We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Avenues Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Avenues Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Avenues Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 121: English reviews
Hoover, Alabama
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My daughter and I were staying in SLC just one night during a road trip through the West. Neither of us had stayed in a hostel before, and we chose it to save money. The Avenues is in a beautiful residential neighborhood that is not too far from downtown. We did not do anything in town, but I did take...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank TravelingWriter
Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

As my husband was hit by a car when we travelled in slc, we lived in the hostel for almost 20 days after we discharged from the hospital. The people here are so nice and always willing to give us help at anytime. And the hostel is definitely in a great location. It takes about 6 minutes to go to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nlightstx
Toledo, Ohio
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I have stayed in quite a few hostels and this may be one of the nicest. My husband and I shared a private room with bathroom, fridge, microwave, and satellite TV. I was amazed at the cleanliness of the room and hostel. Some breakfast items are provided in the kitchen with a help yourself attitude. The common area is comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ali G
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed here on our first night after arriving in Salt Lake City. When the taxi drove us to the hostel we were a bit afraid that we were far from the Salt Lake City attractions, but this was not the case. The hostel is located in a quiet neighborhood, with a grocery store a few blocks away. Temple Square...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kamukwam
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed March 5, 2012

The Avenues Hostel is located very close to Downtown SLC with multiple bus lines/stops nearby. The hostel staff is knowledgeable about anything to do with the city and Utah in general. The hostel is located in the historic Avenues district of SLC which is one of the safest areas of the city. A continental breakfast is provided daily and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TriplD
salt lake city
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I stayed here for a few days thinking it would be a good place to go skiing, but what a depressing place, old decor and poor facilities. Then there is no atmosphere here and the only people who are staying here are people who cannot find normal accommodation, there is no rules about length of stay, or from being out...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jason H
SaltLakeCityHostel, Owner at The Avenues Hostel, responded to this review

Unfortunately, we have to ask some people to leave because they are rude, bothering other guests and don't want to abide the rules at the hostel. This particular guest was calling names and using "F" words all the time. Did not abide the rules here. We had to ask him to leave. He did threaten to leave bad comments on...

Fauske, Norway
Reviewed February 19, 2012

lived here for 8 days, those who work here are super friendly and help you with everything. kitchen look worn out, but is very clean and has everything you need. the room we had was like a hotel room, TV, refrigerator and microwave. next winter I shall return and come to live here without a doubt

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank steinmo82
Larkspur, Colorado
Reviewed November 19, 2011

This hostel is good, but there are a few things to be aware of before you choose to stay. I stayed to visit downtown SLC. However, the hostel is about a 15-20 minute walk to the Temple Square area of the city. There are buses but they are not frequent and still require walking a few blocks for the stop...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank alchemista
SaltLakeCityHostel, Owner at The Avenues Hostel, responded to this review

Sorry that the guest felt it was not very convenient to the Temple Square. We think that our hostel is located in a very nice neighborhood--the safest part of the town. We are less that one mile away from Temple Square. Two buses (#3 and $209) will take you anywhere you want to go in Salt Lake City. We are...

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed for two nights in a family room, with a double bed and bunk beds for the kids. There was a small kitchen and tiny bathroom, which was not what we were expecting, but was good news. Everything seemed clean, but it was all a bit old and worn. Beds were squeaky but quite comfortable. We booked via Hostelworld,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TalbotTravellers
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed October 22, 2011

How great time to stay in the Avenues hostel at 107 F street,downtown SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH in OCTOBER 2011!!!! I'm sure u cannot find such a nice room with unbeatable price in downtown at any hostels,but the Avenues.The room is so nice and clean.Beds are made with white clean sheets .The bathroom is cleaned very well. U can use...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank huy t
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
1.3 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,715 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
0.8 mi away
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Salt Lake City Marriott City Cen...
#17 of 75 in Salt Lake City
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,402 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Near all Salt Lake's major attractions, Ski Resorts, Convention Center:Temple Square with the world famous Tabernacle Choir, the Genealogical Library, Pioneer Museum, City Creek center, Kennecott Copper Mine, Red Butte Garden, Governors Mansion, University of Utah, and the Great Salt Lake.One mile from AMTRAK, Greyhound, & the Visitors Center.On Bus Lines, free parking, free internet, free breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Avenues Hostel

Address: 107 F St, Salt Lake City, UT 84103-2601
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Price Range: $28 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Avenues Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Avenues Hotel Salt Lake City
The Avenues Hostel Salt Lake City, Utah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Avenues Hostel staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Avenues Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Private room over dorm room”
rebeccajaynegreen, Sep 21, 2016 | Read review
“top floor private room a good value”
flymetoaustralia, Aug 16, 2016 | Read review
“everything is dirty and broken”
maderon1, Mar 12, 2016 | Read review
“I stayed in 9 or 11, both were fine.”
805vl, Nov 11, 2015 | Read review
“Go someplace else.....”
mcihawth, Nov 1, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question