We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town

Save
Share
800 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-2007
Lowest prices for your stay
Travelocity
Hotels.com
FindHotel
$161
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/23/22
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Expedia.com$179
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (646)
Room & Suite (411)
Dining (85)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#14 of 152 hotels in Albuquerque
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The Hotel Albuquerque offers New Mexican hospitality in with Albuquerque sophistication. Adorned with a historic touch of contemporary furnishings inside its territorial-style exterior, the hotel is a one-of-a-kind experience. Comfort is melded with New Mexican elegance in every one of the 188 guest rooms. The hotel offers restaurants, bars and social venues on the property to satisfy the hungry, the high-class, and the ultra-chic. As a landmark to the city, the hotel sits quaintly in the historic Old Town area, where guests can conveniently walk to several attractions, parks, museums, and shops. After one experience at the Hotel Albuquerque, you’ll feel like calling Albuquerque your home."Hotels supporting cultural causes."
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Chapel / shrine
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
VIP room facilities
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
2272Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,247
  • 642
  • 225
  • 90
  • 68
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
caminorey wrote a review Oct 11
Vancouver, Washington188 contributions76 helpful votes
old albuquerque hotel- very nice hotel-rooms and views awesome, blackout blinds , spacious rooms on site dining and cocktails, attentive staff, walking distance to old town and sawmill market -easy drive to downtown or nob hill districts
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Easy on off freeway access , valet parking or plenty of free parking
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Harney, Other at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
Responded 6 days ago
We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this kind review. We truly appreciate your support!
Read more
ellyn2001 wrote a review Oct 9
Saint Louis7 contributions4 helpful votes
I recently returned from a one week stay at the beautiful Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town. The location was fabulous, just a six dollar Uber ride from the Amtrak station and a two block walk to the fun Old Town shopping area. The hotel is located right across the street from the vibrant Sawmill Market, which is a great spot to people watch, have a cocktail, buy flowers, jewelry, and chocolates, hear a band, and enjoy breakfast, lunch and/or dinner. It is a short walk to the lovely ABQ Botanical Gardens/Aquarium, and a very inexpensive Uber ride to the wonderful ABQ Zoo. The hotel is beautifully decorated, Immaculately clean (especially during the pandemic) and the grounds are just gorgeous. I saw three weddings in one day in the gorgeous gardens there. The bedding was very impressive; several oversized plush down pillows made it feel like sleeping on a cloud, and it was the most comfortable mattress I’ve ever slept on in a hotel. The room had a nice Keurig coffee maker with incredibly delicious coffee… So tasty that I had to order some when I got home. Speaking of tasty, the restaurant on premises; Gardunos, made the best margaritas in town. I tried all of them on the menu, and enclosed a picture of the coconut one to show how fabulous it was. I ate at the hotel three or four nights and at the Sawmill Market the other nights. The hotel was lacking a breakfast restaurant, which would’ve made it perfect, yet merely walking across the side street to Sawmill Market yielded delicious pastries and wonderful coffee. The hotel has a fabulous pool and hot tub, with towel service and coolers of icy cold bottles of water. Although the outdoor bar was not open during my visit, everybody at the pool bought delicious house margaritas in the restaurant and took them “to go” to the pool. I have saved one of the best reasons to stay at the Hotel Albuquerque for closing my review. Mariah Bogle, the lead guest host, went out of her way, over and beyond good customer service, to make my vacation all that it was! Mariah took several calls from me when I was trying to decide on which hotel to book and patiently answered all of my questions~ always with a smile in her voice. She was wonderful with customers, so friendly and outgoing, and greeted guests by name as they walked by the front desk. I had a lovely time in a beautiful hotel, met new friends and experienced solo traveling. Because of Mariah and my great adventure at Hotel Albuquerque, I can’t wait to try their property in Santa Fe! I was very impressed with the Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Harney, Other at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your incredibly kind review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us and we truly appreciate your support. We look forward to caring for you at our property in Santa Fe as well.
Read more
Agingpine wrote a review Oct 5
LaGrange, Georgia38 contributions37 helpful votes
This is a great place to stay. It has large rooms and a large bathroom. The location is walking distance from Old Town. The restaurant serves tasty dishes and the bar is convenient. Outside eating is also available and has really nice atmosphere. The staff is friendly and helpful. i would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Harney, Other at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
Responded 1 week ago
We are ecstatic to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us! Thank you so much for your kind review and support. It truly means the world to us! We look forward to caring for you again in the future.
