We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rainforest Retreat

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Rainforest Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,071: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

For a cheap rate we were upgraded to a good sized ensuite room. Clean with all amenities. Lovely native bush, tree and fern clad surrounds. Close to the main street and very good value. We highly recommend this accommodation.

Helpful?
1 Thank Grahame J
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We arrived expecting a hostel double room but we were upgraded to the motel double for free! Very comfortable stay and the Monsoon restaurant/bar is excellent. The motel double room was on the small side but we couldn't complain having received a free upgrade! Would definitely stay again, and only 30s walk from the hot pools!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jack L
Kaikoura
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The whole retreat is surround be trees, it's just like the name itself. We stayed in the cottage, perfect for couple, got a comfy bed and a nice couch. The kitchen is very close to the site, quite handy. I will bring my family to stay here next time as they have the big lodge or house options as well.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mei H
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for a night in a camper van and only used the shower and kitchen facilities. The shower is clean and acceptable. The kitchen is not fully equiped, but does come with pots and pans and a grill. Nice cosy enclosed seating area with a television for a meal. Also come with a jaccuzi that we did not use... More 

Helpful?
Thank Neko N
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I loved my stay here in the gecko cottage. The wifi isn't great but that's OK. Leave your room and do something. Special thanks to the staff who drove me to the bus stop when it was pouring down rain 😀

Helpful?
Thank meltravels18
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

very very good . We stayed in the Kamahi tree house . Fantastic . Washing machine, tumble dryer , warm beds and very spacious. Loved it. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Will definitely recommend to anyone who wishes to visit New Zealand in the future

Helpful?
Thank Monika1128
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is literally like a rainforest- its surrounded by greenery, pebbled paths and those lovely (sometimes scary) sounds of the birds! We stayed at Gecko cottage which was clean and comfortable. They provide free wifi but that doesn't work at all!! It didn't bother us much but can be a discomfort if traveling with kids or if you need... More 

Helpful?
Thank SuruchiW
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Suruchi Many thanks for choosing to stay with us and for your lovely review. Its great to hear you enjoyed our secluded rain forest setting and all the wildlife that come with it. We do provide free wifi, it is OK for checking e-mails etc but i'm afraid streaming speeds are unlikely due to our remote location and can... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we stayed here because one of our friends worked exchange here, we got a shared room, staffs were nice, toilets and showers were clean. room was clean and tidy. wifi was weak we didnt get to use their wifi since it was unstable and barely detectable, and didnt get to use their hot pool since it was raining.

Helpful?
Thank aisze767
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came on quite unfriendly weather , rainy pouring on our 2 night stay. We stayed at Gekko village with 4rooms and a great complete kitchen . Rooms is clean and homie, we decided to make dinner since the kitchen feels like home. Kids enjoy their stay, we feels like on a retreat out of the busy routine . free... More 

Helpful?
Thank wientje76
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Situated in a lovely rainforest setting the location is convenient and handy to most things. We stayed in the Kamubi treehouse. I wouldn't quite use a treehouse as a description more a demountable accommodation. Overall it was clean and presentable, but I would not recommend long stays as it is about 1km to reception and has no telephone to contact... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Andrew Many thanks for staying with us in the Kamahi Tree House. We have a number of room types on site including Tree Lodges that are raised into the forest canopy. The Kamahi Tree house is named after the native Kamahi Trees that fill the rainforest that surrounds the Kamahi house. The Kamahi Tree house is approx 250 meters... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

232 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (209)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 stars 820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#5 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rainforest Retreat is centrally located in the heart of Franz Josef Glacier township on the west coast of NZ’s South Island.Nestled in six acres of native bush and surrounded by lush punga groves, Rainforest Retreat offers a wide range of accommodation – all built to embrace the natural environment.Whatever the season, explore New Zealand’s glaciers while staying at Rainforest Retreat. It’s not just accommodation… it’s an experience! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rainforest Retreat

Address: 46 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Price Range: $63 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rainforest Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Retreat Hotel Franz Josef
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay