We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Curly Redwood Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Curly Redwood Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

409 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Curly Redwood Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 398: English reviews
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed September 25, 2016

This is our second time staying here. The place is always A-1 maintained and clean. We loved it there.Stayed there about 12 years ago and when we traveled in the area again that was what we instantly thought of. Dependable service and right by everything. The variety of rooms accommodated our whole party's needs. I love wood and to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
Lees Summit
Reviewed September 19, 2016

My wife and I stayed at the CRL while visiting Redwoods NP. I found the desk staff to be quite friendly and helpful. I asked for dinner recommendations and she a book of menus she laid out. She had a map with each spot marked and a list of which were the favorites. She also gave me her favorite dishes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nathatt
Reviewed September 13, 2016

Perfect place for you boomers. Built in the 50's and I'm guessing not much has been changed since then. The room was squeeky clean and spacious. Reservations and check in were very friendly. Negatives were: so-so beds, awful pillows, and thin scratchy towels, but it made you remember vacations when you were a kid, and that is what we knew...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichiganMimi4
Reviewed September 10, 2016 via mobile

Excellent service with healthy & fresh food choices. Fish & chips are great! Easy access & easy to find. They use local markets for fresh fruit, vegetables & seafood. You'll enjoy this restaurant, great place to stop for breakfast, lunch or dinner when traveling through or staying in Crescent City.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clarksheryn
crlodge701, General Manager at Curly Redwood Lodge, responded to this review

I believe you have us mixed up with a restaurant!

Reviewed August 31, 2016 via mobile

The outside looked okay, but the staff was so extremely rude from the moment we stepped into the lobby. We did not stay. For being in the hospitality industry, these people really need to figure out what hospitality means and should really get out of the hospitality business

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicki C
crlodge701, General Manager at Curly Redwood Lodge, responded to this review

How can we address your complaint when you don’t explain? Our front desk staff has been employed for many years and will continue for many years to come. There are always two sides to the story!

Waterford, Wisconsin
Reviewed August 31, 2016

My husband had been complaining a bit about how all the hotels on our roadtrip were beginning to look alike to him. So I searched TripAdvisor for something different--more like when we were kids. This place was a home run! We had such a good time here remembering our motel exploits when we were kids. We also thoroughly enjoyed speaking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hillary C
Reviewed August 26, 2016 via mobile

Lodge? Are you kidding me!? This is an old motel with the worst musty odor imaginable! The size of the room was great but the dirty musty odor throughout it is terrible! The beds are as old as the motel and you sink into the middle. The man next door is a talker and the walls are paper thin. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monica S
crlodge701, General Manager at Curly Redwood Lodge, responded to this review

No, Curly Redwood Lodge. That's what they named it back in the late 50s! Why would be kidding! Our rooms are NOT musty, they are aired out daily after rented. Our beds are changed out every four years with top end Serta Beds and I rotate the mattresses twice a year. Sorry for your unpleasant stay.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
6 reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2016 via mobile

Great price at $77 per night for a clean room. However just beware they do not have hair dryers in the rooms do bring your own!! I asked for one at the lobby and they said they had just checked the last one out. So I'm just out of luck for tonight and in the morning!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
ohio
Reviewed August 23, 2016

This hotel took me back to feeling like a kid again. It's very retro decorated but the decorations are in extremely good condition. It's like going back in time. Room was clean , price was great and the staff was very friendly! My only complaint was that there were no coffee makers in the rooms. The hotel lobby does have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wboydwjb
Astoria, New York
Reviewed August 15, 2016 via mobile

Mid-century style motel in pristine shape and clean. This place was cleaner and in better shape than all of the modern motels we stayed in along the way. Price was very reasonable and the people who run it were very nice. If I were to stay in Crescent City again, this is the place I'd stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimlevendos
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

137 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (123)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
0.6 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
889 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#13 of 18 in Crescent City
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 18 in Crescent City
280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
16.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built from one curly redwood tree that produced 57,000 board feet of lumber! The clean, comfortable lodge is Northern California's most unique redwood lodge on America's Wild Rivers Coast ... more   less 

Additional Information about Curly Redwood Lodge

Address: 701 Redwood Highway S, Crescent City, CA 95531
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Price Range: $56 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Curly Redwood Hotel Crescent City
Curly Redwood Crescent City
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Crescent City
#5 Family Hotel in Crescent City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Curly Redwood Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“If you stay on first floor, you can park your vehicle by the front door of your room.”
 of 5 bubbles thomaskT173TD, 1 week ago | Read review
“Choosing a room is way too personal a choice for me to be assigning preferences. I suspect they would try to accommodate people.”
 of 5 bubbles L7284TWbilla, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Since the seals are loud all night, choose rooms away from the road.”
 of 5 bubbles amlcounseling, Oct 23, 2016 | Read review
“We worried about being near the ice machine, but it didn't bother us.”
 of 5 bubbles MaryM404, Sep 25, 2016 | Read review
“You can park right outside your room when on the first floor”
 of 5 bubbles HillaryC319, Aug 31, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question