Read more
Slainte221 wrote a review Oct 2
1 contribution
The only reason I stayed at Hotel Albuquerque was because it was one of the hotels my friend reserved as part of her wedding block. The bride was told the wedding block rate for guests would be $176/night. I could only reserve under the block via phone, not online, and when I called, the woman I spoke with told me the rate was $187/night, but didn't have an explanation for the difference. A week before the wedding, the bride called me and asked why I hadn't reserved through the wedding block, as she did not see my name on the list. She said she would make sure I was added, but there was never any change, and honestly, I did not want my friend to fret over the extra $11/night charge, when she had so much else going on. Still unclear whether or not I actually got the wedding rate, but didn't think a total of $11/night was worth the hassle of complaining to the front desk. During my stay, I noticed that my cc had already been billed for $520. Curious as to how 187x2 ($374) suddenly added up to $520, I asked the front desk when I checked out. The woman told me there was a $50 incidental fee, that would be removed at check-out, bringing the total bill down to $470. When I got the breakdown of the bill, the rooms did average out to $187.50/night, but there were all these extra taxes that I did not expect, in addition to a ridiculous $20 amenity fee per night. When asked about the amenity fee, I was told that it covered the cost of hotel parking, the pool, wi-fi, and other services. Not only did I not have a car, and not use the pool while I was there (couldn't even find it, and was not given any sort of map or info at check-in, online, or in the room), but 1 of the 2 elevators was broken half the time I was there. The woman at the desk said she was hoping the hotel would be getting rid of that fee soon, because it's confusing for people, but she didn't offer to do anything about it, or see about taking the fee off. On top of all this, I asked the front desk to hold my bag for a couple hours after check out, so I could walk around town before heading to the airport. When I came back less than an hour later to grab my bag, the staff, brought me 3 different bags before finding mine...even though they had each bag marked with a bag check number to match guests' ticket. A hotel stay that was supposed to cost $352 total + tax (176/night), ended up costing an extra $150 for "amenities" I didn't use, and mediocre service. On top of everything else, my room overlooked the courtyard the first night, which was hosting another wedding, whose music lasted until at least 10 pm. I couldn't even turn my TV up loud enough to drown it out. Not exactly the peaceful, relaxing stay I would expect from a place that charges an "amenity" fee because they're "more of a resort than hotel"--which was what the front desk actually told me. Save yourself the hassle, and stay at the Best Western across the street--I had some friends there, and their stay was quieter, cheaper, and actually honored the wedding block rate they worked out with the bride.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Harney, Other at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your experience. We sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay with us. We are very sorry for the lack of communication about the amenity fee and for the noise on the first night of your stay. We understand your frustration and we will share your concerns with our staff as we are committed to improving. We are so sorry that your stay with us was not the best, but we would love another opportunity to impress you with our improvements in the future.
Read more
Tom W wrote a review Sep 2021
12 contributions3 helpful votes
Having never been to Albuquerque before, my pre-trip research indicated that Hotel Albuquerque had a longstanding reputation as one of the finest hotels in the city. That reputation was perhaps deserved in 1981, but it's 2021 and this hotel is way past its prime. They charge a very premium price (more than $400/night after fees and taxes in my case), comparable to what I paid for a suite at the Waldorf-Astoria in NYC four years ago, but the Hotel Albuquerque is closer to a Motel 6 in quality. The room was very dated, with worn-out carpeting, rust stains in the tub, and thin towels. The "balcony" didn't have a chair; it was little more than a small perch you could stand on for some fresh air. More importantly, the room lacked soundproofing. Not only was the DJ from the outdoor wedding reception (in the courtyard just outside my room) much louder than the TV in my room, the shouting from the drunken attendees continued well past midnight. The next night, the barking dog in an adjacent room and the constant slamming of the doors woke me up every hour or so. I went there to relax, but left exhausted. I will add that the hotel staff was very friendly and cheerful, with two exceptions. When I complained about the noise and asked for a different room on my first night, the woman at front desk declined and said they were 95% full. Upon checkout a different woman at the front desk asked how my stay was. I said "It wasn't very good," to which she replied "That's too bad" and went about her business. Why bother asking if you don't care? But again, the other staff was wonderful even if the hotel itself was awful. In summary, I would not recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Harney, Other at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
Responded 2 weeks ago
We are deeply sorry that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. We apologize that your experience was not as restful as we would have desired and that the room seemed outdated. We never desire for a guest to be disturbed by other guests and we make every effort to provide the best care that we can for all reservations. We apologize that due to a full house we were unable to assist you further and move you to another room. We hope you can forgive us as we are very sincerely sorry for the disturbance you experienced. We will work with our team to see how we can better handle situations such as this moving forward as we are committed to improving. We again are very sorry for your experience but we hope you can give us another chance to make it up to you in the future.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$101 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
at old town albuquerque, at old town hotel albuquerque, hotel albuquerque old town
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sheraton Old Town Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesNew MexicoAlbuquerque
NUMBER OF ROOMS
188
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town?
Nearby attractions include New Mexico Museum of Natural History and Science (0.3 miles), Albuquerque Museum (0.2 miles), and San Felipe de Neri Church (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town?
Conveniently located restaurants include D.H. Lescombes Winery & Bistro, High Noon Restaurant & Saloon, and Church Street Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Petroglyph National Monument (4.7 miles), West Mesa (2.7 miles), and The Whittlesey House (2.1 miles).
Does Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.