We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Rainforest Retreat

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Rainforest Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,094: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This place was beautiful and the staff were lovely and very helpful in organising trips. The hot tub was a great bonus. Our room was spotless and was great for cooking if you want to stay in and it was very cosy. The bar was also good for drinks and pizza by the open fire. The only downside was the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annabel B
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was stayed in Tree House, it is nice and quiet. The boss - Bully (cat) is the star, everyone love him and treat him as part of family. they provide a nice rainforest path in hotel area which is nice. wash machine in room with dryer. you can park your car right next to your house if you drive.... More 

Helpful?
Thank CHHOCHHO
Melbourne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here in our motorhome on a powered site. As the name suggests, the park is located in a rainforest and is designed so that all sites back onto the forest. It has a good range of facilities, including playground, TV room, kitchen, barbecues and showers. Service at reception was friendly and helpful. There's an on-site bar that gets... More 

Helpful?
Thank ImFromMelbourne
Whakapapa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed in our van in one of the camper sites. The cost was pretty normal for a basic site ($39) and it included use of all the facilities. There is a hot tub which is open from 12-8pm which is nice and especially before 5pm, not crowded at all. Monsoon bar is great, with $6 house wine and happy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rae1331
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed in one of the Gecko Cottages and were delighted with our decision. It was quiet and serene and very private. We enjoyed a hottub on a cool, wet spring evening. It is a very easy walk into town and there is a great restaurant on site. Would highly recommend to anyone looking to stay in Franz Josef.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan T
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Spent my 30th birthday here. Lovely treehouse cabin, great place to stay while in franz. So cosy and big comfy bed. Coffee machine etc, gave us bottle of bubbly and balloons on arrival. Great staff too! Definitely recommend staying here

Helpful?
Thank PerriLee7
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This is a great place to stay while exploring Franz Josef. It's centrally located with a restaurant on the premises that's one of the least expensive in town. It has a decent kitchen and washing facilities as well as a hot tub. Staff is very pleasant!

Helpful?
Thank Sam S
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

normal service, good access, nice bar and hot tab, but dirty kitchen and less of laundry machines in camping area. felt a bit expensive compared with other great camping site in NZ. I will not be here next time.

Helpful?
Thank Takurooo
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Takuroo Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am sorry if we didn't live up to all your expectations but i was happy to hear you enjoyed the bar and hot tub. We put great effort into keeping our facilities clean and I will use your feedback to ensure we continue to keep them to a high... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a hard time leaving our accommodation nestle in the rainforest to go explore the rest of the area. Everything is spot on from the facilities to the amenities. What an exceptional place to stay when visiting Franz Josef. Thanks again to the whole team!

Helpful?
Thank Robin_Laura
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful place, really comfortable beds and the kitchen is huge. Bathrooms are amazing, best showers I've ever had! They've got hairdryers and hair straighteners in the bathroom. OH and they've got a sauna, spa pool and a huge hot tub. Their bar is really nice and so is their restaurant (though I didn't eat there). 100% recommend this place.

Helpful?
Thank Anneline K
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you Anneline, Its fantastic to know that you enjoyed our slice of paradise so much. I hope you can make it back to us again. Happy travels Oscar More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

237 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (214)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
5.0 of 5 stars 880 reviews
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#5 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
#9 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rainforest Retreat is centrally located in the heart of Franz Josef Glacier township on the west coast of NZ’s South Island.Nestled in six acres of native bush and surrounded by lush punga groves, Rainforest Retreat offers a wide range of accommodation – all built to embrace the natural environment.Whatever the season, explore New Zealand’s glaciers while staying at Rainforest Retreat. It’s not just accommodation… it’s an experience! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rainforest Retreat

Address: 46 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Price Range: $66 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rainforest Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Retreat Hotel Franz Josef
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay