We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge

Hotel website
Hotel deals
900 Winfield Road, Petersburg, VA 23803
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Econo Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 64: English reviews
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Unexpected, last-minute trip back to my birthplace to assist in family crisis. Didn't spend a lot of time searching properties as I thought I'd only be there a couple of days. This Econo Lodge is WAY, WAY below any other Choice hotel branded properties I've ever utilized. Budget is one thing; cheap is another. Location: Not too bad. Just off... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ron H
econolodgefortlee, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We thank you for you review and we are sorry your five days of lodging was not tolerable. We strive to improve on each guest experience. Thank you for choosing a choice property and will continue to stay with the brand. Thank You Darlise M. Byers GM More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It is one thing to be a budget hotel, but this place is quite another. Filthy bathroom with urine on the toilet and hair everywhere. I showered with flip flops on. Even if a place is cheap, it should be clean. Never again and I urge anyone to avoid this place. There are plenty of others for a few dollars... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claire D
econolodgefortlee, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I could smell mildew before I opened the door. The bathroom was filthy and the sink and tub had been painted and were peeling. Door didn't lock or open properly. Doors open out and property is next to a rather sketchy trailer park, I would not have felt safe staying there alone without a handgun. The office was even dank... More 

Helpful?
Thank Georgia H
econolodgefortlee, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank You for your review. We are sorry for any problems you had. The area is quite safe. Regards Darlise M. Byers GM More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2016 via mobile

The only room available was a smoking room but we took it. We were dropping off our son to AIT at Fort Lee. The room had bugs, smelled so bad of smoke my asthma started to act up. The breakfast was very good. Good if it's a last minute stay

Helpful?
Thank Angelica C
econolodgefortlee, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016 via mobile

We were looking for a hotel to spend a night in on our way to Florida coming from New Jersey with a good value. Yet, we found it not a clean place to stay in, dirty old bathroom, narrow room, stink odors, very thin harsh lenins. make it your last choice.

Helpful?
1 Thank Reham AbdelSala... H
econolodgefortlee, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for... More 

Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2016

I stayed here twice in the past two weeks for a visit to the nearby battlefield and historical sites. I paid approximately $40 each time and got a darn good value for my money. The room was quiet,clean and spacious. The grounds are a bit run down and the room was a little faded, but the customer service was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jagdpanther
econolodgefortlee, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We thank you for writing your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. If you need lodging in the near future we are here to help. Regards Darlise M. Byers GM More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2016 via mobile

Just left the hotel at 11pm after an attempted scam on my credit card by the clerk. After booking with trip advisor, we checked in, clerk ran my card. Gave me the approval slip. Five minutes after getting into the room the clerk calls saying my card didn't properly go thru and she needs me back down. I get back... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jessica R
econolodgefortlee, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your review. The information you provided was forwarded to choice hotels. We do apologize for any inconvenience. Regards Darlise M. Byers GM More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2016

I was in town for the weekend for work and this was the best price I could find. Hotel is dated but clean. Neighboring to a mobile home park with random people walking around the perimeter. Hotel staff was accommodating. Breakfast was cereal, orange juice, pastries, and pancakes. Only complaints were 1. the wifi was very poor quality 2. My... More 

Helpful?
Thank Megan Brook C
econolodgefortlee, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank You for your review. We are glad our rate could accomodate you. We hope we can accomodate you again in the future. Thank You Darlise M. Byers GM More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2016

This hotel is dated and just basic overnight lodging. I wouldn't recommend staying for more than a night as a place to rest up for a long journey. I arrived late and left early, this place was just a rest stop for me.

Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
econolodgefortlee, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We do appreciate you taking the time to write your review. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. Thank You Darlise m. Byers GM More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2016 via mobile

Clean room, clean bedsheet, comfortable bed, clean carpet, no stains, clean bathtub, no shampoo so bring your own. Free wifi, TV, microwave, fridge, free parking, free breakfast but we woke up at 9 so we didn't have the chance to taste it, quiet neighborhood, and most importantly it is very close to I-95 so if you're driving long distance this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eliconda A
econolodgefortlee, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Thank you also for your compliments. We look forward to you lodging with us again if you are in the area. Thank You Darlise M. Byers GM More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petersburg
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 19 in Petersburg
3.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Petersburg
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Petersburg - Ft. Lee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee
9.5 mi away
Econo Lodge South
Econo Lodge South
#10 of 19 in Petersburg
3.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Petersburg / Dinwiddie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
EconoLodge Fort Lee is minutes from the Fort Lee Virginia military facility. With easy access to Interstate 95 and a close proximity to a number of area attractions, EconoLodge Fort Lee is the ideal discount hotel for all tourists, families, military soldiers, contractors, senior citizens, buses, and truckers. After an exciting day of activity, relax at EconoLodge Fort Lee where our casual hotel boasts a refreshing blend of classic southern hospitality where friendly service awaits you!Start your day off with hot coffee, juice, waffles, pastries, cereals and more! Enjoy a copy of our complimentary USA Today newspaper. Feel free to ask our friendly staff for information on events, tourist destinations, shopping, and dining. For those interested in browsing the web, bring your laptop and enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi that goes to every room. Cool off with a dip in our outdoor pool in the summer.Stop in, enjoy a peaceful night’s rest and enjoy the serenity! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 900 Winfield Road, Petersburg, VA 23803
Location: United States > Virginia > Petersburg
Price Range: $44 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Petersburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay