We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Metropolitan Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Metropolitan Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 170: English reviews
Corona, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

located in downtown close to the temple and capitol. a real bargain with tempur - pedic beds .... quite dated with a friendly and helpful staff .... would probably not stay here again if something else was available. but, if you want an excellent bed - this is the place.

Helpful?
Thank johndw40
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The staff was disgusting towards us and wanted us to pay more money even though we had already payed the full price. The receptionist was vet rude and sarcastic, worst place I've ever stayed at in America and it has honestly put me off going back. Other than that the location was alright as it is close to the city.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DcVsMarvel
Chet C, General Manager at Metropolitan Inn, responded to this review

Hello DcVsMarvel, Thank you for your review and feedback. It is unfortunate we were unable to meet your qualifications for a comfortable stay. When guest makes a reservation and states there are only 2 guests, but have 4 guests, we do need to charge a very inexpensive fee of $10.00 per extra guest (this extra fee is listed on our... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Beds were very nice and very comfortable, although some bathroom plumbing issues. Toilet ran and call maintenance took about an hour for them to come. Breakfast nice. It was close to the things we when to see.

Helpful?
Thank Lou Ann B
Chet C, General Manager at Metropolitan Inn, responded to this review

Hello Lou Ann B, Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the comfort of out Tempur-Pedic beds. Apologies for taking a little too long in getting the plumbing issues taken care of, we will work on our expediency. We do hope to see you again! Best Regards, Chet Culmer More 

South Lake Tahoe, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was decent. Hair in bathroom. First room bathroom fan made terrible noise. 2nd room sink was cloggedup and toilet didnt flush well. staff friendly. Breakfast basic. Parking abundant. Wifi sucked. They are planning to get google fiber!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank wolfman91423
Chet C, General Manager at Metropolitan Inn, responded to this review

Hi wolfman91423, Thank you for your feedback. I was not aware that you had issues with your room when you were staying with us and we spoke, I am very sorry for the bathroom issues you had. This is something we would take care of immediately if we are made aware of it. We do hope to see you again.... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed one night here traveling from Idaho to Arizona. Quick easy check in. Easy going front desk staff. We called to let them know we were going to be getting into town pass midnight and when we arrived it took less than 5 minutes to check in, the guy in the office had even reserved us a parking spot. Short... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hannah F
Chet C, General Manager at Metropolitan Inn, responded to this review

Hello Hannah F, Thank you for your great review. We are happy to have accommodated your needs and you were comfortable, we hope you will stay with us again should you pass through Salt Lake City. Best Regards, Chet Culmer More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2016 via mobile

Stopped here on cross country trip. Wanted to visit SLC and this hotel is a 5 min drive from Temple Square, so location is good for that purpose. Excellent considering higher priced chains nearby. It's essentially a motel right in town. Rooms are old but clean. Breakfast is sparse, but you get what you pay for. Would echo other reviews... More 

Helpful?
Thank jdstrip717
Chet C, General Manager at Metropolitan Inn, responded to this review

Hello jdstrip717, Thank you for your review. We are proud of our competitive edge in rates and wonderful comfort we give in return to our guests. I would like to point out that we have a 24 hour staff and cameras located through-out our property for security purposes. We hope you will stay with us again should you pass through... More 

Phoenix
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2016

We have always stayed at another place when we come to Salt Lake City, but wanted a cheaper place to spend the night. Looked on line and found the Metropolitan Inn, and are we glad we did. I just love the retro details of the room. It was a smaller room, but well planned and nice and clean. While we... More 

Helpful?
Thank rdwlcw
Chet C, General Manager at Metropolitan Inn, responded to this review

Hello rdwlcw, Thank you so much for your great review! We are so happy you decided to try us out and we do hope to see you many more times! Best Regards, Chet Culmer More 

Italy
Level Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2016

This hotel is small and simple and is located less than 1 km far from the city center. I recommend this hotel because is very cheap. The rooms are small but the bed was very large and everithing is clean. The breakfast must be improved.

Helpful?
Thank Paolo Z
Chet C, General Manager at Metropolitan Inn, responded to this review

Hi Paolo Z, Thank you for your feedback. We enjoyed having you stay with us. We do hope to improve on our breakfast in the future. We look forward to your next visit. Best Regards, Chet Culmer More 

Crestwood, Kentucky
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2016 via mobile

To begin our story it was not in our plans to stay in Salt Lake City but after being on the road for 22 days our cars transmission decided to go out! The dealership kind of ripped us off and set the tone for the rest of the day until we got to the Metropolitan Inn! The first room we... More 

Helpful?
Thank ZPJohnston
Chet C, General Manager at Metropolitan Inn, responded to this review

Hello ZPJohnston, Thank you so very much for your great review and feedback! We are happy we could help during your breakdown. We hope you will visit Salt Lake City again Best Regards, Chet Culmer More 

Vermont
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2016

Seemed like a well-rated budget option for SLC. Warm staff welcome, accommodated our request for a quiet room (back of hotel, away from street, top floor), clean room and comfy (posturepedic) beds. Sadly, the grounds were dirty and unkempt (stairwells, halls, ice room) and the pool had been closed by the health department. The breakfast was, as advertised, very basic... More 

Helpful?
Thank travelingvermonters
Chet C, General Manager at Metropolitan Inn, responded to this review

Hello travelingvermonters, Thank you for your feedback and review. We apologize that we were unable to meet the needed standards during your visit. We do hope you will consider visiting again, hopefully we are fully staffed during that stay as we normally can keep up with the needed daily upkeep of the property. Best Regards, Chet Culmer More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#48 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
1.1 mi away
North Temple Inn
North Temple Inn
#44 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 stars 587 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peery Hotel
Peery Hotel
#49 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt ...
#10 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 738 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt ...
#16 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 557 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Dow...
#43 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This beautiful little Gem of a hotel among the many giants of big box hotels is perfectly nestled in downtown Salt Lake City just 12 minutes walk to the Salt Palace Convention Center, add another minute to that and you are at Temple Square, City Creek Center Shopping Mall, one block away from a "trax" free zone Utah's public transportation (UTA). Dozens of of restaurants, cafes, and bars walking distance availability. If you dont want to walk, cycle cabs are a phone call away, and make regular passes by our front entrance for convenience. 5.7 Miles from Salt Lake City International Airport (7-10 minute drive). A 4 minute drive or 15 minute walk to The Venue (1.2 Miles). Free daily Continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, Cable t.v. in every room. Metropolitan Inn is the ONLY hotel in Utah with America's Most Recommended Mattress, Tempur-Pedic Mattresses! Sleep in Health and Luxury at the Metropolitan Inn. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Metropolitan Inn

Address: 524 S West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2318
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Price Range: $81 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Metropolitan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Metropolitan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Salt Lake City
Metropolitan Salt Lake City
Metropolitan Inn Salt Lake City, Utah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay