We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge Old Town

Traveler (89)
Room & Suite (140)
Pool & Beach (20)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#10 of 143 hotels in Albuquerque
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Property amenities
Pool
Free parking
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Airport transportation
Breakfast Available
Heated pool
Multilingual Staff
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Quiet

Location

Full view
83Good for walkers
Grade: 83 out of 100
22Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
19Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
970Reviews
12Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 552
  • 307
  • 72
  • 22
  • 17
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This is the worst hotel I have ever visited. I have traveled to 18 countries and my daughter played travel soft ball for 9 years, hotels every weekend. I stayed here on a 3 week road trip with my sister and our daughters. We called in advance to make sure that there would be parking for our car and the little pop up camper we were pulling. We were assured that there would be plenty of space. Nope. Woman at the front desk told us to park it next door at the gas station... uh no, we didn’t want to have it get towed. From there it went from bad to worse. When we pulled in there were quite a few unsavory individuals leaving on the upper balconies, watching us. It gave us the creeps as we were all ladies. The woman at check in asked for a $100 deposit, and let us know that if we used a credit card it would be a while before it could be returned to the card. She suggested we pay the deposit in cash. I did as she suggested. The room was fine, very average as you would expect in an older hotel. The air conditioning did not work, so we opened the window. We checked out the pool, nothing great. The sidewalk and pool deck was filthy. Our girls feet were gross upon returning to the room. The youngest stepped on the bathroom rug ( towel). Leaving a few dirt smudges. Nothing major. The next morning the same woman was at the front desk and refused to refund our entire deposit based upon the smudged towel. The entire lobby was filled with people ( not enough seating for breakfast) and she made a huge scene by holding up our used towels and showing the imaginary dirt on them. It really was quite appalling. I have uploaded a picture of the dirtiest towel. It’s nothing that couldn’t have come out with a cold water rinse. I had booked 2 rooms at a later date in this hotel but after this event I cancelled them. I will never stay in this location again, and I would certainly like to warn the public of these tactics. ***Cheap rooms aren’t a deal if they keep your deposit without good cause!!!** If you stay there, at least pay the deposit with a credit card so that you can dispute any absurd charges. Better yet, just stay somewhere else. P.s. Old town IS down the road ( a busy highway) and NOT a safe or enjoyable place to walk to from this hotel.
Read more
Amazing! I cannot say enough about this place. Becky at the front desk was so nice. We were offered posole as an evening meal option upon arrival. It was simple but so good and saved us from figuring out dinner before our walking tour commenced. The room was really nice with a quiet a/c and a little loveseat. The breakfast was crazy! Not only a waffle maker, yogurt and muffins but a full breakfast bar. I’m talking bacon, sausage, eggs, hash browns and biscuits with gravy. Is this place real? I want to move here. To this hotel. Also, like an 8 min walk to Old Town, which is adorable. We had so many not great stays on this road trip that this was like a breath of fresh air. It really felt like money well spent.
Read more
I've stayed at this location twice and both times, I have been very happy with my choice. The location cannot be beat if you are looking for a place within walking distance to Old Town. It's also close to many great restaurants: Monte Carlo Steakhouse, Mac's La Sierra Coffee Shop and Garcia's. It's also walking distance to the Aquarium.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Elena M, Owner at Econo Lodge Old Town
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a nice comment about your recent stay with us, and thank you for visiting our location more than once! Yes the old town plaza, aquarium, botanical gardens and the short drive to the zoo can make it a fun stay. We hope you were able to also enjoy the variety of hot breakfast offered and daily Pozole soup offered in the afternoons. Thank you again and we would love to welcome you back for another stay with us!
Read more
This is a hotel which is inexpensive to stay at and where the staff efforts make up for limitations of the facility. In particular, there is no elevator and no exercise room. Most rooms have exterior corridors but certain ones (201 to 208) have a corridor with rooms across from one another, so it's close to being interior. As I said though, the staff goes out of their way to improve the stay. They were able to accommodate my preference for a room, which happens to be second floor. Also our cat was acceptable. My wife and I were given water bottles and a chocolate bar with my name on the wrapper, a first for me on a hotel visit. The room had a new air conditioning unit, which replaced the one next to the door. Chances are all the rooms have the same setup. Instead of carpet the room had a wood floor, which it seems to me to be more sanitary. The fridge in the room was larger than normal. As another reviewer has noted, the beds were very firm, which may not appeal to most people. Also the pillows are about half size. I would sooner have two standard size rather than three smaller ones. Finally, the breakfast was better than what one would expect from a budget hotel.
Read more
Response from Elena M, Owner at Econo Lodge Old Town
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Traveler, We at Econo Lodge hotel in old town, thank you for your time to leave a review about your recent stay with us! We are glad to hear you were provided with a warm and friendly welcome, we are always here to help find a solution to any concerns. We are happy that we were able to accommodate you and your cat and offer you a pet friendly room. It is great to know that the water bottles and chocolate bars, with your name on it, went a long way. Thank you for being a choice member! Yes the air conditioning unit is a nice benefit and yes the hard wood floors in all the rooms truly helps keep rooms clean and nice. We do apologize about the firm bed our improvements will be made soon. The variety of hot and cold breakfast is a great way to start off the mornings and hope you were able to try our Pozole soup that we offer daily in the afternoons. Thank you again for your visit and we would love to welcome you back in the future!
Read more
My husband and I stayed here one night on a road trip. It is a great value for the price. The hotel is in a good location very close to Old Town. The employees were very friendly and helpful. They had soup in the afternoon and a nice breakfast with hot items. My only complaint is the bed was very hard and the pillows were terrible. I would stay here again if passing through.
Read more
Response from Elena M, Owner at Econo Lodge Old Town
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Traveler, We thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay with us. How great it is to hear that you and your husband enjoyed the area and nearby attractions such as the plaza, aquarium, botanical gardens and a short drive to the zoo. We apologize for any concerns you had about the bedding and pillows, we do plan an making improvements. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the variety of cold and hot breakfast we offer. Than you again for visiting. We look forward to a future stay!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$64 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
econolodge old townecono lodge albuquerquealbuquerque econo lodge
LOCATION
United StatesNew MexicoAlbuquerque
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing