We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Econo Lodge Downtown

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Econo Lodge Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 86: English reviews
Start your review of Econo Lodge Downtown
 Click to rate
Tyrone, New Mexico
HOTEL’S FAVORITE REVIEW
Reviewed 6 days ago

My family and I came up from the southern part of NM for a family medical emergency and needed a place close to Lovelace Medical Center. What we got was Econo Lodge Downtown a few blocks away and it made our lives easier. The rooms are clean, stocked with a mini fridge, microwave, coffeepot and hairdryer (thank goodness because I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amberm367
About Hotel's Favorite Review
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear amberm367, Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey and for rating our hotel so highly! I am so glad that you found our hotel to be clean and convenient and that you enjoyed the five star accommodations and hospitality that we strive to show to each guest, during every stay. Your recommendation is greatly...

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Standard motel with good value for the money and hot breakfast. Big clean room with tv, bath tub and coffee machine. Walkable distance to many restaurants and bars along central avenue. Only lowlight was the receptionist, was not exactly friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anky H
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Anky H, We strive to give you a great experience, and I am pleased to learn that we were able to meet your expectations in many ways; though I regret to hear that you weren't thoroughly impressed with our receptionist. We appreciate your rating and are very glad that this annoyance didn't detract too much from your overall experience...

Reviewed February 1, 2017 via mobile

I was concerned about staying here because of the negative reviews and because I travel alone. I only booked one night at first to give it a try. Completely unfounded. I stayed here my second night as well. The staff was amazing, rooms very clean and safe, great price, walking distance to the best of downtown, and the waffles were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katelyn H
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Katelyn H, Thank you so much for sharing your review and giving us an honest look at the guest experience in our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the value and the convenient location of our hotel! We are delighted by your compliments, rating and review of our high housekeeping and hospitality standards. Your five stars review is...

Reviewed January 16, 2017 via mobile

Well I finally got in the area it's bad if you ever come to Albuquerque do not stay at the Econo Lodge on Central Avenue address 817. Boy did I make a mistake this is where all the drug addicts hang out I saw one person almost get in a fight with the manager as I was walking to my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ronny m
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear ronny m, Thank you for completing our guest satisfaction survey and letting us know about your recent experience at our hotel. We are working to address all of the issues that you mentioned and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience. You can absolutely rest assured that your voice is important to us and that...

Las Cruces, New Mexico
Reviewed January 7, 2017

This is an older hotel but very clean. I was impressed with the cleanliness of the room. The bed was a little hard for me and the pillows a bit soft. My son loved the bed and pillows. The continental breakfast wasn't that good not enough choices. They did have Direct TV which is always a plus. The location is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Anthony M, Thank you so much for sharing your review and giving us an honest look at the guest experience in our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the value and the convenient location of our hotel! We are delighted by your compliments, rating and review of our high housekeeping standards. Your thorough review is greatly appreciated! We...

Reviewed January 6, 2017

Staff were friendly but the place was a little bit of a dive. Plenty of strange people around to keep you amused if your into that. Was a little run down but serviceable for the price. Get better pillows the ones provided were terrible. Shower was also made for short people.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing the details about your recent visit. We appreciate that you've taken the time to share the ways that we have impressed you and the ways that we can improve we want you to know that the matters you mentioned are being addressed to our management. We want you to know that your voice is of utmost...

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed October 10, 2016

Homeless people and panhandlers roam the parking lot begging for money. When reported to night manager he told me to "Knock them out"! Rooms stink, window screens ripped, shower floors filthy with nowhere to place soap or shampoo. Employees allowed a homeless drug addict (lady) into lobby to serve herself coffee and grab the very food we were being served....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lvaces4
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear lvaces4, Thank you for reporting this incident you had in the hotel. We are already making reports about this so the management will be informed by this news. We are very sorry about your disappointment but rest assured, your concerns will be highly appreciated to better our services to our dear customers. We hope you can consider us again...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed October 3, 2016

If you are looking for an inexpensive place to crash, this is clean and convenient. Do not expect luxury at this price. I was traveling solo and felt safe staying here - lots of retirees seem to stay here. The staff were very pleasant. Breakfast was fine.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OzTex
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear OzTex, Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey and for rating our hotel so highly! I am so glad that you found our hotel to be clean and convenient and that you enjoyed the value and hospitality that we strive to show to each guest, during every stay. We hope you'll return and enjoy...

Lenoir City, Tennessee
Reviewed September 30, 2016

Friendly check-in. Walked to eating establishments in the evening. TV didn't work. Had to ask for more washcloths. (Only had one in room). Was disappointed that breakfast didn't start till 7. Minimal breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Diane W, Thank you for this review of our hotel. I am terribly sorry to hear of your disappointment with our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Know that your voice is important to us and that we are working hard to address these issues and improve...

Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewed September 15, 2016 via mobile

We needed a place to stay for a couple of nights without spending a fortune and decided on the Econo Lodge downtown. The property's location off of Interstate 25 and not far from where the I-25 intersects with I-40 was a big plus for us. We found the room to be clean (there was a tiny bit of mold in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ARodriguezP
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear ARodriguezP, Thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with our services, amenities and our high standards of cleanliness and comfort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast! We always aim to give you the best value for your money and we are so happy to know that our efforts are well received. We...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Huning Highland Historic District
Knights Inn Downtown Albuquerque
Knights Inn Downtown Albuquerque
#110 of 144 in Albuquerque
66 reviews
Albuquerque Original Townsite
The Hotel Blue
The Hotel Blue
#73 of 144 in Albuquerque
355 reviews
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#31 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Econo Lodge Old Town
#11 of 144 in Albuquerque
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Econo Lodge Downtown Albuquerque hotel near the Albuquerque Convention CenterThe Econo Lodge® Downtown is conveniently located less than one mile from the Albuquerque Convention Center and the University of New Mexico. This Albuquerque, NM hotel is close to popular attractions like the Albuquerque Aquarium, the Rio Grande Zoo, historic Old Town Albuquerque and the Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta.The Albuquerque International Sunport airport is three miles away. The surrounding area offers a variety of entertainment venues, shopping centers and eateries. The hotel is close to several restaurants and cocktail lounges, including the Artichoke Café, McDonald's, Milton's Family Restaurant and Coaches Sports Grill.Superior hotel accommodations include:Free continental breakfastFree local callsFree coffeeOutdoor heated poolPet-friendly hotel (stay fee applies)This Albuquerque, NM hotel also provides business travelers with additional conveniences like large work desks and access to fax services.All spacious guest rooms come equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, hair dryers and coffee makers. Some rooms feature balconies. Non-smoking and handicap accessible rooms can be requested.Ample parking is provided on the premises and can accommodate most vehicles and trucks.The Econo Lodge Downtown offers ideal accommodations, friendly customer service and affordable rates, with easy access to all Albuquerque, New Mexico attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Address: 817 Central Ave NE, Albuquerque, NM 87102-3605
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Price Range: $54 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Albuquerque
Albuquerque Econo Lodge
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Albuquerque
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Get rooms near the back part of the pool, it's quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles amberm367, 6 days ago | Read review
“Ask for rear facing room”
 of 5 bubbles danielbU4182BW, Jan 6, 2017 | Read review
“At busy intersection, choose room away from office in front”
 of 5 bubbles 269dianew, Sep 30, 2016 | Read review
“Noise is an issue. Right on a freeway and near a hospital. Choose a room at the back by the pool for lowest noise level.”
 of 5 bubbles candacem227, Sep 2, 2016 | Read review
“If you do need a handicap room or adjoining rooms, just ask.”
 of 5 bubbles RTorres456, Jul 23, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question