We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rainforest Retreat

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Rainforest Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,170: English reviews
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I've been 20 days in NZ South Island and this hostel is REALLY nice. It has some kind of jungle decoration that is awesome. The rooms are clean and nice and the kitchen is huge and well equipped. It's a really quiet place that complement the beautifull city Franz Josef is. It has spa and jacuzzi free for the guests...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fede286
New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed in the campground for Christmas night. Lovely parking bays in the rainforest. Facilities excellent and very clean. Staff were awesome we arrived late and they were still open processing everyone even though they could have finished earlier. Took much longer to arrive at destination than we thought.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shootingstars R
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a nice place for a few nights. We liked our tree house room, and the staff are really friendly. As others have said, they have a bunch of rooms and there were some large groups there, so it's always bustling. They do have a hot tub and sauna you can reserve for yourselves, but the hot tub wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lewis212
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Picked this campsite because of the surroundings and we weren't disappointed . Very natural and felt 'away from it all' Great view of the mountain tops beneath the cloud! Only stayed one night. Facilities were excellent all round - There was everything we needed to cook our breakfast and the showers and washing facilities.were great. We were there at the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carol W
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

The property has camping, simple rooms, and more modern facilities. Our tour group stayed in the gecko lodge. Rooms were good, although there was not clothing storage. Wifi was very intermittent. The restaurant was ok. Breakfast was plentiful. Very short walk to the shops. Franz Josef is a compact place and easy to get around. We hiked to the glacier...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Murray B
Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

WOW! After a week in DOC campgrounds we decided to treat ourselves to a holiday park - and what a treat it was! Lovely hot showers, quirky and cute camp kitchen and what a setting - gorgeous rainforest and mountain views. Big props to the staff member who checked us in - so sorry but I can't remember her name,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FrankieBeckett
Reviewed 1 week ago

we booked this place because of the natural surroundings, when we checked in we noticed the many backpackers. nothing wrong with them, except they do give a different vibe to the place. the facilities (restaurant) are good, the shower and restrooms are poor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a well set up park, with every site fairly private, surrounded by rainforest plants. Wifi wasn't good, apparently because of a lot of customers. Female showers very good, males in a portable building not so good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jools963
Manila
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beautiful place to be lovely scenery and decent facilities. Shame about the attitudes of the staff at reception- not what you need after a long day on the road. If your in a motor home the sites are small and I wouldn't recommend it if you have a toddler as they are too small to really sit outside next to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melhill96
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Melhill96, thank you for your feedback, i was very disappointing to read that you didn't receive the wonderful customer service that we are famous for. I am aware of one new member of staff, who unfortunately didn't work out as well as we had of hoped and is no longer working for us. I can only assume this is...

Kansas City, Kansas
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a change of plans on our trip and fortunately a spot was open at the rainforest! The staff was so helpful and nice and the facilities were very clean. The camp sites were great, lots of plants and trees around so it doesn't seem like you're all parked in a parking lot! Plenty of washing machines and dryers...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anniesouth2017
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review

Hi anniesouth2017 Thanks for the great feedback, i am delighted to hear what a great time you had here. thank you Oscar

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

273 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (250)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (91)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
999 reviews
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
584 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 14 in Franz Josef
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#5 of 14 in Franz Josef
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Deep In the heart of West Coast Glacier country, Rainforest Retreat is a rare find, with a range of accommodation set amongst lush native bush in Franz Josef township. Enjoy privacy and sanctuary in secluded cottages and tree huts, relax in the spas and sauna, dine out and have fun at the bar/restaurant, or just relish the bush setting and cook up barbecues with new friends. From luxury tree huts to backpackers rooms, Rainforest Retreat has accommodation to suit every style of traveller; from couples to family groups to young individuals on a budget. Rainforest Retreat provides excellent value and a special atmosphere; with a focus on superb service, cleanliness and a range of great facilities to satisfy all of our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rainforest Retreat

Address: 46 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Price Range: $22 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rainforest Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Retreat Hotel Franz Josef
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Rainforest Retreat staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rainforest Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“ask for an updated/modern room.”
 of 5 bubbles Murray_1066, 1 week ago | Read review
“I had a room on the ground floor with 4 beds”
 of 5 bubbles SuzanneM175, 1 week ago | Read review
“stay in the separated cottages”
 of 5 bubbles scurryman, Nov 28, 2016 | Read review
“If you want a quiet room be sure to request one at time of booking. If you want to be near the kitchen etc ask for that too.”
 of 5 bubbles cazbar62, Nov 27, 2016 | Read review
“Poor internet connection due to location”
 of 5 bubbles heleng921, Nov 27, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay