7 contributions7 helpful votes
A King Suite seemed wonderful but we could hear our neighbor cough. Yikes. Room service: Sour oatmeal and sour milk with our coffee? Otherwise the hotel staff seemed perfectly friendly and accommodating.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from staciamiele, Manager at Hotel Providence
Responded Jun 9, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We regret we were not able to provide you with the quality of food you expected for your room service order. We are constantly working to improve our hotel services and your comments will help us improve in this area. We hope you will consider staying with us the next time you are in Providence. Sincerely, Stacia
Read more
LovetoTravel wrote a review Mar 2020
Princeton, New Jersey1 contribution1 helpful vote
Very nice hotel and wonderful staff! They helped to return a necklace left behind before we even asked them to do so. We would definitely stay again if visiting Providence! The food was also good from our experience with breakfast.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from staciamiele, Manager at Hotel Providence
Responded Jun 9, 2020
Thank you for sharing such a great review about your recent stay at Hotel Providence! We are thrilled to hear that our attentive staff were able to return your necklace to you so quickly and glad you enjoyed breakfast. We hope to have a chance to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely, Stacia
Read more
Gypsgris wrote a review Feb 2020
Poughkeepsie, New York473 contributions214 helpful votes
We went for a family affair to Providence and the hotel of choice was this one. Unfortunately they were nearly fully booked and so we had to take a suite which was a bit pricey. But it was nice, although we didn't need all that space for just one night. We enjoyed the bathroom with a nice deep bathtub and a great shower. There were nice pictures and all the amenities one expects (fridge, coffee maker, etc.) This hotel is perfectly located, near many restaurants and the theater. The hotel offers valet parking for 30 bucks and while there is limited street parking it obviously is the easiest choice.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg N, Director of Sales at Hotel Providence
Responded Mar 5, 2020
Dear Gypsgris - Thank you for your recent stay! I'm so glad you had the opportunity to experience one of our suites. Our 16 author suites are inspired by New England authors and feature some of their works, so hopefully you had the chance to curl up with a good book during your stay. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon! Regards, Greg Nawrocki Director of Sales
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$211 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel providence
LOCATION
United StatesRhode IslandProvidenceDowntown Providence
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Providence
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Providence?
Nearby attractions include The Great Escape Room (0.2 miles), Providence Performing Arts Center (0.1 miles), and Dunkin' Donuts Center (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Providence?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Providence?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Providence?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Providence?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Providence?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gracie's, Ellie's, and The Capital Grille.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Providence?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Hotel Providence located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.10 miles away from the center of Providence.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Providence?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Providence?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Providence offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.