We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 126: English reviews
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2016

Expect fire alarms, broken things in your room, check-in that takes at least 40 minutes, the most uncomfortable bed and pillows one might imagine, and towels that should have been thrown out a year ago. And old smoke smell just lingering deep inside the pillows and bed linens. The worst hotel experience I've had in years.

Helpful?
1 Thank drapercr
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with details about your stay. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations. It was regrettable to read about your experience with the fire alarms. We did provide notices to all of our guests and had information posted... More 

Rigby, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2016

The room was neat and tidy. Very clean. BUT if you can't sleep because the bed feels like a rock and you wake up in the AM with a sore back and hips it isn't a good deal. Hotel needs to upgrade its beds. Queen beds are too small. They need King beds as an option.

Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie W
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. We appreciate your comments regarding our room cleanliness; however, I sincerely apologize that you did not have a comfortable stay. In response to your feedback, I will make sure we are reviewing our mattresses to ensure they are up to standard. We continually work to... More 

Grand Junction Co
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2016

I got in late in the evening about 11:45pm and after asking for a room on the 1st floor because of my disability and was told sorry, all they had was upper levels rooms available because they were remodeling and I had to use an elevator. The room was some distance from the elevator. After going into my room (#216)... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DavidGrandJunctionCo
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I sincerely apologize that we were unable to provide you with a comfortable stay. As this hotel’s manager, I will work with our staff to make sure we are accommodating room requests whenever possible and will review our room inspection procedures. Additionally, we are... More 

Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2016 via mobile

This is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. The room has no couch to sit and relax. We were surprised when we found out that there was no coffee table or a place to put your luggage. Bed, furniture and bathroom are substandard. It is more like hotels with one or no stars at all. You... More 

Helpful?
Thank GNZ_M
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House, responded to this review

Your review for our hotel was recently brought to my attention. I appreciate your comments about our location; however, I sincerely apologize that we failed to meet your expectations. Your comments were reviewed by the staff, and we will make sure all of our rooms meet our company’s high standards. I will also coach our front desk staff to ensure... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2016

This was the worst hotel I have stayed at. The room was tiny, dirty, and included no basic amenities (coffee maker, extra soap/shampoo/conditioner). The refrigerator had a box of leftovers in it upon arrival. The towels were stained and the drains did not function properly. The heater blows the front curtain up so you have limited privacy. Some of my... More 

Helpful?
Thank Connor D
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House, responded to this review

Your review for our hotel was recently brought to my attention. Please accept our apologies that your stay was not to our company’s high standards. In response to your feedback, I will make sure we are clearly communicating our amenities during guest arrivals as well as reviewing our room inspection procedures. I will work with our maintenance staff to ensure... More 

California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

Excellent area, Sugar House is the El Paseo of Palm Desert! Classy.... The hotel is nice if your staying more then a few days, has kitchenette, staff is friendly. Rooms could be renovated but all in all a nice place.

Helpful?
Thank MHSR
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am so pleased to read that we were able to provide you with friendly customer service and convenient amenities. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! More 

Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

This is not an extended stay quality...everything was wrong. The heat was not on and took 3 hours to warm the room. Very cramped and tiny. The hot water was not hot. The iron was broken. You have to carry the kitchen stuff up to the room with all your luggage. l could go on but why bother, the place... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler196066
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with details about your stay. I sincerely apologize that your stay was not to our company’s high standards. In response to your feedback, I will have our maintenance engineer inspect our rooms to ensure that everything is functioning properly. I will also coach our front desk staff to ensure we are clearly communicating our amenities... More 

Utah
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015

The room was cramped, unclean, and unattractive. There was no coffee maker or dining utensils.There was no ice machine, and we were told to go to a neighboring restaurant and ask for a cup of ice. . The reservation person promised a first floor room due to a disability...we got and second floor room. Finally...the shower had no handles to... More 

Helpful?
Thank anazazi1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. The situation you described is unacceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. While we no longer keep dishes in guest rooms, these items, including coffee makers, are available at the front desk. To uphold our company’s high standards, we will make sure we... More 

Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2015

Our company places travelers all over the US. We use Extended Stay America for almost every assignment, NOT ANYMORE. We placed a traveler in this Salt Lake location for 13 weeks. After reviewing the charges, the rate went up half way through the assignment without notification. This happened after the rate was agreed upon to be a set weekly rate... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sam T
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. The customer service experience you described is unacceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. In response to your feedback, I am going to make sure my team is notifying each guest at check-in of any rate changes. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. Please contact me,... More 

Bucks County, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015 via mobile

This hotel and I got off on the wrong foot and never recovered. I got to my room only to discover that there was no toilet paper in the bathroom. Read it again, no toilet paper in the bathroom. And no face washcloths. I was able to go to the front desk and get toilet paper, but they were out... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wuelf2000
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. It's great to hear that the room was very clean and the location was so convenient; however, please accept our apologies for the maintenance issues you experienced. In response to your feedback, I will make sure we are properly stocking rooms as well as... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
2.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Salt Lake...
#23 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Salt Lake City
Ramada Salt Lake City
#51 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt ...
#21 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City/University-Foothill Dr.
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#47 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
6.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Airport
Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City...
#52 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House

Address: 1220 E 2100 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84106-2825 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites - Salt Lake City - Sugar House)
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Price Range: $98 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Extended Stay, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Salt Lake City/Sugarhouse Hotel Salt Lake City
Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sugar House Utah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay