We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Residence Inn By Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown

Traveler (103)
Room & Suite (38)
Videos (1)

About

#40 of 80 hotels in Salt Lake City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Skiing
Children's television networks
Parking garage
Secured parking
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Internet
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast buffet
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Newspaper
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Allergy-free room
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
96Great for walkers
Grade: 96 out of 100
50Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
16Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
423Reviews
3Q+A
97Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 163
  • 146
  • 53
  • 39
  • 22
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
When we arrived around 2:45 our room was not ready even though we had requested a 12:00 check in. We were told that it would be between 15 minutes to an hour before housekeeping would be done. We were offered another room and we took it. While we were unpacking there were two people speaking loudly in the hall and joking around. I looked out the peep hole and saw that it was the cleaning staff (a young lady with dark hair and blonde ponytail and I couldn’t see the guy). They continued to talk for a few minutes more and then started using the “F” word. Before I could open the door the lady said that she “uses the same rag to clean the toilets and the kitchen”. The guy responded “that’s just wrong”. When I got the door opened the two ran into the room next to mine. When they finally came back out, they started cleaning the room. The front desk called out to housekeeping and the lady responded-so I know her name. When all of this was explained to the manager, she simply responded that the cleaning staff use different rags for each room. (And while speaking to the manager, both cleaning staff walked by her). Naturally we asked that our room not be cleaned, but the cleaning staff still tried to clean by leaving a note on the door. Next morning, the exercise room was filthy and had no clean towels or sanitizer wipes We notified the front desk and some towels were in there later but no sanitizer wipes. We went to have breakfast and the kitchen was only staffed with one very hard working young lady. She tried to stay ahead of the crowd, but it never happened. The room was short of utensils, plates and had no tea bags (except herbal) the whole time we were there. People were constantly asking her for things: food, coffee, etc. luckily, the kitchen was staffed with 3 people on Sunday, but we got there when they opened and they didn’t have coffee out (had some in then lobby). Our family and our company always use Marriott properties (Bonvoy) but we won’t be back to this one. There are too many other hotels to choose from.
Read more
Response from Getaway50951674334, Manager at Residence Inn By Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to speak with me about your recent stay at the Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown. Our sincerest apologies for the issues you had faced during your recent stay at our property. We certainly do try to meet each one of our guests needs when wanting to check in early; however a request (especially on high occupancy nights) is not always guaranteed. We are always working to improve our guests’ satisfaction and your feedback helps us see our product through the eyes of our valued guests – you! I am sorry to hear that not everything met your expectations, and will address with the appropriate members. On behalf of the entire hotel team, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.
Read more
Stayed here on business first week in June. Stayed on one night. I am Marriott Titanium and stay at many RIs around the country. This RI is typical. Rooms are average and clean. I liked the food truck happy hour. Location was close to some good restaurants and pubs. Not far from Temple Square. No problems but nothing really stood out either. I might stay here again.
Read more
I booked this spot because it was inexpensive and close to the business conference I was attending. Being a Marriott frequent business traveler, I wanted to get points and have a consistent product from hotel to hotel. This RI greatly missed the regular RI product I’ve experienced. The service was fine. Everyone was kind, polite and welcoming, but the rooms are poor. RIs have a kitchen which is great for families, this kitchen was fine even though I didn’t really use it. The problem area was everything else. Every wall was white and it felt like a hospital room. The bed was average and the bathroom was just bland. If I was with my family, I would have moved hotels because of how uncomfortable the room was. Hopefully they can give this place a facelift.
Read more
Response from GoPlaces58559749037, Assistant General Manager at Residence Inn By Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown
Responded 4 weeks ago
My sincerest apologies! We truly do strive to assure each one of our guests have a rewarding, comfortable stay with us. However, it appears that you were not satisfied with the room itself as far as décor and comfort. We are planning on an entire property renovation come fall; with that will be more inviting color schemes to the guest rooms and public space areas. Thank you for the positive comment regarding our staff. We appreciate each and everyone of them as they truly work hard to assure each person that stays with us feels welcomed. Again, I wish to thank you for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us for your future travels to find once we are renovated, we will be one of your favorite places to stay!
Read more
The night auditor, Hussein, was truly my knight in shining armor tonight. I live and work in Chicago and received a call Friday morning that my father had suffered a stroke and had been airlifted to Idaho Falls, so I immediately booked a flight for Friday afternoon to Salt Lake City along with a hotel reservation. My flight was delayed and I ended up getting to SLC around 1am and desperately needed a place to crash instead of driving to Idaho falls. Hussein was so nice and helpful in getting me all set up in a moment where I was quite exhausted and overwhelmed. i wasn’t able to make a reservation for the evening on that late hour on the app and he helped me get everything sorted out. The room was very comfortable and I got some much needed rest!
Read more
This hotel was so comfortable, I wanted to stay longer. The staff was absolutely friendly and informative about local cuisine. There is a great restaurant across the street. Thanks for a great stay!!!!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$115 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
residence inn salt lake city/city hotel salt lake city, residence inn city center, salt lake city residence inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Residence Inn Salt Lake City - City Center
LOCATION
United StatesUtahSalt Lake City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
189
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing