We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown

Traveler (87)
Room & Suite (50)
Videos (1)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#28 of 80 hotels in Salt Lake City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Guests will enjoy our fully renovated Holiday Inn Express Hotel, featuring the new Formula Blue Prototype Design for Holiday Inn Express. Guests enjoy our premier location directly across from the Salt Palace Convention Center, within walking distance of City Creek Shopping Center, The Gateway, Historic Temple Square and hundreds of restaurants and night clubs. We are centrally located just minutes away from Interstate 15, Interstate 215, Interstate 80, Highway 89, the Amtrak Station and Salt Lake City International Airport. Our non-smoking Holiday Inn Express offers easy access to attractions including Capitol Theatre, Clark Planetarium, Discovery Gateway Children's Museum, Energy Solutions Arena, Great Salt Lake, Utah's Hogle Zoo, LDS Temple Square, Lagoon Amusement Park, The Leonardo Museum, Natural History Museum of Utah, Red Butte Garden, Rose Wagner Performing Arts Center, This Is The Place Heritage Park and Utah State Capitol. Guests can enjoy a plethora of amenities including: Free Hot Breakfsat, 24 Hour Indoor Pool, Hot Tub, Sauna, Fitness Center, guest laundry, Business Center, free high-speed wireless Internet access. Parking is available for a fee. Airport transportation is available through Taxi, Super Shuttle or UTA Trax for a fee.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Parking garage
Parking
Free internet
Wifi
Public wifi
Internet
Hot tub
Sauna
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Modern
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Save More on Your Rate
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
128Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
31Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
386Reviews
9Q+A
68Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 166
  • 112
  • 52
  • 35
  • 21
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The first thing we noticed when we arrived is that the hotel was spotless. The next thing we notices is friendly the front desk staff is. This persisted throughout our 4 day stay. The view from our window was great. We saw the mountains as well as the city. We came for a convention and needed to be downtown near the convention center. We did not need a resort hotel which this hotel is not. we need a clean, nice place in Downtown SLC. This served our purposes well. Other thngs that make the notel nice is that they offer a great breakfast free to guests. They have everthing from instant pancakes to yougurt, cereals etc. All juices are included too. you can eat enough to tie you over to lunch. There are great things to see in the area. We visited the Mormon temple grounds. On Thursday evenings the Mormon tabernacle choir rehearses in their giganic stadium and we attended.. We also visited the local planetarium as well as some other sites. In all I would highly recommend this hotel.
Read more
Response from Russell B, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you Elliotu for your kind words. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown. We agree with you, our location is great for those coming to events at the Salt Palace Convention Center and are just minutes from Temple Square and the Tabernacle at Temple Square and the Clark Planetarium. I will make sure to pass you kudos for the cleanliness and front desk staff to the appropriate managers and hope to see you next time you are in town.
Read more
Nice and new design with large rooms including microwave and actual small usable fridge. But dangerous uneven floor transition from entry tile area to carpet. Design/construction defect in both my wife and my room and my mother’s room. Plus problem with temperature control. Plus phone didn’t work.
Read more
Response from Russell B, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown
Responded 1 week ago
Good Afternoon OliveBranchOne. I am sorry to hear about your recent experience with us. If you could reach out to Samantha Osterud our Director of Sales at samantha@safarihospitality.com we'd love to discuss your concerns directly. Thank you.
Read more
Stayed at the end of June 2019. First off the location is phenomenal. Everything you might want in Downtown SLC is within walking distance If you are there on business for the Salt Palace it is literally the closest possible hotel. Room was comfortable and recently updated. Asked for one king and got two queens. Such is life when you book on hotels.com Breakfast was above average for the price point for sure. Very much enjoyed having a 24 hour pool/hottub after a long day of walking. If there was any complaint it would be that there really isn't enough parking, but we made it work just fine. It's 13/day which still doesn't take the price up to the other hotels in the area. We will definitely stay here again.
Read more
Response from Russell B, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you TrentH01! We're glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown. We agree with you that our hotel is the perfect spot for functions at the Salt Palace and are happy that you were able to use our 24 hour pool and hot tub. The majority of our rooms are two queen bed rooms, we only have a handful of king bed rooms, but next time if you book direct through IHG.com you should be able to select one if one is available. And we agree with the parking, we wish there was more too, but as you pointed out our $13 per day is the cheapest among downtown hotels. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in town.
Read more
We spent one night at the hotel on our way from north to south. We got the room from 9th floor facing to west. Room was spacious enough for two and had everything we needed except safety. Hotel was perfectly located to make a short evening walk around temple and up to the capital hill. But the breakfast. I do not stop to wonder how much waste these big hotel companies are generating (at least) from breakfast tables. All forks, knives and spoons are trow away plastics and plates and cups are cardboards. This is total waste of mother earth resources!
Read more
Response from Russell B, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown
Responded 1 week ago
Good Afternoon Johannes. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us heading south. In regards to your comments on the breakfast tables, we are a participant in IHG's Green Engage program which is specifically targeting hotel waste. We hope to see you next time you pass through Salt Lake City.
Read more
At 1am we noticed that the water in our toilet had risen to the rim. We called the front desk and was told there is no maintenance personnel overnight. They said they would send a security guard to our room with a plunger and we would have to plunger the toilet ourselves. What kind of FULLY OCCUPIED HOTEL doesn't have a maintenance person on-call at the very least???? Then we were told the night before our check out that they weren't able to offer us a late check out the night before and that we should call the morning of our departure to request one (check out is at noon, however our plane departs at 10:55 PM). We did as told, and were told there were no more late checkouts allowed. GRRRRRRRRRR☹ Not happy.
Read more
Response from Russell B, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown
Responded 1 week ago
Good Afternoon PuppynurseLK. We're sorry to hear about your experience with our hotel. If you can reach out direct to Samantha Osterud our Director of Sales at samantha@safarihospitality.com we'd be more than happy to discuss it further with you. Thank you.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$98 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
shilo inn hotel, shilo hotel salt lake city, shilo inn salt lake city, salt lake city shilo inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesUtahSalt Lake City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
212
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing